Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Austria on 1/31/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the ATA50056/2023 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-17 are replete with unclear limitations, examples of such unclear limitations are listed below. Applicant should review the entirety of the claims for these and similar issues.
Claims 1-17 recite the terms “in particular” and “preferably”. It is unclear whether the limitation which follow are positively recited. For purposes of examination, the limitations which follow “in particular” and “preferably” are interpreted to be optional.
The term “and/or” is used throughout the claims. Examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of “and/or” is “or”, and therefore the claims have been interpreted throughout to recite alternatives, such that only one of the limitations separated by “and/or” is required by the prior art.
Claims 1-17 recite “to be fixed to the stationary structure” and “to be fixed to a pivoting element”. It is unclear whether the stationary structure and pivoting element are being positively recited. Examiner notes that Claim 10 recites “a stationary structure”, so this appears to indicate that claims 1-9 do not positively recite the stationary structure. Examiner has interpreted claims 1-9 to mean the stationary structure and pivoting element are intended use recitations only. Clarifying amendments are required.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the plate". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 fails to positively recite “a pivoting element”, however claims 15-17 later recite “the pivoting element” and define further limitations thereof. It appears that claim 10 should be amended to positively recite “a pivoting element”. Clarifying amendments are required.
The term “substantially” in claims 4-6, 9-11, and 15-16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitations cuboidal (claim 4), in a plane (claim 4), closed (claim 5), L-shaped (claim 6), flat (claim 9), parallel (claim 9), entirely (claim 10), parallel (claim 11), coplanar (claim 15), entirely (claim 15), in a plane (claim 16), and free (claim 16) are rendered indefinite by use of the term “substantially”.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
pivoting element (claims 1-17)
first fitting portion (claims 1-17)
second fitting portion (claims 1-17)
adjustment device (claims 2-3, 13)
damping device (claim 2, 13)
adjustment element (claims 2, 13)
fastening element (claims 2, 13)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-13, and 15-17, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pittasch (US 4,099,293), herein referred to as ‘293.
For Claim 1, as best understood, ‘293 discloses a fitting (Figures 28-31) configured as a furniture fitting for movably supporting a pivoting element (102) relative to a stationary structure (101), the fitting comprising:
a first fitting portion (107) to be fixed to the stationary structure (101), the first fitting portion (107) to be at least partially inserted into a recess (143) in the stationary structure (104),
a second fitting portion (210) to be fixed to the pivoting element (102), and
a hinge axis (218) pivotally connecting the first fitting portion (107) and the second fitting portion (210) to each other,
wherein the first fitting portion (107) includes a housing (107) having a front face (Annotated Figures 28-29: A) facing towards the second fitting portion (210), and at least one housing side (B) extending transversely to the front face (A), and
wherein at least one arm (219) is provided on which the at least one hinge axis (218) is arranged, the at least one arm (219) projecting transversely from the housing side (B) of the first fitting portion (107).
For Claim 2, as best understood, ‘293 discloses the fitting according to claim 1, wherein the first fitting portion (107):
includes at least one adjustment device (31, 105) having a movable adjustment element (31) for adjusting a position of the arm (219) relative to the housing (107).
For Claim 3, as best understood, ‘293 discloses the fitting according to claim 1, wherein the first fitting portion (107) includes at least two adjustment devices (31, 105; 130, 124, 128), wherein by a first adjustment device (31, 105), a position of the arm (219) relative to the housing (107) is adjustable in a first movement direction, and wherein by a second adjustment device (130, 124, 128), a position of the arm (219) relative to the housing (107) is adjustable in a second movement direction, the second movement direction extending transversely to the first movement direction.
For Claim 4, as best understood, ‘293 discloses the fitting according to claim 1, wherein the housing (107) of the first fitting portion (107): extends substantially in a plane extending parallel to the hinge axis (as seen in Figure 31).
For Claim 5, as best understood, ‘293 discloses the fitting according to claim 1, wherein the front face (A) of the housing (107) of the first fitting portion is substantially closed (as seen in Figures 28-31).
For Claim 6, as best understood, ‘293 discloses the fitting according to claim 1, wherein the arm (219) is substantially L-shaped (as seen in Figures 28-29)
For Claim 8, as best understood, ‘293 discloses the fitting according to claim 1, wherein the second fitting portion (210): includes at least one hinge cup (as seen in Figure 28).
For Claim 9, as best understood, ‘293 discloses the fitting according to claim 1, wherein the housing side (B) of the housing (107), from which the at least one arm (218) projects transversely, is substantially flat (as seen in Figure 28).
For Claim 10, as best understood, ‘293 discloses an arrangement (Figures 28-31) comprising:
a stationary structure (101), a pivoting element (102), and
the fitting according to claim 1 (as outlined above with respect to claim 1),
wherein the stationary structure (101) includes at least one vertically extending panel (101), and the housing (107) of the first fitting portion (107) is at least partially received within (as seen in Figure 31) a recess (143) of the panel (101).
For Claim 11, as best understood, ‘293 discloses the arrangement according to claim 10, wherein the housing side (B) of the housing (107), from which the at least one arm (219) projects transversely, extends substantially parallel (as seen in Figure 31) to the panel (101).
For Claim 12, as best understood, ‘293 discloses the arrangement according to claim 10, wherein the recess (143) includes an opening (as seen in Figures 21 and 30) arranged on a front face (104) of the panel (101) and on a side face (as seen in Figures 21 and 30) of the panel (101), the side face of the panel extending transversely to the front face (as seen in Figures 21 and 30).
For Claim 13, as best understood, ‘293 discloses the arrangement according to claim 10, wherein the first fitting portion (107):
includes at least one adjustment device (31, 105) having a movable adjustment element (31) for adjusting a position of the arm (219) relative to the housing (107), wherein the panel (101) includes at least one opening (143) which permits access to the adjustment element (31) of the at least one adjustment device (31, 105).
For Claim 15, as best understood, ‘293 discloses the arrangement according to claim 10, wherein the pivoting element (102) covers at least partially a front face (104) of the panel (101) in a fully closed position (as seen in Figure 31).
For Claim 16, as best understood, ‘293 discloses the arrangement according to claim 10, wherein the pivoting element (102) is arranged substantially in a plane (plane of inner face of 102) parallel to and offset with respect to a plane (plane of front face 104) of the panel (101) in a fully closed position (as seen in Figure 31).
For Claim 17, as best understood, ‘293 discloses the arrangement according to claim 10, wherein the second fitting portion (210) is at least partially arranged within a bore (243) of the pivoting element (102).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pittasch (US 4,099,293), herein referred to as ‘293.
For Claim 7, as best understood, ‘293 discloses the fitting according to claim 1, except wherein the first fitting portion includes at least one force storage member, wherein the two fitting portions are movable into a closed end position and/or into an open end position relative to each other by a force of the force storage member. Examiner takes official notice that it is old and well known to use a force storage member, such as a spring, to bias two fitting portions (hinge leaf members) into a closed and/or open position by a force of the spring. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied a force storage member (such as a spring) to the hinge of ‘293. One would be motivated to make such a modification in order to allow for automatic closing of a cupboard door.
For Claim 14, as best understood, ‘293 discloses the arrangement according to claim 10, except wherein the fitting is a first fitting, the arrangement further comprising a second fitting identical to the first fitting and arranged on the panel, wherein the first fitting and second fitting are arranged mirror-symmetrically to each other and are spaced apart from each other in a vertical direction in the plane of the panel. ‘293 is instead silent as to a second fitting. Examiner takes official notice that it is old and well known to use multiple identical fittings (hinges) on a piece of furniture (such as a cupboard) and space them mirror-symmetrically in a vertical direction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied a second fitting (hinge) identical to the first fitting (hinge) of ‘293 spaced mirror-symmetrically in a vertical direction to the cabinet body and panel of ‘293. One would be motivated to make such a modification in order to support a greater load/weight of the panel and to distribute the load/weight of the panel among more points with respect to the cabinet body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 4397064, US 12305441, and US 12173540 teach similar hinges/fittings that are pertinent to applicant’s disclosure, but have not been relied upon in the current rejection.
/Jeffrey O'Brien/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677