DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s filing dated June 29, 2026.
Status of claims
Claims 1, 2, 9, 11, 13, 15, 17, 28, 29, 31, 70, 71 and 73 - 84 are pending in the instant application. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s amendments filed June 29, 2026. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s cancelation of claims 32-34, 36, 41, 44, 46, 48, 50, 60-64, and 69 and addition of a new claims 75 - 84.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1, 2, 9, 11, 13, 15, 17, 28, 29, 31, 70, 71, 73, and 74, identified by the Office Action as being drawn to an antibody-drug conjugate (ADC), having the formula A-L and a pharmaceutical composition thereof in the reply filed on June 29, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims, drawn to nonelected inventions were cancelled by Applicant in the reply filed on June 29, 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of the antibody-drug conjugate (ADC), where antibody is Trastuzumab and the linker has a structure:
, where payloads are exatecan (
) and glycinated exatecan (
), as a single elected species in the reply filed on June 29, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 73, 75, 76, 77 and 83 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 29, 2026. Upon performing the search of prior art Examiner detected non-elected species: antibody Polatuzumab and antibody Enfortumab. Hence, the examination will expand to include claims 76 and 77, drawn to nonelected species: antibody Polatuzumab and antibody Enfortumab.
Claims 1, 2, 9, 11, 13, 15, 17, 28, 29, 31, 70, 71, 74, 76- 82 and 84 are presently under examination as related to the elected species: antibody Trastuzumab and linker of the structure shown above, as well as the expanded species, antibody Polatuzumab and antibody Enfortumab.
Priority
This application is a CON of PCT/EP2024/079076, filed October 15, 2024, which claims the benefits of priority to European Patent Application Nos. 24189861.8,filed July 19, 2024; 24187879.2, filed July 10, 2024; and 23203677.2, filed October 15, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/29/2025, 03/24/2026 and 06/30/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Acknowledgement is made of the drawings received on July 15, 2025. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 84 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 84 recites the limitation "the method according to claim 1" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Since claim 1 is drawn to a product, an antibody-drug conjugate of formula A-L, it is unclear what method Applicant is referring to. Therefore, the abovementioned claim 84 will not be further treated on the merits. It is suggested to amend or cancel claim 84 in order to obviate this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 9, 11, 13, 15, 17, 28, 29, 31, 70, 71, 74 and 76- 82 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spycher et al (WO 2022/084560 A1, cited in IDS, filed 10/29/2025, hereinafter Spycher) in view of Hoogenboom et al (WO 2022/058395 A1, cited in IDS, filed 10/29/2025, hereinafter Hoogenboom).
Instant claims are drawn to an antibody-drug conjugate having the formula A-L, wherein A is an antibody or an antibody fragment and wherein L is a linker. Said linker comprising: as a first payload a topoisomerase I inhibitor which is cell-permeable, such as exatecan (
) ; and as a second payload a topoisomerase I inhibitor which is not cell-permeable such as glycinated exatecan (
).
The linker comprises the following structure:
[payload 1 ]-X-Z1-(Aa)m-Z2-(Aa)n-(Lys)-(Aa)o-Z3-X-[payload 2] or
[payload 2]-X-Z1-(Aa)m-Z2-(Aa)n-(Lys)-(Aa)o-Z3-X-[payload 1]; wherein:
[payload 1] is said first payload (exatecan);
[payload 2] is said second payload (glycinated exatecan);
(Aa) is any amino acid residue; m, n and o may be integers ranging from 0 to 10;
(Lys) is a lysine residue, a lysine mimetic or a lysine derivative;
Z1-3 is either absent or a spacer comprising an alkyl or a heteroalkyl group; or Z2 is a dicarboxylic acid linking the N-terminal end of (Aa)m to the N-terminal end of (Aa)n or (Lys);
X is either absent or a self-immolative group (such as p-aminobenzyl carbamoyl (PABC)).
Said linker may be a peptide linker, wherein (Aa)n-(Lys)-(Aa)o comprises the sequence motif Arg-Lys (RK), RKAA or His-Lys (in N -> C direction), where the first payload is linked to the N-terminus of the peptide linker and the second payload is linked to the C-terminus of the peptide linker, or the first payload is linked to the C-terminus of the peptide linker and the second payload is linked to the N-terminus of the peptide linker.
The exemplary linker has a structure:
Instant claims are further drawn to an ADC of structure A-L, wherein antibody (A) is an IgG antibody, such as an IgG1 antibody (Trastuzumab, Polatuzumab or Enfortumab), and the linker is conjugated to the antibody via an isopeptide bond formed between the glutamine residue Q295 (EU numbering) of the CH2 domain of the IgG antibody, wherein IgG antibody is glycosylated at residue N297 (EU numbering). Said ADC may consist of two first payloads and two second payloads (drug-to-antibody ratio of 4 "DAR4"). Instant claims are also drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising the ADC, described above and at least one pharmaceutically acceptable ingredient.
Spycher teaches antibody-drug-conjugates (ADC), where the antibody is conjugated to a linker, wherein the linker comprises one or more toxins. Spycher teaches an ADC where antibody is an IgG antibody, such as an IgG1 antibody (Trastuzumab, Polatuzumab or Enfortumab), and the linker is conjugated to the antibody via an isopeptide bond formed between the glutamine residue Q295 (EU numbering) of the CH2 domain of the IgG antibody and the primary amine comprised in the side chain of the lysine residue comprised in the linker, wherein IgG antibody is glycosylated at residue N297 (EU numbering) (pages 85 – 86, and page 12, embodiment 62). Spycher further teaches an antibody-payload conjugate, which may be generated with an antibody to payload ratio of 2 or 4 (DAR2-4), for example where each linker comprises two payloads (two identical or different toxins) and two linkers are conjugated to residue Q295 of the two heavy chains of an IgG antibody (page 130, 4th paragraph).
Spycher teaches antibody-drug-conjugates (ADC), where the linker comprises two or more payloads and has a structure:
(Sp4)-B2-(Sp1)-RK-(Sp2)-B1-(Sp3) or (Sp1)-B1-(Sp2)-RK-(Sp3)-B2-(Sp4), where
B1 and B2 are payloads, the payloads B1 and B2 may be identical or different payloads, where the payload comprises a toxin, such as a camptothecin (e.g. exatecans) (page 80 – 83);
(Sp1), (Sp2), (Sp3) and (Sp4) independently may be absent, or may be any straight, branched and/or cyclic C2-30 alkyl or C2-30 heteroalkyl; or (Sp1), (Sp2), (Sp3) and the RK motif consist exclusively of amino acids (page 30, 2nd paragraph), where (Sp1), (Sp2) and/or (Sp3) comprise at least one positively-charged amino acid, e.g. at least one histidine residue (page 29, 6th paragraph). Payload B may be coupled to the peptide or peptidomimetic via a self-immolative moiety, i.e. having a structure: RKAA-(self-immolative moiety)-B, wherein self-immolative moiety is p-aminobenzyl carbamoyl (PABC) moiety, such as RKAA-PABC-B (e.g. RKAA-PABC-Exa) (page 164, Table 12), where C-terminal alanine residue (A) in RKAA peptide is coupled to the amino group comprised in PABC via an amide bond. The toxin B may be attached to PABC through the formation of a carbamate (page 88, 3rd paragraph). The payload may be coupled to the C-terminal carboxyl group or the N-terminal amino group of an amino acid residue (page 40, 2nd paragraph).
The structure RKAA-PABC-Exa taught by Spycher is equivalent to the fragment of the instant linker (see the circled fragment below):
, where glycinated exatecan is coupled to the C-terminal alanine residue (A) in RKAA peptide through PABC.
Furthermore, Spycher teaches that the self-immolative moiety PABC is located between the payload and an alanine residue, where the alanine-alanine motif is known to be cleavable by a cathepsin (page 53, 1st and 2nd paragraph). Thus, Spycher teaches the linker fragment where payload is bonded to alanine-alanine motif through PABC moiety, which structural element is equivalent to the fragment of the instant linker (see the circled fragment below):
, where exatecan is coupled to C-terminal alanine residue (A) of alanine-alanine motif through PABC moiety. Instantly claimed linker further features a succinyl residue (see the circled fragment below), which links N-terminal alanine residue to the N-terminal arginine residue:
. Spycher also teaches dicarboxylic acid residue (succinyl), incorporated into the linker to connect two N-terminal ends of peptide chains, by formation of amide bonds e.g. (see the circled fragment):
(page 209, Fig. 30). Incorporating dicarboxylic acid such as succinic acid to connect two N-terminal amines via amide linkage represents a routine modification within the capabilities of a skilled artisan.
Spycher teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody drug-conjugate and at least one pharmaceutically acceptable ingredient (page 19, embodiment 102).
Spycher does not teach ADC where the second payload is a topoisomerase I inhibitor which is not cell-permeable such as glycinated exatecan (
).
However, Hoogenboom teaches ADCs with exatecan payloads, e.g. conjugate of structure (1h):
, where ADC linker has two exatecan payloads. Although the exemplary structure of ADC does not have modified exatecan, such as not cell-permeable glycinated exatecan, Hoogenboom teaches that cytotoxic payloads that are neutral, such as DX-8951 (
), will show bystander killing whereas ionic (charged) payloads, such as G-DX-8951
do not, due to poor cell membrane permeability of aminoacylated exatecan (page 7, lines 6 – 8). Hoogenboom further teaches that ADCs having different degrees of bystander killing were benchmarked against deruxtecan-based ADCs (having bystander effect) and found to have at least the same potency against target-positive cells and enhanced potency against target-negative cells in coculture (bystander killing) (page 8, lines 8 – 12).
Thus, since Spycher teaches ADCs, where all the structural elements (antibody, linker and connection sites) are equivalent or similar to those of instantly claimed ADCs, and since Hoogenboom teaches that exatecan is cell-permeable and demonstrates bystander killing effect, whereas glycinated exatecan is not cell-permeable, and ADCs of different degrees of bystander killing were found to be potent against target-positive cells and target-negative cells (bystander killing), it would have been prima facies obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try to combine known structural elements to arrive at ADCs of claimed structure. The one of ordinary skills would be motivated to do so in search of an ADCs with similar or improved desired properties, with the reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, taking all together, taught by prior art, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 9, 11, 13, 17, 28, 29, 31 and 78 – 82 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 7, 9, 10, 22, 23, 29, 30, 32, 33, 38, 39 and 70 of copending Application No. 18/803,344 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims are directed to an antibody-drug conjugate having the formula A-L, wherein A is an antibody or an antibody fragment and wherein L is a linker. The linker comprises the following structure:
[payload 1 ]-X-Z1-(Aa)m-Z2-(Aa)n-(Lys)-(Aa)o-Z3-X-[payload 2] or [payload 2]-X-Z1-(Aa)m-Z2-(Aa)n-(Lys)-(Aa)o-Z3-X-[payload 1]; wherein:
[payload 1] is said first payload;
[payload 2] is said second payload;
(Aa) is any amino acid residue; m, n and o may be integers ranging from 0 to 10;
(Lys) is a lysine residue, a lysine mimetic or a lysine derivative;
Z1-3 is either absent or a spacer comprising an alkyl or a heteroalkyl group; or Z2 is a dicarboxylic acid linking the N-terminal end of (Aa)m to the N-terminal end of (Aa)n or (Lys);
X is either absent or a self-immolative group.
Said linker can be a peptide linker, wherein (Aa)n-(Lys)-(Aa)o comprises the sequence motif Arg-Lys (RK), RKAA or His-Lys (in N -> C direction), where the first payload is linked to the N-terminus of the peptide linker and the second payload is linked to the C-terminus of the peptide linker, or the first payload is linked to the C-terminus of the peptide linker and the second payload is linked to the N-terminus of the peptide linker.
Instant claims are further drawn to an ADC of structure A-L, wherein antibody (A) is an IgG antibody, and the linker is conjugated to the antibody via an isopeptide bond formed between the glutamine residue Q295 (EU numbering) of the CH2 domain of the IgG antibody, wherein IgG antibody is glycosylated at residue N297 (EU numbering). Said ADC may consist of two first payloads and two second payloads (drug-to-antibody ratio of 4 "DAR4"). Instant claims are also drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising the ADC, described above and at least one pharmaceutically acceptable ingredient.
Claims of copending application are directed to an antibody-payload conjugate comprising an antibody conjugated to a peptide linker comprising
a) an amino acid residue comprising a primary amine; and
b) two or more payloads; wherein each of the two or more payloads can be independently attached to: i) an N-terminal end of the peptide linker, ii) a C-terminal end of the peptide linker, or iii) a side chain of an amino acid residue comprised in the peptide linker, wherein the peptide linker is conjugated to the antibody via an isopeptide bond formed between a y-carboxamide group of a glutamine residue Q295 (EU numbering) of the CH2 domain of an IgG antibody and the primary amine comprised in an amino acid residue of the peptide linker, wherein the IgG-antibody is glycosylated at residue N297 (EU numbering) of the CH2 domain.
Said peptide linker comprises the following structure (in N -> C direction): [payload1]-[(Aa)ₙ-(Lys)-(Aa)n-(Arg/His)-(Aa)o]-[payload2]; wherein
[payload 1] and [payload 2] are payloads,
(Aa) may be any amino acid residue; m, n and o may be integers ranging from 0 to 10;
(Arg) may be an arginine residue, an arginine mimetic or an arginine derivative; (His) may be a histidine residue, a histidine mimetic or a histidine derivative,
(Lys) is a lysine residue, a lysine mimetic or a lysine derivative, wherein [payload1] is directly or indirectly attached to an N-terminal end of an (Aa) or (Lys) residue, and wherein
[payload 2] is directly or indirectly attached to a C-terminal end of an (Aa) or (Arg/His) residue.
The peptide linker comprises the structure:
[payload 1]-[peptide 1]-[dicarboxylic acid]-[peptide 2]-[payload 2]; wherein [payload 1] and [payload 2] are payloads,
[peptide 1] is a first peptide moiety,
[peptide 2] is a second peptide moiety, and
[dicarboxylic acid] is a dicarboxylic acid; wherein at least one of [peptide 1] and/or [peptide 2] comprises a free amine. Claims of copending application are further directed to a pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody-payload conjugate and at least one pharmaceutically acceptable ingredient.
The conflicting claims are not patentably distinct from each other because, as set forth above, instant claims are directed to an ADC of identical or similar structure as ADC of copending claims.
Thus, the compound of the copending clams would anticipate the instantly claimed compounds.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 2, 9, 11, 13, 15, 17, 28, 29, 31, 70, 71, 74, 76- 82 and 84 are rejected. No claim is allowed.
/E.V.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/RENEE CLAYTOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1691