DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/15/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kadono (US 2004/0076237).
Regarding claim 15, Kadono discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream that is generated by an encoding process (paragraph [257], Kadono discloses a computer readable data medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, hard disk drive, etc.), the bitstream comprising an encoding of a video sequence, the encoding of the video sequence comprising a current picture, a first flag, and a second flag (paragraph [257], Kadono discloses a computer readable data medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, hard disk drive, etc.), and wherein the encoding process comprises: determining the first flag indicating whether a constant picture size is used in a video sequence including the current picture; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is used, encoding the current picture without reference picture resampling; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is not used, determining the second flag indicating whether a conformance window size is to be signaled; based on the second flag indicating that the conformance window size is signaled: determining the conformance window size, determining a resampling ratio between the current picture and a reference picture based on the conformance window size; and encoding the current picture based on reference picture resampling using the resampling ratio (paragraph [257], Kadono discloses a computer readable data medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, hard disk drive, etc.).
Note claim 15 is directed to “a non-transitory computer-readable medium’'. The non-transitory computer-readable medium without functional relationship between the computer readable medium and the rest of recited features of the claim “…storing a bitstream that is generated by an encoding process, the bitstream comprising an encoding of a video sequence, the encoding of the video sequence comprising a current picture, a first flag, and a second flag, and wherein the encoding process comprises: determining the first flag indicating whether a constant picture size is used in a video sequence including the current picture; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is used, encoding the current picture without reference picture resampling; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is not used, determining the second flag indicating whether a conformance window size is to be signaled; based on the second flag indicating that the conformance window size is signaled: determining the conformance window size, determining a resampling ratio between the current picture and a reference picture based on the conformance window size; and encoding the current picture based on reference picture resampling using the resampling ratio”. When determining the scope of the claim, the above features of claim 18 were not given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05 (III). Thus, the computer-readable data recording medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, or a hard disk drive disclosed in Kadono meets Applicant’s claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, Kadono discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15 (paragraph [257], Kadono discloses a computer readable data medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, hard disk drive, etc.), wherein the conformance window size is signaled as at least one offset distance from a border of the current picture (paragraph [257], Kadono discloses a computer readable data medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, hard disk drive, etc.).
Since claim 16 is dependent on claim 15, the reasons for rejecting claim 16 also apply to claim 15 because the claim 16 is directed to “a non-transitory computer-readable medium’'. The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium without functional relationship between the computer readable medium and the rest of recited features of the claim “…storing a bitstream that is generated by an encoding process, the bitstream comprising an encoding of a video sequence, the encoding of the video sequence comprising a current picture, a first flag, and a second flag, and wherein the encoding process comprises: determining the first flag indicating whether a constant picture size is used in a video sequence including the current picture; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is used, encoding the current picture without reference picture resampling; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is not used, determining the second flag indicating whether a conformance window size is to be signaled; based on the second flag indicating that the conformance window size is signaled: determining the conformance window size, determining a resampling ratio between the current picture and a reference picture based on the conformance window size; and encoding the current picture based on reference picture resampling using the resampling ratio”.
Thus, for similar reasons as stated above for claim 15, the claim 16 limitation “…wherein the conformance window size is signaled as at least one offset distance from a border of the current picture” is also devoid of functional relationship between the computer readable medium and the rest of recited features of the claim 16. When determining the scope of the claim, the above features of claim 16 were not given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05 (III). Thus, the computer-readable data recording medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, or a hard disk drive disclosed in Kadono meets Applicant’s claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, Kadono discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15 (paragraph [257], Kadono discloses a computer readable data medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, hard disk drive, etc.), wherein the first flag is signaled in a sequence parameter set (SPS), and wherein the second flag is signaled in one from among the SPS and a picture parameter set (paragraph [257], Kadono discloses a computer readable data medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, hard disk drive, etc.).
Since claim 17 is dependent on claim 15, the reasons for rejecting claim 17 also apply to claim 15 because the claim 17 is directed to “a non-transitory computer-readable medium’'. The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium without functional relationship between the computer readable medium and the rest of recited features of the claim “…storing a bitstream that is generated by an encoding process, the bitstream comprising an encoding of a video sequence, the encoding of the video sequence comprising a current picture, a first flag, and a second flag, and wherein the encoding process comprises: determining the first flag indicating whether a constant picture size is used in a video sequence including the current picture; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is used, encoding the current picture without reference picture resampling; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is not used, determining the second flag indicating whether a conformance window size is to be signaled; based on the second flag indicating that the conformance window size is signaled: determining the conformance window size, determining a resampling ratio between the current picture and a reference picture based on the conformance window size; and encoding the current picture based on reference picture resampling using the resampling ratio”.
Thus, for similar reasons as stated above for claim 15, the claim 17 limitation “…wherein the first flag is signaled in a sequence parameter set (SPS), and wherein the second flag is signaled in one from among the SPS and a picture parameter set (PPS)” is also devoid of functional relationship between the computer readable medium and the rest of recited features of the claim 17. When determining the scope of the claim, the above features of claim 17 were not given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05 (III). Thus, the computer-readable data recording medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, or a hard disk drive disclosed in Kadono meets Applicant’s claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, Kadono discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15 (paragraph [257], Kadono discloses a computer readable data medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, hard disk drive, etc.), wherein the second flag is signaled in the SPS, and indicates whether SPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the SPS (paragraph [257], Kadono discloses a computer readable data medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, hard disk drive, etc.).
Since claim 18 is dependent on claim 15, the reasons for rejecting claim 18 also apply to claim 15 because the claim 18 is directed to “a non-transitory computer-readable medium’'. The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium without functional relationship between the computer readable medium and the rest of recited features of the claim “…storing a bitstream that is generated by an encoding process, the bitstream comprising an encoding of a video sequence, the encoding of the video sequence comprising a current picture, a first flag, and a second flag, and wherein the encoding process comprises: determining the first flag indicating whether a constant picture size is used in a video sequence including the current picture; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is used, encoding the current picture without reference picture resampling; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is not used, determining the second flag indicating whether a conformance window size is to be signaled; based on the second flag indicating that the conformance window size is signaled: determining the conformance window size, determining a resampling ratio between the current picture and a reference picture based on the conformance window size; and encoding the current picture based on reference picture resampling using the resampling ratio”.
Thus, for similar reasons as stated above for claim 15, the claim 18 limitation “…wherein the second flag is signaled in the SPS, and indicates whether SPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the SPS” is also devoid of functional relationship between the computer readable medium and the rest of recited features of the claim 18. When determining the scope of the claim, the above features of claim 18 were not given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05 (III). Thus, the computer-readable data recording medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, or a hard disk drive disclosed in Kadono meets Applicant’s claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, Kadono discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 18 (paragraph [257], Kadono discloses a computer readable data medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, hard disk drive, etc.), wherein the bitstream further comprises a third flag, and wherein the encoding process further comprises: based on the first flag indicating that a picture size is not constant, determining a third flag indicating whether PPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the PPS (paragraph [257], Kadono discloses a computer readable data medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, hard disk drive, etc.).
Since claim 19 is dependent on claim 15, the reasons for rejecting claim 19 also apply to claim 15 because the claim 19 is directed to “a non-transitory computer-readable medium’'. The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium without functional relationship between the computer readable medium and the rest of recited features of the claim “…storing a bitstream that is generated by an encoding process, the bitstream comprising an encoding of a video sequence, the encoding of the video sequence comprising a current picture, a first flag, and a second flag, and wherein the encoding process comprises: determining the first flag indicating whether a constant picture size is used in a video sequence including the current picture; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is used, encoding the current picture without reference picture resampling; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is not used, determining the second flag indicating whether a conformance window size is to be signaled; based on the second flag indicating that the conformance window size is signaled: determining the conformance window size, determining a resampling ratio between the current picture and a reference picture based on the conformance window size; and encoding the current picture based on reference picture resampling using the resampling ratio”.
Thus, for similar reasons as stated above for claim 15, the claim 19 limitation “…wherein the bitstream further comprises a third flag, and wherein the encoding process further comprises: based on the first flag indicating that a picture size is not constant, determining a third flag indicating whether PPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the PPS” is also devoid of functional relationship between the computer readable medium and the rest of recited features of the claim 19. When determining the scope of the claim, the above features of claim 19 were not given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05 (III). Thus, the computer-readable data recording medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, or a hard disk drive disclosed in Kadono meets Applicant’s claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, Kadono discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19 (paragraph [257], Kadono discloses a computer readable data medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, hard disk drive, etc.), wherein based on the second flag indicating that the SPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the SPS, and the third flag indicating that the PPS conformance window parameters are not signaled in the PPS, the conformance window size is determined based on the SPS conformance window parameters (paragraph [257], Kadono discloses a computer readable data medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, hard disk drive, etc.).
Since claim 20 is dependent on claim 15, the reasons for rejecting claim 20 also apply to claim 15 because the claim 20 is directed to “a non-transitory computer-readable medium’'. The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium without functional relationship between the computer readable medium and the rest of recited features of the claim “…storing a bitstream that is generated by an encoding process, the bitstream comprising an encoding of a video sequence, the encoding of the video sequence comprising a current picture, a first flag, and a second flag, and wherein the encoding process comprises: determining the first flag indicating whether a constant picture size is used in a video sequence including the current picture; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is used, encoding the current picture without reference picture resampling; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is not used, determining the second flag indicating whether a conformance window size is to be signaled; based on the second flag indicating that the conformance window size is signaled: determining the conformance window size, determining a resampling ratio between the current picture and a reference picture based on the conformance window size; and encoding the current picture based on reference picture resampling using the resampling ratio”.
Thus, for similar reasons as stated above for claim 15, the claim 20 limitation “…wherein based on the second flag indicating that the SPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the SPS, and the third flag indicating that the PPS conformance window parameters are not signaled in the PPS, the conformance window size is determined based on the SPS conformance window parameters” is also devoid of functional relationship between the computer readable medium and the rest of recited features of the claim 20. When determining the scope of the claim, the above features of claim 20 were not given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05 (III). Thus, the computer-readable data recording medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, or a hard disk drive disclosed in Kadono meets Applicant’s claim 20.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,375,692 in view of Seregin (US 2021/0051341).
Claim 1 of present Application ‘579 is similar to claim 1 of Patent ‘692. Peruse the table below. Claim 1 of Patent ‘692 does not disclose "...generating a bitstream of visual media data according to an encoding process, the bitstream of the visual media data comprising an encoding of a video sequence, the encoding of the video sequence comprising a current picture, a first flag, and a second flag". However, Seregin teaches generating a bitstream of visual media data according to an encoding process (paragraph [63], Seregin discloses video encoder for encoding a video bitstream, wherein the video bitstream comprises a sequence of pictures), the bitstream of the visual media data comprising an encoding of a video sequence (paragraph [63], Seregin discloses video encoder for encoding a video bitstream, wherein the video bitstream comprises a sequence of pictures), the encoding of the video sequence comprising a current picture (paragraph [150], Seregin discloses the video sequence of images comprise a current picture, wherein paragraph [63], Seregin discloses video encoder for encoding a video bitstream, wherein the video bitstream comprises a sequence of pictures), a first flag (paragraph [169], Seregin's table 3 discloses first flag for indicating conformance window), and a second flag (paragraph [169], Seregin's table 3 discloses second flag for indicating scaling window). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of Patent ‘692 and Seregin together as a whole for improving video compression accuracy while maintaining high image quality.
Claim 2 of present Application ‘579 is similar to claim 2 of Patent ‘692. Thus, claim 2 of present Application ‘579 is anticipated by claim 2 of Patent ‘692.
Claim 3 of present Application ‘579 is similar to claim 3 of Patent ‘692. Thus, claim 3 of present Application ‘579 is anticipated by claim 3 of Patent ‘692.
Claim 4 of present Application ‘579 is similar to claim 4 of Patent ‘692. Thus, claim 4 of present Application ‘579 is anticipated by claim 4 of Patent ‘692.
Claim 5 of present Application ‘579 is similar to claim 5 of Patent ‘692. Thus, claim 5 of present Application ‘579 is anticipated by claim 5 of Patent ‘692.
Claim 6 of present Application ‘579 is similar to claim 6 of Patent ‘692. Thus, claim 6 of present Application ‘579 is anticipated by claim 6 of Patent ‘692.
Claim 7 of present Application ‘579 is similar to claim 7 of Patent ‘692. Thus, claim 7 of present Application ‘579 is anticipated by claim 7 of Patent ‘692.
Claim 8 of present Application ‘579 is similar to claim 8 of Patent ‘692. Peruse the table below. Claim 8 of Patent ‘692 does not disclose "... the bitstream of the visual media data comprising an encoding of a video sequence, the encoding of the video sequence comprising a current picture, a first flag, and a second flag”. However, Seregin teaches the bitstream of the visual media data comprising an encoding of a video sequence (paragraph [63], Seregin discloses video encoder for encoding a video bitstream, wherein the video bitstream comprises a sequence of pictures), the encoding of the video sequence comprising a current picture (paragraph [150], Seregin discloses the video sequence of images comprise a current picture, wherein paragraph [63], Seregin discloses video encoder for encoding a video bitstream, wherein the video bitstream comprises a sequence of pictures), a first flag (paragraph [169], Seregin's table 3 discloses first flag for indicating conformance window), and a second flag (paragraph [169], Seregin's table 3 discloses second flag for indicating scaling window). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 8 of Patent ‘692 and Seregin together as a whole for improving video compression accuracy while maintaining high image quality.
Claim 9 of present Application ‘579 is similar to claim 9 of Patent ‘692. Thus, claim 9 of present Application ‘579 is anticipated by claim 9 of Patent ‘692.
Claim 10 of present Application ‘579 is similar to claim 10 of Patent ‘692. Thus, claim 10 of present Application ‘579 is anticipated by claim 10 of Patent ‘692.
Claim 11 of present Application ‘579 is similar to claim 11 of Patent ‘692. Thus, claim 11 of present Application ‘579 is anticipated by claim 11 of Patent ‘692.
Claim 12 of present Application ‘579 is similar to claim 12 of Patent ‘692. Thus, claim 12 of present Application ‘579 is anticipated by claim 12 of Patent ‘692.
Claim 13 of present Application ‘579 is similar to claim 13 of Patent ‘692. Thus, claim 13 of present Application ‘579 is anticipated by claim 13 of Patent ‘692.
Claim 14 of present Application ‘579 is similar to claim 14 of Patent ‘692. Thus, claim 14 of present Application ‘579 is anticipated by claim 14 of Patent ‘692.
Claim 15 of present Application ‘579 is similar to claim 1 of Patent ‘692. Peruse the table below. Claim 1 of Patent ‘692 does not disclose "... the bitstream comprising an encoding of a video sequence, the encoding of the video sequence comprising a current picture, a first flag, and a second flag”. However, Seregin teaches the bitstream comprising an encoding of a video sequence (paragraph [63], Seregin discloses video encoder for encoding a video bitstream, wherein the video bitstream comprises a sequence of pictures), the encoding of the video sequence comprising a current picture (paragraph [150], Seregin discloses the video sequence of images comprise a current picture, wherein paragraph [63], Seregin discloses video encoder for encoding a video bitstream, wherein the video bitstream comprises a sequence of pictures), a first flag (paragraph [169], Seregin's table 3 discloses first flag for indicating conformance window), and a second flag (paragraph [169], Seregin's table 3 discloses second flag for indicating scaling window). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of Patent ‘692 and Seregin together as a whole for improving video compression accuracy while maintaining high image quality.
Claim 16 of present Application ‘579 is similar to claim 2 of Patent ‘692. Thus, claim 16 of present Application ‘579 is anticipated by claim 2 of Patent ‘692.
Claim 17 of present Application ‘579 is similar to claim 3 of Patent ‘692. Thus, claim 17 of present Application ‘579 is anticipated by claim 3 of Patent ‘692.
Claim 18 of present Application ‘579 is similar to claim 4 of Patent ‘692. Thus, claim 18 of present Application ‘579 is anticipated by claim 4 of Patent ‘692.
Claim 19 of present Application ‘579 is similar to claim 5 of Patent ‘692. Thus, claim 19 of present Application ‘579 is anticipated by claim 5 of Patent ‘692.
Claim 20 of present Application ‘579 is similar to claim 6 of Patent ‘692. Thus, claim 20 of present Application ‘579 is anticipated by claim 6 of Patent ‘692.
Peruse table below.
Present Application 19/269,579
US Patent No. 12,375,692
Claim 1.
A method of encoding a video bitstream using at least one processor, the method comprising: generating a bitstream of visual media data according to an encoding process, the bitstream of the visual media data comprising an encoding of a video sequence, the encoding of the video sequence comprising a current picture, a first flag, and a second flag, and wherein the encoding process comprises: determining the first flag indicating whether a constant picture size is used in a video sequence including the current picture; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is used, encoding the current picture without reference picture resampling; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is not used, determining the second flag indicating whether a conformance window size is to be signaled; based on the second flag indicating that the conformance window size is signaled: determining the conformance window size, determining a resampling ratio between the current picture and a reference picture based on the conformance window size; and encoding the current picture based on reference picture resampling using the resampling ratio.
Claim 1.
A method of encoding a video bitstream using at least one processor, the method comprising: determining a first flag indicating whether a constant picture size is used in a video sequence including a current picture; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is used, encoding the current picture without performing reference picture resampling; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is not used, determining a second flag indicating whether a conformance window size is to be signaled; based on the second flag indicating that the conformance window size is signaled: determining the conformance window size, determining a resampling ratio between the current picture and a reference picture based on the conformance window size, and performing the reference picture resampling on the current picture using the resampling ratio.
Claim 2.
The method of claim 1, wherein the conformance window size is signaled as at least one offset distance from a border of the current picture.
Claim 2.
The method of claim 1, wherein the conformance window size is signaled as at least one offset distance from a border of the current picture.
Claim 3.
The method of claim 1, wherein the first flag is signaled in a sequence parameter set (SPS), and wherein the second flag is signaled in one from among the SPS and a picture parameter set (PPS).
Claim 3.
The method of claim 1, wherein the first flag is signaled in a sequence parameter set (SPS), and wherein the second flag is signaled in one from among the SPS and a picture parameter set (PPS).
Claim 4.
The method of claim 1, wherein the second flag is signaled in the SPS, and indicates whether SPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the SPS.
Claim 4.
The method of claim 1, wherein the second flag is signaled in the SPS, and indicates whether SPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the SPS.
Claim 5.
The method of claim 4, wherein the bitstream further comprises a third flag, and wherein the encoding process further comprises: based on the first flag indicating that a picture size is not constant, determining the third flag indicating whether PPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the PPS.
Claim 5.
The method of claim 4, further comprising, based on the first flag indicating that a picture size is not constant, determining a third flag indicating whether PPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the PPS.
Claim 6.
The method of claim 5, wherein based on the second flag indicating that the SPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the SPS, and the third flag indicating that the PPS conformance window parameters are not signaled in the PPS, the conformance window size is determined based on the SPS conformance window parameters.
Claim 6.
The method of claim 5, wherein based on the second flag indicating that the SPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the SPS, and the third flag indicating that the PPS conformance window parameters are not signaled in the PPS, the conformance window size is determined based on the SPS conformance window parameters.
Claim 7.
The method of claim 5, wherein based on the second flag indicating that the SPS conformance window parameters are not signaled in the SPS, and the third flag indicating that the PPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the PPS, the conformance window size is determined based on the PPS conformance window parameters.
Claim 7.
The method of claim 5, wherein based on the second flag indicating that the SPS conformance window parameters are not signaled in the SPS, and the third flag indicating that the PPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the PPS, the conformance window size is determined based on the PPS conformance window parameters.
Claim 8.
A method of decoding a video bitstream using at least one processor, the method comprising: decoding a bitstream of visual media data according to a decoding process, the bitstream of the visual media data comprising an encoding of a video sequence, the encoding of the video sequence comprising a current picture, a first flag, and a second flag, and wherein the decoding process comprises: determining the first flag indicating whether a constant picture size is used in the encoding of the video sequence; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is used, decoding the current picture without reference picture resampling; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is not used, determining the second flag indicating whether a conformance window size is signaled; based on the second flag indicating that the conformance window size is signaled: determining the conformance window size, determining a resampling ratio between the current picture and a reference picture based on the conformance window size; and decoding the current picture based on reference picture resampling using the resampling ratio.
Claim 8.
A method of decoding a video bitstream using at least one processor, the method comprising: determining a first flag indicating whether a constant picture size is used in a coded video sequence including a current picture; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is used, decoding the current picture without performing reference picture resampling; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is not used, determining a second flag indicating whether a conformance window size is signaled; based on the second flag indicating that the conformance window size is signaled: determining the conformance window size, determining a resampling ratio between the current picture and a reference picture based on the conformance window size, and performing the reference picture resampling on the current picture using the resampling ratio.
Claim 9.
The method of claim 8, wherein the conformance window size is signaled as at least one offset distance from a border of the current picture.
Claim 9.
The method of claim 8, wherein the conformance window size is signaled as at least one offset distance from a border of the current picture.
Claim 10.
The method of claim 8, wherein the first flag is signaled in a sequence parameter set (SPS), and wherein the second flag is signaled in one from among the SPS and a picture parameter set (PPS).
Claim 10.
The method of claim 8, wherein the first flag is signaled in a sequence parameter set (SPS), and wherein the second flag is signaled in one from among the SPS and a picture parameter set (PPS).
Claim 11.
The method of claim 8, wherein the second flag is signaled in the SPS, and indicates whether SPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the SPS.
Claim 11.
The method of claim 8, wherein the second flag is signaled in the SPS, and indicates whether SPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the SPS.
Claim 12.
The method of claim 11, wherein the bitstream further comprises a third flag, and wherein the decoding process further comprises: based on the first flag indicating that a picture size is not constant, determining the third flag indicating whether PPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the PPS.
Claim 12.
The method of claim 11, further comprising, based on the first flag indicating that a picture size is not constant, determining a third flag indicating whether PPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the PPS.
Claim 13.
The method of claim 12, wherein based on the second flag indicating that the SPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the SPS, and the third flag indicating that the PPS conformance window parameters are not signaled in the PPS, the conformance window size is determined based on the SPS conformance window parameters.
Claim 13.
The method of claim 12, wherein based on the second flag indicating that the SPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the SPS, and the third flag indicating that the PPS conformance window parameters are not signaled in the PPS, the conformance window size is determined based on the SPS conformance window parameters.
Claim 14.
The method of claim 12, wherein based on the second flag indicating that the SPS conformance window parameters are not signaled in the SPS, and the third flag indicating that the PPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the PPS, the conformance window size is determined based on the PPS conformance window parameters.
Claim 14.
The method of claim 12, wherein based on the second flag indicating that the SPS conformance window parameters are not signaled in the SPS, and the third flag indicating that the PPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the PPS, the conformance window size is determined based on the PPS conformance window parameters.
Claim 15.
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream that is generated by an encoding process, the bitstream comprising an encoding of a video sequence, the encoding of the video sequence comprising a current picture, a first flag, and a second flag, and wherein the encoding process comprises: determining the first flag indicating whether a constant picture size is used in a video sequence including the current picture; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is used, encoding the current picture without reference picture resampling; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is not used, determining the second flag indicating whether a conformance window size is to be signaled; based on the second flag indicating that the conformance window size is signaled: determining the conformance window size, determining a resampling ratio between the current picture and a reference picture based on the conformance window size; and encoding the current picture based on reference picture resampling using the resampling ratio.
Claim 1.
A method of encoding a video bitstream using at least one processor, the method comprising: determining a first flag indicating whether a constant picture size is used in a video sequence including a current picture; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is used, encoding the current picture without performing reference picture resampling; based on the first flag indicating that the constant picture size is not used, determining a second flag indicating whether a conformance window size is to be signaled; based on the second flag indicating that the conformance window size is signaled: determining the conformance window size, determining a resampling ratio between the current picture and a reference picture based on the conformance window size, and performing the reference picture resampling on the current picture using the resampling ratio.
Claim 16.
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the conformance window size is signaled as at least one offset distance from a border of the current picture.
Claim 2.
The method of claim 1, wherein the conformance window size is signaled as at least one offset distance from a border of the current picture.
Claim 17.
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the first flag is signaled in a sequence parameter set (SPS), and wherein the second flag is signaled in one from among the SPS and a picture parameter set (PPS).
Claim 3.
The method of claim 1, wherein the first flag is signaled in a sequence parameter set (SPS), and wherein the second flag is signaled in one from among the SPS and a picture parameter set (PPS).
Claim 18.
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the second flag is signaled in the SPS, and indicates whether SPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the SPS.
Claim 4.
The method of claim 1, wherein the second flag is signaled in the SPS, and indicates whether SPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the SPS.
Claim 19.
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the bitstream further comprises a third flag, and wherein the encoding process further comprises: based on the first flag indicating that a picture size is not constant, determining a third flag indicating whether PPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the PPS.
Claim 5.
The method of claim 4, further comprising, based on the first flag indicating that a picture size is not constant, determining a third flag indicating whether PPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the PPS.
Claim 20.
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19, wherein based on the second flag indicating that the SPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the SPS, and the third flag indicating that the PPS conformance window parameters are not signaled in the PPS, the conformance window size is determined based on the SPS conformance window parameters.
Claim 6.
The method of claim 5, wherein based on the second flag indicating that the SPS conformance window parameters are signaled in the SPS, and the third flag indicating that the PPS conformance window parameters are not signaled in the PPS, the conformance window size is determined based on the SPS conformance window parameters.
Contact Information
/ALLEN C WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488