DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 10-11, 14-17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication US2024/0007342A1 in view of Papak et al. US2018/0285239A1 in view of Ezrielev et al. U.S. Patent 11,507,447.
As per claim 1, Gupta teaches a method comprising: receiving, based on a mapping of one or more components in a computer architecture, an ordered graph indicating one or more relationships between the one or more components (¶ 0068, wherein the knowledge graph comprises corresponding infrastructure components and relationships); determining, by a machine learning model trained to perform structural analysis on the ordered graph, one or more failure points associated with the one or more components (¶ 0232, wherein the model receives the knowledge graph and generates a causality graph); revising, by the machine learning model and based on the one or more downstream effects, the one or more failure points (¶ 0235, wherein the model is revised with received prior data); wherein the revising comprises revising the one or more failure points based on a comparison of the respective downstream effect measured for a first component of the plurality of components with the respective downstream effect measured for a second component of the plurality of components (¶ 0048); and presenting, using a display, a visual representation of the one or more failure points (¶ 0175). Papak teaches iteratively injecting one or more error conditions into the one or more components to induce an error state in the one or more components during operation of the one or more components in the computer architecture, wherein the one or more error conditions comprise increased latency in communications between the one or more components, wherein the iteratively injecting comprises injecting the one or more error conditions into each component of a plurality of components of the one or more components in turn, and wherein the iteratively injecting comprises iteratively increasing a severity of the one or more error conditions injected into the one or more components (¶ 0071, wherein the fault is iteratively applied and severity is increased, ¶ 0052); measuring, based on the iteratively injecting the one or more error conditions, one or more downstream effects of the one or more error conditions, wherein the measuring comprises measuring a respective downstream effect for each component of the plurality of components, wherein the one or more downstream effects comprise increased latency in communications between one or more other components (¶ 0047-0048, wherein downstream dependencies are monitored and latency is measured, ¶ 0055). Ezrielev teaches wherein the ordered graph comprises mapped metadata (column 5, lines 20-32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the process of Papak and Ezrielev in the process of Gupta. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the process of Papak and Ezrielev in the process of Gupta because using the process of Papak and Ezrielev would have yielded the predictable result of collecting and analyzing software metrics to predict an anomaly.
As per claim 2, Gupta teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more components comprise one or more of: hardware components, or software components (¶ 0056).
As per claim 3, Ezrielev teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising training the machine learning model based on historical component descriptions, wherein the historical component descriptions comprise: domain-specific language associated with the computer architecture; and labeled images of diagram components (column 4, lines 23-29).
As per claim 4, Ezrielev teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising training the machine learning model based on historical data associated with real-world failures (column 5, lines 3-15).
As per claim 7, Ezrielev teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, based on the one or more failure points, one or more remedial actions for the computer architecture; and performing, based on detecting a failure of a subset of the one or more components, the one or more remedial actions (column 5, lines 55-64).
As per claim 10, Ezrielev teaches the computing device of claim 8, wherein the machine learning model is trained based on: domain-specific language associated with the computer architecture; and labeled images of diagram components (column 4, lines 23-29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the process of Ezrielev in the process of Gupta. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the process of Ezrielev in the process of Gupta because using the process of Ezrielev would have yielded the predictable result of collecting and analyzing software metrics to predict an anomaly.
As per claim 11, Ezrielev teaches the computing device of claim 8, wherein the machine learning model is trained based on historical data associated with real-world failures (column 5, lines 3-15).
As per claim 14, Ezrielev teaches the computing device of claim 8, instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the computing device to: determine, based on the one or more failure points, one or more remedial actions for the computer architecture; and perform, based on detecting a failure of a subset of the first set of one or more components, the one or more remedial actions (column 5, lines 55-64).
As per claim 15, Gupta teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause performance of actions comprising: receiving, based on a mapping of one or more components in a computer architecture, an ordered graph indicating one or more relationships between the one or more components; determining, by a machine learning model trained to perform structural analysis on the ordered graph, one or more failure points associated with the one or more components; revising, by the machine learning model and based on the one or more downstream effects, the one or more failure points; wherein the revising comprises revising the one or more failure points based on a comparison of the respective downstream effect measured for a first component of the plurality of components with the respective downstream effect measured for a second component of the plurality of components (¶ 0068, 01640-166, 0232, 0235, see claim 1 for mapping). Papak teaches iteratively injecting one or more error conditions into the one or more components to induce an error state in the one or more components during operation of the one or more components in the computer architecture, wherein the one or more error conditions comprise increased latency in communications between the one or more components, and wherein the iteratively injecting comprises iteratively increasing a severity of the one or more error conditions injected into the one or more components (¶ 0071, wherein the fault is iteratively applied and severity is increased, ¶ 0052); measuring, based on the iteratively injecting the one or more error conditions, one or more downstream effects of the one or more error conditions, wherein the measuring comprises measuring a respective downstream effect for each component of the plurality of components, wherein the one or more downstream effects comprise increased latency in communications between one or more other components; wherein the one or more downstream effects comprise increased latency in communications between one or more other components (¶ 0047-0048, wherein downstream dependencies are monitored and latency is measured, ¶ 0055). Ezrielev teaches wherein the ordered graph comprises mapped metadata (column 5, lines 20-32), and determining, based on the one or more failure points, one or more remedial actions for the computer architecture; wherein the one or more error conditions comprise increased latency in communications between the one or more components, wherein the iteratively injecting comprises injecting the one or more error conditions into each component of a plurality of components of the one or more components in turn; and performing, based on detecting a failure of a subset of the one or more components, the one or more remedial actions (column 5, lines 55-64). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the process of Ezrielev and Papak in the process of Gupta. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the process of Ezrielev and Papak in the process of Gupta because using the process of Ezrielev and Papak would have yielded the predictable result of collecting and analyzing software metrics to predict an anomaly.
As per claim 16, Gupta teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer instructions of claim 15, wherein the one or more components comprise one or more of: hardware components, or software components (¶ 0056).
As per claim 17, Ezrielev teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer instructions of claim 15, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause performance of actions comprising: training the machine learning model based on one or more of: domain-specific language associated with the computer architecture, labeled images of diagram components, or historical data associated with real-world failures (column 4, lines 23-29; column 5, lines 3-15).
As per claim 20, Gupta teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer instructions of claim 15, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause performance of actions comprising: presenting, using a display, a user interface indicating the one or more failure points (¶ 0175).
4. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta in view Papak in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication US2026/0142885A1 to Viccari et al.
As per claim 12, Gupta teaches the computing device of claim 8. Viccari teaches wherein the one or more error conditions comprise one or more of: downtime, bandwidth restrictions, error codes, judder, or excess traffic (¶ 0039). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the process of Viccari in the process of Gupta. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the process of Viccari in the process of Gupta because using the process of Viccari would have yielded the predictable result of collecting and analyzing software/network metrics from fault injection to predict an anomaly.
5. Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta in view of Papak in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication US2023/0087837A1 to Hwang et al.
As per claim 13, Gupta teaches the computing device of claim 8. Hwang teaches wherein the machine learning model comprises a Bayesian network model (¶ 0130, 0030). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the process of Hwang in the process of Gupta. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the process of Hwang in the process of Gupta because using the process of Hwang would have yielded the predictable result of analyzing software/network metrics in a learning model from fault injection to predict an anomaly.
6. Claim(s) 5, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta in view of Papak in view of Ezrielev in view of Viccari.
As per claim 5, Gupta teaches the method of claim 1. Viccari teaches wherein the one or more error conditions comprise one or more of: downtime, bandwidth restrictions, error codes, judder, or excess traffic (¶ 0039). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the process of Viccari in the process of Gupta. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the process of Viccari in the process of Gupta because using the process of Viccari would have yielded the predictable result of collecting and analyzing software/network metrics from fault injection to predict an anomaly.
As per claim 18, Gupta teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer instructions of claim 15. Viccari teaches wherein the one or more error conditions comprise one or more of: downtime, bandwidth restrictions, error codes, judder, or excess traffic (¶ 0039). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the process of Viccari in the process of Gupta. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the process of Viccari in the process of Gupta because using the process of Viccari would have yielded the predictable result of collecting and analyzing software/network metrics from fault injection to predict an anomaly.
7. Claim(s) 6, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta in view of Papak in view of Ezrielev in view of Hwang.
As per claim 6, Gupta teaches the method of claim 1. Hwang teaches wherein the machine learning model comprises a Bayesian network model (¶ 0130, 0030). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the process of Hwang in the process of Gupta. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the process of Hwang in the process of Gupta because using the process of Hwang would have yielded the predictable result of analyzing software/network metrics in a learning model from fault injection to predict an anomaly.
As per claim 19, Gupta teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer instructions of claim 15. Hwang teaches wherein the machine learning model comprises a Bayesian network model (¶ 0130, 0030). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the process of Hwang in the process of Gupta. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the process of Hwang in the process of Gupta because using the process of Hwang would have yielded the predictable result of analyzing software/network metrics in a learning model from fault injection to predict an anomaly.
8. Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta in view of Papak.
As per claim 8, Gupta teaches a computing device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to perform: receive, based on a mapping of one or more components in a computer architecture, an ordered graph indicating one or more relationships between the one or more components (¶ 0068, wherein the knowledge graph comprises corresponding infrastructure components and relationships); determine, by a machine learning model trained to perform structural analysis on the ordered graph, one or more failure points associated with the one or more components (¶ 0232, wherein the model receives the knowledge graph and generates a causality graph); revise, by the machine learning model and based on the one or more downstream effects, the one or more failure points (¶ 0235, wherein the model is revised with received prior data); wherein the revising comprises revising the one or more failure points based on a comparison of the respective downstream effect measured for a first component of the plurality of components with the respective downstream effect measured for a second component of the plurality of components (¶ 0048). Papak teaches iteratively injecting one or more error conditions into the one or more components to induce an error state in the one or more components during operation of the one or more components in the computer architecture, wherein the one or more error conditions comprise increased latency in communications the first set of one or more components,wherein the iteratively injecting comprises injecting the one or more error conditions into each component of a plurality of components of the first set of one or more components in turn, and wherein the iteratively injecting comprises iteratively increasing a severity of the one or more error conditions injected into the one or more components (¶ 0071, wherein the fault is iteratively applied and severity is increased, ¶ 0052); measuring, based on the iteratively injecting the one or more error conditions, one or more downstream effects of the one or more error conditions, wherein the measuring comprises measuring a respective downstream effect for each component of the plurality of components, wherein the one or more downstream effects comprise increased latency in communications between one or more other components (¶ 0047-0048, wherein downstream dependencies are monitored and latency is measured, ¶ 0055). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the process of Papak in the process of Gupta. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the process of Papak in the process of Gupta because using the process of Papak and would have yielded the predictable result of collecting and analyzing software metrics to predict an anomaly
As per claim 9, Gupta teaches the computing device of claim 8, wherein the first set of one or more components comprise one or more of: hardware components, or software components (¶ 0056).
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant's arguments filed 9/15/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant has amended and has argued the new limitations overcome the cited art. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant has amended the claims to cite “a plurality of components of the one or more components” with respect to steps of iterative injecting errors and measuring downstream effects. The examiner contends the new language defines the need of the plurality of components of comprising of one or more, which can be interpreted as merely one component, which is no different than the claim scope as before the amendment. The applicant argues in the Remarks, page 11, “Neither reference recites injecting error conditions into each component of a plurality of components, of a working enviornment [sic], in turn and measuring a respective downstream effect for each such component.” The examiner believes the applicant intended the error to be injected and measured at each component of a plurality of components, that comprise of more than one. The examiner suggests revising the language to reflect this assumption if it is correct.
The applicant has also amended the claims to cite the revising step comprises one or more failure points with respect to a first component and a second component. The examiner does interpret this limitation of citing two components rather than the aforementioned “one or more”. The examiner contends that Papak still teaches this language, in paragraph 0048, wherein a failure scenario is asserted for each component, A, B, or C, and a response is measured downstream from each component fault.
/CHRISTOPHER S MCCARTHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2113