DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This is a non-final rejection in response to the communication filed 01/22/2026, claims 16-32 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I (claims 16-27 and 31-32) in the reply filed on 01/07/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “each of the independent claims 16, 28, and 31 recite a torque transmission system for a slip ring unit of a wind turbine that provides a degree of freedom in at least one of an axial direction or in a radial direction and also prevents relative displacement between the rotating part of the slip ring unit and the rotating component of the wind turbine in a tangential direction .... Thus, the claims are not patently distinct and an additional search or examination burden does not exist.” This is not found persuasive because Inventions I and II are related as product and process of use. Further, the inventions can be shown to be distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product or (2) the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See MPEP § 806.05(h). In the instant case the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product such as a slip ring crane system.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 28-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 01/07/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-18 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 207559790 to Zhang (Zhang, and based on English Machine Translation).
In Reference to Claim 16
Zhang discloses a torque transmission system for a slip ring unit (Fig. 3, system including 102 for instance) of a wind turbine (¶ [0005]), the slip ring unit configured for being mounted along a rotational axis of a wind turbine rotor (¶ [0005], [0041], the slip ring unit as mounted with and concentric with generator rotor for instance), the slip ring unit having an encoder (¶ [0005]), a rotating part configured for connection to a rotating component of the wind turbine (¶ [0005], 102 connected to the generator rotor 101 of the wind turbine for instance), and a static part configured for connection to a static component of the wind turbine (static part of the slip ring unit for instance, not shown),
the torque transmission system (Fig. 3, 200 for instance) configured for connecting the rotating part of the slip ring unit (102 for instance) to the rotating component of the wind turbine (to the generator rotor of the wind turbine for instance) and having a degree of freedom in at least one of an axial direction or a radial direction (¶ [0042] and [0046], radially and axially by not generating forces for instance), and
the torque transmission system (200 for instance) further configured to prevent relative displacement between the rotating part of the slip ring unit and the rotating component of the wind turbine in a tangential direction (by the configuration of the system 200 in maintaining the slip ring unit and the generator system concentric for instance, see ¶ [0041]).
In Reference to Claim 17
Zhang discloses the torque transmission system of claim 16, wherein the torque transmission system (Fig. 3, 200 for instance) has a degree of freedom in the axial direction and also in the radial direction (¶ [0042] and [0046], radially and axially by not generating forces for instance).
In Reference to Claim 18
Zhang discloses the torque transmission system of claim 16, wherein the torque transmission system (Fig. 3, 200 for instance) comprises a transmission arm (10 for instance) and a coupling element (30 for instance), and wherein a first end of the transmission arm (left end of 10 for instance) is configured for connection to the rotating component of the wind turbine (101 for instance), and wherein the coupling element is configured for connection between a second end of the transmission arm (right end of 10 for instance) and the rotating part of the slip ring unit (102 for instance).
In Reference to Claim 31
Zhang discloses a wind turbine (¶ [0004]), comprising:
a tower; a nacelle mounted atop the tower (¶ [0004]);
a rotor comprising a rotatable hub and at least one rotor blade mounted to the rotatable hub (¶ [0004]);
a slip ring unit( Fig. 3, system including 102 for instance) configured for being mounted along a rotational axis of the rotor (¶ [0005], [0041], the slip ring unit as mounted with and concentric with generator rotor for instance), the slip ring comprising an encoder (¶ [0005]), a rotating part configured for connection to a rotating component of the wind turbine (¶ [0005], 102 connected to the generator rotor 101 of the wind turbine for instance), and a static part configured for connection to a static component of the wind turbine (static part of the slip ring unit for instance, not shown),
a torque transmission system (Fig. 3, 200 for instance) configured for connecting the rotating part of the slip ring unit (102 for instance) to the rotating component of the wind turbine (to the generator rotor of the wind turbine for instance) and having a degree of freedom in at least one of an axial direction or a radial direction (¶ [0042] and [0046], radially and axially by not generating forces for instance), and
wherein the torque transmission system is further configured to prevent relative displacement between the rotating part of the slip ring unit and the rotating component of the wind turbine in a tangential direction (by the configuration of the system 200 in maintaining the slip ring unit and the generator system concentric for instance, see ¶ [0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 207559790 to Zhang (Zhang, and based on English Machine Translation) in view of CN 205260233 to Lei (Lei, and based on English Machine Translation).
In Reference to Claim 21
Zhang discloses the torque transmission system of claim 18, except, "... wherein the coupling element comprises a Clevis coupling for connection to the rotating part of the slip ring unit, the Clevis coupling exhibiting a degree of freedom in the axial direction ....”
Lei is related to a system for a slip ring unit (Fig. 1, 3 and 4 for instance) of a wind turbine (¶ [0002]), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein a coupling element (Fig. 4, 2, 621, 42 and 41 for instance) comprises a Clevis coupling (62, 621 and 42 for instance) for connection to a rotating part of the slip ring unit (4 for instance), the Clevis coupling exhibiting a degree of freedom in the axial direction (¶ [0028], in the thrust direction for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Zhang wherein the coupling element (of Zhang) comprises a Clevis coupling (as taught by Lei) for connection to the rotating part of the slip ring unit (of Zhang), the Clevis coupling exhibiting a degree of freedom in the axial direction (as taught by Lei), so as to use an art known technique (of using coupling configurations for a rotating part of a slip ring unit that counters certain forces experienced during operation as taught by Lei) into the system of Zhang and predictably counter certain forces experienced by the rotating part of the slip ring unit.
In Reference to Claim 32
Zhang discloses the wind turbine of claim 31, wherein the rotating component of the wind turbine comprises the rotatable hub, a generator rotor, or a rotatable shaft (¶ [0004], [0005], a generator rotor or rotatable shaft for instance).
Zhang does not teach “... the wind turbine is a direct drive wind turbine ....”
Lei is related to a system for a slip ring unit (Fig. 1, 3 and 4 for instance) of a wind turbine (¶ [0002]), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein the wind turbine is a direct drive wind turbine (¶ [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Zhang wherein the wind turbine is a direct drive wind turbine (as taught by Lei), so as to use an art known technique (of a direct drive wind turbine having a slip ring unit configuration as taught by Lei) into the system of Zhang and predictably provide a wind turbine system.
Claim(s) 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 207559790 to Zhang (Zhang, and based on English Machine Translation) in view of CN 110645154 to Liu (Liu, and based on English Machine Translation).
In Reference to Claim 22
Zhang discloses the torque transmission system of claim 18, wherein the coupling element (Fig. 3, 30 for instance) comprises a first universal joint (32 for instance) and a second universal joint (31 for instance) connected by an intermediate shaft (30 for instance, see ¶ [0036]), the first universal joint (32) configured for connection to the second end of the transmission arm (10 for instance), and the second universal joint (31) configured for connection to the rotating part of the slip ring unit (to 102 via 20 for instance).
Zhang does not teach that the intermediate shaft is “... a sliding intermediate shaft ...” but does teach that the shaft includes an elastic portion 40.
Liu is related to a system for a slip ring unit (Fig. 1, 5 for instance) of a wind turbine (¶ [0004]), as the claimed invention, and teaches a sliding intermediate shaft (Fig. 2, 4 for instance) connected to joints (42 for instance) of a transmission arm (2 for instance) and the slip ring unit (5 for instance, via 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Zhang wherein the coupling element (of Zhang) comprises a first universal joint (of Zhang) and a second universal joint (Zhang) connected by a sliding intermediate shaft (as taught by Liu), so as to use an art known technique (of using portions of a coupling configuration for a rotating part of a slip ring unit that counters certain forces experienced during operation as taught by Liu) into the system of Zhang and predictably counter certain forces experienced by the rotating part of the slip ring unit.
In Reference to Claim 23
Zhang, as modified by Liu, discloses the torque transmission system of claim 22, wherein the first universal joint and the second universal joint have a ninety degrees offset (Zhang Fig. 3, 32 and 31, 31 as disposed down and to the right of 32 for instance).
In Reference to Claim 24
Zhang, as modified by Liu, discloses the torque transmission system of claim 22, wherein an angle of the first universal joint with respect to the intermediate shaft is substantially the same as an angle of the second universal joint with respect to the intermediate shaft (Zhang Fig. 3, 32 relative to 30 and 32 relative to 30 for instance).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 207559790 to Zhang (Zhang, and based on English Machine Translation) in view of US Patent 2,762,211 to Bellomo (Bellomo).
In Reference to Claim 25
Zhang discloses the torque transmission system of claim 18, wherein the coupling element (Fig. 3, 30 for instance) comprises a first joint (32 for instance) and a second joint (31 for instance) connected by an intermediate shaft (30 for instance), the first joint configured for connection to the second end of the transmission arm (10 for instance), and the second joint configured for connection to the rotating part of the slip ring unit (102 for instance, and via 20).
Zhang does not teach the first and second joint being a “... homokinetic ...” joint.
Bellomo is related to a universal joint connection (col 1, ll 15-22), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein the joint is a homokinetic joint.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Zhang wherein the first joint and second joint is a homokinetic joint (as taught by Bellomo), so a to use an art known technique (of using universal joints in a system that are homokinetic joints as taught by Bellomo) into the system of Zhang (as a replacement of the joints) and predictably form connection between the transmission arm and the slip ring unit.
Claim(s) 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 207559790 to Zhang (Zhang, and based on English Machine Translation) in view of US Patent 3,479,471 to Smith et al. (Smith).
In Reference to Claim 26
Zhang discloses the torque transmission system of claim 18, except, "... wherein the coupling element comprises a first leg and a second leg, wherein a first end of the first leg is configured for fixed connection to the second end of the transmission arm and a first end of the second leg is configured for fixed connection to the rotating part of the slip ring unit, and wherein the second end of the first leg and the second end of the second leg is connected at a pivot point ....”
Smith is related to coupling element (Fig. 1, 22 for instance) for connecting an electrode (24 for instance) to a system (20 for instance), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein the coupling element comprises a first leg and a second leg (top and bottom leg of 22 for instance), wherein a first end of the first leg is configured for connection to a second end of the system (20 for instance) and a first end of the second leg is configured for connection to the electrode (24 for instance), and wherein the second end of the first leg and the second end of the second leg is connected at a pivot point (of 22 in center for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Zhang wherein the coupling element comprises a first leg and a second leg (as taught by Smith), wherein a first end of the first leg (as taught by Smith) is configured for fixed connection to the second end of the transmission arm (of Zhang) and a first end of the second leg (as taught by Smith) is configured for fixed connection to the rotating part of the slip ring unit (of Zhang), and wherein the second end of the first leg and the second end of the second leg is connected at a pivot point (as taught by Smith), so as to use an art known technique (of the connection of an electrode to a system using a pantograph connection as taught by Smith) into the system of Zhang and predictably connect the slip ring unit to the transmission arm.
In Reference to Claim 27
Zhang, as modified by Smith, discloses the torque transmission system of claim 26, wherein the pivot point is configured to facilitate relative movement between the first end of the first leg and the first end of the second leg in the axial and in the radial directions while preventing relative movement in the tangential direction (the pantograph system 22 of Smith and only permitting movement direction up and down for instance).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The claim is deemed to be directed to an nonobvious improvement over the prior art. While the prior art teaches the torque transmission system, wherein the coupling element comprises a coupling plate (Zhang, Fig. 3, at end of 10 for instance) configured for connection to the second end of the transmission arm (10 for instance), the prior art, alone or in combination, does not teach or make obvious the coupling plate being configured to slide in a radial direction with respect to the transmission arm. This so as to provide structural integrity in the system by absorption of axial and/or radial displacements.
Claims 20 would be allowable based on its dependency on claim 19.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, as cited in the Notice of References Cited, are cited to show slip ring units using various types of connections, and slip ring units in wind turbines.
Conclusion
/WAYNE A LAMBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745