DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
This Office action is in response to Applicant’s amendments filed 05/18/2026.
Claims 1-6 and 8-30 are pending and are subject to this Office Action.
Claims 1-3, 8, 11 and 17 are amended.
Claims 29-30 are newly added.
Claim 7 is previously cancelled.
Claims 17-24 are previously withdrawn.
Response to Amendment
The Examiner withdraws the 112 rejection of claim 8 for indefiniteness due to amendments to the claims filed 05/18/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 8-11, filed 05/18/2026, with respect to the 102 rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Claim 1 has been amended to require that the cartridge include a heating element and an inhalable substance. Upon review, the prior art of record Conley does not explicitly teach that the proprietary cartridge and the foreign cartridge comprise both a heating element and an inhalable substance. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new obviousness ground(s) of rejection is made in over Conley.
On pages 9-11, the Applicant argues that Conley does not appropriately teach an adaptor with a foreign cartridge interface that mates with a cartridge. The Applicant argues that in the cited embodiment, Conley describes an adaptor with a foreign interface that mates with a foreign heating element. The Applicant argues that Conley reserves the word "cartridge" for components comprising both a heating element and a liquid solution, and as such, the described embodiment connection must only be to a foreign heating element rather than a full cartridge.
The Examiner disagrees.
Conley teaches a power source (power source 102) and a cartridge (cartridge 104, comprising liquid solution 128 and heating element 126; [0021-0023]). In a further exemplary embodiment cited by the Examiner in the previous rejection, Conley teaches a power supply (power source 702) including a cartridge interface (first connector type 704). Conley teaches that the power source 102 is connected to an adaptor 710 and a heating element 706. Conley does not further describe the heating element 706. However, when describing other embodiments, Conley describes three separate portions, in which the heating element is within a first cartridge 402 ([0038]), indicating that it is not necessary to have a liquid solution to be considered a cartridge. The heating element 706 may therefore be considered a cartridge. Furthermore, if the cartridge comprises a heating element, then any connection to a heating element would inherently be a connection to a cartridge.
On page 10, the Applicant argues that regardless of this interpretation, Conley does not explicitly teach that the cartridge 706 comprises both a heating element and a liquid solution. Upon review, the Examiner agrees that the cited embodiment (electronic vaporizer 700) discloses the inclusion of a heating element but does not explicitly disclose the presence of a liquid solution. Therefore, Conley does not anticipate the amended claim.
However, in other embodiments, Conley teaches the presence of both a heating element and a liquid solution in the cartridge ([0021-0023], [0038], [0053]). Furthermore, the Examiner notes that the electronic vaporizer would not be capable of use to deliver an aerosol to a user without the presence of a liquid solution. It would be apparent to one having ordinary skill in the art that a liquid solution would be required in the cartridge for the device to function as intended. Thus, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the disclosed cartridge embodiment (heating element 706) may comprise both a heating element and a liquid solution.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 11, filed 05/18/2026, with respect to the 102 rejection(s) of claim 2 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Claim 2 has been amended to require that the cartridge interface of the power supply is recessed within a cavity formed in a proximal ending of a housing of the power supply. Prior art of record Conley does not teach that the cartridge interface is recessed within a cavity. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new obviousness ground(s) of rejection is made in over Conley in further view of Hepworth et al. (WO 2020020955 A2).
Applicant's arguments, see pages 11-14, filed 05/18/2026, with respect to the 103 rejection of claim 11 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 11-15 the Applicant argues that Conley does not teach a system with a plurality of adaptors. Specifically, the Applicant argues that Conley does not provide motivation to modify the invention to have a plurality of adaptors with different configurations. The Applicant further emphasizes that, as argued against the rejection of claim 1, Conley does not teach the appropriate connection to a cartridge.
The Examiner disagrees.
Conley teaches adaptor 710 and adaptor 800 each intended to couple a power source with a cartridge of a different type ([0048-0049]). Conley further teaches that different connection types are known and would be applicable to the adaptor embodiments ([0047], [0051]). The Examiner maintains that it would be obvious to provide multiple adaptors to connect the same power source to multiple different cartridges of different types. This would involve merely making multiple adaptors comprising different types of known connections, as taught by Conley. The disclosure of Conley would still encompass different adaptor variations, and one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that multiple may be provided at once.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 11, filed 05/18/2026, with respect to the 103 rejection(s) of claim 25 have been fully considered and they are persuasive. The Applicant argues that Conley does not teach a power source with a single interface that can interchangeably mate with cartridges employing different diffusing technologies. Specifically, the Applicant argues that Conley's acknowledgement of different diffusing technologies does not constitute a teaching that a single interface can support interchangeable use with different diffusing technologies. The Applicant further argues that each different diffusion technology listed by Conley would require different power delivery characteristics and would thus not be an obvious modification. Upon review, Conley does not explicitly teach that the power supply may directly and interchangeably mate with a first cartridge and a second cartridge having different diffusing elements. Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new obviousness ground(s) of rejection is made in over Conley in further view of Yu et al. (US 20250288015 A1).
The following is a modified rejection based on Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-16 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conley et al. (US 20130220315 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Conley teaches a system (electronic vaporizer 100, 700; Fig. 7; [0018], [0047-0048]), comprising:
a power supply (power source 102, 702) including a cartridge interface (first connector type 704),
wherein the cartridge interface mates with a first power supply interface of a proprietary cartridge (cartridge 104) ([0004]) that includes a heating element (heating element 126; [0022]);
and an adaptor (adapter 710; [0048]) including a second power supply interface (first connector 712) and a foreign cartridge interface (second connector 714),
wherein the second power supply interface mates with the cartridge interface ([0048]),
wherein the foreign cartridge interface mates with a power coupler (second connector 708) of a foreign cartridge (heating element 706; [0047-0048]) that includes a heating element (heating element 706);
and wherein the system is configured to diffuse an inhalable substance (Abstract).
The cited embodiment of Conley does not explicitly disclose the presence of a liquid solution in the proprietary and foreign cartridges.
However, in other embodiments, Conley teaches the presence of both a heating element (heating element 126) and a liquid solution (solution 128) in the cartridge ([0021-0023], [0038], [0053]). Furthermore, the Examiner notes that the electronic vaporizer would not be capable of use to deliver an aerosol to a user without the presence of a liquid solution. It would be apparent to one having ordinary skill in the art that a liquid solution would be required in the cartridge for the device to function as intended. Thus, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the disclosed cartridge embodiment (heating element 706) may comprise both a heating element and a liquid solution.
Regarding claim 4, Conley does not explicitly teach that the at least one foreign cartridge interface comprises a 510 threaded connection.
However, Conley does teach that a threaded connection is a known connection type for a cartridge interface.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Conley by making the at least one foreign cartridge interface comprise a threaded connection as Conley is silent to the exact foreign cartridge interface connection and one with ordinary skill would be motivated to look to prior art for a known and suitable connection, Conley teaches that this is a known connection type, and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar product to yield predictable results.
One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a 510 thread connection is a standard threaded connection used in the art.
Regarding claim 5, Conley teaches that the at least one foreign cartridge interface comprises an interface proprietary to the foreign cartridge ([0004]).
Regarding claim 6, Conley does not explicitly teach that the system comprises a plurality of adaptors comprising a plurality of foreign cartridge interfaces of a plurality of different configurations.
However, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Conley by including a plurality of adaptors comprising a plurality of foreign cartridge interfaces, as one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this would enable use of the power source use with multiple different cartridge types, and this involves applying a known teaching to a known device to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 9, Conley teaches that the power supply comprises a proprietary power supply ([0004]).
Regarding claim 10, Conley teaches that the power supply directly couples to the proprietary cartridge and indirectly couples to the foreign cartridge ([0004]).
Regarding claim 11, Conley teaches a system (electronic vaporizer 100, 700; Fig. 7; [0018], [0047-0048]), comprising:
a power supply (power source 102, 702) including a cartridge interface (first connector type 704),
wherein the cartridge interface mates with a first power supply interface of a proprietary cartridge (cartridge 104) ([0004]) that includes a heating element (heating element 126; [0022]);
and an adaptor (adapter 710; [0048]) including a second power supply interface (first connector 712) and a foreign cartridge interface (second connector 714),
wherein the second power supply interface mates with the cartridge interface ([0048]),
wherein the foreign cartridge interface mates with a power coupler (second connector 708) of a foreign cartridge (heating element 706; [0047-0048]) that includes a heating element (heating element 706);
and wherein the system diffuses an inhalable substance (Abstract).
Conley does not explicitly teach (I) the presence of both a liquid solution and a heating element in the proprietary and foreign cartridges or (II) that the system comprises a plurality of adaptors wherein the foreign cartridge interface of each adaptor of the plurality of adaptors has a different configuration than the foreign cartridge interface of every other adaptor of the plurality of adaptors.
Regarding (I), in other embodiments, Conley teaches the presence of both a heating element (heating element 126) and a liquid solution (solution 128) in the cartridge ([0021-0023], [0038], [0053]). Furthermore, the Examiner notes that the electronic vaporizer would not be capable of use to deliver an aerosol to a user without the presence of a liquid solution. It would be apparent to one having ordinary skill in the art that a liquid solution would be required in the cartridge for the device to function as intended. Thus, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the disclosed cartridge embodiment (heating element 706) may comprise both a heating element and a liquid solution.
Regarding (II), before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Conley by including a plurality of adaptors wherein the foreign cartridge interface of each adaptor of the plurality of adaptors has a different configuration than the foreign cartridge interface of every other adaptor of the plurality of adaptors, as one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this would enable use of the power source use with multiple different cartridge types, and this involves applying a known teaching to a known device to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, Conley does not explicitly teach that the foreign cartridge interface of a first adaptor of the plurality of adaptors comprises a 510 threaded connection.
However, Conley does teach that a threaded connection is a known connection type for a cartridge interface.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Conley by making the foreign cartridge interface of a first adaptor comprise a threaded connection as Conley is silent to the exact foreign cartridge interface connection and one with ordinary skill would be motivated to look to prior art for a known and suitable connection, Conley teaches that this is a known connection type, and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar product to yield predictable results.
One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a 510 thread connection is a standard threaded connection used in the art.
Regarding claim 13, Conley teaches that the foreign cartridge interface of a second adaptor of the plurality of adaptors comprises an interface proprietary to the foreign cartridge ([0004]).
Regarding claim 14, Conley teaches that the cartridge interface comprises a cavity (threaded receiver of power supply 704; [0048]), and wherein the second power supply interface of at least one of the plurality of adaptors comprises a protrusion configured to mate with the cavity (threaded portion 712 of adapter configured to screw into 704; [0048]).
Regarding claim 15, Conley teaches that a protrusion of the distal end of the adaptor body mates with the cavity of the proximal end of the cartridge interface of the power supply ([0048]; see Annotated Fig. 1). Conley further depicts that the outer housings of each portion of the system appear to be continuous (or at least of the same outer diameter) when connected (Fig. 7).
Conley does not explicitly teach that adjacent portions of an outer surface of the power supply and a corresponding outer surface of the adaptor are continuous with each other.
However, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Conley by making the outer surface of the power supply and a corresponding surface of the adaptor continuous with each other when connected, as one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this is an obvious matter of design choice that would improve the appearance of the system but would not modify the operation of the device. See MPEP § 2144.04 (I).
Regarding claim 16, Conley teaches the power supply directly couples to a proprietary cartridge and indirectly couples to the foreign cartridge ([0004]).
Regarding claim 29, Conley does not explicitly teach that the foreign cartridge 706 comprises a single housing containing both the heating element of the foreign cartridge and a reservoir of the inhalable substance, the reservoir in fluid communication with the heating element.
However, Conley teaches that a cartridge (cartridge 104; Fig. 1; [0018]) generally comprises a single housing (housing 120; [0022]) containing both the heating element (heating element 126; [0022]) of the cartridge and a reservoir of the inhalable substance (solution 128; [0023]), the reservoir is in fluid communication with the heating element ([0028]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Conley by applying the general elements of a cartridge to the foreign cartridge 706 such that it comprises a single housing containing both the heating element and a reservoir because Conley does not teach specific constructional details of the foreign cartridge but describes in greater detail a similar cartridge, and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar embodiment to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 30, Conley does not explicitly teach that the foreign cartridge 706 comprises a single housing containing both the heating element of the foreign cartridge and a reservoir of the inhalable substance, the reservoir in fluid communication with the heating element.
However, Conley teaches that a cartridge (cartridge 104; Fig. 1; [0018]) generally comprises a single housing (housing 120; [0022]) containing both the heating element (heating element 126; [0022]) of the cartridge and a reservoir of the inhalable substance (solution 128; [0023]), the reservoir is in fluid communication with the heating element ([0028]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Conley by applying the general elements of a cartridge to the foreign cartridge 706 such that it comprises a single housing containing both the heating element and a reservoir because Conley does not teach specific constructional details of the foreign cartridge but describes in greater detail a similar cartridge, and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar embodiment to yield predictable results.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conley as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hepworth et al. (WO 2020020955 A2).
Regarding claim 2, Conley teaches that the adaptor 710 comprises an adaptor body having a proximal end and a distal end opposite the proximal end (see Annotated Fig. 1), the foreign cartridge 714 interface disposed at the proximal end of the adaptor body and the second power supply interface 712 disposed at the distal end of the adaptor body, wherein the cartridge interface of the power supply comprises a cavity formed in a proximal end of a housing of the power supply (threaded receiver of power supply 704; [0048]), the cavity for receiving the distal end of the adaptor body, and wherein the distal end of the adaptor body is received within the cavity of the proximal end of the housing of the power supply (threaded portion 712 of adapter configured to screw into 704; [0048]), an electrical communication is established between the power supply and the foreign cartridge ([0004], [0018], [0048]).
Annotated Fig. 1 (Annotated from Conley Fig. 7)
Conley does not explicitly teach that the cartridge interface of the power supply is recessed within a cavity.
Hepworth, directed to a system (device 100; page 4, line 5) comprising a power supply (control module 200 including battery 202; page 9, line 1) including an cartridge interface (connection interface 206; page 9, lines 8-10) that mates with a power supply interface of a proprietary cartridge (modules 300, 400; Figs. 6A-6B) that includes a heating element (heater 314; page 5, line 15) and carries an inhalable substance (liquid 308; page 5, lines 1-3), teaches that mechanical connectors may be recessed within a housing to connect different modules (see Fig. 7A, Fig. 9D).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Conley by making the cartridge interface of the power supply recessed within a cavity formed in a proximal end of a housing of the power supply as taught by Hepworth because both Conley and Hepworth are directed to systems comprising a power supply and cartridge connectable through an interface, Hepworth teaches that the interface may be recessed within a cavity, and this involves substituting one alternative connection configuration for another to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 3, Conley teaches that a protrusion of the distal end of the adaptor body mates with the cavity of the proximal end of the cartridge interface of the power supply ([0048]; see Annotated Fig. 1). Conley further depicts that the outer housings of each portion of the system appear to be continuous (or at least of the same outer diameter) when connected (Fig. 7).
Conley does not explicitly teach that adjacent portions of an outer surface of the power supply and a corresponding outer surface of the adaptor are continuous with each other.
However, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Conley by making the outer surface of the power supply and a corresponding surface of the adaptor continuous with each other when connected, as one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this is an obvious matter of design choice that would improve the appearance of the system but would not modify the operation of the device. See MPEP § 2144.04 (I).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conley and Hepworth as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Liu (US 20140283857 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Conley teaches that the foreign cartridge interface establishes an electrical connection to the power coupler 708 ([0048]). One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that to establish an electrical connection, the interface must inherently comprise an electrical connector.
Conley further teaches that the adaptor 710 may comprise a conductive material. Conley further teaches that the second power supply interface establishes an electrical connection to the power supply 702 ([0048]).
Conley does not explicitly teach that the second power supply interface comprises electrodes.
Liu, directed to a system (electronic cigarette; [0030]) comprising a power supply (battery cartridge 300; Fig. 5; [0045]) including a cartridge interface (atomizer connector 302; [0043]) wherein the cartridge interface 302 mates with a power supply interface (battery cartridge connector 203; Fig. 4; [0030]), teaches that a cartridge interface may connect to another portion of the device via an electrode 208 on the power supply interface (Fig. 4; [0038]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the second power supply interface of Conley by using electrodes to electrically connect the adaptor with the power supply as taught by Liu because Conley is silent to the exact electrical connection configuration of the second power supply interface and one with ordinary skill would be motivated to look to prior art for a known and suitable electrical connection to a power supply, and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar product to yield predictable results.
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conley Conley et al. (US 20130220315 A1) and Yu et al. (US 20250288015 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Conley teaches a system (electronic vaporizer 100, 700; Fig. 7; [0018], [0047-0048]), comprising: a power supply (power source 102, 702) including a cartridge interface (first end 110 or first connector type 704) that interchangeably mates with a first power supply interface of a first proprietary cartridge (cartridge 104; [0004]) including a first type of diffusing element (heating element 126; Fig. 1; [0022]) to directly couple the first proprietary cartridge to the power supply ([0004]). Conley further teaches that different cartridges may comprise different diffusing elements ([0022]).
Conley does not explicitly teach a second proprietary cartridge including a second type of diffusing element to directly couple to the power supply.
Yu, directed to a system (modular aerosol-generating device 100; [0125]) comprising a power supply (power source module 106 and control module 102; [0125]) including a cartridge interface that interchangeably mates with a first power supply interface of a first proprietary cartridge (heater module 104) including a first type of diffusing element ([0127]), teaches that a second proprietary cartridge may include a different type of diffusing element and a second power supply interface to directly couple to the power supply ([0059], [0127]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Conley by making a second proprietary cartridge with a second power supply interface to directly couple the second proprietary cartridge to the power supply, the second type of diffusing element differing from the first type of diffusing element as taught by Yu, because both Conley and Yu are directed to systems that use different cartridges with one power source, Yu teaches that it is known in the art to make multiple proprietary cartridges with different diffusing elements connectable to one power source, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this would enable a broader range of user preferences, and this involves applying a known teaching to a known device to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 26, Conley teaches that the first type of diffusing element is an atomizer (heating element 126; [0022]; Fig. 1) in communication with a center airflow lumen (air passageway 134; [0024-0025]) and the second type of diffusing element comprises a heating element on a vaporization surface ([0022], e.g., resistive heating).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conley and Hepworth as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Marion et al. (US 20160261021 A1).
Regarding claim 27, Conley teaches that a magnetic connection or any suitable connector type may be used to secure a cartridge or adaptor to the power source ([0018], [0049]).
Conley does not explicitly teach a magnet connection that secures the protrusion of the second power supply interface of the adaptor within the cavity of the cartridge interface of the power supply.
Marion, directed to a system (aerosol delivery device 200; Fig. 2; [0034]) comprising a power supply (control body 202) including a cartridge interface (coupler 230; [0039]) wherein the cartridge interface mates with a first power supply interface (inner periphery 240 of base 228; [0040]) of a cartridge (cartridge 204; [0034]), wherein the cartridge interface of the power supply comprises a cavity (cavity 232; [0039]) formed in a proximal end of a housing of the power supply, the cavity for receiving the distal end of the cartridge body ([0039]), wherein when a protrusion (projection 234; [0039]) of the distal end of the cartridge body mates with the cavity 232 of the proximal end of the cartridge interface of the power supply, adjacent portions of an outer surface of the power supply (206) and a corresponding outer surface of the cartridge (216) are continuous with each other (Figs. 1-2), wherein the system is configured to diffuse an inhalable substance ([0002]), teaches that a magnet may secure the protrusion of the second power supply interface of the adaptor within the cavity of the cartridge interface of the power supply ([0031]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Conley by making a magnet secure the protrusion of the second power supply interface of the adaptor within the cavity of the cartridge interface of the power supply as taught by Marion because both Conley and Marion are directed to systems configured to diffuse inhalable substances, Marion teaches that it is known in the art to use a magnet to secure two portions of the device, specifically to secure a protrusion within a cavity, and this involves substituting one alternative connection configuration for another to yield predictable results.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conley as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Marion et al. (US 20160261021 A1).
Regarding claim 28, Conley teaches that a magnetic connection or any suitable connector type may be used to secure a cartridge or adaptor to the power source ([0018], [0049]).
Conley does not explicitly teach a magnet connection that secures the protrusion of the second power supply interface of the adaptor within the cavity of the cartridge interface of the power supply.
Marion, directed to a system (aerosol delivery device 200; Fig. 2; [0034]) comprising a power supply (control body 202) including a cartridge interface (coupler 230; [0039]) wherein the cartridge interface mates with a first power supply interface (inner periphery 240 of base 228; [0040]) of a cartridge (cartridge 204; [0034]), wherein the cartridge interface of the power supply comprises a cavity (cavity 232; [0039]) formed in a proximal end of a housing of the power supply, the cavity for receiving the distal end of the cartridge body ([0039]), wherein the system is configured to diffuse an inhalable substance ([0002]), teaches that a magnet may secure the protrusion of the second power supply interface of the adaptor within the cavity of the cartridge interface of the power supply ([0031]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Conley by making a magnet secure the protrusion of the second power supply interface of the adaptor within the cavity of the cartridge interface of the power supply as taught by Marion because both Conley and Marion are directed to systems configured to diffuse inhalable substances, Marion teaches that it is known in the art to use a magnet to secure two portions of the device, specifically to secure a protrusion within a cavity, and this involves substituting one alternative connection configuration for another to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755