DETAILED ACTION
1. Acknowledgement is made to the amendment, filed 6/11/2026. Claims 8, 9, 18, & 19 have been canceled. Claims 21-24 have been newly added. Claims 1-7, 10-17, & 20-24 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-7, 10-17, & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsirline et al. (US 2007/0262873 A1), hereinafter Tsirline.
Regarding claim 1, Tsirline discloses a coupler for a radio frequency identification (RFID) enabled system adapted to couple a transceiver of the RFID enabled system with a targeted transponder from among a group of multiple adjacent transponders, the coupler comprising:
a first ground plane (52 – first ground plane) and a second ground plane (60 – second ground plane) on opposing sides of the coupler [0040, 0041, & Fig. 3]; and,
a conductive strip (56 – conductive strip) for propagating a plurality of electromagnetic fields from an edge of the coupler, the conductive strip positioned at least partially between the first ground plane and the second ground plane, the conductive strip having a bottom edge having a first tapered edge portion, a second tapered edge portion, and a center portion therebetween, the second tapered edge portion being a mirror image of the first tapered edge portion, each of the first and second tapered edge portions comprising two or more steps, wherein the steps on each of the first and second tapered edge portions are uniform, evenly spaced, and periodic [0016, 0055, & Figs. 2b & 3].
Regarding claim 2, Tsirline discloses the coupler of Claim 1, further comprising a first printed circuit board sandwiched between the first ground plane and the conductive strip and a second printed circuit board sandwiched between the second ground plane and the conductive strip [0042-0045].
Regarding claim 3, Tsirline discloses the coupler of Claim 1, wherein each of the two or more steps of each of the first and second tapered edge portions are squared [0016 & 0055].
Regarding claim 4, Tsirline discloses the coupler of Claim 1, wherein each of the two or more steps of each of the first and second tapered edge portions are convex [0016 & 0055].
Regarding claim 5, Tsirline discloses the coupler of Claim 1, wherein each of the two or more steps of each of the first and second tapered edge portions are concave [0016 & 0055].
Regarding claim 6, Tsirline discloses the coupler of Claim 1, wherein each of the two or more steps of each of the first and second tapered edge portions are angled [0016 & 0055].
Regarding claim 7, Tsirline discloses the coupler of Claim 1, wherein the center portion of the bottom edge is one of straight, convex, or concave [0016 & 0055].
Regarding claim 10, Tsirline discloses the coupler of Claim 1, wherein the RFID enabled system is a printer [0034-0036].
Regarding claim 11, Tsirline discloses a radio frequency identification (RFID) printer-encoder adapted to print and encode a plurality of media units, at least some of the plurality of media units comprising an RFID transponder, the printer-encoder comprising:
a printhead (28 – printhead) for printing indicia onto the media units [0035 & Fig. 1];
a media conveyance system adapted to convey the plurality of media units to the printhead and a transponder encoding region along a feed path in a feed direction [0035-0037];
a transceiver (42 - transceiver) configured to provide communication signals corresponding to information to be encoded on the RFID transponder (26 - transponder) [0035-0038]; and,
a coupler electrically connected to the transceiver and adapted to encode a targeted transponder in the transponder encoding region [0038, 0040, 0041, & 0047], the coupler comprising:
a first ground plane (52 – first ground plane) and a second ground plane (60 – second ground plane) on opposing sides of the coupler [0040, 0041, & Fig. 3]; and,
a conductive strip (56 – conductive strip) for propagating a plurality of electromagnetic fields from an edge of the coupler, the conductive strip positioned at least partially between the first ground plane and the second ground plane, the conductive strip having a bottom edge having a first tapered edge portion, a second tapered edge portion, and a center portion therebetween, the second tapered edge portion being a mirror image of the first tapered edge portion, each of the first and second tapered edge portions comprising two or more steps, wherein the steps on each of the first and second tapered edge portions are uniform, evenly spaced, and periodic [0016, 0055, & Figs. 2b & 3].
Regarding claim 12, Tsirline discloses the printer-encoder of Claim 11, wherein the coupler further comprises a first printed circuit board sandwiched between the first ground plane and the conductive strip, and a second printed circuit board sandwiched between the second ground plane and the conductive strip [0042-0045].
Regarding claim 13, Tsirline discloses the printer-encoder of Claim 11, wherein each of the two or more steps of each of the first and second tapered edge portions of the coupler are squared [0016 & 0055].
Regarding claim 14, Tsirline discloses the printer-encoder of Claim 11, wherein each of the two or more steps of each of the first and second tapered edge portions of the coupler are convex [0016 & 0055].
Regarding claim 15, Tsirline discloses the printer-encoder of Claim 11, wherein each of the two or more steps of each of the first and second tapered edge portions of the coupler are concave [0016 & 0055].
Regarding claim 16, Tsirline discloses the printer-encoder of Claim 11, wherein each of the two or more steps of each of the first and second tapered edge portions of the coupler are angled [0016 & 0055].
Regarding claim 17, Tsirline discloses the printer-encoder of Claim 11, wherein the center portion of the bottom edge of the coupler is one of straight, convex, or concave [0016 & 0055].
Regarding claim 20, Tsirline discloses the printer-encoder of Claim 11, wherein the coupler is positioned downstream of the printhead along the feed path [0034-0036].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsirline.
With respect to claims 21-24, the teachings of Tsirline have been discussed above.
Tsirline is silent with respect to explicitly disclosing wherein the conductive strip has a length of 42 mm along a longitudinal axis of the coupler, a height of 8 mm along a vertical axis of the coupler, and a width of 0.35 mm along an axis orthogonal to the longitudinal axis and the vertical axis, as recited in claims 21 & 23, and wherein the coupler has a length of 80 mm along a longitudinal axis of the coupler, a height of 20 mm along a vertical axis of the coupler, and a width of 3.2 mm along an axis orthogonal to the longitudinal axis and the vertical axis, as recited in claims 22 & 24.
However, Tsirline discloses overall dimensions for a conductive strip and a stripline antenna-coupler as an example only [0046]. Furthermore, Tsirline teaches that it is known to adjust the dimensions of the conductive strip in order to “achieve proper coupling with a targeted transponder” and to produce a desired operating bandwidth of the antenna-coupler” [0053].
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that other dimensions, including those recited in claims 21-24, would have been an obvious matter of design choice based upon the intended application, desired operating bandwidth, and specifics to the environment of use and dimensions required.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed 6/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, see pages 6 & 7 of the Remarks, filed 6/11/2026, that “Tsirline does not disclose, either expressly or inherently, the claimed conductive strip having two tapered edge portions that are mirror images of each other and comprise steps that are uniform, evenly spaced, and periodic, and therefore does not anticipate the amended claims”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant recites portions of paragraphs [0016] & [0055] and the examiner agrees that these portions clearly meet the claimed limitations. Specifically, the last portion of paragraph [0055] recites that “one in the art would appreciate the various possible tapered profiles including, but not limited to, exponential, triangular, Klopfenstein, and Hecken taper profiles.” The disclosure of the use of a Klopfenstein taper profile is known to those of ordinary skill in the art as comprising a plurality of steps. The examiner has cited additional references to illustrate this, see paragraph [0073] of Darwish et al. (US 2015/0002243 A1) and paragraph [0026] of Woods et al. (US 2009/0066441 A1), both teaching the use of a Klopfenstein taper which include uniform, discrete steps. The claims have been rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAULTEP SAVUSDIPHOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876