DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Machi et al (US 2005/0201112).
Regarding claim 1, Machi discloses an aircraft tail light for being installed adjacent a hot gas exhaust of an aircraft, the aircraft tail light comprising: at least one light source 40 for generating a light output of the aircraft tail light; and a heat transfer structure (generally 30, at least 310,,315,320) comprising a heat receiving portion (at least 310), thermally coupled with the at least one light source 40 for absorbing heat (H) from the at least one light source, and a heat dispensing portion (at least 315,320) for dispensing heat (H) from the heat transfer structure; wherein the at least one light source 40 is arranged in an aircraft exterior portion of the aircraft tail light and wherein the heat transfer structure extends from the aircraft exterior portion of the aircraft tail light to an aircraft interior portion of the aircraft tail light, with the heat receiving portion 310 being arranged in the aircraft exterior portion of the aircraft tail light and the heat dispensing portion 320 being arranged in the aircraft interior portion of the aircraft tail light (see at least Figures 1-3 and paras [0040]-[0099]).
Regarding claim 2, Machi discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses a mounting structure 70 for fixing the aircraft tail light to an aircraft skin of the aircraft; wherein the mounting structure is configured to fix the aircraft tail light to the aircraft skin with the aircraft exterior portion on an outside of the aircraft skin and with the aircraft interior portion on an inside of the aircraft skin (see at least Figure 1 and para [0096]).
Regarding claim 3, Machi discloses the limitations of claim 1, and the recitation that the tail light is “configured to be installed adjacent the hot gas exhaust of the aircraft with the aircraft interior portion being arranged in an auxiliary power unit bay of the aircraft” relates to an intended use of the device, and it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations (MPEP 2114(II)). Examiner notes, however, that the tail light in Machi is capable of/configured for being installed adjacent the hot gas exhaust of the aircraft with the aircraft interior portion being arranged in an auxiliary power unit bay of the aircraft.
Regarding claim 4, Machi discloses the limitations of claim 1, and again, the recitation that the heat dispensing portion is “configured for dispensing the heat (H) to an air flow (A), passing the heat dispensing portion within the aircraft” relates to an intended use of the device, and it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations (MPEP 2114(II)). Examiner notes, however, that the tail light in Machi is capable of/configured for dispensing the heat (H) to an air flow (A), passing the heat dispensing portion within the aircraft.
Regarding claim 5, Machi discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the heat transfer structure comprises a plurality of heat transfer ribs 330 extending between the aircraft exterior portion and the aircraft interior portion of the aircraft tail light (see at least Figure 1 and para [0046]).
Regarding claim 6, Machi discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses a thermal shield (110 and/or 200) for shielding the at least one light source from heat from a hot gas exhaust to which the aircraft tail light is exposed (see at least Figure 1 and paras [0057]-[0060] and paras [0083]-[0084]).
Regarding claim 8, Machi discloses the limitations of claim 6, and further discloses wherein the aircraft tail light comprises a support structure (10 and/or 20) for supporting the thermal shield (110 and/or 200) (see at least Figure 1 and paras [0057]-[0060] and paras [0083]-[0084]).
Regarding claim 9, Machi discloses the limitations of claim 6, and further discloses wherein the aircraft tail light comprises at least one optical element 10 for forming the light output of the aircraft tail light from light emitted by the at least one light source 40, and wherein the thermal shield (110 and/or 200) is arranged between the at least one optical element and the at least one light source and/or wherein the thermal shield is provided as a reflective layer or coating applied to the at least one optical element, wherein the reflective layer or coating is in particular applied to a surface of the at least one optical element facing the at least one light source (see at least Figure 1 and paras [0057]-[0060] and paras [0083]-[0084]).
Regarding claim 11, Machi discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the aircraft tail light is one of an aircraft navigation light, an aircraft anti-collision light and a combined aircraft navigation and anti-collision light (see at least paras [0003]-[0005] and [0091]-[0094]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Machi et al (US 2005/0201112).
Regarding claim 7, Machi does not specifically teach that the thermal shield (110 and/or 200) comprise a hot mirror more reflective for infrared radiation than for visible light. However hot mirrors are well-known in the art (Official Notice), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to specify that the thermal shield in Machi be a hot mirror in order to reflect infrared radiation and prevent overheating and damage to the thermal shields for natural sunlight.
Regarding claim 10, Machi discloses the limitation of claim 1, and further discloses a protective cover (at least 340), but does not specifically teach that it comprises at least partially thermally insulating material comprising at least one of PES, PPS, PPSU and PEEK/PEKK. However protective covers made of the recited thermally insulated materials are well-known in the art (Official Notice), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to specify that the protective cover 340 in Machi be comprised of one of the recited thermally insulating materials in order to protect the electronics module 50 for overheating and damage, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 12, Machi discloses an aircraft comprising: an aircraft tail light according to claim 1, a hot gas exhaust for discharging hot exhaust gases from the aircraft (inherent to aircraft, particularly aircraft listed in para [0093]), wherein the aircraft tail light is mounted to the aircraft with the heat dispensing portion 320 of the heat transfer structure being arranged in a cavity formed within the aircraft (see at least Figures 1-3 and paras [0040]-[0099]). Machi does not specifically teach that the aircraft tail light be installed adjacent the hot gas exhaust, such as to be exposed to hot exhaust gases discharged through the hot gas exhaust. However installing aircraft tail lights adjacent hot gas exhausts to be exposed to hot exhaust gases is well-known in the art (Official Notice), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to install the tail light in Machi adjacent the hot gas exhaust in order to achieve the stated objective of providing a rear position light for clear visibility that meets FAR requirements.
Regarding claim 13, Machi discloses the limitations of claim 12, and further discloses an auxiliary power unit (see at least para [0071]; terminal 60 of tail light is connected to leads of power source), wherein the cavity is an auxiliary power unit bay housing the auxiliary power unit (see at least Fig. 1 and paras [0071]-[0075]), but Machi does not specifically teach that the hot gas exhaust be an exhaust of the auxiliary power unit. However as noted above hot gas exhausts of auxiliary power units are well-known in the art (Official Notice), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to specify that the hot gas exhaust be an exhaust of the auxiliary power unit in Machi in order to cool the auxiliary power unit and prevent overheating and damage within the cavity of the power source unit.
Regarding claim 14, Machi discloses the limitations of claim 12, and the recitation that the cavity is “configured such that an air flow (A), in particular a thermally driven air flow (A), passes by the heat dispensing portion of the heat transfer structure; wherein the air flow (A) in particular has a temperature in the range of between 500C and 90 0C, more particularly a temperature in the range of between 60 0C and 80 even more particularly a temperature in the range of between 65 °C and 75 °C” relates to an intended use of the device, and it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations (MPEP 2114(II)). Examiner notes, however, that the cavity in Machi is capable of/configured such that an air flow (A), in particular a thermally driven air flow (A), passes by the heat dispensing portion 320 of the heat transfer structure; wherein the air flow (A) in particular has a temperature in the range of between 500C and 90 0C, more particularly a temperature in the range of between 60 0C and 80 even more particularly a temperature in the range of between 65 °C and 75 °C.
Regarding claim 15, Machi discloses a method of operating the aircraft tail light according to claim 1, wherein the method includes: operating the at least one light source for generating the light output of the aircraft tail light and passing an air flow (A) through a cavity, formed within the aircraft for dissipating heat from the heat dispensing portion of the heat transfer structure (see at least Figures 1-3 and paras [0040]-[0099]). Machi does not specifically teach that the air flow have a particular temperature in the range of between 50 degrees and 90 degrees. However, providing an air flow in the claimed temperature range is well-known in the art (Official Notice), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to specify that the air flow have a temperature in the claimed range in order to sufficiently and efficiently cook the heat dispensing portion 320 and prevent overheating of the electronics module and light sources for extended lifetime and operation, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Gowda US 2023/0124624
/SEAN P GRAMLING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875