DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. This application is a continuation of application No. 17/932,531, filed on 09/15, 2022 (now Pat. No. 12,389,013), which claims priority to U.S provisional Patent Applications No. 63/245,058, filed on 09/16/2021, and is hereby incorporated by references.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 10/16/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2021/0266571A1) (hereinafter Chen) in view of Li et al., (US 2022/0036635A1) (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a method for encoding an image stream (e.g., see abstract; Figs. 1-4), comprising:
receiving a first encoded media stream of a plurality of copies of an encoded media stream captured by a camera (e.g., see Fig. 1, 3, paragraphs 0019, 0032, 0040: receiving a video image captured by camera 104, received by local processor and memory), wherein each frame of the image stream is comprised of a plurality of regions (e.g., see paragraphs 0019, 0020: video image in the regions of interest; Figs. 2-2B, paragraphs 0048-0051: a plurality of regions), and wherein each of the plurality of copies of the media stream encodes a different first one or more region of the plurality of regions at a first image resolution (e.g., see abstract, paragraphs 0019, 0020, 0034: region of interest with high and low resolutions (first and second resolutions; Figs. 2A-3B, paragraphs 0050, 0067, 0068: first resolution such as low reduced resolution), wherein a second one or more regions of the plurality of regions are encoded at a second image resolution in each of the plurality of copies of the media stream (e.g., see abstract, paragraphs 0019, 0020, 0034: region of interest with high and low resolutions (first and second resolutions; Figs. 2A-3B, paragraphs 0050, 0067, 0068: first resolution such as low reduced resolution);
Chen does not explicitly disclose selecting a first UV texture map from a plurality of UV texture maps corresponding to the first media stream, wherein the plurality of UV texture maps each describe a warping function encoding the first one or more regions and the second one or more regions in a corresponding media stream; applying the first UV texture map to the first media stream to obtain a decoded copy of the first media stream; and rendering the decoded copy of the media stream.
However, Li discloses selecting a first UV texture map from a plurality of UV texture maps corresponding to the first media stream (e.g., see paragraphs 0029, 0038, 0063: UV texture map; paragraphs 0053, 0057,0064: VU maps corresponding to texture; Figs. 2A-2C), wherein the plurality of UV texture maps each describe a warping function encoding the first one or more regions and the second one or more regions in a corresponding media stream (e.g., see Fig. 2C, paragraphs 0064: warping the canonical keypoint UV map to each individual predicted mesh surface to produce a 3D keypoint);
applying the first UV texture map to the first media stream to obtain a decoded copy of the first media stream (e.g., see Figs. 2A-2C, paragraphs 0029, 0038, 0063: UV texture map; paragraphs 0053, 0057,0064: VU maps corresponding to texture; Figs. 1, 1C, paragraphs 0029, 0060, 0036: decoding/decoder and texture decoder 125); and
rendering the decoded copy of the media stream (e.g., see paragraphs 0037: rendered image; Fig. 2A-2B, paragraphs 0045-0047, 0054-0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Chen to add the teachings of Li as above, in order to provide systems and methods for three-dimensional (3D) object reconstruction from a video for constructing a 3D object from a video (see paragraph 0001: Li).
Regarding claim 2, Chen and Li disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Chen discloses wherein the first encoded media stream is received in accordance with the first one or more regions of the first encoded media stream corresponding to an area of interest (e.g., see paragraphs 0019, 0020: video image in the regions of interest; Figs. 2-2B, paragraphs 0048-0051: a plurality of regions), and further comprising: determining an updated area of interest; obtaining a second copy of the media stream having a first one or more regions corresponding to the updated area of interest (e.g., see abstract, paragraphs 0019, 0020, 0034: region of interest with high and low resolutions (first and second resolutions; Figs. 2A-3B, paragraphs 0050, 0067, 0068); and rendering the second copy of the image stream (e.g., see paragraphs 0037: rendered image; Fig. 2A-2B, paragraphs 0045-0047, 0054-0056).
Regarding claim 3, Chen and Li disclose all the limitations of claim 2, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Chen discloses further comprising: blending the first copy and the second copy during a transition period (e.g., see paragraphs 0032, 0040, 0050: blending image to create a gradual transition between high and low resolution; Fig. 4, paragraphs 0068, 0083, 0084).
Regarding claim 4, Chen and Li disclose all the limitations of claim 2, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Chen discloses further comprising: applying a blur to an intermediate region of the image stream during a transition period (e.g., see paragraph 0051: motion blurs).
Regarding claim 5, Chen and Li disclose all the limitations of claim 2, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Chen discloses further comprising: requesting the second copy of the media stream based on the updated area of interest (e.g., see Figs. 2A-2B, paragraphs 0034, 0051, 0068; also see Fig. 4, paragraphs 0072, 0074).
Regarding claim 6, Chen and Li disclose all the limitations of claim 2, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Chen does not explicitly disclose further comprising: selecting a second UV texture map from the plurality of UV texture maps corresponding to the second media stream ; and applying the second UV texture map to the second media stream to obtain a decoded copy of the second media stream.
However, Li discloses further comprising: selecting a second UV texture map from the plurality of UV texture maps corresponding to the second media stream (e.g., see paragraphs 0029, 0038, 0063: UV texture map; paragraphs 0053, 0057,0064: VU maps corresponding to texture; Figs. 2A-2C); and applying the second UV texture map to the second media stream to obtain a decoded copy of the second media stream (e.g., see Figs. 2A-2C, paragraphs 0029, 0038, 0063: UV texture map; paragraphs 0053, 0057,0064: VU maps corresponding to texture; Figs. 1, 1C, paragraphs 0029, 0060, 0036: decoding/decoder and texture decoder 125); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Chen to add the teachings of Li as above, in order to provide systems and methods for three-dimensional (3D) object reconstruction from a video for constructing a 3D object from a video (see paragraph 0001: Li).
Regarding claim 7, Chen and Li disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Chen discloses wherein the area of interest is based on gaze data (e.g., see Fig. 4, paragraphs 0072, 0074, 0075: Gaza tracking data 414; Figs. 2A-2B, paragraphs 0049-0052).
Regarding claim 8, this claim is a non-transitory computer readable medium of a method version as applied to claim 1 above, wherein the non-transitory computer readable medium performs the same limitations cited in claim 1, the rejections of which are incorporated herein. Furthermore, Chen discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium, processor, and memory (see Fig. 1; paragraphs 0032-0034)
Regarding claim 9, it contains the limitations of claims 2 and 8, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 10, it contains the limitations of claims 3 and 8, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 11, it contains the limitations of claims 4 and 8, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 12, it contains the limitations of claims 5 and 8, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 13, it contains the limitations of claims 6 and 8, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 14, it contains the limitations of claims 7 and 8, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 15, this claim is a system of a method version as applied to claim 1 above, wherein the system performs the same limitations cited in claim 1, the rejections of which are incorporated herein. Furthermore, Chen discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium, processor, and memory (see Fig. 1; paragraphs 0032-0034)
Regarding claim 16, it contains the limitations of claims 2 and 15, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 17, it contains the limitations of claims 3 and 16, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 18, it contains the limitations of claims 4 and 16, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 19, it contains the limitations of claims 4 and 16, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 20, it contains the limitations of claims 5 and 16, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Conclusion
/ON S MUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486