DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to communication filed on 7/15/25 in which claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the proxy server" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
3. Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim is drawn to a "computer-readable storage medium". The specification recites “Storage media is distinct from but may be used in conjunction with transmission media. Transmission media participates in transferring information between storage media. For example, transmission media includes coaxial cables, copper wire and fiber optics, including the wires that comprise a bus of I/O subsystem 602. Transmission media can also take the form of acoustic or light waves, such as those generated during radio-wave and infra-red data communications.”. However, interpretation in light of the specification and considering the meaning of the words in their ordinary usage as they would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP §2111), the claim as a whole cover both transitory and non-transitory media. The specification fails to explicitly exclude transitory medium. Therefore, the claimed subject matter as a whole fails to fall within the definition of a process, machine,
manufacture or composition of matter, patentable eligible category subject matter.
Double Patenting
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,368705. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim the invention of using a first proxy to confirm a user’s credentials to a second proxy to allow the second proxy to facilitate a direct connection between a source host via the second proxy.
U.S. Patent No. 12,368705
U.S. Application No. 19/270363
1. A proxy server comprising: one or more computer processors; storage media; and instructions stored in the storage media that, when executed by the one or more computer processors, cause the one or more computer processors to perform:
receiving, by a proxy server, from a residential endpoint proxy,
an endpoint request to confirm user credentials for authenticating a communications connection between a source host and the residential endpoint proxy;
determining, by the proxy server, based on the endpoint request, whether the user credentials for authenticating a communications connection between
a source host and the residential endpoint proxy are valid; in response to determining that the user credentials are valid, determining communications connection properties for the communications connection between the source host and the residential endpoint proxy,
the communications connection properties comprising one or more limits on the communications connection between the source host and the residential endpoint proxy, at least one of the one or more limits comprising a maximum connection speed or a maximum number of concurrent connections;
transmitting the communications connection properties for the communications connection between the source host and the residential endpoint proxy to the residential endpoint proxy to cause:
the residential endpoint proxy to apply the communications connection properties to the communications connection between the source host and the residential endpoint proxy; the residential endpoint proxy to transmit, to a destination host, a user request to connect to the destination host;
and the residential endpoint proxy to establish a proxy direct communications connection between the source host and the destination host via the communications connection and a preemptive communications connection between the residential endpoint proxy and the destination host,
wherein the proxy direct communications connection bypasses the proxy server.
1. A proxy server comprising: one or more computer processors; storage media; and instructions stored in the storage media that, when executed by the one or more computer processors, cause the one or more computer processors to perform:
receiving, by the proxy server, from a residential endpoint proxy configured on a first network,
an endpoint request to confirm user credentials for authenticating a communications connection between a source host and the residential endpoint proxy,
the source host configured on a second network different from the first network;
determining, by the proxy server, based on the endpoint request, whether the user credentials for authenticating the communications connection between a source host and the residential endpoint proxy are valid; in response to determining that the user credentials are valid, determining communications connection properties for the communications connection between the source host and the residential endpoint proxy; and
transmitting the communications connection properties for the communications connection between the source host and the residential endpoint proxy to the residential endpoint proxy to cause:
the residential endpoint proxy to apply the communications connection properties to the communications connection between the source host and the residential endpoint proxy; the residential endpoint proxy to transmit, to a destination host, a user request to connect to the destination host
and to enable communications between the source host and the destination host via the communications connection;
and the residential endpoint proxy to establish a proxy direct communications connection between the source host and the destination host via the communications connection,
wherein the proxy direct communications connection bypasses the proxy server.
4. The proxy server of Claim 1, wherein the communications connection properties comprise one or more limits on the communications connection between the source host and the residential endpoint proxy, at least one of the one or more limits comprising a maximum connection speed or a maximum number of concurrent connections.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to omit the teaching of “ a preemptive communications connection between the residential endpoint proxy and the destination host” and “wherein the communications connection properties comprise one or more limits on the communications connection between the source host and the residential endpoint proxy, at least one of the one or more limits comprising a maximum connection speed or a maximum number of concurrent connections. wherein the communications connection properties comprise one or more limits on the communications connection between the source host and the residential endpoint proxy, at least one of the one or more limits comprising a maximum connection speed or a maximum number of concurrent connection” in the present claimed invention in other to broaden the present claimed invention ,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2017/0317981 to Klein.
a. As per claim 1, Klein teaches a proxy server (authentication server)comprising: one or more computer processors; storage media; and instructions stored in the storage media that, when executed by the one or more computer processors, cause the one or more computer processors to perform:
receiving, by the proxy server, from a residential endpoint proxy configured on a first network, an endpoint request to confirm user credentials for authenticating a communications connection between a source host and the residential endpoint proxy (See paragraph [0040-0041], The end device 102A may send a response that includes its identity in an EAP response ID message through the secured link to the residential gateway device 110. The identity may be a user ID or based on information from a shared secret master key associated with a user of the end device 102A in an example. In an example, the EAP request ID message is sent to the Wi-Fi extender device 106, which acts as an authenticator and proxy for authenticating the end device 102A, and is forwarded through the secured link to the residential gateway device 110. The residential gateway device 110, acting as the proxy to the authentication server 114, converts the EAP response ID message into another message in an appropriate format (e.g., RADIUS or Diameter) and sends this message to the authentication server 114), the source host configured on a second network different from the first network ; determining, by the proxy server, based on the endpoint request, whether the user credentials for authenticating the communications connection between a source host and the residential endpoint proxy are valid (See paragraph [0042], The authentication server 114 can authenticate the end device 102A using an appropriate authentication algorithm (e.g., PEAP). If the authentication server 114 successfully authenticates the end device 102A based at least in part on the authentication credentials of the end device 102A, a RADIUS access accept message may be sent by the authentication server 114 to the residential gateway device 110. In response to receiving the RADIUS access accept message, the residential gateway device 110);
in response to determining that the user credentials are valid, determining communications connection properties for the communications connection between the source host and the residential endpoint proxy (See paragraph [0032 and 0042]); and transmitting the communications connection properties for the communications connection between the source host and the residential endpoint proxy to the residential endpoint proxy to cause: the residential endpoint proxy to apply the communications connection properties to the communications connection between the source host and the residential endpoint proxy (See paragraph [0045 and fig 3); the residential endpoint proxy to transmit, to a destination host, a user request to connect to the destination host and to enable communications between the source host and the destination host via the communications connection; and the residential endpoint proxy to establish a proxy direct communications connection between the source host and the destination host via the communications connection, wherein the proxy direct communications connection bypasses the proxy server (See paragraph [0046], the end device 102B to access a community network service provided by the service provider server 116).
b. As per claim 8, Klein teaches a computer implemented method comprising: receiving, by a proxy server, from a residential endpoint proxy configured on a first network, an endpoint request to confirm user credentials for authenticating a communications connection between a source host and the residential endpoint proxy, the source host configured on a second network different from the first network (See paragraph [0040-0041], The end device 102A may send a response that includes its identity in an EAP response ID message through the secured link to the residential gateway device 110. The identity may be a user ID or based on information from a shared secret master key associated with a user of the end device 102A in an example. In an example, the EAP request ID message is sent to the Wi-Fi extender device 106, which acts as an authenticator and proxy for authenticating the end device 102A, and is forwarded through the secured link to the residential gateway device 110. The residential gateway device 110, acting as the proxy to the authentication server 114, converts the EAP response ID message into another message in an appropriate format (e.g., RADIUS or Diameter) and sends this message to the authentication server 114); determining, by the proxy server, based on the endpoint request, whether the user credentials for authenticating the communications connection between a source host and the residential endpoint proxy are valid (See paragraph [0042], The authentication server 114 can authenticate the end device 102A using an appropriate authentication algorithm (e.g., PEAP). If the authentication server 114 successfully authenticates the end device 102A based at least in part on the authentication credentials of the end device 102A, a RADIUS access accept message may be sent by the authentication server 114 to the residential gateway device 110. In response to receiving the RADIUS access accept message, the residential gateway device 110); in response to determining that the user credentials are valid, determining communications connection properties for the communications connection between the source host and the residential endpoint proxy (See paragraph [0032 and 0042]); and transmitting the communications connection properties for the communications connection between the source host and the residential endpoint proxy to the residential endpoint proxy to cause: the residential endpoint proxy to apply the communications connection properties to the communications connection between the source host and the residential endpoint proxy (See paragraph [0045 and fig 3); the residential endpoint proxy to transmit, to a destination host, a user request to connect to the destination host and to enable communications between the source host and the destination host via the communications connection; and the residential endpoint proxy to establish a proxy direct communications connection between the source host and the destination host via the communications connection, wherein the proxy direct communications connection bypasses the proxy server (See paragraph [0046], the end device 102B to access a community network service provided by the service provider server 116).
c. As per claim 15, Klein teaches A computer-readable storage media storing one or more instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform: receiving, by a proxy server, from a residential endpoint proxy configured on a first network, an endpoint request to confirm user credentials for authenticating a communications connection between a source host and the residential endpoint proxy, the source host configured on a second network different from the first network See paragraph [0040-0041], The end device 102A may send a response that includes its identity in an EAP response ID message through the secured link to the residential gateway device 110. The identity may be a user ID or based on information from a shared secret master key associated with a user of the end device 102A in an example. In an example, the EAP request ID message is sent to the Wi-Fi extender device 106, which acts as an authenticator and proxy for authenticating the end device 102A, and is forwarded through the secured link to the residential gateway device 110. The residential gateway device 110, acting as the proxy to the authentication server 114, converts the EAP response ID message into another message in an appropriate format (e.g., RADIUS or Diameter) and sends this message to the authentication server 114); determining, by the proxy server, based on the endpoint request, whether the user credentials for authenticating the communications connection between a source host and the residential endpoint proxy are valid(See paragraph [0042], The authentication server 114 can authenticate the end device 102A using an appropriate authentication algorithm (e.g., PEAP). If the authentication server 114 successfully authenticates the end device 102A based at least in part on the authentication credentials of the end device 102A, a RADIUS access accept message may be sent by the authentication server 114 to the residential gateway device 110. In response to receiving the RADIUS access accept message, the residential gateway device 110); in response to determining that the user credentials are valid, determining communications connection properties for the communications connection between the source host and the residential endpoint proxy(See paragraph [0032 and 0042]); and transmitting the communications connection properties for the communications connection between the source host and the residential endpoint proxy to the residential endpoint proxy to cause: the residential endpoint proxy to apply the communications connection properties to the communications connection between the source host and the residential endpoint proxy; the residential endpoint proxy to transmit, to a destination host, a user request to connect to the destination host and to enable communications between the source host and the destination host via the communications connection proxy (See paragraph [0045 and fig 3); and the residential endpoint proxy to establish a proxy direct communications connection between the source host and the destination host via the communications connection, wherein the proxy direct communications connection bypasses the proxy server (See paragraph [0046], the end device 102B to access a community network service provided by the service provider server 116)..
d. As per claims 2, 9 and 16, Klein teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Klein teaches wherein the second network comprises a public network (See paragraph [0013 and 0014]).
e. As per claims 3, 10 and 17, Klein teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore Klein teaches wherein transmitting the communications connection properties further comprises transmitting the communications connection properties to the residential endpoint proxy to cause: the residential endpoint proxy to receive communications transmitted from the source host to the destination host, the communications transmitted from the source host including a network address of the source host (See paragraph [0030] and figure 1); and the residential endpoint proxy to mask a network address of the source host with a different network address in the communications transmitted from the source host to the destination host (See paragraph [0046]).
f. As per claims 4, 11 and 18, Klein teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Klein teaches wherein the communications connection properties comprise one or more limits on the communications connection between the source host and the residential endpoint proxy, at least one of the one or more limits comprising a maximum connection speed or a maximum number of concurrent connections (See paragraph [0066]).
g. As per claims 5, 12 and 19, Klein teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Klein teaches wherein the proxy server is configured on a proxy network different from the first network and the second network (See paragraph [0019]).
h. As per claims 6, 13 and 20, Klein teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Klein teaches wherein the proxy server receives the endpoint request to confirm the user credentials for authenticating the communications connection after the proxy server established a connection with the residential endpoint proxy and after the source host requested to be directly connected to the residential endpoint proxy (See paragraph [0050-0051], The residential gateway device 110, acting as the proxy to the authentication server 114, converts the EAP response ID message into another message in an appropriate format (e.g., RADIUS or Diameter) for sending to the authentication server 114. In an example, the residential gateway device 110 can send a RADIUS access request message to the authentication server 114. The RADIUS access request message may include the EAP response ID message and/or an attribute corresponding to the identity of the end device 102B and/or other attributes, authentication server 114).
i. As per claims 7 and 14, Klein teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Klein teaches wherein the residential endpoint proxy has a publicly accessible IP address (See paragraph [0014]).
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 2002/0103838 to Moyer et al teaches System and method for using session initiation protocol (SIP) to communication with networked appliances.
U.S. Publication No. 2011/0055862 to Harp et al teaches system and method to determine an authorization of a wireless set-top box device to receive media content.
U.S. Publication No. 2018/0295509 to Lee et al teaches private network service providing method and system.
/DJENANE M BAYARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444