DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. (US 2018/0188018, hereinafter Brown) in view of Wang (US 2010/0079975).
In regards to claim 1, Brown discloses in Figures 6A-6C and 8, an intelligent lighting fixture (34), comprising: a light housing (38) having reflective surfaces (Par. [0096-0097]) for providing light in a generally downward direction, the light housing mountable to a ceiling surface having a low clearance above the ceiling surface (Par. [0087], noting a “low clearance” is read broadly as there is no explicit definition provided); an LED lamp disposed in the light housing (Par. [0082, 0096]); a control box (270) movable with respect to the light housing (Par. [0093]); a battery (1004) disposed in the control box (Par. [0099]); a control circuit (336) disposed in the control box (Par. [0099]) for controlling power flow through the battery and the power flow through the LED lamp (Par. [0102]); a wire harness electrically connecting the LED lamp through the light housing to the control box (Par. [0099], noting such is required for the operation and connection of the device); wherein power is stored in the battery and the battery is in constant electrical connection to the control circuit (Par. [0102]); and wherein when power is supplied to the LED lamp from the control circuit, an area is illuminated below the emergency lighting fixture (such is required of the lighting device to be properly operational); a motion sensor (348, Par. [0133]) configured to trigger lighting functions (Par. [0101]); a control circuit (372) for lighting functions and control functions (Par. [0102]); and a smart BLE (Bluetooth Low Energy) control sensor system (344) integrated into the control circuit (Par. [0109-0110]); wherein the control circuit is accessible from a mobile device (368, Par. [0110]); wherein, upon detecting motion, the motion sensor (348) sends a signal to the control circuit (Par. [0101-0102, 0133, 0137, 0141, 0165]) which triggers the lighting functions for turning on the light, adjusting lighting intensity and changing color temperature (Par. [0101-0102, 0133, 0137, 0141, 0165]); and wherein the smart BLE control sensor system is configured to communicate with the mobile device through a mobile application (Par. [0101-0102, 0133, 0137, 0141, 0165]), the mobile application configured to send programming commands to the control circuit through the smart BLE control sensor system (Par. [0101-0102, 0133, 0137, 0141, 0165]), wherein the commands are based on user input or pre-set preferences and instructs the control circuit to adjust the lighting functions and control functions of the fixture (Par. [0101-0102, 0133, 0137, 0141, 0165]).
While Brown contemplates the use of temperature and fire sensors (Par. [0063, 0222, and 0282], Brown fails to disclose or fairly suggest the control box having a temperature sensor and the temperature sensor has a temperature set point and the temperature sensor enabled to enable the power flow from the battery when the temperature reaches the temperature set point and a smoke detector has a smoke detector set point and the a smoke detector enabled to enable the power flow from the battery when the temperature sensor reaches the temperature set point and the smoke detector reaches the smoke detector set point and a switching device is enabled and the LED lamp using the switching device and the switching device is attached to the wire harness and the switching device is enabled to independently from the control box to provide power to the LED lamp when the temperature sensor and smoke alarm are activated.
Wang teaches in Figure 1A, “the illumination device further includes a smoke-detecting sensor 6a and a temperature sensor 7a both electrically connected to a power source and positioned on the frame unit 5a. In the first embodiment, both the smoke-detecting sensor 6a and the temperature sensor 7a are respectively positioned on two bottom sides of the two retaining portions 11a of the frame unit 1a in order to respectively sense the indoor smoke concentration and the indoor temperature. If the indoor smoke concentration and the indoor temperature are over high, an alarm is started in order to warning indoor peoples” (Par. [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize both a smoke detector and temperature sensor, both with set points which when both activated provide power to the lighting device of Brown as suggested by Wang, in order to prevent the system from being overly sensitive and/or false activation as it requires two variables instead of one.
In regards to claim 2, Brown teaches in Figures 6A-6C and 8, the control circuit is programmable to customize the lighting functions and control functions (Par. [0101, 0111]).
In regards to claim 3, Brown teaches in Figures 6A-6C and 8, an emergency battery backup system configured to automatically power the LED in the event of a power outage (Par. [0104]).
In regards to claim 4, Brown teaches in Figures 6A-6C and 8, the emergency battery backup is rechargeable (Par. [0102, 0104]).
In regards to claim 5, Brown teaches in Figures 6A-6C and 8, the switching device can be selected from the group consisting of a relay, solid state relay, transistors, thyristors, and Insulated-Gate Bipolar Transistors (examples of some of these switches are represented in Par. [0011, 0035, 0119], Fig. 11A-11E), the Examiner notes such switching devices are notoriously well known in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please review the cited references found on the attached PTO-892, too numerous to list here, which teaches either alone or in combination intelligent lighting fixtures including housings, reflective surfaces, LED lamp, control box, battery, control box and circuitry, wiring harness, sensors, detectors, BLE system, all similar to that which is currently claimed above and that which is disclosed.
/ALEXANDER K GARLEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896