DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 16 July 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 3 it is stated “a operation environment” and should read “an operation environment”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9,123,035 by Penilla et al. (Penilla hereinafter) in view of US 9,834,111 by Grewal et al. (Grewal hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Penilla discloses a method of power source control for an electrified vehicle, the method comprising: acquiring, by a control unit [see at least Figure 3, (31)], operational data including configuration information of one or more energy storage units [see at least column 12, lines 52-64, “central processing unit (CPU) 31 can communicate with main battery 14 and the auxiliary battery carrier 16”; Figure 3, (20); Figure 35, (1006)] and driving conditions [see at least column 37, line 59 – column 38, line 2, “This analysis can include, for example, reviewing traffic patterns, travel speeds and estimates to traversed the different distances, time of day, etc.”; Figure 35, (1004), “Range: 72 miles”; (1008), “Dynamic traffic based range”]; analyzing, by the control unit, the operational data to estimate an available operation range for a current energy storage configuration [see at least Figure 35, (1006); (1004), “Range: 72 miles”]; generating, by the control unit, a signal [see at least column 31, line 66 – column 32, line 14, “a smart phone or network connected device operating system 1000”; networked devices utilize signals] indicating whether to maintain [see at least Figure 35, (1004) “Status” “good”], replace [see at least Figure 35, (1004), “Status” “replace”] at least one of the one or more energy storage units based on the estimated available operation range [see at least Figure 35, (1006); Figure (1004), “Range: 72 miles”]; and outputting, by an output device, information corresponding to the signal [see at least Figure 35].
Penilla fails to disclose an operation range estimate based on a removed energy storage. However, Grewal discloses range prediction in electric vehicles [see at least Abstract] in which operation range estimates can be calculated with or without (removed) an attachment (trailer) [see at least Figure 3, (204) to (206) or (208) to (218)] and displayed to a user [see at least Figure 3, (80)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the EV swappable battery system of Penilla to include the ability to notify the user of range if an attachment is removed, as disclosed by Grewal, in order to allow the user to determine whether to remove an attachment (dead battery) connected to the EV. Thus, offering the benefit of being able to extend the operation range of the EV by reducing weight.
Regarding claim 2, Penilla in view of Grewal teaches the method of claim 1.
Penilla discloses wherein the acquiring of the operational data includes learning a plurality of pieces of operational data according to whether a swap energy storage unit is mounted [see at least Figure 35, (1004), “Range” and “Status”, (1006); this is a very broad limitation and Penilla would display the range, status and capacity of the swap energy storage when it is present].
Regarding claim 3, Penilla in view of Grewal teaches the method of claim 2.
Penilla discloses wherein the plurality of pieces of operational data include first, second and third operational data according to whether the swap energy storage unit is mounted [see at least Figure 35, (1004), “Range” and “Status”, (1006); this is a very broad limitation and Penilla would display the range, status and capacity of the swap energy storage when it is present].
Regarding claim 4, Penilla in view of Grewal teaches the method of claim 3.
Grewal discloses wherein the learning of the operational data includes learning actually consumed energy according to the available operation range as the first travel data when the swap energy storage unit is not mounted [see at least Figure 3, (206); column 8, lines 55-61, “Equation 3 therefore provides a predicted range value of the vehicle 2 when in EV-only mode based on the current rate of energy consumption. However, in order to improve the accuracy of the range prediction function 70, the standard energy model 74a may also implement a ‘range initialisation strategy’ that takes into account historical range data of the vehicle during previous running cycles”].
Regarding claim 5, Penilla in view of Grewal teaches the method of claim 3.
Grewal discloses wherein the learning of the operational data includes learning actually consumed energy according to the available operation range as the second travel data when the swap energy storage unit is mounted [see at least Figure 3, (208); column 8, lines 55-61, “Equation 3 therefore provides a predicted range value of the vehicle 2 when in EV-only mode based on the current rate of energy consumption. However, in order to improve the accuracy of the range prediction function 70, the standard energy model 74a may also implement a ‘range initialisation strategy’ that takes into account historical range data of the vehicle during previous running cycles”; column 9, lines 45-53, “The trailer attached energy model 74b has a function which is substantially the same as the standard energy model 74a in that it implements equations [2], [3] and [4] in the process…”].
Regarding claim 6, Penilla in view of Grewal teaches the method of claim 3.
Grewal discloses wherein the learning of the operational data includes learning expected consumed energy according to the available operation range as the third operational data on assumption that the swap energy storage unit is detached when the swap energy storage unit is mounted [see at least column 8, lines 55-61, “Equation 3 therefore provides a predicted range value of the vehicle 2 when in EV-only mode based on the current rate of energy consumption. However, in order to improve the accuracy of the range prediction function 70, the standard energy model 74a may also implement a ‘range initialisation strategy’ that takes into account historical range data of the vehicle during previous running cycles”; column 9, lines 45-53, “The trailer attached energy model 74b has a function which is substantially the same as the standard energy model 74a in that it implements equations [2], [3] and [4] in the process…”; Figure 3, (212); Grewal calculates both and offers a blended model based on historical data].
Regarding claim 7, Penilla in view of Grewal teaches the method of claim 6.
Grewal discloses wherein the third operational data includes a first expected value which is expected consumed energy according to the available operation range determined by learning through a learning model in which a operation environment is reflected and a second expected value determined by learning through a learning model in which a correction value is applied to the second operational data [see at least column 8, lines 55-61, “Equation 3 therefore provides a predicted range value of the vehicle 2 when in EV-only mode based on the current rate of energy consumption. However, in order to improve the accuracy of the range prediction function 70, the standard energy model 74a may also implement a ‘range initialisation strategy’ that takes into account historical range data of the vehicle during previous running cycles”].
Regarding claim 8, Penilla in view of Grewal teaches the method of claim 3.
Grewal discloses wherein the analyzing the operation data includes outputting operational data including consumed energy similar to the current driving conditions of the vehicle in each of the first, second and third operational data and estimating first, second and third available operation ranges each corresponding to the first, second and third operational data based on each of the output operational data and a current energy of the currently mounted energy storage unit [see at least Figure 3, (206), (208), (72), (74), (76), (212), (218) to (80); column 9, lines 8-16; Grewal uses current and historical data for calculations on range].
Regarding claim 9, Penilla in view of Grewal teaches the method of claim 8.
Grewal discloses wherein the estimating of the first, second and third available operation range further includes estimating a fourth available operation range based on the first available operation range and the third available operation range [see at least Figure 3, (212) and (214); Grewal uses blended and weighted functions for calculating a final range].
Regarding claim 10, Penilla in view of Grewal teaches the method of claim 9.
Grewal discloses wherein the estimating of the fourth available operation range includes estimating the fourth available operation range by reflecting a weight on each of the estimated first available operation range and third available operation range [see at least Figure 3, (214)].
Regarding claim 12, Penilla in view of Grewal teaches the method of claim 8.
Grewal discloses wherein the outputting of the signal includes outputting the first available operation range when the swap energy storage unit is not mounted [see at least Figure 3, (206) to (80)].
Regarding claim 13, Pinella discloses an electrified vehicle [see at least Figure 1, (10)] comprising: one or more energy storage units [see at least Figures 1 and 3, (14) and (16)]; a control unit [see at least Figure 3, (31)] configured to acquire operational data including configuration information of one or more energy storage units and driving conditions [see at least column 12, lines 52-64, “central processing unit (CPU) 31 can communicate with main battery 14 and the auxiliary battery carrier 16”; Figure 3, (20); Figure 35, (1006)] and driving conditions [see at least column 37, line 59 – column 38, line 2, “This analysis can include, for example, reviewing traffic patterns, travel speeds and estimates to traversed the different distances, time of day, etc.”; Figure 35, (1004), “Range: 72 miles”; (1008), “Dynamic traffic based range”], to analyze the operational data to estimate an available operation range for a current energy storage configuration [see at least Figure 35, (1006); (1004), “Range: 72 miles”], and to generate a signal [see at least column 31, line 66 – column 32, line 14, “a smart phone or network connected device operating system 1000”; networked devices utilize signals] indicating whether to maintain [see at least Figure 35, (1004) “Status” “good”], replace [see at least Figure 35, (1004) “Status” “replace”] at least one of the one or more energy storage units based on the estimated available operation range [see at least Figure 35, (1006); Figure (1004), “Range: 72 miles”]; and an output device configured to output information corresponding to the signal. [see at least Figure 35].
Penilla fails to disclose an operation range estimate based on a removed energy storage. However, Grewal discloses range prediction in electric vehicles [see at least Abstract] in which operation range estimates can be calculated with or without (removed) an attachment (trailer) [see at least Figure 3, (204) to (206) or (208) to (218)] and displayed to a user [see at least Figure 3, (80)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the EV swappable battery system of Penilla to include the ability to notify the user of range if an attachment is removed, as disclosed by Grewal, in order to allow the user to determine whether to remove an attachment (dead battery) connected to the EV. Thus, offering the benefit of being able to extend the operation range of the EV by reducing weight.
Regarding claim 14, Penilla in view of Grewal teaches the electrified vehicle of claim 13.
Penilla discloses wherein the control unit is configured to learn a plurality of pieces of operational data according to whether or not a swap energy storage unit is mounted [see at least Figure 35, (1004), “Range” and “Status”, (1006); this is a very broad limitation and Penilla would display the range, status and capacity of the swap energy storage when it is present].
Regarding claim 15, Penilla in view of Grewal teaches the electrified vehicle of claim 14.
Grewal discloses wherein the control unit is configured to learn actually consumed energy according to the available operation range as first operational data when the swap energy storage unit is not mounted [see at least Figure 3, (206); column 8, lines 55-61, “Equation 3 therefore provides a predicted range value of the vehicle 2 when in EV-only mode based on the current rate of energy consumption. However, in order to improve the accuracy of the range prediction function 70, the standard energy model 74a may also implement a ‘range initialisation strategy’ that takes into account historical range data of the vehicle during previous running cycles”].
Regarding claim 16, Penilla in view of Grewal teaches the electrified vehicle of claim 15.
Grewal discloses wherein the control unit is configured to learn actually consumed energy according to the available operation range as second operational data when the swap energy storage unit is mounted [see at least Figure 3, (208); column 8, lines 55-61, “Equation 3 therefore provides a predicted range value of the vehicle 2 when in EV-only mode based on the current rate of energy consumption. However, in order to improve the accuracy of the range prediction function 70, the standard energy model 74a may also implement a ‘range initialisation strategy’ that takes into account historical range data of the vehicle during previous running cycles”; column 9, lines 45-53, “The trailer attached energy model 74b has a function which is substantially the same as the standard energy model 74a in that it implements equations [2], [3] and [4] in the process…”].
Regarding claim 17, Penilla in view of Grewal teaches the electrified vehicle of claim 16.
Grewal discloses wherein the control unit is configured to learn expected consumed energy according to the available operation range as third operational data on assumption that the swap energy storage unit is detached when the swap energy storage unit is mounted [see at least column 8, lines 55-61, “Equation 3 therefore provides a predicted range value of the vehicle 2 when in EV-only mode based on the current rate of energy consumption. However, in order to improve the accuracy of the range prediction function 70, the standard energy model 74a may also implement a ‘range initialisation strategy’ that takes into account historical range data of the vehicle during previous running cycles”; column 9, lines 45-53, “The trailer attached energy model 74b has a function which is substantially the same as the standard energy model 74a in that it implements equations [2], [3] and [4] in the process…”; Figure 3, (212); Grewal calculates both and offers a blended model based on historical data].
Regarding claim 18, Penilla in view of Grewal teaches the electrified vehicle of claim 17.
Grewal discloses wherein the control unit is configured to output operational data including consumed energy similar to the current driving conditions of the vehicle in each of the first, second and third operational data, and estimated first, second and third available operation ranges each corresponding to the first, second and third operational data based on each of the output operational data and a current energy of the currently mounted energy storage unit [see at least column 8, lines 55-61, “Equation 3 therefore provides a predicted range value of the vehicle 2 when in EV-only mode based on the current rate of energy consumption. However, in order to improve the accuracy of the range prediction function 70, the standard energy model 74a may also implement a ‘range initialisation strategy’ that takes into account historical range data of the vehicle during previous running cycles”].
Regarding claim 19, Penilla in view of Grewal teaches the electrified vehicle of claim 18.
Grewal discloses wherein the control unit is configured to estimate a fourth available operation range by reflecting a weight on each of the estimated first available operation range and third available operation range [see at least Figure 3, (214)].
Claims 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9,123,035 by Penilla et al. (Penilla hereinafter) in view of US 9,834,111 by Grewal et al. (Grewal hereinafter) in further view of US 9,623,765 by Liu.
Regarding claim 11, Penilla in view of Grewal teaches the method of claim 9.
Penilla in view of Grewal fails to teach wherein the generating of the signal includes comparing the estimated second available operation range and fourth available operation range with each other and generating the signal based on a determination that the second available operation range is smaller than the fourth available operation range. However, Liu discloses an EV driving range optimization system with dynamic feedback [see at least Abstract] which analyzes and compares ranges and notifies a user if a current driving range is less than a preset driving range [see at least column 12, line 51 – column 13, line 2, “If the current driving range is less than the preset range (step 801), then the system will automatically make suggestions as to ways to extend the driving range by altering driving behavior or auxiliary system settings”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the EV swappable battery system of Penilla in view of Grewal to include the ability to compare range optimizations, as disclosed in Liu, in order to allow the user to make decisions on driving conditions that impact range. Thus, offering the benefit of being able to extend the operation range of the EV.
Regarding claim 20, Penilla in view of Grewal teaches the electrified vehicle of claim 19.
Penilla in view of Grewal fails to teach wherein the control unit is configured to compare the estimated second available operation range and fourth available operation range with each other and to generate the signal based on a determination that the second available operation range is smaller than the fourth available operation range. However, Liu discloses an EV driving range optimization system with dynamic feedback [see at least Abstract] which analyzes and compares ranges and notifies a user if a current driving range is less than a preset driving range [see at least column 12, line 51 – column 13, line 2, “If the current driving range is less than the preset range (step 801), then the system will automatically make suggestions as to ways to extend the driving range by altering driving behavior or auxiliary system settings”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the EV swappable battery system of Penilla in view of Grewal to include the ability to compare range optimizations, as disclosed in Liu, in order to allow the user to make decisions on driving conditions that impact range. Thus, offering the benefit of being able to extend the operation range of the EV.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park et al. (US 10,464,547) discloses energy consumption analysis using onboard vehicle data.
/JOEL BARNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REGIS J BETSCH/SPE, Art Unit 2836