DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the recitations of “a front cryogenic tank” and “a rear cryogenic tank” renders the claim indefinite. Claim 1, which claim 4 is dependent on, already introduces both the front and rear cryogenic tanks. It is not clear if the tanks introduced in claim 4 are intended to refer to the tank introduced in claim 1 or introduce additionally tanks into the claim. Please amend the claim accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoo et al. (US 2010/0058780, hereafter “Yoo”).
Regarding claim 1, Yoo discloses a dismountable aeronautical pod device (110) with cryogenic storage capacity (para. [0076] and [0085]), for external transportation by an aircraft (this is intended use that the apparatus of Yoo is at least capable of performing), comprising a front cryogenic tank (320 on the left side with reference to Fig. 13), a rear cryogenic tank (320 on the right side with reference to Fig. 13) a plurality of central gasification and temporary storage tanks (324; note that a plurality of 324 may be disposed for each set of front and rear tanks as disclosed in Abstract and Fig. 4) for a rise in pressure of gas supplied by the front cryogenic tank and the rear cryogenic tank, each central gasification and temporary storage tank being arranged between two cryogenic tanks (Figs. 4 and 13).
Regarding claim 3, Yoo further discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein each cryogenic tank is super-insulated (via 22a and 22b) under vacuum against conduction, convection and radiation. (para. [0021])
Regarding claim 4, Yoo further discloses the device according to claim 1, provided with a front cryogenic tank and a rear cryogenic tank, in an elongated shape along a common axis. (as best understood, Fig. 13)
Regarding claim 5, Yoo discloses a dismountable aeronautical pod device (110) with cryogenic storage capacity (para. [0076] and [0085]), for external transportation by an aircraft (this is intended use that the apparatus of Yoo is at least capable of performing), comprising at least two front cryogenic tanks (320 on the left side with reference to Fig. 13), at least two rear cryogenic tanks (320 on the right side with reference to Fig. 13), at least one central gasification and temporary storage tank (324) for a rise in pressure of gas supplied by the front cryogenic tanks and the rear cryogenic tanks. (with respect to the limitations directed to having at least two front and rear cryogenic tanks, note a plurality of tanks may be disposed along a respective row as disclosed in Abstract and Fig. 4)
Regarding claim 10, Yoo discloses a dismountable aeronautical pod device (110) with cryogenic storage capacity (para. [0076] and [0085]), for external transportation by an aircraft (this is intended use that the apparatus of Yoo is at least capable of performing), comprising a front cryogenic tank (320 on the left side with reference to Fig. 13), a rear cryogenic tank (320 on the right side with reference to Fig. 13), at least one central gasification and temporary storage tank (324 and 328) for a rise in pressure of gas supplied by the front cryogenic tank and the rear cryogenic tank, wherein the central gasification and temporary storage tank forms a gasification member (323), an upstream valve being provided to be open for liquid to flow through during a filling phase of the central gasification and temporary storage tank and closed outside of the filling phase, a downstream valve being provided to be open for gas to flow through during an emptying phase of the central gasification and temporary storage tank and closed outside the emptying phase (as mentioned in para. [0135] and [0136], see how various valves may be disposed and associated with the pump and the pipe 324), the upstream valve and the downstream valve being closed during a gasification phase (the valves as disclosed are capable of being closed simultaneously).
Regarding claim 11, Yoo further discloses the device according to claim 10, wherein the upstream valve and the downstream valve are controlled in an on-off manner. (as mentioned in para. [0135] and [0136])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo.
Regarding claim 6, Yoo further discloses the device according to claim 5, but fails to disclose wherein the front cryogenic tanks and the rear cryogenic tanks are spherical in shape.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the shape of the front and rear cryogenic tanks of Yoo to be spherical in shape since a change in shape of an element involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a shape that is suitable to maximize the volume to occupy with fluid as desired by the user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 12-18 are allowed.
Conclusion
/PAUL J GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753