DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 01 May 2026, in which claims 1, 2, 6, 14, 15, 18, and 20 were amended and claim 17 was canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In regards to claim 2, it is unclear how “a bogged automobile” (line 2) relates to previously claimed “an automobile” (claim 1). As best understood, only one automobile is being claimed. As such, Examiner suggests referencing the recitation of “a bogged automobile” in claim 2 as --the automobile--, and then adding in a limitation describing what happens during recovery of the automobile when in a bogged situation or state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7, 11-16, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bosschieter et al. (US 11472246 B2). Bosschieter et al. discloses a towable accommodation (towable vehicle #100, 400; figures 1A, 4A) to be towed by an automobile (towing vehicle), the towable accommodation including:
(claims 1, 20) a chassis (#110, 210, 410; column 6, line 12-column 8, line 32; column 10, line 36-column 11, line 24);
one or more wheel stabilizer arrangements (including suspension and drive arrangements) for mounting to the chassis (#110, 210, 410), each wheel stabilizer arrangement including:
a motor (#628.4) for driving a wheel (#130, 430; figures 1A-4B, 6A-7; columns 6-9; column 12, line 65-column 15);
a stabilizer (including components of suspension arrangement, such as swing arms #221, 321, 621, pivot arms #227, 327, 627, airbags #225, 325, 625, shock absorbers #223, 323, 623) including a top control arm, a bottom control arm, and a central toe stabilizer arm (any of swing arms #221, 321, 321.11, 321.12, 621, 621.11, 621.12 and pivot arms #227, 327, 627 can be considered a top control arm, a bottom control arm, and a central toe stabilizer arm; figures 2A-3F, 6A-6D; column 6, line 37-column 9, line 41; column 13, lines 20-31);
wherein each of a length of the top control arm and a length of the bottom control arm are adjustable by an adjustable cam arrangement (including cams #321.5, 327.2; figures 2A-3F, 6A-6D; column 1, line 66-column 2, line 15; column 7, lines 16-67; column 8, line 55-column 9, line 5; claims 1-4);
(claim 2) wherein each motor (#628.4) drives its wheel (#130, 430) during recovery of a bogged automobile towing the accommodation (#100, 400; column 1, lines 42-47; column 8, lines 49-54; column 12, line 65-column 15);
(claim 3) wherein each motor (#628.4) is controlled independently, for improved maneuverability, to facilitate turning the accommodation during parking (column 14, line 39-column 15, line 35);
(claim 6) wherein each wheel stabilizer arrangement (including suspension and drive arrangements) further includes a mount (including axle #222, 322, 622 and associated components) to which the wheel (#130, 430) can be rotationally mounted (figures 2A-3F, 6A-6D; column 6, lines 39-44; column 8, lines 37-54; column 13, lines 20-31);
(claim 7) wherein the mount (including axle #222, 322, 622 and associated components) includes a knuckle (including drive gear housing #628.1, which is mounted around axle #622; figures 6A-6D; column 13);
(claim 11) wherein a body of the motor (#628.4) is fixed to the wheel stabilizer arrangement (figures 6A-6D; column 13);
(claim 12) wherein a body of the motor (#628.4) is fixed to a mount and/or flank arm (including motor mounting #628.3) of the wheel stabilizer arrangement (figures 6A-6D; column 13);
(claim 13) a controller (#700) for controlling each motor (#628.4; column 13, line 36-column 15; figure 7);
(claim 14) wherein the controller is a remote controller (including remote client device #730; column 13, line 36-column 15; figure 7);
(claim 15) wherein each wheel stabilizer arrangement further includes a flank arm (including swing arms #221, 321, 621, pivot arms #227, 327, 627) for movably fastening to a flank of the chassis (#110, 210, 410; figures 2A-3F, 6A-6D; column 6, line 37-column 9, line 41; column 13, lines 20-31);
(claim 16) wherein each wheel stabilizer arrangement further includes a mount (including at least drive mounting #628.2) for mounting to the flank arm (including at least swing arms #621, pivot arms #627; figures 6A-6D; column 13, lines 20-31);
(claim 18) wherein the stabilizer (including airbags #225, 325, 625, shock absorbers #223, 323, 623) stabilizes the wheel (#130, 430) in a substantially vertical orientation as the flank arm (including swing arms #221, 321, 621, pivot arms #227, 327, 627) moves relative to the chassis (#110, 210, 410) when towing the accommodation over rough terrain (column 1, lines 31-47; column 8, lines 37-54; column 12, line 65-column 13, line 5; column 14, line 39-column 15);
(claim 20) one or more motors (#628.4) for driving wheels (#130, 430) of the accommodation (#100, 400; 6A-7; column 12, line 65-column 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosschieter et al. (US 11472246 B2) in view of Thomas et al. (US 12179861 B1). Bosschieter et al. discloses what appears to be a wheel hub assembly (figures 1A-2B, 4A-4B, 6A-6D), but does not specifically disclose a wheel hub assembly, a motor shaft, or a splined motor coupling. Thomas et al. teaches a towable accommodation (trailer #606; figures 9-12; column 9, line 11-column 11) including one or more wheel stabilizer arrangements including a motor (#205) for driving a wheel (#204), (claim 4) wherein the motor includes a shaft (#240), (claim 6) wherein each wheel stabilizer arrangement further includes a mount (including mount with input gear) to which the wheel can be rotationally mounted, (claim 8) wherein each stabilizer arrangement further includes a wheel hub assembly (electrical portal hub #207, 207’) for rotationally mounting the wheel to the mount, (claim 9) wherein the motor extends through the mount (via half shaft #240) and engages with the wheel hub assembly, and (claim 10) wherein a shaft (#240) of the motor is coupled with the wheel hub assembly using a spline arrangement (column 3, lines 37-47; column 7, lines 20-24; column 8, lines 41-47). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the towable accommodation of Bosschieter et al. to include the wheel hub assembly, motor shaft, and splined motor coupling, as taught by Thomas et al., so as to securely mount the drive components to the driven wheel, while providing increased energy efficiency by reducing fuel consumption when towing the towable accommodation (Thomas et al.: column 9, lines 11-48).
Claim(s) 5 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosschieter et al. (US 11472246 B2) in view of Stevens (US 3826324 A).
In regards to claim 5, Bosschieter et al. discloses the motor (#628.4) can be driven in a forward direction (column 12, line 65-column 15), but does not disclose the motor can be driven in a reverse direction. Stevens teaches a towable accommodation (trailer) to be towed by an automobile (motor vehicle), the towable accommodation including a motor (#17) for driving a wheel (#13, 14), wherein the motor can be driven in forward and reverse directions (column 3, lines 9-44; column 5, lines 7-37). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the towable accommodation of Bosschieter et al. to include wherein the motor can be driven in forward and reverse directions, as taught by Stevens, so as to easily switch the motor between forward and reverse directions to facilitate movement of the towable accommodation around a parking area during a parking procedure (Stevens: column 1, lines 63-67; column 2, lines 6-12; column 3, lines 30-44; column 5, lines 7-37).
In regards to claim 19, Bosschieter et al. shows wherein the chassis (#110, 210, 410) terminates in a coupler (near accessories housing #150, 450 in figures 1A-1D, 4A; #414 in figure 4B) for coupling to the automobile (towing vehicle), but does not specifically disclose coupling to a tow ball of the automobile. Stevens teaches a towable accommodation (trailer) to be towed by an automobile (motor vehicle), wherein a chassis (including frame #10) terminates in a coupler (including towing brace #11, coupler #12) for coupling to a tow ball of the automobile (column 2, lines 60-64). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the towable accommodation of Bosschieter et al. to include coupling to a tow ball of the automobile, as taught by Stevens, so as to attach the accommodation to a conventional ball coupler of the automobile (Stevens: column 2, lines 60-64), which is exceedingly old and well known in the art as an inexpensive and secure tow attachment configuration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to pages 7-9 and claims 1 and 20, Applicant argues that Bosschieter et al. (US 11472246 B2) does not disclose newly claimed limitations of a stabilizer including a top control arm, a bottom control arm, and a central toe stabilizer arm, wherein each of a length of the top control arm and a length of the bottom control arm are adjustable by an adjustable cam arrangement. As set forth above, Bosschieter et al. (US 11472246 B2) discloses a stabilizer (including components of suspension arrangement, such as swing arms #221, 321, 621, pivot arms #227, 327, 627, airbags #225, 325, 625, shock absorbers #223, 323, 623) including a top control arm, a bottom control arm, and a central toe stabilizer arm (any of swing arms #221, 321, 321.11, 321.12, 621, 621.11, 621.12 and pivot arms #227, 327, 627 can be considered a top control arm, a bottom control arm, and a central toe stabilizer arm; figures 2A-3F, 6A-6D; column 6, line 37-column 9, line 41; column 13, lines 20-31), wherein each of a length of the top control arm and a length of the bottom control arm are adjustable by an adjustable cam arrangement (including cams #321.5, 327.2; figures 2A-3F, 6A-6D; column 1, line 66-column 2, line 15; column 7, lines 16-67; column 8, line 55-column 9, line 5; claims 1-4). While it appears Applicant is intending to claimed a specific vertical orientation of the three arms with respect to each other, using the broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation does not specify the configuration of the arms with respect to each other, and thus any of swing arms (#221, 321, 321.11, 321.12, 621, 621.11, 621.12) and pivot arms (#227, 327, 627) can be considered a top control arm, a bottom control arm, and a central toe stabilizer arm (figures 2A-3F, 6A-6D). Further, pivot arms (#227, 327, 627) are arranged above swing arms (#221, 321, 321.11, 321.12, 621, 621.11, 621.12), such that a pivot arm (#227, 327, 627) could be considered “a top control arm”, while swing arms (#221, 321, 321.11, 321.12, 621, 621.11, 621.12) could be considered “a bottom control arm” and “a central toe stabilizer arm”, or something similar. In addition, Bosschieter et al. (US 11472246 B2) specifically discloses a length of each arm is adjustable by a cam arrangement (including cams #321.5, 327.2; figures 2A-3F, 6A-6D; column 1, line 66-column 2, line 15; column 7, lines 16-67; column 8, line 55-column 9, line 5; claims 1-4).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA FREEDMAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3614