Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 10-12, 14-16 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,397,190.
Claim 1 recites an exercise device (see line 1 of claim 1 of the patent), comprising: a glider (see line 2 of claim 1 of the patent); and a glove configured to cover at least a portion of the glider, the glove comprising a grip disposed on an inner surface of the glove and configured to engage with the glider (see lines 3-6 of claim 1 of the patent); wherein the glider and the glove are configured to slide along a surface responsive to a force applied to the glider (see lines 10-12 of claim 1 of the patent).
Claim 2 (see claim 2 of the patent);
Claim 3 (see claims 3-4 of the patent);
Claim 5 (see claim 2 of the patent);
Claim 6 (see claim 5 of the patent);
Claim 7 (see claim 6 of the patent).
Claim 10 recites a glove to cover a glider (see line 1 of claim 7 of the patent), the glove comprising: a grip disposed on an inner surface of the glove (see line 2 of claim 7 of the patent); wherein the grip is configured to engage with the glider (see line 7 of claim 7 of the patent); and wherein the glider and the glove are configured to slide along a surface responsive to a force applied to the glider (see lines 9-11 of claim 7 of the patent).
Claim 11 (see claim 8 of the patent);
Claim 12 (see claims 9-10 of the patent);
Claim 14 (see claim 8 of the patent);
Claim 15 (see claim 11 of the patent);
Claim 16 (see claim 12 of the patent).
Claim 18 recites a method of using an exercise device (see line 1 of claim 13 of the patent), the method comprising: providing the exercise device including a first glider, a first glove, a second glider, and a second glove (see lines 3-4 of claim 13 of the patent); wherein the first glove is configured to be fit over the first glider (see lines 5-6 of claim 13 of the patent); wherein the second glove is configured to be fit over the second glider (see lines 7-8 of claim 13 of the patent); wherein at least one of the first glider and the first glove or the second glider and the second glove are configured to be moved along a surface when a force is applied (see lines 9-12 of claim 13 of the patent); wherein the first glove includes a first grip disposed on an inner surface of the first glove to fix the first glider relative to the first glove (see lines 13-15 of claim 13 of the patent); and wherein the second glove includes a second grip disposed on an inner surface of the second glove to fix the second glider relative to the second glove (see lines 20-22 of claim 13 of the patent).
Claim 19 (see claim 15 of the patent).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. It is clear that all the elements of claims 1-3, 5-7, 10-12, 14-16 and 19 are to be found in claims 1-13 and 15 of the patent. The difference between claims 1-3, 5-7, 10-12, 14-16 and 19 of the application and claims 1-13 and 15 of the patent is that independent claims 1, 7, and 13 of the patent includes more elements and are more specific than independent claims 1, 10, and 18 of the application. Thus the invention of claims 1-13 and 15 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of claims 1-3, 5-7, 10-12, 14-16 and 19 of the application. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claims 1-3, 5-7, 10-12, 14-16 and 19 are anticipated by claims 1-13 and 15 of the patent, they are not patentably distinct.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 16 line 3, “the opening” should be changed to --wherein the opening--.
In claim 16 line 4, “the elastic” should be changed to --wherein the elastic--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2017/0072259 (Trenkle).
Regarding claim 1, Trenkle discloses an exercise device 100 (abstract, FIGS. 8-10), comprising:
a glider 11,22 (combination of the hard layer frame 11 and the body contacting layer 22 can be interpreted as the glider - FIGS. 8 and 10); and
a glove 20 configured to cover at least a portion of the glider 11,22 (removable cover 20 as shown in FIGS. 8-10 can be interpreted as the glove), the glove 20 comprising a grip 21 disposed on an inner surface of the glove and configured to engage with the glider (removable cover 20 has a resilient perimeter 21, which can be interpreted as the grip since it is configured to stretch over portions of the hard layer frame 11, and then allowed to attempt to return to its un-stretched size, thereby removably coupling and maintaining the removable cover 20 on or over the hard layer frame 11 - para 0057),
wherein the glider 11,22 and the glove 20 are configured to slide along a surface responsive to a force applied to the glider (when the removable cover 20 is removably coupled to the hard layer frame 11, a removable cover surface 25 of the removable cover maybe configured to contact and move across a resistive surface 300 in response to a force applied to the device by a user - para 0056, FIGS. 8-10 and 12-14).
Regarding claim 2, Trenkle teaches the exercise device of claim 1, and further discloses wherein: the grip 21 of the glove comprises a first material (elastic or resilient material - para 0057); and the inner surface of the glove 20 comprises a second material that is different from the first material (fabric or cloth material - para 0056).
Regarding claim 3, Trenkle teaches the exercise device of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the first material comprises a silicone rubber material (silicone rubber - para 0057) and the second material comprises a fabric material (fabric or cloth material - para 0056).
Regarding claim 4, Trenkle teaches the exercise device of claim 1, and further discloses wherein: the glider includes a top surface 23 configured to at least partially receive a portion of a user (para 0054) and a bottom surface 11 configured to face the surface in which the glider and the glove are configured to slide along (FIGS. 9-12); and the grip 21 is configured to contact the bottom surface 11 of the glider (FIG. 10).
Regarding claim 5, Trenkle teaches the exercise device of claim 1, and further discloses wherein: the glider comprises a first material (hard layer frame 11 comprising a substantially rigid material - para 0052); the glove comprises a second material (fabric or cloth material - para 0056); and the second material has a lower coefficient of friction with the surface than the first material (the removable cover 20 may contact a floor surface or covering in place of the hard layer frame 11 to reduce frictional resistance between the apparatus 100 and a solid floor surface or covering such as a wood or linoleum floor - para 0056).
Regarding claim 6, Trenkle teaches the exercise device of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the surface is at least one of a hardwood floor, a vinyl floor, a tile floor, or a laminate floor (tile, wood, and other like hard floor coverings - para 0051).
Regarding claim 7, Trenkle teaches the exercise device of claim 1, and further discloses wherein: the glove 20 includes an opening having an elastic band 21 (para 0057, FIGS. 8-10); the opening is configured to receive the glider 11,22 (FIGS. 8-10); and the elastic band 21 is configured to bias the glove around the glider (para 0057).
Regarding claim 8, Trenkle teaches the exercise device of claim 7, and further discloses wherein the grip and the elastic band are disposed on opposing sides of the glove (half of the resilient perimeter 21 can be interpreted as the grip and the other half of the resilient perimeter 21 can be interpreted as the elastic band, thus they are disposed on opposing sides of the removably cover 20 - para 0057, FIGS. 8-10).
Regarding claim 9, Trenkle teaches the exercise device of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the grip is one of a plurality of grips disposed on the inner surface of the glove (the resilient perimeter 21 may be one of a plurality of “gripping” options such as different types of a fasteners, a draw string, etc. - para 0058).
Regarding claim 10, Trenkle discloses a glove 20 (removable cover 20 as shown in FIGS. 8-10 can be interpreted as the glove) to cover a glider 11,22 (combination of the hard layer frame 11 and the body contacting layer 22 can be interpreted as the glider - FIGS. 8 and 10), the glove comprising:
a grip 21 disposed on an inner surface of the glove 20 (removable cover 20 has a resilient perimeter 21, which can be interpreted as the grip since it is configured to stretch over portions of the hard layer frame 11, and then allowed to attempt to return to its un-stretched size, thereby removably coupling and maintaining the removable cover 20 on or over the hard layer frame 11 - para 0057);
wherein the grip 21 is configured to engage with the glider 11,22 (resilient perimeter 21 is configured for removably coupling and maintaining the removable cover 20 on or over the hard layer frame 11 - para 0057); and
wherein the glider 11,22 and the glove 20 are configured to slide along a surface responsive to a force applied to the glider (when the removable cover 20 is removably coupled to the hard layer frame 11, a removable cover surface 25 of the removable cover maybe configured to contact and move across a resistive surface 300 in response to a force applied to the device by a user - para 0056, FIGS. 8-10 and 12-14).
Regarding claim 11, Trenkle teaches the glove of claim 10, and further discloses wherein: the grip 21 of the glove comprises a first material (elastic or resilient material - para 0057); and the inner surface of the glove 20 comprises a second material that is different from the first material (fabric or cloth material - para 0056).
Regarding claim 12, Trenkle teaches the glove of claim 11, and further discloses wherein the first material comprises a silicone rubber material (silicone rubber - para 0057) and the second material comprises a fabric material (fabric or cloth material - para 0056).
Regarding claim 13, Trenkle teaches the glove of claim 10, and further discloses wherein: the glider includes a bottom surface 11 configured to face the surface in which the glider and the glove are configured to slide along (FIGS. 9-12); and the grip 21 is configured to contact the bottom surface 11 of the glider (FIG. 10).
Regarding claim 14, Trenkle teaches the glove of claim 10, and further discloses wherein: the glider comprises a first material (hard layer frame 11 comprising a substantially rigid material - para 0052); the glove comprises a second material (fabric or cloth material - para 0056); and the second material has a lower coefficient of friction with the surface than the first material (the removable cover 20 may contact a floor surface or covering in place of the hard layer frame 11 to reduce frictional resistance between the apparatus 100 and a solid floor surface or covering such as a wood or linoleum floor - para 0056).
Regarding claim 15, Trenkle teaches the glove of claim 10, and further discloses wherein the surface is at least one of a hardwood floor, a vinyl floor, a tile floor, or a laminate floor (tile, wood, and other like hard floor coverings - para 0051).
Regarding claim 16, Trenkle teaches the glove of claim 10, and further discloses an opening having an elastic band 21 (para 0057, FIGS. 8-10); the opening is configured to receive the glider 11,22 (FIGS. 8-10); and the elastic band 21 is configured to bias the glove around the glider (para 0057).
Regarding claim 17, Trenkle teaches the glove of claim 16, and further discloses wherein the grip and the elastic band are disposed on opposing sides of the glove (half of the resilient perimeter 21 can be interpreted as the grip and the other half of the resilient perimeter 21 can be interpreted as the elastic band, thus they are disposed on opposing sides of the removably cover 20 - para 0057, FIGS. 8-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trenkle.
Regarding claim 18, Trenkle discloses a method of using an exercise device (FIGS. 13-14, paras 0061-0075), the method comprising:
providing the exercise device 100 including a first glider 11,22, a first glove 20;
wherein the first glove 20 is configured to be fit over the first glider 11,22 (FIGS. 8-10);
wherein at least one of the first glider 11,22 and the first glove 20 are configured to be moved along a surface when a force is applied (FIGS. 11-15, paras 0070-0075);
wherein the first glove 20 includes a first grip 21 disposed on an inner surface of the first glove 20 to fix the first glider relative to the first glove (paras 0056-0057).
However, Trenkle does not explicitly disclose the exercise device including a second glider and a second glove and all limitations associated with the second glider and second glove. It has been held that “mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.” See MPEP 2144.04 VI. In this case, duplicating the second glider and second glove would merely provide a second exercise device that performs the same functions of the first exercise device. Therefore, no new and unexpected result is produced and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trenkle’s as such.
Regarding claim 19, modified Trenkle teaches the method of claim 18, and Trenkle further discloses wherein: the first grip 21 of the first glove comprises a first material (elastic or resilient material - para 0057); and the inner surface of the first glove 20 comprises a second material that is different from the first material (fabric or cloth material - para 0056).
Regarding claim 20, modified Trenkle teaches the method of claim 18, and Trenkle further discloses wherein: the first glider includes a top surface 23 configured to at least partially receive a portion of a user (para 0054) and a bottom surface 11 configured to face the surface in which the first glider and the first glove are configured to slide along (FIGS. 9-12); and the first grip 21 is configured to contact the bottom surface 11 of the first glider (FIG. 10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/Joshua Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784