DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This is the first office action regarding application number 19/270,867, filed on 16 July 2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Examiner recommends to amend "reactivation, using the regulation system, of the passive engine." to state "reactivating, using the regulation system,
Regarding claim 5, Examiner recommends amending "a temperature value function" to "a temperature value
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 1-15
Claim 1 recites the transitional phrase "the method comprising" twice. See "…the method comprising an asymmetric operating mode comprising regulation at an active speed…" and "…the method comprises the following steps:…". Accordingly, it is unclear which parts of the claim belong in the preamble and which parts belong in the body. As such, the claim is indefinite because the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See MPEP 2173.05. Claims 2-15 are rejected by virtue of dependency on claim 1.
Regarding Claims 13-15
Claim 13 states “the aircraft having a power plant comprising at least two combustion engines and a transmission system connected to at least one rotor, each combustion engine having a power shaft connected to the transmission system, the aircraft having an asymmetric operating mode comprising regulation, at an active speed using a regulation system, of at least one active engine of the at least two combustion engines, the active engine outputting, at the active speed and via its power shaft, a non-zero active driving power contributing to the rotating of the rotor, the asymmetric operating mode comprising, together with the regulation of the active engine at the active speed, putting in standby mode at least one passive engine of the at least two combustion engines, the passive engine not transmitting any power to the rotor,". The same aircraft structures and processes are already claimed in claim 1, see "the aircraft having a power plant comprising at least two combustion engines … the passive engine transmitting no power to the rotor,". Therefore, it is unclear whether the elements recited in claim 13 are referring to the same elements as in claim 1 or to unique elements. As such, claim 13 is indefinite because the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. For the purpose of examination, claim 13 will be read is if referencing the same elements as in claim 1. It is recommended to amend claim 13 to be an independent claim or to address the antecedent basis issues. Claims 14-15 are rejected by virtue of dependency on claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beauchesne-Martel et al. (US 20200391873 A1 and Beauchesne-Martel hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1
Beauchesne-Martel teaches a method for piloting an aircraft (see all Figs.; [0005]), the aircraft having a power plant comprising at least two combustion engines (see Fig. 1B, engines 102 and 104; [0005], [0041 "The multi-engine system 105 may include two or more gas turbine engines 102, 104. In the case of a helicopter application, these gas turbine engines 102, 104 will be turboshaft engines."] and [0052]) and a transmission system connected to at least one rotor (see Fig. 1B, transmission 152, gearbox 150 and common load 170; [0050 "As illustrated in FIG. 1B, first and second engines 102, 104 each having a respective transmission 152 are interconnected by a common output gearbox 150 to drive the common load 170. In one embodiment, the common load 170 may comprise a rotary wing of a rotary-wing aircraft. For example, the common load 170 may be a main rotor 108 of the rotorcraft 100."-[0051 "For example, the gearbox 150 may have a plurality of transmission shafts 156 to receive mechanical energy from respective output shafts 154 of respective turboshaft engines 102, 104."]), each combustion engine having a power shaft connected to the transmission system (see Fig. 1B, output shafts 154; [0051 "For example, the gearbox 150 may have a plurality of transmission shafts 156 to receive mechanical energy from respective output shafts 154 of respective turboshaft engines 102, 104."]), the method comprising an asymmetric operating mode comprising regulation at an active speed, using a regulation system, of at least one active engine of the at least two combustion engines, the active engine outputting, at the active speed and via its power shaft, a non-zero active driving power that contributes to the rotation of the rotor (see [0005 "…when the rotorcraft is cruising in an asymmetric operating regime (AOR) in which at least one engine is an active engine and is operated in an active mode to provide motive power to the rotorcraft and at least one second engine is a standby engine and is operated in a standby mode to provide substantially no motive power to the rotorcraft..."], [0042 "In the present description, while the aircraft conditions (cruise speed and altitude) are substantially stable, the engines 102, 104 of the system 105 may be operated asymmetrically, with one engine operated in a high-power “active” mode and the other engine operated in a lower-power (which could be no power, in some cases) “standby” mode."]-[0043] and [0047]), the asymmetric operating mode comprising, together with the regulation of the active engine at the active speed, putting in standby mode at least one passive engine of the at least two combustion engines, the passive engine transmitting no power to the rotor (see [0005 "…when the rotorcraft is cruising in an asymmetric operating regime (AOR) in which at least one engine is an active engine and is operated in an active mode to provide motive power to the rotorcraft and at least one second engine is a standby engine and is operated in a standby mode to provide substantially no motive power to the rotorcraft..."], [0042 "In the present description, while the aircraft conditions (cruise speed and altitude) are substantially stable, the engines 102, 104 of the system 105 may be operated asymmetrically, with one engine operated in a high-power “active” mode and the other engine operated in a lower-power (which could be no power, in some cases) “standby” mode."]-[0043], [0047] and [0066]),
wherein during the asymmetric operating mode, the method comprises the following steps:
detecting, using the regulation system, an operation of the power plant in an at-risk flight phase preceding a flight phase unfavorable to an exit from the asymmetric operating mode (see Fig. 5, step 502; [0005 "…at least one of increasing a power level of the at least one second engine ... to shed any ice accumulation on the at least one second engine."]-[0006 "...determining whether one or more conditions are present in which the ice accumulation on the at least one second engine is possible."], [0049], [0066 "As can be appreciated, under these conditions, when the rotorcraft 100 is operating under cold weather, ice crystals (e.g., High Altitude Ice Crystals) or other types of ice may be encountered and accumulate on the engines 102, 104, leading to degraded engine performance, increased operating temperatures, potential engine/compressor surges, or even the inability to transition out of the standby mode if the VIGVs become immovable due to overly excessive build-up. In order to shed (i.e. remove or dislodge) ice accumulation or build-up (referred to herein as accretion), it is proposed herein to take one or more actions on the standby engine (e.g., engine 104), either in a single occurrence or periodically, as will be discussed further below."], [0069 "For example, the ice formation detection unit 302 can detect that ice formation is possible if the outside air temperature is lower than a predetermined temperature threshold (e.g., five (5) degrees Celsius) below which icing is known to be possible."]-[0074] and [0081]); and
following the detection of an operation of the power plant in the at-risk flight phase, reactivation, using the regulation system, of the passive engine (see Fig. 5, step 504; [0005 "…at least one of increasing a power level of the at least one second engine ... to shed any ice accumulation on the at least one second engine."], [0049], [0073]-[0075], [0079 "In one embodiment, the engine power increase commanded by the engine power control unit 306 may be such that the standby engine 104 could end-up re-coupling to the main transmission (not shown) of the rotorcraft 100 and start providing some of the power required by the rotorcraft 100."] and [0083 "At step 504, responsive to detecting at least one operating condition in which ice formation is possible, the power level of the standby engine 104 is increased ... As also discussed above, the engine power level may be increased by increasing a fuel flow to the standby engine and accordingly compressor speed, thereby increasing engine mass flow."]).
Statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention which do not result in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art do not limit the claim and do not distinguish over the prior art apparatus (or process). See, e.g., In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 938, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) and cases cited therein, as it has been held that the recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See also MPEP § 2111.02, §2112.02 and 2114-2115.
In claims 1, the recitation “the aircraft having a power plant comprising at least two combustion engines and a transmission system connected to at least one rotor, each combustion engine having a power shaft connected to the transmission system,” has been given little patentable weight because the recitation occurs in the preamble. A preamble is generally not accorded patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951).
Regarding Claim 3
Beauchesne-Martel teaches the method according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
wherein the reactivation of the passive engine is performed automatically by the regulation system following detecting an operation of the power plant in the at-risk flight phase (see Fig. 5, step 504; [0049], [0063, "In some embodiments, the AOR system 206 effects changes in flight controls via an optional automatic flight control system (AFCS) 207 of the engine controller 210 ... In other embodiments, the AFCS 207 can adjust analog or digital signals transmitted to actuators or other devices which control operation of the engines 102, 104, and/or of the rotor 108. Other approaches are also considered."], [0079 "In one embodiment, the engine power increase commanded by the engine power control unit 306 may be such that the standby engine 104 could end-up re-coupling to the main transmission (not shown) of the rotorcraft 100 and start providing some of the power required by the rotorcraft 100."] and [0083 "At step 504, responsive to detecting at least one operating condition in which ice formation is possible, the power level of the standby engine 104 is increased ... As also discussed above, the engine power level may be increased by increasing a fuel flow to the standby engine and accordingly compressor speed, thereby increasing engine mass flow."]).
Regarding Claim 4
Beauchesne-Martel teaches the method according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
wherein the method comprises a measurement of at least one monitoring parameter using a respective sensor of the regulation system (see [0007 "In some embodiments, determining whether the one or more conditions are present is performed on the basis of outside air temperature."]-[0008 "In some embodiments, determining whether the one or more conditions are present is further performed on the basis of at least one of a power level of the at least one second engine, an inlet temperature of the at least one second engine, an angle of at least one variable guide of the at least one second engine, a mass flow of the at least one second engine, a core corrected speed of the at least one second engine, ambient pressure, airspeed, and an altitude of the rotorcraft."], [0069] and [0081]), detecting an operation of the power plant in the at-risk flight phase comprises detecting that the monitoring parameter has a current value less than an associated limit (see [0069 "For example, the ice formation detection unit 302 can detect that ice formation is possible if the outside air temperature is lower than a predetermined temperature threshold (e.g., five (5) degrees Celsius) below which icing is known to be possible."] and [0081]).
Regarding Claim 5
Beauchesne-Martel teaches the method according to claim 4 (as discussed above in claim 4),
wherein the at least one monitoring parameter comprises the following parameters:
a temperature value function of an outside temperature of the air surrounding the aircraft measured using an outside temperature sensor and the associated limit is a stored outside temperature limit, detecting an operation of the power plant in the at-risk flight phase comprising detecting that the temperature value is less than the stored outside temperature limit (see [0069 "In one embodiment, the sensors 202, 204, 208 may be configured to measure one or more operating parameters of the engines 102, 104, and/or 108, including, but not limited to, engine power (e.g. power of the active engine 102 and/or power of the standby engine 104), outside air temperature (e.g., inlet temperature of the active engine 102 and/or of the standby engine 104) ... The ice formation detection unit 302 may then detect the operating condition(s) based on the received measurement data. For example, the ice formation detection unit 302 can detect that ice formation is possible if the outside air temperature is lower than a predetermined temperature threshold (e.g., five (5) degrees Celsius) below which icing is known to be possible."] and [0081]).
Regarding Claim 6
Beauchesne-Martel teaches the method according to claim 5 (as discussed above in claim 5),
wherein the temperature value is equal to the outside temperature (see [0069 "In one embodiment, the sensors 202, 204, 208 may be configured to measure one or more operating parameters of the engines 102, 104, and/or 108, including, but not limited to, engine power (e.g. power of the active engine 102 and/or power of the standby engine 104), outside air temperature (e.g., inlet temperature of the active engine 102 and/or of the standby engine 104) ... The ice formation detection unit 302 may then detect the operating condition(s) based on the received measurement data. For example, the ice formation detection unit 302 can detect that ice formation is possible if the outside air temperature is lower than a predetermined temperature threshold (e.g., five (5) degrees Celsius) below which icing is known to be possible."] and [0081]).
Regarding Claim 12
Beauchesne-Martel teaches the method according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
wherein detecting, using the regulation system, an operation of the power plant in an at-risk flight phase preceding a flight phase unfavorable to an exit from the asymmetric operating mode is operated independently of the operation of the at least one active engine of the at least two combustion engines (see Figs. 3A-3B, ice formation detection unit 302; [0067 "Referring now to FIG. 3B in addition to FIG. 3A, in one embodiment, the AOR system 206 may comprise an ice formation detection unit 302 and an ice accretion shedding unit 304 comprising an engine power control unit 306 and a VGM control unit 308."] and [0072 "Once the one or more operating conditions where ice formation is possible have been detected by the ice formation detection unit 302, the ice accretion shedding unit 304 may then be used to take one or more actions on the standby engine (e.g., engine 104) for shedding any ice accretion on the standby engine 104 (and particularly on the VGMs 312)."]).
Regarding Claim 13
Beauchesne-Martel teaches an aircraft (see all Figs.; [0005]), the aircraft having a power plant comprising at least two combustion engines (see Fig. 1B, engines 102 and 104; [0005], [0041 "The multi-engine system 105 may include two or more gas turbine engines 102, 104. In the case of a helicopter application, these gas turbine engines 102, 104 will be turboshaft engines."] and [0052]) and a transmission system connected to at least one rotor (see Fig. 1B, transmission 152, gearbox 150 and common load 170; [0050 "As illustrated in FIG. 1B, first and second engines 102, 104 each having a respective transmission 152 are interconnected by a common output gearbox 150 to drive the common load 170. In one embodiment, the common load 170 may comprise a rotary wing of a rotary-wing aircraft. For example, the common load 170 may be a main rotor 108 of the rotorcraft 100."-[0051 "For example, the gearbox 150 may have a plurality of transmission shafts 156 to receive mechanical energy from respective output shafts 154 of respective turboshaft engines 102, 104."]), each combustion engine having a power shaft connected to the transmission system (see Fig. 1B, output shafts 154; [0051 "For example, the gearbox 150 may have a plurality of transmission shafts 156 to receive mechanical energy from respective output shafts 154 of respective turboshaft engines 102, 104."]), the aircraft having an asymmetric operating mode comprising regulation, at an active speed using a regulation system, of at least one active engine of the at least two combustion engines, the active engine outputting, at the active speed and via its power shaft, a non-zero active driving power contributing to the rotating of the rotor (see [0005 "…when the rotorcraft is cruising in an asymmetric operating regime (AOR) in which at least one engine is an active engine and is operated in an active mode to provide motive power to the rotorcraft and at least one second engine is a standby engine and is operated in a standby mode to provide substantially no motive power to the rotorcraft..."], [0042 "In the present description, while the aircraft conditions (cruise speed and altitude) are substantially stable, the engines 102, 104 of the system 105 may be operated asymmetrically, with one engine operated in a high-power “active” mode and the other engine operated in a lower-power (which could be no power, in some cases) “standby” mode."]-[0043] and [0047]), the asymmetric operating mode comprising, together with the regulation of the active engine at the active speed, putting in standby mode at least one passive engine of the at least two combustion engines, the passive engine not transmitting any power to the rotor (see [0005 "…when the rotorcraft is cruising in an asymmetric operating regime (AOR) in which at least one engine is an active engine and is operated in an active mode to provide motive power to the rotorcraft and at least one second engine is a standby engine and is operated in a standby mode to provide substantially no motive power to the rotorcraft..."], [0042 "In the present description, while the aircraft conditions (cruise speed and altitude) are substantially stable, the engines 102, 104 of the system 105 may be operated asymmetrically, with one engine operated in a high-power “active” mode and the other engine operated in a lower-power (which could be no power, in some cases) “standby” mode."]-[0043], [0047] and [0066]),
wherein the regulation system is configured to implement the method according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1).
Regarding Claim 14
Beauchesne-Martel teaches the aircraft according to claim 13 (as discussed above in claim 13),
wherein the regulation system comprises at least one of the following sensors: an outside temperature sensor measuring an outside temperature of the air surrounding the aircraft, a speed sensor measuring a current speed of the aircraft, one ambient temperature sensor per combustion engine measuring an ambient temperature in an engine compartment housing a combustion engine, one internal temperature sensor per combustion engine measuring an internal temperature in the combustion engine (see [0007]-[0008], [0061 "The sensors 202, 204, 208 may be any suitable type of sensor used to measure operating parameters such as but, not limited to, speed sensors, acceleration sensors, pressure sensors, temperature sensors, altitude sensors, and the like. "], [0069 "In one embodiment, the sensors 202, 204, 208 may be configured to measure one or more operating parameters of the engines 102, 104, and/or 108, including, but not limited to, engine power (e.g. power of the active engine 102 and/or power of the standby engine 104), outside air temperature (e.g., inlet temperature of the active engine 102 and/or of the standby engine 104), altitude (or ambient pressure), airspeed, variable guide vane angle for engine 102 and/or engine 104, and any suitable parameter (such as engine mass flow, core corrected speed, or the like)_that provides an indication (measured or assumed) of the amount of air going into the engines 102, 104, and/or 108..."]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beauchesne-Martel as applied to claim 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Beauchesne-Martel et al. (US 20230080365 A1 and Beauchesne-Martel #2 hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 2
Beauchesne-Martel teaches the method according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Beauchesne-Martel further teaches the regulation system reactivating the passive engine following a maneuver by a human-machine control interface (see [0014 "In some embodiments, determining whether the one or more conditions are present is performed on the basis of input data acquired from at least one operator input."], [0071 "Alternatively, the ice formation detection unit 302 may also detect the operating condition(s) based on input data acquired from operator input 230. For example, actuation of a suitable control in the cockpit may indicate that ice formation is possible."] and [0081]).
Beauchesne-Martel is silent regarding wherein, following detecting an operation of the power plant in the at-risk flight phase, the method comprises emitting an alarm using an alerter.
Beauchesne-Martel #2 teaches a method for piloting an aircraft (see all Figs.; [0004]), the aircraft having a power plant comprising at least two combustion engines (see Fig. 1B, engines 102 and 104; [0004], [0021 "The multi-engine system 105 may include two or more gas turbine engines 102, 104. In the case of a helicopter application, these gas turbine engines 102, 104 will be turboshaft engines."] and [0034]) and a transmission system connected to at least one rotor (see Fig. 1B, clutch 152, gearbox 150 and common load 170; [0022 "More particularly, the multi-engine system 105 of this embodiment includes first and second turboshaft engines 102, 104 interconnected by a common output gearbox 150 (also referred to herein as a “main gearbox”) to drive a common load 170. In one embodiment, the common load 170 may comprise a rotary wing of a rotary-wing aircraft."]-[0024 "Each input module may comprise a first reduction stage (not shown) and a clutch 152, allowing each engine 102, 104 to independently and individually disengage itself from the gearbox 150, and as such from any downstream load as in 170."]), each combustion engine having a power shaft connected to the transmission system (see Fig. 1B, output shafts 154; [0023 "For example, the gearbox 150 may have a plurality of transmission shafts 156 to receive mechanical energy from respective output shafts 154 of respective turboshaft engines 102, 104."]), the method comprising an asymmetric operating mode comprising regulation at an active speed, using a regulation system, of at least one active engine of the at least two combustion engines, the active engine outputting, at the active speed and via its power shaft, a non-zero active driving power that contributes to the rotation of the rotor (see [0004 "The method comprises operating the aircraft in an asymmetric operating regime in which a first one of the two or more engines is operating in an active mode to provide motive power to the aircraft while a second one of the two or more engines is operating in a standby mode in which the second engine is de-clutched from a gearbox of the aircraft"...] and [0025 "In the present description, while the aircraft conditions (e.g., cruise speed and altitude) are substantially stable, the engines 102, 104 of the system 105 may be operated asymmetrically, with one engine operated in a high-power “active” mode and the other engine operated in a lower-power (which could be no power, in some cases) “standby” mode."]), the asymmetric operating mode comprising, together with the regulation of the active engine at the active speed, putting in standby mode at least one passive engine of the at least two combustion engines, the passive engine transmitting no power to the rotor (see [0004 "The method comprises operating the aircraft in an asymmetric operating regime in which a first one of the two or more engines is operating in an active mode to provide motive power to the aircraft while a second one of the two or more engines is operating in a standby mode in which the second engine is de-clutched from a gearbox of the aircraft"...] and [0025 "In the present description, while the aircraft conditions (e.g., cruise speed and altitude) are substantially stable, the engines 102, 104 of the system 105 may be operated asymmetrically, with one engine operated in a high-power “active” mode and the other engine operated in a lower-power (which could be no power, in some cases) “standby” mode."]),
wherein during the asymmetric operating mode, the method comprises the following steps:
detecting, using the regulation system, an operation of the power plant in an at-risk flight phase preceding a flight phase unfavorable to an exit from the asymmetric operating mode (see Figs. 4A, step 406; [0004 "...receiving one of an emergency exit request and a normal exit request..."], [0046] and [0049 "When the engine and/or aircraft operating conditions are no longer met, one of an emergency request and a normal request to exit the AOR is received at step 406. As used herein, the term “emergency exit request” refers to a request for exiting the AOR according to the emergency exit mode and the term “normal exit request” refers to a request for exiting the AOR according to the non-emergency (or normal) exit mode. For example, if any one of airspeed, altitude, aircraft generator and/or battery status, or avionic health status for optimal asymmetric operation are not respected, a request to exit the AOR would be received at step 406."]-[0051 "In one embodiment, pilot-commanded requests may occur in normal circumstances, for example when the end of a cruise segment of a mission is approaching."]); and
following the detection of an operation of the power plant in the at-risk flight phase, reactivation, using the regulation system, of the passive engine (see Figs. 4A, step 408; [0004 "...in response to the emergency exit request, increasing a rotational speed of the second engine, at a maximum permissible speed rate of change associated with the second engine…"], [0049 "The next step 408 comprises operating the engines in response to the one of the emergency exit request and the normal exit request in order to transition the engines out of the AOR."] and [0053]);
wherein, following detecting an operation of the power plant in the at-risk flight phase, the method comprises emitting an alarm using an alerter (see [0050 "If the AOR system 202 determines that the AOR cannot be safely exited, the emergency exit request may be refused and a corresponding notification (e.g., any suitable audible alert, visible alert, sensory alert, or the like) may be provided to the aircraft operator ... In some embodiments, the aircraft operator may be alerted once the aircraft has successfully exited the AOR."]), the regulation system reactivating the passive engine following a maneuver by a human-machine control interface (see [0049 "For example, if any one of airspeed, altitude, aircraft generator and/or battery status, or avionic health status for optimal asymmetric operation are not respected, a request to exit the AOR would be received at step 406. The request may be received at step 406 in any suitable manner, for example via the operator input (reference 214 in FIG. 3 ), or from within the controller 210."]-[0050] and [0051 "The non-emergency exit mode may be initiated upon receipt, from a pilot (or from an auto-pilot system) of the aircraft, of a normal exit request, referred to herein as a “pilot-commanded request”. The pilot-commanded request may be received via the operator input 214 (e.g., from the cockpit)."]-[0052]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Beauchesne-Martel to emit an alarm using an alerter following detecting an operation of the power plant in the at-risk flight phase, as taught by Beauchesne-Martel #2, in order to notify a pilot of a successful or unsuccessful exit from the asymmetric operation mode.
Regarding Claim 15
Beauchesne-Martel teaches the aircraft according to claim 13 (as discussed above in claim 13),
Beauchesne-Martel is silent regarding wherein the regulation system comprises an alerter.
Beauchesne-Martel #2 teaches wherein the regulation system comprises an alerter (see [0050 "If the AOR system 202 determines that the AOR cannot be safely exited, the emergency exit request may be refused and a corresponding notification (e.g., any suitable audible alert, visible alert, sensory alert, or the like) may be provided to the aircraft operator ... In some embodiments, the aircraft operator may be alerted once the aircraft has successfully exited the AOR."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Beauchesne-Martel to include an alerter, as taught by Beauchesne-Martel #2, in order to notify a pilot of a successful or unsuccessful exit from the asymmetric operation mode.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beauchesne-Martel.
Regarding Claim 7
Beauchesne-Martel teaches the method according to claim 4 (as discussed above in claim 4),
wherein the at least one monitoring parameter comprises an ambient temperature in an engine compartment housing the passive engine, measured using an ambient temperature sensor and the associated limit is a stored ambient temperature limit (see [0069 "In one embodiment, the sensors 202, 204, 208 may be configured to measure one or more operating parameters of the engines 102, 104, and/or 108, including, but not limited to, engine power (e.g. power of the active engine 102 and/or power of the standby engine 104), outside air temperature (e.g., inlet temperature of the active engine 102 and/or of the standby engine 104)..."]), detecting an operation of the power plant in the at-risk flight phase comprising detecting that the ambient temperature has a current value less than the stored ambient temperature limit (see [0069 "The ice formation detection unit 302 may then detect the operating condition(s) based on the received measurement data. For example, the ice formation detection unit 302 can detect that ice formation is possible if the outside air temperature is lower than a predetermined temperature threshold (e.g., five (5) degrees Celsius) below which icing is known to be possible."] and [0081]).
Beauchesne-Martel teaches each and every feature of the claim as discussed above. For the sake of compact prosecution and for the possible argument that "Beauchesne-Martel is silent regarding the ambient temperature in an engine compartment housing the passive engine", Beauchesne-Martel inherently discloses sensing temperature in an engine compartment housing the passive engine in at least [0069 "...outside air temperature (e.g., inlet temperature of the active engine 102 and/or of the standby engine 104)..."].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the temperature sensors of the process of Beauchesne-Martel to further monitor an ambient temperature in an engine compartment housing the passive engine in order to acquire inlet temperatures. Rearranging the temperature sensors of Beauchesne-Martel from an inlet region of the passive engine to an engine compartment housing the passive engine is an obvious matter of design choice and would not have modified the operation of the process. See MPEP 2144.04(VI).
Regarding Claim 8
Beauchesne-Martel teaches the method according to claim 4 (as discussed above in claim 4),
wherein the at least one monitoring parameter comprises an internal temperature in the passive engine measured using an internal temperature sensor and the associated limit is a stored internal temperature limit (see [0069 "In one embodiment, the sensors 202, 204, 208 may be configured to measure one or more operating parameters of the engines 102, 104, and/or 108, including, but not limited to, engine power (e.g. power of the active engine 102 and/or power of the standby engine 104), outside air temperature (e.g., inlet temperature of the active engine 102 and/or of the standby engine 104)..."]), detecting an operation of the power plant in the at-risk flight phase comprising detecting that the internal temperature has a current value less than the stored internal temperature limit (see [0069 "The ice formation detection unit 302 may then detect the operating condition(s) based on the received measurement data. For example, the ice formation detection unit 302 can detect that ice formation is possible if the outside air temperature is lower than a predetermined temperature threshold (e.g., five (5) degrees Celsius) below which icing is known to be possible."] and [0081]).
Beauchesne-Martel teaches each and every feature of the claim as discussed above. For the sake of compact prosecution and for the possible argument that "Beauchesne-Martel is silent regarding detecting that the internal temperature has a current value less than the stored internal temperature limit", Beauchesne-Martel inherently discloses detecting that the internal temperature has a current value less than the stored internal temperature limit because it correlates the outside air temperature with the inlet temperature of the active engine in [0069 "...outside air temperature (e.g., inlet temperature of the active engine 102 and/or of the standby engine 104)..."].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the temperature sensors of the process of Beauchesne-Martel to further monitor an internal temperature for detecting that the internal temperature has a current value less than the stored internal temperature limit. Rearranging the temperature sensors of Beauchesne-Martel to monitor the internal temperature is an obvious matter of design choice and would not have modified the operation of the process. See MPEP 2144.04(VI).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beauchesne-Martel as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Suleiman et al. (US 20210062730 A1 and Suleiman hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 9
Beauchesne-Martel teaches the method according to claim 4 (as discussed above in claim 4),
Beauchesne-Martel is silent regarding wherein the at least one monitoring parameter comprises an oil pressure of an oil of a lubrication circuit of the passive engine, the oil pressure being measured using an oil pressure sensor and the associated limit being a stored oil pressure limit, detecting an operation of the power plant in the at-risk flight phase comprising detecting that the oil pressure has a current value less than the stored oil pressure limit.
Suleiman teaches a method for piloting an aircraft (see Fig. 1, all; [0005]),
having a power plant comprising a combustion engine (see Fig. 1, all; [0005] and [0015 "FIG. 1 is a schematic of an embodiment of a turbine system 8 with a gas turbine fuel system 10 that enables startup of the turbine system with fuel oil (i.e., hydrocarbon molecules with carbon chains of C20 or greater)."]), the method comprises the following step:
reactivation, using the regulation system, of the passive engine (see Fig. 2, all; [0005] and [0024 "The method 70 begins by receiving a signal to start the turbine system, step 72 … If the turbine system was not shutdown with distillate fuel, then the method 70 starts the turbine system on distillate fuel, step 76"-[0025 "The method 70 then starts the turbine system, step 84. When the turbine system starts, the leftover distillate fuel is ignited starting combustion in the combustor 20."]);
wherein the method comprises a measurement of at least one monitoring parameter using a respective sensor of the regulation system (see Fig. 2, step S78; [0023 "For example, the fuel system 10 may include one or more temperature sensors 48 and one or more pressure sensors 50 that respectively measure the temperature of the fuel oil to determine if the temperature of the fuel oil are above respective thresholds and the pressure of the fuel line 14 to ensure the distillate fuel pressure are above respective thresholds that enable restart of the turbine system 8 with fuel oil. "]-[0024 "If the turbine system was previously shutdown on distillate fuel, the method 70 determines if the fuel pressure is greater than a threshold pressure, step 78. For example, the controller 42 may receive feedback from the pressure sensor(s) 50 indicating that the pressure in the fuel line 14 is insufficient (e.g., less than 25 PSIG) to maintain combustion in the turbine system. If the pressure of the fuel oil is less than the threshold the method 70 starts the turbine system on distillate fuel, step 76. If the fuel oil pressure is greater than the threshold, the method 70 determines if the fuel oil has a temperature greater than a threshold temperature, step 80."]),
detecting an operation of the power plant in the at-risk flight phase comprises detecting that the monitoring parameter has a current value less than an associated limit (see Fig. 2, steps 78 and S76; [0023]-[0024 "For example, the controller 42 may receive feedback from the pressure sensor(s) 50 indicating that the pressure in the fuel line 14 is insufficient (e.g., less than 25 PSIG) to maintain combustion in the turbine system. If the pressure of the fuel oil is less than the threshold the method 70 starts the turbine system on distillate fuel, step 76."]).
wherein the at least one monitoring parameter comprises an oil pressure of an oil of a lubrication circuit of the passive engine, the oil pressure being measured using an oil pressure sensor and the associated limit being a stored oil pressure limit (see Fig. 2, step S78; [0023]-[0024 "If the turbine system was previously shutdown on distillate fuel, the method 70 determines if the fuel pressure is greater than a threshold pressure, step 78. For example, the controller 42 may receive feedback from the pressure sensor(s) 50 indicating that the pressure in the fuel line 14 is insufficient (e.g., less than 25 PSIG) to maintain combustion in the turbine system. If the pressure of the fuel oil is less than the threshold the method 70 starts the turbine system on distillate fuel, step 76. If the fuel oil pressure is greater than the threshold, the method 70 determines if the fuel oil has a temperature greater than a threshold temperature, step 80."]), detecting an operation of the power plant in the at-risk flight phase comprising detecting that the oil pressure has a current value less than the stored oil pressure limit (see Fig. 2, steps 78 and S76; [0023]-[0024 "For example, the controller 42 may receive feedback from the pressure sensor(s) 50 indicating that the pressure in the fuel line 14 is insufficient (e.g., less than 25 PSIG) to maintain combustion in the turbine system. If the pressure of the fuel oil is less than the threshold the method 70 starts the turbine system on distillate fuel, step 76."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Beauchesne-Martel to monitor an oil pressure of an oil of a lubrication circuit of the passive engine using an oil pressure sensor and to detect an operation of the power plant in the at-risk flight phase by detecting that the oil pressure has a current value less than a stored oil pressure limit, as taught by Suleiman, in order to facilitate reactivation of the passive engine with distillate fuel.
Regarding Claim 10
Beauchesne-Martel teaches the method according to claim 4 (as discussed above in claim 4),
Beauchesne-Martel is silent regarding wherein the at least one monitoring parameter comprises a fuel pressure of a fuel supplying the passive engine and the associated limit is a stored fuel pressure limit, the fuel pressure being measured using a fuel pressure sensor, detecting an operation of the power plant in the at-risk flight phase comprising detecting that the fuel pressure has a current value less than the stored fuel pressure limit.
Suleiman teaches wherein the at least one monitoring parameter comprises a fuel pressure of a fuel supplying the passive engine and the associated limit is a stored fuel pressure limit, the fuel pressure being measured using a fuel pressure sensor (see Fig. 2, step S78; [0023]-[0024 "If the turbine system was previously shutdown on distillate fuel, the method 70 determines if the fuel pressure is greater than a threshold pressure, step 78. For example, the controller 42 may receive feedback from the pressure sensor(s) 50 indicating that the pressure in the fuel line 14 is insufficient (e.g., less than 25 PSIG) to maintain combustion in the turbine system. If the pressure of the fuel oil is less than the threshold the method 70 starts the turbine system on distillate fuel, step 76. If the fuel oil pressure is greater than the threshold, the method 70 determines if the fuel oil has a temperature greater than a threshold temperature, step 80."]), detecting an operation of the power plant in the at-risk flight phase comprising detecting that the fuel pressure has a current value less than the stored fuel pressure limit (see Fig. 2, steps 78 and S76; [0023]-[0024 "For example, the controller 42 may receive feedback from the pressure sensor(s) 50 indicating that the pressure in the fuel line 14 is insufficient (e.g., less than 25 PSIG) to maintain combustion in the turbine system. If the pressure of the fuel oil is less than the threshold the method 70 starts the turbine system on distillate fuel, step 76."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Beauchesne-Martel to monitor a fuel pressure of fuel supplying the passive engine using an fuel pressure sensor and to detect an operation of the power plant in the at-risk flight phase by detecting that the fuel pressure has a current value less than a stored fuel pressure limit, as taught by Suleiman, in order to facilitate reactivation of the passive engine with distillate fuel.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beauchesne-Martel as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Fukuzawa et al. (US 20140117677 A1 and Fukuzawa hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 11
Beauchesne-Martel teaches the method according to claim 4 (as discussed above in claim 4),
Beauchesne-Martel is silent regarding wherein the method comprises emitting using the alerter of an alert signaling an operation of the aircraft in a transient phase when the at least one monitoring parameter is greater than or equal to the associated limit and less than or equal to an associated threshold, the associated threshold being greater than the associated limit.
Fukuzawa teaches a method for piloting an aircraft (see all Figs.; [0009]),
having a power plant comprising a combustion engine (see Fig. 1, engine 1; [0009], [0019 "Referring to FIG. 1, a generator 2 is connected to an output shaft of an engine 1 as an internal combustion engine."] and [0055]-[0057]), the method comprises the following step:
detecting, using the regulation system, an operation of the power plant in an at-risk flight phase (see Fig. 3, steps S230-S340; [0055]-[0057]); and
wherein the method comprises emitting using the alerter of an alert signaling an operation of the aircraft in a transient phase when the at least one monitoring parameter is greater than or equal to the associated limit and less than or equal to an associated threshold, the associated threshold being greater than the associated limit (see Fig. 3, steps S240-S260; [0056 "In a case where the engine temperature is higher than the first threshold, whether the engine temperature is higher or lower than a second threshold is further determined in S250. The second threshold is set to a temperature higher than that of the first threshold. In a case where the engine temperature is lower than the second threshold, the engine speed is suppressed in S260 and a warning is given to the user by an alarm or any other appropriate means."]-[0057] and [0073]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Beauchesne-Martel to further include a step of emitting using the alerter of an alert signaling an operation of the aircraft in a transient phase when the at least one monitoring parameter is greater than or equal to the associated limit and less than or equal to an associated threshold, the associated threshold being greater than the associated limit, as taught by Fukuzawa, in order to warn an operator of abnormal engine temperatures.
Conclusion
/TANNER L CULLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656 /KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656