DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The Terminal Disclaimer filed 07/15/2026 is approved.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 “a second position. a gear” should read “a second position, a gear”.
Claim 10, “the longitudinal axis. an expansion” should read “the longitudinal axis, an expansion”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 is dependent upon claim 10 and recites “the second force sensor”. The second force sensor is introduced in claim 13. It is unclear if claim 18 should be dependent upon claim 13 or be amended to introduce a second force sensor. For purposes of examination claim 18 is assumed to depend from claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4 - 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charest et al. (US 2020/003003 A1) in view of Bae (US 2019/0150835 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Charest discloses an implantable growing rod assembly (Abstract, Fig. 44) comprising:
a housing (paragraph [0216], ref. 4802);
an expansion rod mechanically coupled to the housing (ref. 4420);
a bevel gear assembly disposed in the housing and adapted to translate the expansion rod (ref. 4802) along a longitudinal axis away from the housing (paragraph [0224]), the bevel gear assembly including:
a pinion gear (paragraph [0226], ref. 4842A) having a first set of teeth (Fig. 45A);
a lock gear spaced from and coaxial to the bevel pinion gear (ref. 4842B), the lock gear including a second set of teeth (Fig. 45A); and
a gear (ref. 4844) disposed perpendicularly to the bevel pinion gear and the lock gear (Fig. 45B), wherein the gear includes a third set of teeth that mesh with the first set of teeth of the pinion gear such that rotation of the bevel pinion gear causes translation of the expansion rod along the longitudinal axis (Fig. 45A), wherein the lock gear is moveable between a first position (Fig. 45B) and a second position (Fig. 45C).
a gear bushing with a first side and a second disposed in the housing for guiding the expansion rod along the longitudinal axis (see remarked Fig. 45A below).
Charest is silent regarding a first force sensor disposed in the housing for measuring a compression force on the expansion rod, wherein the first force sensor is a piezoelectric sensor.
Bae teaches a communication device for an implantable growing rod assembly (Abstract) in which a force sensor (ref. 14, paragraph [0020, 22]) is disposed in the implantable device (ref. 12) for measuring a force and a wireless communication interface coupled to the sensor and adapted to wirelessly transmit the force (paragraph [0018]), wherein the sensor is a piezoelectric sensor (paragraph [0022]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Charest to include the piezoelectric sensor disposed in the rod for measuring a force and a wireless communication to transmit the data from the sensor, as taught by Bae, for the purpose of better alerting the physician (paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 4, Charest in view of Bae discloses the implantable growing rod assembly according to claim 1, further comprising a charge amplifier that amplifies the measured compression force and generates an amplified analog voltage output (Bae, paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 5, Charest in view of Bae discloses the implantable growing rod assembly according to claim 4, further comprising a rechargeable battery coupled to the charge amplifier and adapted to be chargeable through an external charging element (Bae, paragraph [0028] discloses a battery coupled to the other components of the device which is fully capable of being charged through an external charging element, e.g. electromagnetic induction).
Regarding claim 6, Charest in view of Bae discloses the implantable growing rod assembly according to claim 4, further comprising a rechargeable battery coupled to the charge amplifier and adapted to be chargeable through an external charging pad while a patient sleeps (Bae, paragraph [0028] disclose both a battery or capacitor, both which are rechargeable and fully capable of being charged though an external charging pad such as an electromagnetic induction pad).
Regarding claim 7, Charest in view of Bae discloses the implantable growing rod assembly of claim 1, further comprising: a wave spring disposed between the housing and the lock gear and configured to exert an upward force on the lock gear to bias the lock gear towards the first position (Charest, paragraph [0203], ref. 4449).
Regarding claim 8, Charest in view of Bae discloses the implantable growing rod assembly according to claim 1, further comprising: a keyed bushing disposed in the housing and wherein the expansion rod comprises a mating key located in the keyed bushing such that, as the expansion rod extends from the housing, the keyed bushing prevents the expansion rod from rotating (Charest, paragraph [0157]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charest et al. (US 2020/0030003 A1) in view of Bae (US 2019/0150835 A1) and further in view of Kwom et al. (US 2013/0139615 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Charest in view of Bae discloses the implantable growing rod assembly according to claim 1, except for further comprising a second force sensor disposed in the housing for measuring a tension force on the expansion rod.
Kwom teaches a strain gauge sensor, in the related field or measuring devices, for measuring both a tension force (paragraph [0069]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Charest in view of Bae to include the strain-gauge sensor for measuring tension forces, as taught by Kwom, for the purpose of measuring multi-axial force and torque (paragraph [0003]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10 – 17 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Claim 1 is rejected, see above, because Bae teaches a piezoelectric sensor and other limiting limitations were deleted from the claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TESSA M MATTHEWS/Examiner, Art Unit 3773