DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/16/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2, 3, 6, 7, 11, 12, 15 and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abido et al. (US 2017/0187189).
In regard to claim 1: (Original)
An integrated photovoltaic power module (Fig. 1 Item 90), comprising: a photovoltaic cell (Fig. 1 Item 92 i.e. many cells); a rechargeable battery (Fig. 1 Item 97 & Pars. [0006] i.e. battery and SCESS both rechargeable); an alternating current electrical port (Fig. 1 Item 99); and a microinverter comprising (Fig. 1 Items 94, Vpv, and VDC): a first DC link at a first DC voltage (Fig. 1 Item Vpv i.e. wires containing DC voltage), wherein a power output from the photovoltaic cell (Fig. 1 Item 92) is electrically coupled (Fig. 1 Items 92, & 94), one of directly or indirectly, to the first DC link (Fig. 1 Item Vpv); a second DC link at a second DC voltage (Fig. 1 Item VDC i.e. wires containing DC voltage); a bidirectional boost converter (Fig. 1 Item 94) configured to, when operating, convert DC power between the first DC link at the first DC voltage (Fig. 1 Item Vpv) and the second DC link at the second DC voltage (Fig. 1 Item VDC); a DC-to-AC power converter (Fig. 1 Item 95) configured to, when operating, exchange electrical power between the second DC link with the second DC voltage (Fig. 1 Item VDC) and the alternating current electrical port at an AC voltage (Fig. 1 Item 99) ; and a bidirectional battery voltage converter (Fig. 1 Item 96) comprising a battery port (Fig. 1 Item 97 & Pars. [0006] i.e. wires leading to battery and SCESS both rechargeable) and battery converter power port (Fig. 1 Item 96), the battery port electrically connected to the rechargeable battery (Fig. 1 Item 97) and the battery converter power port connected to the first DC link (Fig. 1 Item 96, and Vpv i.e. all electrically connected), the bidirectional battery voltage converter (Fig. 1 Item 96) configured to, when operating, convert between a voltage of the rechargeable battery and the first DC voltage (Fig. 1 Item 96 and Vpv).
2. (Withdrawn) Not examined on the merits.
3. (Withdrawn) Not examined on the merits.
6. (Withdrawn) Not examined on the merits.
7. (Withdrawn) Not examined on the merits.
In regard to claim 10:(Original)
A method of providing electrical power from a photovoltaic module (Fig. 1 Item 90), the method comprising: receiving, at a first DC link (Fig. 1 Item Vpv i.e. wires containing DC voltage), photovoltaic electrical power from a photovoltaic cell (Fig. 1 Item 92 i.e. many cells); exchanging electrical power between a rechargeable battery (Fig. 1 Item 97 & Pars. [0006] i.e. battery and SCESS both rechargeable) and the first DC link (Fig. 1 Item Vpv i.e. wires containing DC voltage) via a bidirectional battery voltage converter (Fig. 1 Item 96); exchanging DC power between the first DC link at a first DC voltage (Fig. 1 Item Vpv) and a second DC link at a second DC voltage (Fig. 1 Item VDC i.e. wires containing DC voltage) via a bidirectional boost converter (Fig. 1 Item 94); and exchanging power between a second DC link at a second DC voltage (Fig. 1 Item VDC i.e. wires containing DC voltage) and an AC output via a DC-to-AC power converter (Fig. 1 Item 95).
11. (Withdrawn) Not examined on the merits.
12. (Withdrawn) Not examined on the merits.
15. (Withdrawn) Not examined on the merits.
16. (Withdrawn) Not examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abido et al. (US 2017/0187189) in view of Cao et al. (US 2025/0047188).
In regard to claim 4: (Original)
Abido discloses the integrated photovoltaic power module of claim 1, including the bidirectional boost converter (Fig. 1 Item 94).
However, Abido does not explicitly disclose wherein the bidirectional boost converter comprises a bidirectional CLLC converter.
Cao teaches the use of isolated bidirectional DC transformers (DCX) of which a CLLC converter is a popular form (Figs. 1 and 3 Items 1 and 30 & Par. [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known use of at least one isolated Bidirectional DC transformer specifically a CLLC converter with the known Fault Ride-through and power smoothing system of Abido as doing so would have yielded the obvious results of interfacing between two different DC buses or loads with an increased conversion efficiency (Figs. 1 and 3 Items 1 and 30 & Par. [0002]).
In regard to claim 5: (Original)
Modified Abido further teaches the integrated photovoltaic power module of claim 4, where the bidirectional CLLC converter isolates ground voltage levels between the first DC link and the second DC link (Figs. 1 and 3 Items 1 and 30 & Par. [0002] i.e. isolation between two DC links).
Claim(s) 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abido et al. (US 2017/0187189) in view of Cao et al. (US 2025/0047188).
In regard to claim 8: (Original)
Abido discloses the integrated photovoltaic power module of claim 1, wherein: the power output from the photovoltaic cell (Fig. 1 Item 92 i.e. many cells) is connected to the first DC link (Fig. 1 Item Vpv i.e. wires containing DC voltage) and the battery converter power port (Fig. 1 Item 96, and Vpv i.e. all electrically connected); and the first DC voltage (Fig. 1 Item Vpv i.e. wires containing DC voltage) corresponds to an output voltage of the photovoltaic cell (Fig. 1 Item 92 i.e. many cells).
However, Abido does not explicitly disclose the specific arrangement where the power output from the photovoltaic cell (Fig. 1 Item 92 i.e. many cells) is connected directly to the first DC link (Fig. 1 Item Vpv i.e. wires containing DC voltage) and the battery converter power port.
Cao teaches the use of isolated bidirectional DC transformers (DCX) of which a CLLC converter is a popular form as well as multiple DC links (Figs. 1 and 3 Items 1 and 30 & Par. [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known use of at least one isolated Bidirectional DC transformer specifically a CLLC converter with the known Fault Ride-through and power smoothing system of Abido as doing so would have yielded the obvious results of interfacing between two different DC buses or loads with an increased conversion efficiency (Figs. 1 and 3 Items 1 and 30 & Par. [0002]).
In regard to claim 9: (Original)
Modified Abido further teaches the integrated photovoltaic power module of claim 8, wherein the bidirectional boost converter (Fig. 1 Item 94) is further configured to, when operating, perform maximum power point tracking (Fig. 1 Item 94 & Par. [0044]) for the output voltage of the photovoltaic cell (Fig. 1 Item 92), and the bidirectional battery voltage converter (Fig. 1 Item 96) is further configured to, when operating, follow the maximum power point tracking for the output voltage of the photovoltaic cell (Fig. 1 Item 94, 96 & Par. [0044]).
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abido et al. (US 2017/0187189) in view of Cao et al. (US 2025/0047188).
In regard to claim 13: (Original)
Abido discloses the method of claim 10, including the bidirectional boost converter (Fig. 1 Item 94).
However, Abido does not explicitly disclose wherein the bidirectional boost converter comprises a bidirectional CLLC converter.
Cao teaches the use of isolated bidirectional DC transformers (DCX) of which a CLLC converter is a popular form (Figs. 1 and 3 Items 1 and 30 & Par. [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known use of at least one isolated Bidirectional DC transformer specifically a CLLC converter with the known Fault Ride-through and power smoothing system of Abido as doing so would have yielded the obvious results of interfacing between two different DC buses or loads with an increased conversion efficiency (Figs. 1 and 3 Items 1 and 30 & Par. [0002]).
In regard to claim 14: (Original)
Modified Abido further teaches the method of claim 13, where the bidirectional CLLC converter isolates ground voltage levels between the first DC link and the second DC link (Figs. 1 and 3 Items 1 and 30 & Par. [0002] i.e. isolation between two DC links).
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abido et al. (US 2017/0187189) in view of Cao et al. (US 2025/0047188).
In regard to claim 17: (Original)
Abido discloses the method of claim 10, wherein: the power output from the photovoltaic cell (Fig. 1 Item 92 i.e. many cells) is connected to the first DC link (Fig. 1 Item Vpv i.e. wires containing DC voltage) and the battery converter power port (Fig. 1 Item 96, and Vpv i.e. all electrically connected); and the first DC voltage (Fig. 1 Item Vpv i.e. wires containing DC voltage) corresponds to an output voltage of the photovoltaic cell (Fig. 1 Item 92 i.e. many cells).
However, Abido does not explicitly disclose the specific arrangement where the power output from the photovoltaic cell (Fig. 1 Item 92 i.e. many cells) is connected directly to the first DC link (Fig. 1 Item Vpv i.e. wires containing DC voltage) and the battery converter power port.
Cao teaches the use of isolated bidirectional DC transformers (DCX) of which a CLLC converter is a popular form as well as multiple DC links (Figs. 1 and 3 Items 1 and 30 & Par. [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known use of at least one isolated Bidirectional DC transformer specifically a CLLC converter with the known Fault Ride-through and power smoothing system of Abido as doing so would have yielded the obvious results of interfacing between two different DC buses or loads with an increased conversion efficiency (Figs. 1 and 3 Items 1 and 30 & Par. [0002]).
In regard to claim 18: (Original)
Modified Abido further teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the bidirectional boost converter (Fig. 1 Item 94) is further configured to, when operating, perform maximum power point tracking (Fig. 1 Item 94 & Par. [0044]) for the output voltage of the photovoltaic cell (Fig. 1 Item 92), and the bidirectional battery voltage converter (Fig. 1 Item 96) is further configured to, when operating, follow the maximum power point tracking for the output voltage of the photovoltaic cell (Fig. 1 Item 94, 96 & Par. [0044]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached form pto-892 as well as:
Elezab et al. (US 2025/0055378) teaching a system and method for DC-DC power converter topologies.
Namuduri et al. (US 2024/0429713) teaching a method and apparatus for integrated bi-directional charging.
Richter et al. (US 2021/0313809) teaching a method for controlling an electrical installation having a plurality of electrical devices including Photovoltaic, battery and grid).
Baba (US 2014/0327315) teaching a power supply apparatus power supply system and method of control.
MW
9/2/2026
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2836