DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the modulation" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gielen et al. (PG Pub. 2002/0188330) in view of Samec et al. (PG Pub. 2017/0365101).
Regarding Claim 1, Gielen discloses a method for safely applying excitatory cortical stimulation in neurological disease patients (see par. 39) comprising:
determining an individualized excitatory-inhibitory balance threshold for each patient (see par. 38 and 60),
measuring the deviation from this threshold during stimulation (see par. 19 and 59),
and automatically adjusting stimulation parameters to avoid exceeding the seizure-critical limit (see par. 25 and 61). The examiner considers the slope, or interconnectivity, is the threshold as it represents the balance between excitatory and inhibitory (see par. 22-24). Gielen does not explicitly disclose an Alzheimer’s patient. Samec discloses a similar system that considers the balance of inhibitory and excitatory cortical dynamics (see par. 506) to determine neurological conditions (see par. 513) associated with Alzheimer’s disease (see par. 542). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to consider Alzheimer’s patients for predicting and avoiding seizures since Samec teaches their state of orientation is often affected (see par. 564).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gielen et al. (PG Pub. 2002/0188330)
Regarding Claim 2, Gielen discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions (see par. 75 and 80) that, when executed, control the modulation of cortical electrical stimulation based on individualized modeling of cortical column orientation, E-I balance, oscillatory phase-locking, and seizure risk thresholds (see par. 38-39).
Conclusion
/N.P/Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/AMANDA L STEINBERG/Examiner, Art Unit 3792