DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 7-8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lindee (US 2014/0090956).
Regarding claim 1, Lindee discloses a system (Fig. 6-7) for boxing products (Fig. 6-7, item 150), comprising:
a boxing machine (Fig. 6, item 60, 110) having an entry section (Para. 0042);
a feeding conveyor (Fig. 6, item 120) configured to feed to the entry section of the boxing machine (Para. 0056-0061) a row of products (Fig. 6, item 150) aligned with each other in a transport direction (Para. 0056-0061);
a buffer (Fig. 6, item 230) for accumulating products (Para. 0064-0066);
a detection device (Fig. 6, item 210) configured to detect (Para. 0077-0079) on the feeding conveyor a presence and a position of empty spaces (Para. 0077-0079) that interrupt a continuity of the row of products (Para. 0077-0079); and
a manipulator (Fig. 1, robotic system 100, 200) (Fig. 6, item 200) configured to pick up products from the buffer (Para. 0056-0061) and to deposit the products picked up from the buffer on the feeding conveyor (Para. 0077-0079) in the empty spaces (Para. 0077-0079, robot 200 from robotic system 100, 200 picks up products and deposits the products in ) based on information about the position of the empty spaces (Para. 0077-0079) provided by the detection device (Para. 0077-0079), in order to restore the continuity of the row of products (Para. 0077-0079),
wherein the manipulator is further configured to pick up products (Para. 0062-0066) from the row of products (Para. 0062-0066) and to deposit the products picked up (Para. 0062-0066) from the row of products in a sampling station (Fig. 6, item 220) (Para. 0062-0066, robot 100 from robotic system 100, 200 picks up products and deposits the products in the sampling station 220), and to fill empty spaces (Para. 0077-0079) formed by the picking of the products (Para. 0077-0079) deposited in the sampling station with products picked up from the buffer (Para. 0077-0079).
Regarding claim 4, Lindee discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the detection device comprises an optical detection device (Fig. 6, item 210) including at least one camera (Fig. 6, item 210) configured to visually inspect the row of products moving on the feeding conveyor (Para. 0077-0079).
Regarding claim 5, Lindee discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the at least one camera is located on board the manipulator (Para. 0049, 0053-0055, camera 210 is located within the working zone of the manipulator such that the camera is on board and tracks the movements near the manipulator).
Regarding claim 7, Lindee discloses a method for boxing products, comprising:
providing a boxing machine (Fig. 6, item 60, 110) having an entry section (Para. 0042);
feeding to the entry section of the boxing machine (Para. 0056-0061) a row of products (Fig. 6, item 150) aligned with each other in a transport direction (Para. 0056-0061) by a feeding conveyor (Fig. 6, item 120) (Para. 0056-0061);
accumulating products in a buffer (Fig. 6, item 230) (Para. 0064-0066);
detecting on the feeding conveyor (Para. 0077-0079) a presence and a position of empty spaces (Para. 0077-0079) that interrupt a continuity of the row of products (Para. 0077-0079) by a detection device (Fig. 6, item 210); and
picking up products from the buffer by a manipulator (Fig. 1, robotic system 100, 200) (Fig. 6, item 200) (Para. 0056-0061) and depositing the products (Para. 0056-0061) picked up from the buffer on the feeding conveyor (Para. 0056-0061) in the empty spaces based on information (Para. 0056-0061) about the position of the empty spaces (Para. 0056-0061) provided by the detection device (Para. 0056-0061), in order to restore the continuity of the row of products (Para. 0056-0061); and
holding one or more products in a waiting position (Para. 0056-0061, waiting position occurs as robot 200 holds and moves products from one conveyor to the other) above the row of products advancing (Para. 0056-0061) along the feeding conveyor by the manipulator (Para. 0056-0061).
Regarding claim 8, Lindee discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising visually inspecting (Para. 0077-0079) the row of products moving on the feeding conveyor (Para. 0077-0079) to determine the presence and position of the empty spaces (Para. 0077-0079) in the row of products (Para. 0077-0079).
Regarding claim 11, Lindee discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising the manipulator: picking up products from the row of products (Para. 0062-0066), depositing the products picked up from the row of products in a sampling station (Fig. 6, item 220) (Para. 0062-0066, robot 100 from robotic system 100, 200 picks up products and deposits the products in the sampling station 220), and filling empty spaces formed by the picking of the products deposited in the sampling station (Para. 0077-0079) with products picked up from the buffer (Para. 0077-0079).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindee in view of Di Donna et al (US 2015/0274436), hereinafter Di Donna.
Regarding claim 3, Lindee discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a replenishment conveyor configured to feed products towards a working area of the manipulator, wherein manipulator is further configured to selectively pick up products from the buffer or from the replenishment conveyor to fill the empty spaces in the row of products.
However, Di Donna teaches a system comprising a replenishment conveyor (Di Donna, Fig. 1, item 11, 14) configured to feed products (Di Donna, Para. 0038-0041) towards a working area (Di Donna, Para. 0038-0041) of the manipulator (Di Donna, Fig. 1, item 12, 12’), wherein manipulator is further configured to selectively pick up products (Di Donna, Para. 0038-0041) from the buffer (Di Donna, Fig. 1, item 11’, 14’) or from the replenishment conveyor (Di Donna, Fig. 1, item 11, 14) to fill the empty spaces in the row of products (Di Donna, Para. 0038-0041).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Lindee and Di Donna to modify the system of Lindee to include the replenishment conveyor and buffer of Di Donna. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to product a continuous and ordered flow of products regardless of the shape or size of the products (Di Donna, Para. 0004).
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindee in view of Donati (WO 2024/142126).
Regarding claim 6, Lindee teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the detection device comprises at least camera (Fig. 6, item 210) configured to detect the presence (Para. 0077-0079) and position of the empty spaces on the feeding conveyor (Para. 0077-0079).
Lindee does not expressly disclose the detection device comprises at least one load cell.
However, Donati teaches a detection device (Donati, Page 7, line 33-Page 8, line 7) comprising at least one load cell (Donati, Page 7, line 33-Page 8, line 7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Lindee and Donati to modify the detection device of Lindee to include the load cell of Donati. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to provide quick and accurate locations of gaps in products. Additionally, utilizing a load cell as taught by Donati in place of the camera of Lindee would be a simple substitution of one known detection device for another to achieve the predictable result of monitoring the products on the conveyor.
Regarding claim 9, Lindee teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising detecting the presence (Para. 0077-0079) and position of the empty spaces in the row of products (Para. 0077-0079) using at least one camera (Fig. 6, item 210) (Para. 0077-0079).
Lindee does not expressly disclose the detection device comprises at least one load cell.
However, Donati teaches a detection device (Donati, Page 7, line 33-Page 8, line 7) comprising at least one load cell (Donati, Page 7, line 33-Page 8, line 7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Lindee and Donati to modify the detection device of Lindee to include the load cell of Donati. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to provide quick and accurate locations of gaps in products. Additionally, utilizing a load cell as taught by Donati in place of the camera of Lindee would be a simple substitution of one known detection device for another to achieve the predictable result of monitoring the products on the conveyor.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Lindee does not disclose the manipulator picking up products from the row of products and depositing the products in a sampling station and filling the empty spaces, Examiner disagrees. As discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above, the entire robotic system of Lindee (including robots 100 and 200) are being interpreted as “a manipulator”. Under this interpretation, robot system 100, 200 performs the claimed operations (see for example para. 0062-0066 and 0077-0079 of Lindee). Examiner recommends further clarifying the claimed manipulator. Therefore the rejection is maintained.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Lindee does not disclose the manipulator holding products in a waiting position, Examiner disagrees. The robotic system 100, 200 of Lindee grasps and holds products as the products are moved to the conveyor from the parking line. The waiting position of Lindee occurs while the products are being moved by the robotic system 100, 200. Examiner recommends further clarifying the claimed waiting position. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731