DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over French et al. (US 20020183961 A1), further in view of Smoot et al. (US 20200088758 A1).
Regard claim 1, French teaches a system comprising: a first floor configured to receive a first input from a first user associated with the first floor; (Para 79-82, 313-316. First floor 406. User 402 input is tracked to play tennis)
a second floor separate from the first modular tile floor and configured to receive a second input from a second user associated with the second floor; (Para 79-82, 313-316. second floor 408. User 404 input is tracked to play tennis)
and a display system configured to generate a visual content based on the first input, the second input, or a combination thereof. (Para 315-316, display system 400 to display virtual tennis game)
However French does not teach a first floor is a first modular tile floor, and a second floor is a second modular tile floor.
However Smoot teaches floor is a first modular tile floor. (Para 101-102, 115, 164. Figs 8 and 9 shows modular )
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify French with Smoot to teach a first floor is a first modular tile floor, and a second floor is a second modular tile floor in order to further enhance user experience of the system by adopting the modular tile floor to prevent the user from leaving the sensor space.
Regarding claim 2, French and Smoot already teach the system of claim 1, and French further teaches wherein the visual content comprises a visual portion of interactive content. (Para 313-316, virtual tennis match)
Regarding claim 3, French and Smoot already teach the system of claim 2, and French further teaches wherein the first input and the second input are separate inputs for adjusting the interactive content. (Para 313-316, User 402 input and user 404 is tracked to play tennis)
Regarding claim 4, French and Smoot already teach the system of claim 1, and French further teaches wherein the display system comprises: a first virtual reality or augmented reality device configured to display the visual content to the first user; and a second virtual reality or augmented reality device configured to display the visual content to the second user. (Para 315-317. Para 20. Displays 418-420)
Regarding claim 5, French and Smoot already teach the system of claim 1, and French further teaches wherein the visual content corresponds to a virtual environment or an augmented reality environment. (Para 313-316, virtual tennis match)
Regarding claim 6, French and Smoot already teach the system of claim 1, and French further teaches wherein the first user is in contact with the first modular tile floor, and the first input is a first locomotion of the first user on the first modular tile floor, and wherein the second user is in contact with the second modular tile floor, and the second input is a second locomotion of the second user on the second modular tile floor. (Para 315-316. User motion is tracked on the floor. Modular tile floor is already taught by Smoot as shown in the rejection for claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, French and Smoot already teach the system of claim 1, and French further teaches further comprising a first sensor configured to detect, from the first user, a first gesture, wherein the first input comprises the first gesture. (Para 315. User motion is tracked for tennis match by sensor 410)
Regarding claim 8, French and Smoot already teach the system of claim 7, and French further teaches further comprising a second sensor configured to detect, from the second user, a second gesture, wherein the second input comprises the second gesture. (Para 315. User motion is tracked for tennis match by sensor 412)
Regarding claim 9, French and Smoot already teach the system of claim 1, and French further teaches wherein the visual content comprises a common image projected for simultaneous viewing by the first user and the second user. (para 316)
Regarding claim 10, French and Smoot already teach the system of claim 1,
And French already teaches a floor and a second floor. (Fig. 20. Para 312-316. First and second floor 406-408)
However French does not teach wherein: the first modular tile floor comprises a first plurality of tiles configured to move independently to induce or respond to a desired motion associated with the first user; and the second modular tile floor comprises a second plurality of tiles configured to move independently to induce or respond to the desired motion associated with the second user.
However Smoot teaches modular tile floor comprises a plurality of tiles configured to move independently to induce or respond to a desired motion associated with the user. (Para 77, 101-102, 115, 164. Figs 8 and 9 shows modular tiled floor with plurality of tiles )
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify French with Smoot to teach wherein: the first modular tile floor comprises a first plurality of tiles configured to move independently to induce or respond to a desired motion associated with the first user; and the second modular tile floor comprises a second plurality of tiles configured to move independently to induce or respond to the desired motion associated with the second user in order to further enhance user experience of the system by adopting the modular tile floor to prevent the user from leaving the sensor space and allow the user to move more freely.
Regarding claim 11, French teaches a system comprising a first floor associated with a first user; (Para 79-82, 313-316. First floor 406. User 402 input is tracked to play tennis
a second floor separate from the floor associated with a second user; (Para 79-82, 313-316. second floor 408. User 404 input is tracked to play tennis)
and a display system configured to: generate a virtual or augmented reality environment for viewing by the first user and the second user; (Para 315-316, display system 400 to display virtual tennis game)
receive a first input from the first user for adjusting the virtual or augmented reality environment; and receive a second input from the second user for adjusting the virtual or augmented reality environment. (Para 315-316, display system 400 to display virtual tennis game based on the first and second user inputs)
However French does not teach a first modular tile floor configured to induce or respond to a desired motion associated with a first user; a second modular tile floor configured to induce or respond to a desired motion associated with a second user.
However Smoot teaches modular tile floor configured to induce or respond to a desired motion associated with a user. (Para 101-102, 115, 164. Figs 8 and 9 shows modular tile floor)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify French with Smoot to teach a first modular tile floor configured to induce or respond to a desired motion associated with a first user; a second modular tile floor configured to induce or respond to a desired motion associated with a second user in order to further enhance user experience of the system by adopting the modular tile floor to prevent the user from leaving the sensor space and allow the user to move more freely.
Regarding claim 12, French and Smoot already teach the system of claim 11, and French further teaches wherein the display system comprises: a first headset or glasses configured to display the virtual or augmented reality environment to the first user; and a second headset or glasses configured to display the virtual or augmented reality environment to the second user.(Para 91)
Regarding claim 13, French and Smoot already teach the system of claim 11, and French further teaches further comprising a first sensor configured to detect, from the first user, the first input, wherein the first sensor comprises a first light detection and ranging (LIDAR) sensor, camera, or wearable motion capture device. (Para 79-83, 86)
Regarding claim 14, French and Smoot already teach the system of claim 13, and French further teaches further comprising a second sensor configured to detect, from the second user, the second input, wherein the second sensor comprises a second LIDAR sensor, camera, or wearable motion capture device. (Para 79-83, 86)
Regarding claim 15, refer to rejection for claim 6.
Regarding claim 16, refer to rejection for claim 10.
Regarding claim 17, French teaches a system comprising: a first floor associated with a first user; (Para 79-82, 313-316. First floor 406. User 402 input is tracked to play tennis)
a second floor separate from the floor by a distance, the second floor associated with a second user; (Para 79-82, 313-316. second floor 408. User 404 input is tracked to play tennis)
a display system configured to generate a visual portion of interactive content to the first user and the second user; (Para 315-316, display system 400 to display virtual tennis game)
a first sensor configured to detect, from the first user, a first input for adjusting the interactive content; (Para 315. User motion is tracked for tennis match by sensor 410)
and a second sensor configured to detect, from the second user, a second input for adjusting the interactive content. (Para 315. User motion is tracked for tennis match by sensor 412)
However French does not teach a first modular tile floor comprising a first plurality of tiles configured to move independently to induce or respond to a desired motion associated with a first user; a second modular tile floor is a second modular tile floor, the second modular tile floor comprising a second plurality of tiles configured to move independently to induce or respond to a desired motion associated with a second user.
However Smoot teaches modular tile floor comprises a plurality of tiles configured to move independently to induce or respond to a desired motion associated with s user. (Para 77, 101-102, 115, 164. Figs 8 and 9 shows modular tiled floor with plurality of tiles)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify French with Smoot to teach a first modular tile floor comprising a first plurality of tiles configured to move independently to induce or respond to a desired motion associated with a first user; a second modular tile floor is a second modular tile floor, the second modular tile floor comprising a second plurality of tiles configured to move independently to induce or respond to a desired motion associated with a second user in order to further enhance user experience of the system by adopting the modular tile floor to prevent the user from leaving the sensor space and allow the user to move more freely.
Regarding claim 18, French and Smoot already teach the system of claim 17, and French further teaches wherein the first sensor is configured to detect a first movement of the first user as the first input. (Para 315. User motion is tracked for tennis match by sensor 410)
Regarding claim 19, French and Smoot already teach the system of claim 17, and French further teaches wherein the first sensor is configured to detect a first gesture of the first user as the first input. (Para 315. User motion is tracked for tennis match by sensor 410)
Regarding claim 20, French and Smoot already teach the system of claim 17, and French further teaches wherein the display system comprises a first wearable device for the first user, and a second wearable device for the second user. (Para 91)
Conclusion
/HANG LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626