DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (Korea Patent Application KR20220122074A, hereinafter “Oh”) in view of Jang (Korea Patent Application KR20110069638A).
Regarding Claim 1, Oh teaches a display apparatus (par 0036 Fig 1 device 100 with display module 50), comprising:
a first antenna unit configured to perform wireless communication with an external device (par 0079 Fig 5 external antenna 430 in an earphone; par 0086 Fig 4 first external antenna 431 or par 0088 Fig 4 second external antenna 432);
a first radio-frequency (RF) circuit configured to transmit and receive signals through the first antenna unit (par 0056,0098 Figs 1,4 second communication module 920 for processing a signal of a second frequency band 421);
a second antenna unit configured to perform wireless communication (par 0056 Fig 1 antenna module 94 to perform wireless communication with an external device e.g. 102) with an external device
a second RF circuit configured to transmit and receive signals through the second antenna unit (par 0056 Fig 1 first communication module 910 for processing a signal of a first frequency band 410);
a first switch configured to selectively connect the first antenna unit to the first RF circuit and to the second RF circuit (par 0098 Fig 5 switch 510 selectively connects the first antenna unit [external antenna 430] to the first RF circuit and to the second RF circuit dependent on the received signal frequency band being the first band or the second, respectively);
a memory storing instructions (par 0036 Fig 1 memory 20); and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions (par 0037 Fig 1 processor 10 executes commands/instructions 30) to:
identify a quality of signals received through the second antenna unit (par 0073 Fig 3 step S310 processor 10 identifies reception sensitivity of signal received in first frequency band through the second antenna unit/antenna module 94), and
based on the first RF circuit being in a standby state and the quality of signals received through the second antenna unit being less than or equal to a predetermined reference value (par 0073 Fig 3 step S320 if the identified reception sensitivity is lower than the first level, and after determining if the external antenna is connected = No)
control the first switch to connect the first antenna unit to the second RF circuit to perform wireless communication with the external device
However, Oh appears not to expressly teach wherein the external device is a set-top box.
Jang teaches similar methods of antenna switching according to quality of signals wherein the external device is one for receiving a media signal from a transmitting device connected to a wireless network (fourth paragraph, Fig 1 transmitting device 100 is a set-top box).
Oh and Jang are analogous art as they each pertain to display apparatuses which using antenna switching according to quality of signals. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus and method of Oh by the applying it to the receiving a media signal from a transmitting device connected to a wireless network of Jang to provide controlling the first switch to connect the first antenna unit to the second RF circuit to perform wireless communication with a set-top box. The motivation would have been in order to provide that, by receiving a signal using the antenna with the highest signal reception sensitivity among antennas installed in different directions, optimal reception sensitivity can be provided for the transmission and reception of media signals using wireless communication, and accordingly, the location of the transmitting and receiving device can be easily changed (Jang third paragraph).
Regarding Claim 2, Oh as modified teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a first matching circuit between the first switch and the second RF circuit (Oh par 0109 Fig 6 first matching circuit 610 between the switch 510 and the second RF circuit 910),
the first matching circuit being configured to control an impedance of the first antenna unit to correspond with a frequency of signals received from the set-top box (Oh par 0109 capable of adjusting the receiving frequency within the frequency band of the first external antenna 431 [receiving signals from the set-top box]).
Regarding Claim 3, Oh as modified teaches the display apparatus of claim 2, further comprising:
a second switch between the first matching circuit and the second RF circuit, the second switch being configured to selectively connect wiring from the first antenna unit to the second RF circuit (Oh par 0098 Fig 5 portion of switch 510 between the first matching circuit 610 and the second RF circuit 920 selectively connects the first antenna unit [external antenna 430] to the second RF circuit 920),
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
based on the first antenna unit being connected to the first RF circuit, control the second switch to disconnect the wiring from the first antenna unit to the second RF circuit (Oh par 0098 Fig 5 the first antenna unit 430 being connected to the first RF circuit 910, portion of switch 510 between the first matching circuit 610 and the second RF circuit 920 is controlled to disconnect the wiring from the first antenna unit to the second RF circuit 920).
Regarding Claim 4, Oh as modified teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
an interface configured to receive a user input for performing wireless communication with the set-top box (Jang third paragraph, a display unit that displays the measured signal reception sensitivity; and a user input unit that selects the antenna with the highest measured reception sensitivity among the antennas [communicating with a set-top box, fourth paragraph]), wherein
the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
based on the quality of signals received through the second antenna unit being less than or equal to the predetermined reference value (Oh par 0073 Fig 3 step S310 processor 10 identifies reception sensitivity of signal received in first frequency band through the second antenna unit/antenna module 94; par 0073 Fig 3 step S320 if the identified reception sensitivity is lower than the first level) and the user input being received through the interface (Jang third paragraph, receiving a user input unit that selects the antenna with the highest measured reception sensitivity among the antennas),
convert the first RF circuit to the standby state, and control the first switch to connect the first antenna unit to the second RF circuit to perform wireless communication with the set-top box (par 0075 Fig 3 step S330 when the reception sensitivity of the antenna module (94) is low, control the first switch to connect the first antenna unit [external antenna 430], and a signal of the first frequency band is received through the external antenna 430 and, par 0076 processor 10 controls/switches the communication path to transmit a received signal of the first frequency band to the second RF circuit/[first communication module 910] and thereby disconnects the path to the first RF circuit [2nd communication module 920] thereby placing it in standby).
Regarding Claim 5, Oh as modified teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a third switch configured to selectively connect the second antenna unit to the first RF circuit
the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
identify a quality of signals received through the first antenna unit (Oh par 0111 Fig 4 reception sensitivity of signals received through the first antenna external unit 431 is determined), and
based on the second RF circuit being in the standby state and the quality of signals received through the first antenna unit being less than or equal to a second reference value (Oh par 0111,0129 Fig 7 when the reception sensitivity of signals received through the first antenna external unit 431 is less than or equal to a second reference value [first level], the second RF circuit 920 may be disconnected [put in standby]),
control the third switch to connect the second antenna unit to the first RF circuit to perform wireless communication with the external device (Oh par 0107,0130 Fig 7 control the third switch 620 to connect the second antenna unit 94 to the first RF circuit 910 to perform wireless communication with the external device).
However, Oh appears not to expressly teach a third switch configured to selectively connect the second antenna unit to the first RF circuit and to the second RF circuit.
As Oh does teach a switch for selectively connecting a particular antenna to either a first or a second RF circuit (par 0098 Fig 7 switch 510 selectively connects the first antenna unit [external antenna 430] to the first RF circuit and to the second RF circuit dependent on the received signal frequency band being the first band or the second, respectively), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus and method of Oh by also applying such antenna-to-RF circuit switching to the second antenna 94 to provide a third switch configured to selectively connect the second antenna unit to the first RF circuit and to the second RF circuit. The motivation would have been in order to provide a better antenna communication environment (Oh par 0005).
Regarding Claim 6, Oh as modified teaches the display apparatus of claim 5, further comprising:
a second matching circuit between the third switch and the first RF circuit (Oh par 0109 Fig 6 the switch 620 directs first frequency signals received through the second antenna 94 to the first RF circuit 910; As Oh par 0077 Fig 6 teaches the first RF circuit 910 being configured to control an impedance of the first antenna unit to correspond with a frequency of signals received from the external device, and Oh par 0109 Fig 6 teaches first matching circuit 610 between the switch 510 and the second RF circuit 910, that the RF circuit 910 would include a second matching circuit for the second antenna unit 94 would have been an obvious feature),
the second matching circuit being configured to control an impedance of the second antenna unit to correspond with a frequency of signals received from the external device (Oh a second matching circuit for the second antenna unit 94 to correspond with a frequency of signals received from the external device).
Claim 7 presents limitations similar to those of Claim 3, and therefore Claim 7 is rejected with a rationale similar to that Claim 3, mutatis mutandis.
Claim 8 presents limitations similar to those of Claim 4, and therefore Claim 8 is rejected with a rationale similar to that Claim 4, mutatis mutandis.
Regarding Claim 9, Oh teaches a control method of a display apparatus (par 0036 Fig 1 device 100 with display module 50; par 0001 control method thereof) including
a first radio-frequency (RF) circuit (par 0056,0098 Figs 1,4 second communication module 920 for processing a signal of a second frequency band 421) configured to perform wireless communication with an external device through a first antenna unit (par 0079 Fig 5 external antenna 430 in an earphone; par 0086 Fig 4 first external antenna 431 or par 0088 Fig 4 second external antenna 432) and
a second RF circuit (par 0056 Fig 1 first communication module 910 for processing a signal of a first frequency band 410) configured to perform wireless communication with an external device
the method comprising:
identifying a quality of signals received through the second antenna unit (par 0073 Fig 3 step S310 processor 10 identifies reception sensitivity of signal received in first frequency band through the second antenna unit/antenna module 94);
identifying whether the first RF circuit is in a standby state or not in the standby state (par 0073 Fig 3 step S320 after determining if the external antenna is connected = No); and
based on the first RF circuit being in the standby state and the quality of signals received through the second antenna unit being less than or equal to a predetermined reference value (par 0073 Fig 3 step S320 if the identified reception sensitivity is lower than the first level, and after determining if the external antenna is connected = No),
connecting the first antenna unit to the second RF circuit to perform wireless communication with the external device
However, Oh appears not to expressly teach wherein the external device is a set-top box.
Jang teaches similar methods of antenna switching according to quality of signals wherein the external device is one for receiving a media signal from a transmitting device connected to a wireless network (fourth paragraph, Fig 1 transmitting device 100 is a set-top box).
Oh and Jang are analogous art as they each pertain to display apparatuses which using antenna switching according to quality of signals. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus and method of Oh by the applying it to the receiving a media signal from a transmitting device connected to a wireless network of Jang to provide controlling the first switch to connect the first antenna unit to the second RF circuit to perform wireless communication with a set-top box. The motivation would have been in order to provide that, by receiving a signal using the antenna with the highest signal reception sensitivity among antennas installed in different directions, optimal reception sensitivity can be provided for the transmission and reception of media signals using wireless communication, and accordingly, the location of the transmitting and receiving device can be easily changed (Jang third paragraph).
Claim 10 presents the limitations of Claim 2 in a different claim category, and therefore Claim 10 is rejected with a rationale similar to Claim 2, mutatis mutandis.
Claim 11 presents limitations similar to those of Claim 4, and therefore Claim 11 is rejected with a rationale similar to that Claim 4, mutatis mutandis.
Regarding Claim 12, Oh as modified teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising:
identifying a quality of signals received through the first antenna unit (Oh par 0111 Fig 4 reception sensitivity of signals received through the first antenna external unit 431 is determined);
identifying whether the second RF circuit is in the standby state or not in the standby state (Oh par 0111,0129 Fig 7 when the reception sensitivity of signals received through the first antenna external unit 431 is less than or equal to a second reference value [first level], the second RF circuit 920 may be disconnected [put in standby]); and
based on the second RF circuit being in the standby state and the quality of signals received through the first antenna unit being less than or equal to a second reference value (Oh par 0111,0129 Fig 7 when the reception sensitivity of signals received through the first antenna external unit 431 is less than or equal to a second reference value [first level], the second RF circuit 920 may be disconnected [put in standby]),
connecting the second antenna unit to the first RF circuit to perform wireless communication with the external device (Oh par 0107,0130 Fig 7 control the third switch 620 to connect the second antenna unit 94 to the first RF circuit 910 to perform wireless communication with the external device).
Regarding Claim 13, Oh as modified teaches the method of claim 12, wherein
the connecting the second antenna unit to the first RF circuit comprises:
controlling an impedance of the second antenna unit to correspond with a frequency of signals received from the external device (Oh par 0109 Fig 6 the switch 620 directs first frequency signals received through the second antenna 94 to the first RF circuit 910; As Oh par 0077 Fig 6 teaches the first RF circuit 910 being configured to control an impedance of the first antenna unit to correspond with a frequency of signals received from the external device, and Oh par 0109 Fig 6 teaches first matching circuit 610 between the switch 510 and the second RF circuit 910, that the RF circuit 910 would include a second matching circuit for the second antenna unit 94 would have been an obvious feature).
Claim 14 presents limitations similar to those of Claim 4, and therefore Claim 14 is rejected with a rationale similar to that Claim 4, mutatis mutandis.
Regarding Claim 15, Oh teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program for executing (paras 0032,0033 Fig 1 program 30 stored on e.g. CD-ROM) a control method of a display apparatus (par 0036 Fig 1 device 100 with display module 50; par 0001 control method thereof) including
a first radio-frequency (RF) circuit (par 0056,0098 Figs 1,4 second communication module 920 for processing a signal of a second frequency band 421) configured to perform wireless communication with an external device through a first antenna unit (par 0079 Fig 5 external antenna 430 in an earphone; par 0086 Fig 4 first external antenna 431 or par 0088 Fig 4 second external antenna 432) and
a second RF circuit (par 0056 Fig 1 first communication module 910 for processing a signal of a first frequency band 410) configured to perform wireless communication with an external device
the method comprising:
identifying a quality of signals received through the second antenna unit (par 0073 Fig 3 step S310 processor 10 identifies reception sensitivity of signal received in first frequency band through the second antenna unit/antenna module 94);
identifying whether the first RF circuit is in a standby state or not in the standby state (par 0073 Fig 3 step S320 after determining if the external antenna is connected = No); and
based on the first RF circuit being in the standby state and the quality of signals received through the second antenna unit being less than or equal to a predetermined reference value (par 0073 Fig 3 step S320 if the identified reception sensitivity is lower than the first level, and after determining if the external antenna is connected = No),
connecting the first antenna unit to the second RF circuit to perform wireless communication with the external device
However, Oh appears not to expressly teach wherein the external device is a set-top box.
Jang teaches similar methods of antenna switching according to quality of signals wherein the external device is one for receiving a media signal from a transmitting device connected to a wireless network (fourth paragraph, Fig 1 transmitting device 100 is a set-top box).
Oh and Jang are analogous art as they each pertain to display apparatuses which using antenna switching according to quality of signals. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus and method of Oh by the applying it to the receiving a media signal from a transmitting device connected to a wireless network of Jang to provide controlling the first switch to connect the first antenna unit to the second RF circuit to perform wireless communication with a set-top box. The motivation would have been in order to provide that, by receiving a signal using the antenna with the highest signal reception sensitivity among antennas installed in different directions, optimal reception sensitivity can be provided for the transmission and reception of media signals using wireless communication, and accordingly, the location of the transmitting and receiving device can be easily changed (Jang third paragraph).
Regarding Claim 16, Oh teaches a display apparatus (par 0036 Fig 1 device 100 with display module 50), comprising:
a first antenna unit configured to perform wireless communication with an external device (par 0056 Fig 1 antenna module 94 to perform wireless communication with an external device e.g. 102);
a first radio-frequency (RF) circuit configured to transmit and receive signals through the first antenna unit (par 0056 Fig 1 first communication module 910 for processing a signal of a first frequency band 410 received through the first antenna unit 94);
a second antenna unit configured to perform wireless communication (par 0079 Fig 5 external antenna 430 in an earphone; par 0086 Fig 4 first external antenna 431 or par 0088 Fig 4 second external antenna 432) with an external device
a second RF circuit configured to transmit and receive signals through the second antenna unit (par 0056,0098 Figs 1,4 second communication module 920 for processing a signal of a second frequency band 421 received through the second antenna unit);
a third switch configured to selectively connect the second antenna unit to the first RF circuit and to the second RF circuit (par 0098 Fig 7 [third of multiple switches shown] switch 510 selectively connects the second antenna unit [external antenna 430 at connection 71] to the first RF circuit module 910 and to the second RF circuit module 920 dependent on the received signal frequency band being the first band or the second, respectively);
a memory storing instructions (par 0036 Fig 1 memory 20); and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions (par 0037 Fig 1 processor 10 executes commands/instructions 30) to:
identify a quality of signals received through the first antenna unit par 0073 Fig 3 step S310 processor 10 identifies reception sensitivity of signal received in first frequency band through the first antenna unit/antenna module 94), and
based on the second RF circuit being in a standby state and the quality of signals received through the first antenna unit being less than or equal to a second reference value (par 0073 Fig 3 step S320 if the identified reception sensitivity is lower than the [second] level, and after determining if the external antenna is connected = No),
control the third switch to connect the second antenna unit to the first RF circuit to perform wireless communication with the external device (par 0075 Fig 3 step S330 when the reception sensitivity of the antenna module (94) is low the external antenna is connected, and a signal of the first frequency band is received through the external antenna and, par 0076 processor 10 controls/switches the communication path to transmit a received signal of the first frequency band to the second RF circuit/[first communication module 910]).
However, Oh appears not to expressly teach wherein the second antenna unit configured to perform wireless communication with a set-top box.
Jang teaches similar methods of antenna switching according to quality of signals wherein the second antenna unit is configured to perform wireless communication with a set-top box (fourth paragraph, Fig 1 transmitting device 100 is a set-top box).
Oh and Jang are analogous art as they each pertain to display apparatuses which using antenna switching according to quality of signals. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus and method of Oh by the applying it to the receiving a media signal from a transmitting device connected to a wireless network of Jang to provide wherein the second antenna unit is configured to perform wireless communication with a set-top box. The motivation would have been in order to provide that, by receiving a signal using the antenna with the highest signal reception sensitivity among antennas installed in different directions, optimal reception sensitivity can be provided for the transmission and reception of media signals using wireless communication, and accordingly, the location of the transmitting and receiving device can be easily changed (Jang third paragraph).
Regarding Claim 17, Oh as modified teaches the display apparatus of claim 16, further comprising:
a second matching circuit between the third switch and the first RF circuit (Oh par 0109 Fig 6 second matching circuit 610 between the third switch 510 and the first RF circuit 910),
the second matching circuit being configured to control an impedance of the second antenna unit to correspond with a frequency of signals received from the external device (Oh par 0109 capable of adjusting the receiving frequency within the frequency band of the first external antenna 431 [receiving signals from the external device]).
Regarding Claim 18, Oh as modified teaches the display apparatus of claim 17, further comprising:
a fourth switch between the second matching circuit and the first RF circuit (Oh par 0098 Fig 5 portion of switch 510 between the second matching circuit 610 and the first RF circuit 910),
the fourth switch being configured to selectively connect wiring from the second antenna unit to the first RF circuit (Oh par 0098 Fig 5 portion of switch 510 between the second matching circuit 610 and the first RF circuit 910 selectively connects wiring from the second antenna unit 431 to the first RF circuit 910), wherein
the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
based on the second antenna unit being connected to the second RF circuit,
control the fourth switch to disconnect the wiring from the second antenna unit to the first RF circuit (Oh par 0098 Fig 5 the second antenna unit 430 being connected to the second RF circuit 920, portion of switch 510 between the first matching circuit 610 and the first RF circuit 910 is controlled to disconnect the wiring from the second antenna unit 430 to the first RF circuit 910).
Claim 19 presents limitations similar to those of Claim 4, and therefore Claim 19 is rejected with a rationale similar to that Claim 4, mutatis mutandis.
Conclusion
/MARK EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624