DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to the Preliminary Amendment filed 07/16/2025.
The status of the Claims is as follows:
Claims 21-26 have been cancelled;
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/30/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the Application on 07/16/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 & 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: “…the first elongate channel and the second elongate channel being on an opposite sides of the fastener channel” the word “an” should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“…wherein magazine assembly is movable relative to the housing…” there should be a “the” prior to the word magazine.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) include:
Pusher assembly
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the following limitations: “…the fastener channel has an axis and extends from the second side at an acute angle relative to the axis of the fastener channel.”
This limitation is indefinite because it is unclear which structure is extending from the second side and which structure has the axis.
Claim 7 recites the following limitations: “…the fastener channel has an axis and extends from the second side at an acute angle relative to the axis of the fastener channel.”
This limitation is indefinite because it is unclear which structure is extending from the second side and which structure has the axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-7, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (US 20100230463).
Regarding Claim 1 Yang discloses a magazine assembly (10) for use with a powered fastener driver including a nosepiece (par 36), the magazine assembly comprising:
a body having a first end configured to be coupled to the nosepiece, a second end opposite the first end, a first side, a second side opposite the first side, a third side, and a fourth side opposite the third side, and a rib extending from the body and positioned adjacent to the second side (annotated Fig. 2),
a fastener channel (R, par 33) extending between the first end and the second end, the fastener channel configured to receive fasteners,(par 27) a first elongate channel (15) positioned in the first side of the body and extending between the first end and the second end, the first elongate channel opens to the fastener channel (fig. 3; par 30), a second elongate channel (15) positioned in the second side of the body and extending between the first end and the second end, the second elongate channel opens to the fastener channel (fig. 3; par 30), the first elongate channel (15) and the second elongate channel (15) being on an opposite sides of the fastener channel (P); (Fig. 3)
a first insert (12) positioned within the first elongate channel (15) and partially extending into the fastener channel (R; Fig. 3), and a second insert (12) positioned within the second elongate channel (15) and partially extending into the fastener channel (R; Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 4 Yang discloses the invention as described above. Yang further discloses the body further includes a first rail and a second rail that extend from the second side of the body, the first rail and the second rail configured to support a pusher body (21; par 33) of a pusher assembly such that the pusher body (21) is slidable along the body of the magazine assembly (10), and wherein the rib extends between the body and the second rail. (annotated Fig. 2)
Regarding Claim 5 Yang discloses the invention as described above. Yang further discloses the fastener channel has an axis and extends from the second side at an acute angle relative to the axis of the fastener channel. (Fig. 2)
Regarding Claim 6 Yang discloses the invention as described above. Yang further discloses the fastener channel (R) includes a head portion (annotated Fig. 3) extending from the third side towards the fourth side and configured to receive heads of the fasteners, a shank portion (annotated Fig. 3) extending from the head portion (annotated Fig. 3) towards the fourth side and configured to receive shanks of fasteners (D1), and a tip portion (annotated Fig. 3) extending from the shank portion (annotated Fig. 3) to the fourth side and in which tips of the fasteners (D1) may be received, and wherein the first elongate channel (15) and the second elongate channel (15) are positioned on opposite sides of the shank portion of the fastener channel (R). (annotated Fig. 3)
Regarding Claim 7 Yang discloses the invention as described above. Yang further discloses the fastener channel has an axis and extends from the second side at an acute angle relative to the axis of the fastener channel. (Fig. 2)
Regarding Claim 16 Yang discloses a magazine assembly for use with a powered fastener driver including a nosepiece, the magazine assembly (10) comprising:
a body having a first end configured to be coupled to the nosepiece, a second end opposite the first end, a first side, a second side opposite the first side, a third side, and a fourth side opposite the third side, a maximum thickness of the second side being greater than a maximum thickness of the first side; (annotated Fig. 2)
a fastener channel (R; par 33) extending between the first end and the second end, the fastener channel configured to receive fasteners (par 27);
a first elongate channel (15) positioned in the first side of the body and extending between the first end and the second end, the first elongate channel (15) opens to the fastener channel (R),
a second elongate channel (15) positioned in the second side of the body and extending between the first end and the second end, the second elongate channel (15) opens to the fastener channel, the first elongate channel (15) and the second elongate channel being on an opposite sides of the fastener channel (R);
a first insert (12) positioned within the first elongate channel (R) and partially extending into the fastener channel (R); and
a second insert (12) positioned within the second elongate channel and partially extending into the fastener channel (R).
Regarding Claim 17 Yang discloses the invention as described above. Yang further discloses the fastener channel (R) includes a head portion extending from the third side towards the fourth side and configured to receive heads of the fasteners, a shank portion extending from the head portion towards the fourth side and configured to receive shanks of fasteners, and a tip portion extending from the shank portion to the fourth side and in which tips of the fasteners may be received, and wherein the first elongate channel (15) and the second elongate channel (15) are positioned on opposite sides of the shank portion of the fastener channel (R).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 8-15, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 20100230463) in view of Miller (US 20020117532; Miller)
Regarding Claim 2 Yang teaches the invention as described above. Yang teaches a magazine body.
However Yang does not expressly disclose the body is formed from magnesium, aluminum, steel, or plastic.
Miller teaches a magazine body. Miller further teaches the body is formed from aluminum providing a lightweight magazine for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (par 118)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the magazine of Yang to include the magazine body formed from aluminum as taught by Miller since par 118 of Miller suggests that such a modification provides a lightweight magazine for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 3 the modified invention of Yang in view of Miller teaches the invention as described above. Yang further discloses the first insert and the second insert are formed from steel. (par 32)
Regarding Claim 8 Yang discloses a powered fastener driver (abstract) comprising:
a magazine assembly (10) including a body having a first end coupled to the nosepiece (par 36), a second end opposite the first end, a first side, a second side opposite the first side, a third side, and a fourth side opposite the third side, (annotated Fig. 2)
a fastener channel (R; par 33) extending between the first end and the second end, the fastener channel configured to receive fasteners (par 27) and in communication with the firing channel (par 36),
a first elongate channel (15) positioned in the first side of the body and extending between the first end and the second end, the first elongate channel (15) opens to the fastener channel (R), (Fig. 3; par 30)
a second elongate channel (15) positioned in the second side of the body and extending between the first end and the second end, the second elongate channel opens to the fastener channel (15), the first elongate channel (15) and the second elongate channel (15) being on an opposite sides of the fastener channel (R),
a first insert (12) positioned within the first elongate channel (15) and partially extending into the fastener channel (R; Fig. 3), and
a second insert (12) positioned within the second elongate channel (15) and partially extending into the fastener channel; (P; Fig. 3)
However Yang does not expressly disclose a housing a nosepiece extending from the housing and including a firing channel from which consecutive fasteners are driven; the first side including an aperture extending therethrough, the aperture including a first portion and a second portion, a maximum width of the second portion being greater than a maximum width of the first portion, a bolt threadably coupled to a threaded aperture in the housing, wherein the magazine assembly is removable from the nosepiece, wherein magazine assembly is movable relative to the housing, the nosepiece, and the bolt between a first position and a second position, wherein when the magazine assembly is in the first position, the bolt extends through the first portion of the aperture and when the magazine assembly is in the second position, the bolt extends through the second portion of the aperture, and wherein when the magazine assembly is in the first position, the magazine assembly is securable to the housing by the bolt to the housing, and when the magazine assembly is in the second position, the magazine assembly is removable from the housing.
Miller teaches
a housing (42);
a nosepiece (40) extending from the housing (42) and including a firing channel from which consecutive fasteners are driven; (par 66)
the magazine assembly (1000) the first side including an aperture (1230) extending therethrough, the aperture including a first portion (1232) and a second portion (1234), a maximum width of the second portion (1234) being greater than a maximum width of the first portion (1232),
a bolt (300) threadably coupled to a threaded aperture in the housing,
wherein the magazine assembly (1000) is removable from the nosepiece,
wherein magazine assembly (1000) is movable relative to the housing, the nosepiece, and the bolt between a first position and a second position,
wherein when the magazine assembly is in the first position, the bolt extends through the first portion (1232) of the aperture and when the magazine assembly is in the second position, the bolt extends through the second portion (1234) of the aperture, and
wherein when the magazine assembly is in the first position, the magazine assembly is securable to the housing by the bolt to the housing, and when the magazine assembly is in the second position, the magazine assembly is removable from the housing providing a removable attachment structure for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (par 74-77; 124-125)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the magazine of Yang to include an aperture that includes a first and second portion and a bolt that extends through the first and second portion of the aperture as taught by Miller since par 74-77, 124-125 of Miller suggests that such a modification provides a removable attachment structure for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 9 Yang teaches the invention as described above. Yang teaches a magazine body.
However Yang does not expressly disclose the body is formed from magnesium, aluminum, steel, or plastic.
Miller teaches a magazine body. Miller further teaches the body is formed from aluminum providing a lightweight magazine for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (par 118)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the magazine of Yang to include the magazine body formed from aluminum as taught by Miller since par 118 of Miller suggests that such a modification provides a lightweight magazine for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 10 the modified invention of Yang in view of Miller teaches the invention as described above. Yang further discloses the first insert and the second insert are formed from steel. (par 32)
Regarding Claim 11 the modified invention of Yang in view of Miller teaches the invention as described above. Yang further discloses a rib extending from the body and positioned adjacent to the second side. (annotated Fig. 2)
Regarding Claim 12 the modified invention of Yang in view of Miller teaches the invention as described above. Yang further discloses the body further includes a first rail and a second rail that extend from the second side of the body, the first rail and the second rail configured to support a pusher body (21) of a pusher assembly (par 33) such that the pusher body (21) is slidable along the body of the magazine assembly (10), and wherein the rib extends between the body and the second rail. (annotated Fig. 2)
Regarding Claim 13 the modified invention of Yang in view of Miller the body further includes a maximum thickness of the second side is greater than a maximum thickness of the first side.(annotated Fig. 2)
Regarding Claim 14 the modified invention of Yang in view of Miller the body further includes the fastener channel ( R) includes a head portion (annotated Fig. 3) extending from the third side towards the fourth side and configured to receive heads of the fasteners (D1), a shank portion (annotated fig. 3) extending from the head portion (annotated Fig. 3) towards the fourth side and configured to receive shanks of fasteners (D1), and a tip portion (annotated Fig. 3) extending from the shank portion to the fourth side and in which tips of the fasteners (D1) may be received, and wherein the first elongate channel (15) and the second elongate channel (15) are positioned on opposite sides of the shank portion (annotated Fig. 3) of the fastener channel ( R).
Regarding Claim 15 the modified invention of Yang in view of Miller the body further includes a maximum thickness of the second side is greater than a maximum thickness of the first side. (annotated Fig. 2)
Regarding Claim 18 Yang teaches the invention as described above. Yang teaches a magazine body.
However Yang does not expressly disclose the body is formed from magnesium, aluminum, steel, or plastic.
Miller teaches a magazine body. Miller further teaches the body is formed from aluminum providing a lightweight magazine for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (par 118)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the magazine of Yang to include the magazine body formed from aluminum as taught by Miller since par 118 of Miller suggests that such a modification provides a lightweight magazine for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 19 the modified invention of Yang in view of Miller teaches the invention as described above. Yang further discloses the first insert and the second insert are formed from steel. (par 32)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding Claim 20 the Prior Art does not teach the maximum thickness of the second side is 44% to 60% greater than the maximum thickness of the first side in addition to the limitations included in Claim 16.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee (US 20230398669) Inserts (64, 65) made of steel (par 49)
Hamano (US 6592016) aperture first portion second portion (16, 16a)
/CHINYERE J RUSHING-TUCKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3731