DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/16/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 07/16/2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 18-20 of co-pending Application No. 19/327,814 (reference application).
Instant application 19/271,490
Claim 1
Co-pending Application 19/327,814
Claim 1
A method for video processing, comprising:
A method for video processing, comprising:
determining, for a conversion between a current video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video, information regarding applying a sample blending scheme to a boundary of the current video unit
obtaining, for a conversion between a current video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video, first information regarding whether to enable a coding scheme for the current video unit, the first information being determined based on at least one of the following:
based on a type or a characteristic of the boundary; and
a video content type of the current video unit, a type of a boundary of the current video unit, gradient information associated with the current video unit, or coding mode information of a neighboring video unit of the current video unit; and
performing the conversion based on the information.
performing the conversion based on the first information.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the instant application includes a sample blending scheme as opposed to a generic coding scheme, a sample blending scheme is considered a coding scheme to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Clams 18-20 of the instant application are rejected over claims 18-20 of the co-pending application for the reasons listed above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the fusion based scheme". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 8 recites the limitation "the samples". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “around” in claim 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “around” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-11, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin et al. US 2020/0021845 A1, hereafter Lin.
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a method for video processing (method and apparatus of constrained overlapping block motion compensation in video coding) [title], comprising:
determining, for a conversion between a current video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video (encoding or decoding the current block) [claim 1], information regarding applying a sample blending scheme (it uses the MV of the above block to generate an OBMC block A and uses the MV of the left block to generate an OBMC block L. the predictors of OBMC block A and OBMC block L are blended with the current predictors) [0014] to a boundary of the current video unit (whether OBMC is applied to a current block is decided according to information of the current block or information of neighboring blocks) [0040] based on a type or a characteristic of the boundary (the information can be any characteristics of the neighboring block, such as…Inter direction…or MV difference (i.e. the difference between a neighboring MV and the current MV) of the current blocks, or any combination of the above) [0040]; and
performing the conversion based on the information (encoding or decoding the current block using an overlapped-boundary predictor comprising the combined predictor) [claim 1].
Regarding claim 2, Lin addresses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Lin further discloses the information comprises at least one of the following: whether to apply the sample blending scheme to the boundary (whether OBMC is applied to a current block is decided according to information of the current block or information of neighboring blocks) [0040], or how to apply the sample blending scheme to the boundary.
Regarding claim 3, Lin addresses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Lin further discloses the boundary comprises at least one of the following:
a left boundary of the current video unit, an above boundary of the current video unit, or a partitioning boundary within the current video unit for partitioning the current video unit (it uses the MV of the above block to generate an OBMC block A and uses the MV of the left block to generate an OBMC block L. the predictors of OBMC block A and OBMC block L are blended with the current predictors) [0014], or
wherein the sample blending scheme comprises at least one of the following: an overlap subblock based motion compensation (OBMC), a spatial geometric partitioning mode (SGPM), a geometric partitioning mode (GPM), a combined inter and intra prediction (CIIP), a multi-hypothesis prediction (MHP), or
wherein the sample blending scheme comprises a fusion based scheme.
Regarding claim 5, Lin addresses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Lin further discloses the type or the characteristic of the boundary (the information can be any characteristics of the neighboring block, such as…Inter direction…or MV difference (i.e. the difference between a neighboring MV and the current MV) of the current blocks, or any combination of the above) [0040] is determined based on samples associated with the boundary (it uses the MV of the above block to generate an OBMC block A and uses the MV of the left block to generate an OBMC block L. the predictors of OBMC block A and OBMC block L are blended with the current predictors) [0014].
Regarding claim 6, Lin addresses all of the features with respect to claim 5 as outlined above.
Lin further discloses the samples are around or adjacent to the boundary (it uses the MV of the above block to generate an OBMC block A and uses the MV of the left block to generate an OBMC block L. the predictors of OBMC block A and OBMC block L are blended with the current predictors) [0014].
Regarding claim 7, Lin addresses all of the features with respect to claim 5 as outlined above.
Lin further discloses the samples comprise prediction samples before blending or reference samples of a reference video unit for the current video unit (it uses the MV of the above block to generate an OBMC block A and uses the MV of the left block to generate an OBMC block L. the predictors of OBMC block A and OBMC block L are blended with the current predictors) [0014].
Regarding claim 9, Lin addresses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Lin further discloses the type or the characteristic of the boundary is determined based on difference between at least one pair of samples, a sample in each pair of samples is on one side of the boundary and a further sample in each pair of samples is on a further side of the boundary (the information can be any characteristics of the neighboring block, such as…Inter direction…or MV difference (i.e. the difference between a neighboring MV and the current MV) of the current blocks, or any combination of the above) [0040].
Regarding claim 10, Lin addresses all of the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
Lin further discloses the at least one pair of samples comprises more than one pair of samples, and differences between each of the more than one pair of samples are accumulated (the information can be any characteristics of the neighboring block, such as…Inter direction…or MV difference (i.e. the difference between a neighboring MV and the current MV) of the current blocks, or any combination of the above) [0040].
Regarding claim 11, Lin addresses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Lin further discloses if the type of the boundary is a first type, the sample blending scheme is not applied to the boundary (whether OBMC is applied to a current block is decided according to information of the current block or information of neighboring blocks) [0040].
Regarding claim 15, Lin addresses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Lin further discloses whether to apply a coding tool to the current video unit is determined based on one of the following: types of a plurality of boundaries associated with the current video unit, or information regarding whether a sample blending scheme is applied to the current video unit (whether OBMC is applied to a current block is decided according to information of the current block or information of neighboring blocks) [0040].
Regarding claim 16, Lin addresses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Lin further discloses the conversion includes encoding the current video unit into the bitstream (encoding or decoding the current block) [claim 1].
Regarding claim 17, Lin addresses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Lin further discloses the conversion includes decoding the current video unit from the bitstream (encoding or decoding the current block) [claim 1].
Regarding claim 18, the claim is drawn to an apparatus adapted to implement the method of claim 1, and is therefore rejected in the same manner as above. However, the claims also recite a processor and a non-transitory memory, which Liu also teaches (processor…computer-readable non-transitory storage medium) [0006].
Regarding claim 19, non-transitory computer readable storage medium claim 19 is drawn to the instructions corresponding to the method of claim 1. However, the claims also recite a processor and a non-transitory memory, which Liu also teaches (processor…computer-readable non-transitory storage medium) [0006].
Regarding claim 20, non-transitory computer readable recording medium claim 19 is drawn to the instructions corresponding to the method of claim 1. However, the claims also recite a processor and a non-transitory memory, which Liu also teaches (processor…computer-readable non-transitory storage medium) [0006].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 8, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Kim et al. US 2025/0039400 A1, hereafter Kim.
Regarding claim 4, Lin addresses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
However, Lin fails to explicitly disclose the fusion based scheme comprises at least one of the following: a decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD) blending, a template-based intra mode derivation (TIMD) blending, an intra luma fusion, an intra chroma fusion, or an intraTMP fusion.
Kim, in an analogous environment, discloses the fusion based scheme comprises at least one of the following: a decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD) blending (decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD) [0132], a template-based intra mode derivation (TIMD) blending ((TIMD)) [0131], an intra luma fusion, an intra chroma fusion, or an intraTMP fusion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use various fusion based schemes, as disclosed by Kim, with the invention disclosed by Lin, the motivation being increase efficiency [0003].
Regarding claim 8, Lin and Kim address all of the features with respect to claim 4 as outlined above.
Lin further discloses the type or the characteristic of the boundary is determined based on at least one of the following: gradients of the samples, directions of the samples (inter direction) [0040], angles of the samples (MV difference) [0040], colors of the samples (channel type (i.e., luma or chroma) of current block) [0043], luminance of the samples (channel type (i.e., luma or chroma) of current block) [0043], or intensities of the samples.
Regarding claim 12, Lin addresses all of the features with respect to claim 11 as outlined above.
However, Lin fails to explicitly disclose the first type is screen content, and the sample blending scheme comprises an OBMC.
Kim, in an analogous environment, discloses the first type is screen content, and the sample blending scheme comprises an OBMC (when an encoding mode of the current block is one of an intra mode, an IBC mode, a TMP mode, an LIC mode, and a BCW mode, OBMC may not be applied to the current block {instant specification designated these modes as screen content coding tools}) [0183].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the screen content tools, as disclosed by Kim, with the invention disclosed by Lin, the motivation being increase efficiency [0003].
Regarding claim 13, Lin addresses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
However, Lin fails to explicitly disclose information regarding applying a sample blending scheme to the current video unit is determined based on at least one of the following: reference samples in a reference frame for the current video unit, or a reference video unit in the reference frame.
Kim, in an analogous environment, discloses information regarding applying a sample blending scheme to the current video unit is determined based on at least one of the following: reference samples in a reference frame for the current video unit, or a reference video unit in the reference frame (reference sample; the intra prediction unit 252 predicts the sample values of the current block by using the reconstructed samples located on the left and/or upper side of the current block as reference samples…reconstructed samples, reference samples, and samples of the current block may represent pixels…samples values may represent pixel values) [FIG. 5; 0067].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the reference samples, as disclosed by Kim, with the invention disclosed by Lin, the motivation being increase efficiency [0003].
Regarding claim 14, Lin and Kim address all of the features with respect to claim 13 as outlined above.
Lin further discloses the information comprises at least one of the following: whether to apply the sample blending scheme to the current video unit, how to apply the sample blending scheme to the current video unit, whether to apply the sample blending scheme to a boundary of the current video unit, or how to apply the sample blending scheme to the boundary (whether OBMC is applied to a current block is decided according to information of the current block or information of neighboring blocks) [0040].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Chen et al. US 2023/0034458 A1 discloses geometric partition mode with intra block copy for coding unit boundaries. Xiu et al. US 2022/0272375 A1 discloses overlapped block motion compensation for inter prediction including OBMC.
STEFAN GADOMSKI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2485
/STEFAN GADOMSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485