Detailed Action
Applicant amended claim(s) 1, 5, 11, and 16 and presented claims 1-20 for reconsideration on 09/01/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
It is not clear how “the second user uses an unregistered user terminal to start execution of the workflow plan” as recited the claims while , according to Spec. ¶ 25, “the service providing system may also include one or more unregistered user terminals 4, which are terminals used by unregistered users of the workflow system WS…the unregistered users cannot use the workflow system WS…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over FALLON et al, WO 2013/100952 A1 (hereinafter FALLON), in view of Shih et al., Patent No.: US 8,812,752 B1 (hereinafter Shih).
Claim 1. FALLON discloses:
An information processing system, comprising:
a first storage unit that stores user information for each notification destination user; (p. 3, ll. 1-11, p. 7, ll. 8-25, a stored user preference includes a default distribution)
a creation unit that permits a first user to create a workflow plan including a notification destination user in the plurality of notification users set as a notification destination to be used for notifications required in the workflow plan; (p. 3, l. 31-p. 4, l. 33, p. 5, ll. 25-29, a first user, e.g., an admin sets up user preference for a second user to be used when a workflow plan associated with the second user is executed)
a second storage unit that stores the workflow plan created by the creation unit; and (p. 3, ll. 1-11, wherein any separate devices, e.g., a second storage unit in communication with other system components via public/private network is used as needed)
an execution unit that, when execution of the workflow plan stored in the second storage unit is started by a second user, acquires user information of the notification destination user set in the workflow plan as the notification destination from the first storage unit and sends a notification to the notification destination user in accordance with the acquired user information and the workflow plan, wherein the second user is different from the first user. (p. 3, l. 31-p. 4, l. 33, p. 5, ll. 25-29, p. 7, ll. 8-25, p. 8, l. 31-p. 9, l. 7, a first user, e.g., an admin sets up user preference for a second user to be used when a workflow plan associated with the second user is executed)
FALLON did not specifically disclose but Shih discloses the workflow plan being executable without requiring a user to provide user information to execute the workflow plan. (Shih, 3:7-4:5, 6: 43-67, 11:34-12:25, wherein a defined workflow is scheduled to be executed when one or more defined criteria is satisfied without requiring a user to provide a user information for executing the workflow)
FALLON discloses the feature implicitly by providing for executing a workflow programmatically as in p.4, l. 30-p.5, l. 20. It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the applied references for disclosing the workflow plan being executable without requiring a user to provide user information to execute the workflow plan because doing so would further provide for scheduling a workflow to be executed when one or more defined criteria are satisfied for achieving the same predictable result of processing a workflow in FALLON for distributing a document to a distribution list.
Claim 2. The information processing system according to claim 1, further comprising:
a third storage unit that stores correspondence information indicating a correspondence between the workflow plan and the notification destination user, wherein the creation unit creates the correspondence information when creating the workflow plan and stores the correspondence information in the third storage unit, and the execution unit determines the notification destination user corresponding to the workflow plan based on the correspondence information stored in the third storage unit, and acquires the user information of the determined notification destination user from the first storage unit. (FALLON, p. 3, ll. 1-11, wherein any separate devices, e.g., a third storage unit in communication with other system components via public/private network is used as needed; p. 3, l. 31-p. 4, l. 33, p.8, l. 9-p.9, l. 17, a document processing unit generates a job, e.g., a workflow plan based on the received information associated with the document to be processed; the stored user preference and the user history database is used as correspondence information for identifying distribution list; Shih, 28:5-30:3, wherein a defined workflow comprises defined components for extracting data from any sources as defined, manipulating data as defined, storing manipulated data in any storge as defined and providing the manipulated data to any storage as defined)
Claim 3. The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the notification destination user is a user group including a plurality of different users. (FALLON, p. 4, ll. 14-32, p. 7, ll. 8-25, a distribution list comprises one or more email addresses)
Claim 4. The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the notification destination user is a single user. (FALLON, p. 4, ll. 14-33, p. 7, ll. 8-25, a distribution list comprises one or more email addresses)
Claim 10. The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the workflow plan includes:
identifying whether a new file has been added to a first cloud storage folder, performing optical character recognition (OCR) on the new file, sending a result of the OCR on the new file to the notification destination user for confirmation of the result, and storing the new file and the confirmed result of the OCR to a second cloud storage folder. (FALLON, p. 4, l. 14-p. 5, l. 4, p.8, l. 22-p. 9. 7, a newly received document is identified and processed using OCR, the processed document is distributed to a designated person. Note that operations such as storing new file and confirmed result are considered as desired operations that can be included in a user preference file to be implemented automatically “if it requires little or no human intervention”; Shih, 28:5-30:3, wherein a defined workflow comprises defined components for extracting data from any sources as defined, manipulating data as defined, storing manipulated data in any storge as defined and providing the manipulated data to any storage as defined)
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over FALLON and Shih as applied to claim 1 above in view of TEENI et al., WO 2014/111934 A1 (herein after TEENI).
Claim 5. FALLON as modified taught the information processing system according to claim 1; FALLON as modified did not specifically disclose but TEENI discloses:
a plurality of registered user terminals; and a server device connected to the registered user terminals via a network, wherein the second user uses an unregistered user terminal to start execution of the workflow plan. (TEENI, p. 14, wherein registered/unregistered devices are provided different level of services based on an organization policy)
FALLON, p. 3, ll. 3-11, discloses that “each system described herein may be implemented by any number of devices in communication via any number of other public and/or private networks. Two or more of devices may be located remote from one another and may communicate with one another via any known manner of network(s) and/or a dedicated connection. Further, each device may comprise any number of hardware and/or software elements suitable to provide the functions described herein 10 as well as any other functions. Other topologies may be used in conjunction with other embodiments”. FALLON, p. 8, ll. 7-21, further discloses an “access control 730 component may be responsible for user account management including user authentication, granting access rights and/or user privilege control”. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the applied references for disclosing a plurality of registered user terminals; and a server device connected to the registered user terminals via a network, wherein the second user uses an unregistered user terminal to start execution of the workflow plan because doing so would further provide for enforcing an organization policy for providing a service based on the device identifications for achieving the same predictable result of distributing a document to a distribution list programmatically.
Claim 6. The information processing system according to claim 5, wherein the creation unit is one of the plurality of registered user terminal executing a workflow creation program. (FALLON, p. 3, l. 31-p. 4, l. 33, wherein a document processing unit generates and executes a job, e.g., a workflow plan based on the received information associated with the document; the user preference is used for executing the job; TEENI, p. 14, wherein registered/unregistered devices are provided different level of services based on an organization policy)
Claim 7. The information processing system according to claim 5, wherein the creation unit is one of the plurality of registered user terminal operating in conjunction with a workflow creation program executing on the server device. (TEENI, p. 14, wherein registered/unregistered devices are provided different level of services based on an organization policy)
Claim 8. The information processing system according to claim 5, wherein the first storage unit is a database stored on the server device. (FALLON, p. 8, l. 31-p. 9, l. 7, the user preference is stored in a remote database, e.g., a server)
Claim 9. The information processing system according to claim 8, wherein the second storage unit is stored on the server device. (FALLON, p. 3, ll. 1-11, wherein any remote devices, e.g., a second storage unit on server in communication with other system components via public/private network is used as needed)
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over FALLON in view of Shih and further in view of TEENI.
Claim 11. FALLON discloses:
A workflow system, comprising: a server device connectable to a plurality of user terminals via a network, wherein the server device includes:
a first storage unit that stores user information for a plurality of notification destination users; (FALLON, p. 3, ll. 1-11, p. 7, ll. 8-25, p. 8, l. 31-p. 9, l. 7, a stored user preference includes a default distribution list, the user preference is stored in a remote database, e.g., a server)
a creation unit that permits a first user of a user terminal in the plurality of user terminals to create a workflow plan, the workflow plan including a notification destination user in the plurality of notification destination users set as a notification destination to be used for notifications required in the workflow plan; (p. 3, l. 31-p. 4, l. 33, p. 5, ll. 25-29, a first user, e.g., an admin sets up user preference for a second user to be used when a workflow plan associated with the second user is executed)
a second storage unit that stores the workflow plan created by the creation unit; and (p. 3, ll. 1-11, any separate devices/storage units in communication via public/private network can be used as needed)
an execution unit that, when execution of the workflow plan stored in the second storage unit is started by a second user of a user terminal in the plurality of user terminals, acquires user information of the notification destination user set in the workflow plan as the notification destination from the first storage unit and sends a workflow notification to the notification destination user in accordance with the acquired user information and the workflow plan. (p. 3, l. 31-p. 4, l. 33, p. 5, ll. 25-29, a first user, e.g., an admin sets up user preference for a second user to be used when a workflow plan associated with the second user is executed; p. 7, ll. 8-25, p. 8, l. 31-7, a default distribution list is retrieved for executing the generated job, e.g., the workflow plan)
FALLON did not specifically disclose but Shih discloses the workflow plan being executable without requiring a user to provide user information to execute the workflow plan and wherein the second user starts execution of the workflow plan without providing any user information to the workflow system. (Shih, 3:7-4:5, 6: 43-67, 11:34-12:25, wherein a defined workflow is scheduled to be executed when one or more defined criteria is satisfied without requiring a user to provide a user information for executing the workflow)
FALLON discloses the feature implicitly by providing for executing a workflow programmatically as in p.4, l. 30-p.5, l. 20. It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the applied references for disclosing the workflow plan being executable without requiring a user to provide user information to execute the workflow plan and wherein the second user starts execution of the workflow plan without providing any user information to the workflow system because doing so would further provide for scheduling a workflow to be executed when one or more defined criteria are satisfied for achieving the same predictable result of processing a workflow in FALLON for distributing a document to a distribution list.
FALLON as modified did not specifically disclose but TEENI discloses:
a plurality of registered user terminals and an unregistered user terminal. (TEENI, p. 14, wherein registered/unregistered devices are provided different level of services based on an organization policy)
FALLON, p. 3, ll. 3-11, discloses that “each system described herein may be implemented by any number of devices in communication via any number of other public and/or private networks. Two or more of devices may be located remote from one another and may communicate with one another via any known manner of network(s) and/or a dedicated connection. Further, each device may comprise any number of hardware and/or software elements suitable to provide the functions described herein 10 as well as any other functions. Other topologies may be used in conjunction with other embodiments”. FALLON, p. 8, ll. 7-21, further discloses an “access control 730 component may be responsible for user account management including user authentication, granting access rights and/or user privilege control”. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the applied references for disclosing a plurality of registered user terminals and an unregistered user terminal because doing so would further provide for enforcing an organization policy for providing a service based on the device identifications for achieving the same predictable result of distributing a document to a distribution list programmatically.
Claim 16. A non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing program instructions which, when executed by a processor of an information processing system, causes the system to perform a method comprising:
creating a workflow plan with a user terminal in a plurality of user terminals, the workflow plan including a notification destination user in a plurality of notification destination users stored in a first storage unit, the notification destination user being set as a notification destination to be used for notifications required in the workflow plan, the first storage unit storing user information for the plurality of notification destination users; (p. 3, ll. 1-11, p. 3, l. 31-p. 4, l. 33, p. 7, ll. 8-25, p. 8, l. 31-p. 9, l. 7, a stored user preference includes a default distribution list, the user preference is stored in a database; a document processing unit generates a job, e.g., a workflow plan based on the received information associated with the document to be processed; the user preference is used for executing the job)
storing the workflow plan in a second storage unit; (p. 3, ll. 1-11, any separate devices/storage units in communication via public/private network can be used as needed)
executing the workflow plan stored in the second storage unit, the execution of the workflow plan being started by a user terminal in the plurality of user terminals; and acquiring user information of the notification destination user set in the workflow plan as the notification destination from the first storage unit and sending a notification to the notification destination user in accordance with the acquired user information and the workflow plan, wherein (p. 3, l. 31-p. 4, l. 33, p. 5, ll. 25-29, p. 7, ll. 8-25, p. 8, l. 31-7, a first user, e.g., an admin sets up user preference for a second user to be used when a workflow plan associated with the second user is executed by the second user)
a first user uses the user terminal to create the workflow plan, a second user uses the user terminal to start execution of the workflow plan. (p. 3, l. 31-p. 4, l. 33, p. 5, ll. 25-29, p. 7, ll. 8-25, p. 8, l. 31-7, a first user, e.g., an admin sets up user preference for a second user to be used when a workflow plan associated with the second user is executed by the second user)
FALLON did not specifically disclose but Shih discloses the workflow plan being executable without requiring a user to provide user information to execute the workflow plan and wherein the second user starts execution of the workflow plan without providing any user information to the workflow system. (Shih, 3:7-4:5, 6: 43-67, 11:34-12:25, wherein a defined workflow is scheduled to be executed when one or more defined criteria is satisfied without requiring a user to provide a user information for executing the workflow)
FALLON discloses the feature implicitly by providing for executing a workflow programmatically as in p.4, l. 30-p.5, l. 20. It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the applied references for disclosing the workflow plan being executable without requiring a user to provide user information to execute the workflow plan and wherein the second user starts execution of the workflow plan without providing any user information to the workflow system because doing so would further provide for scheduling a workflow to be executed when one or more defined criteria are satisfied for achieving the same predictable result of processing a workflow in FALLON for distributing a document to a distribution list.
FALLON as modified did not specifically disclose but TEENI discloses:
a registered user terminal, an unregistered user terminal, a first user uses the registered user terminal, a second user uses the unregistered terminal. (TEENI, p. 14, wherein registered/unregistered devices are used by users and wherein registered/unregistered devices are provided different level of services based on an organization policy)
FALLON, p. 3, ll. 3-11, discloses that “each system described herein may be implemented by any number of devices in communication via any number of other public and/or private networks. Two or more of devices may be located remote from one another and may communicate with one another via any known manner of network(s) and/or a dedicated connection. Further, each device may comprise any number of hardware and/or software elements suitable to provide the functions described herein 10 as well as any other functions. Other topologies may be used in conjunction with other embodiments”. FALLON, p. 8, ll. 7-21, further discloses an “access control 730 component may be responsible for user account management including user authentication, granting access rights and/or user privilege control”. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the applied references for disclosing a registered user terminal, an unregistered user terminal, a first user uses the registered user terminal, a second user uses the unregistered terminal because doing so would further provide for enforcing an organization policy for providing a service based on the device identifications for achieving the same predictable result of distributing a document to a distribution list programmatically.
Claims 12 and 17 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Claims 14 and 19 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 4.
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 5.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejected claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejections as provided above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. It is suggested that the Applicant review these documents before submitting any amendments.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHSEN ALMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2159