DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 07/16/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined.
Priority
Applicant's claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The reference(s) listed on the Information Disclosure Statement(s) submitted on 07/16/2025 has/have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
In Claim 20, “A computer-readable storage medium” is recited in the claim. However, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art could interpret a computer-readable storage medium as nothing more than encompassing a signal only, and thus, as a signal, per se. Furthermore, there is no language in the claim or Specification by which the claim elements can be made functional and statutory. A claim to a computer storage media that encompasses a signal covers a non-statutory embodiment (signal, per se), and thus is directed to non-statutory subject matter. See MPEP § 2106. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would interpret the limitations to mean merely a computer-readable storage medium encompassing a signal only, which is non-statutory.
Therefore, the examiner suggests amending the claim to recite - - A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium - - .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lim et al., US Patent Application Publication No.: 2020/0413040 A1, hereby Lim.
Regarding Claims 1, 16, and 19-20, Lim discloses a method for video decoding, a method for video encoding, device for video decoding, and a computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program (Figs. 1-2, 5, and 15-21), comprising:
“determining K prediction modes for a current block, wherein at least one of the K prediction modes is an N-directional prediction mode, and each of the K and N is a positive integer greater than 1 (Figs. 1-2, 5, and 15-21; [0319]-[0326], [0567]-[0568], [0573], and [0597]-[0599], disclosing examples of K prediction modes and N-directional prediction mode (i.e., bi-directional prediction, three-directional prediction, four-directional prediction, and N-direction prediction, along with motion-refined mode)); and
predicting the current block based on the K prediction modes to determine a prediction value of the current block ([0334] [0409], [0606], disclosing examples of predicting the current block; Figs. 1-2, 5, and 15-21; [0319]-[0326], [0567]-[0568], [0573], and [0597]-[0599], disclosing examples of K prediction modes and N-directional prediction mode (i.e., bi-directional prediction, three-directional prediction, four-directional prediction, and N-direction prediction, along with motion-refined mode)).”
Regarding Claims 2 and 17, Lim discloses:
“wherein predicting the current block based on the K prediction modes to determine the prediction value of the current block ([0334] [0409], [0606], disclosing examples of predicting the current block; Figs. 1-2, 5, and 15-21; [0319]-[0326], [0567]-[0568], [0573], and [0597]-[0599], disclosing examples of K prediction modes and N-directional prediction mode (i.e., bi-directional prediction, three-directional prediction, four-directional prediction, and N-direction prediction, along with motion-refined mode)) comprises:
for an i-th prediction mode among the K prediction modes, if the i-th prediction mode is the N-directional prediction mode, determining N pieces of first motion information corresponding to the i-th prediction mode, where i is a positive integer less than or equal to K; determining an i-th prediction value of the current block based on the N pieces of first motion information; and determining the prediction value of the current block based on the i-th prediction value ([0334] [0409], [0606], disclosing examples of predicting the current block; Figs. 1-2, 5, and 15-21; [0319]-[0326], [0567]-[0568], [0573], and [0597]-[0599], disclosing an inter-prediction indicator, and examples of K prediction modes and N-directional prediction mode (i.e., bi-directional prediction, three-directional prediction, four-directional prediction, and N-direction prediction, along with motion-refined mode); [0338]-[0340], [0347], [0401], [0576]-[0578], and [0608], disclosing examples in which the current block may be motion-compensated based on at least one piece of information associated with motion compensation).”
Regarding Claims 3 and 18, Lim discloses:
“wherein the first motion information comprises a first motion vector, and determining the i-th prediction value of the current block based on the N pieces of first motion information ([0334] [0409], [0606], disclosing examples of predicting the current block; Figs. 1-2, 5, and 15-21; [0319]-[0326], [0567]-[0568], [0573], and [0597]-[0599], disclosing an inter-prediction indicator, and examples of K prediction modes and N-directional prediction mode (i.e., bi-directional prediction, three-directional prediction, four-directional prediction, and N-direction prediction, along with motion-refined mode); [0338]-[0340], [0347], [0401], [0576]-[0578], and [0608], disclosing examples in which the current block may be motion-compensated based on at least one piece of information associated with motion compensation) comprises:
performing refinement on at least one first motion vector of N first motion vectors to determine at least one second motion vector; and determining the i-th prediction value of the current block based on the at least one second motion vector ([0334] [0409], [0606], disclosing examples of predicting the current block; Figs. 1-2, 5, and 15-21; [0319]-[0326], [0567]-[0568], [0573], and [0597]-[0599], disclosing an inter-prediction indicator, and examples of K prediction modes and N-directional prediction mode (i.e., bi-directional prediction, three-directional prediction, four-directional prediction, and N-direction prediction, along with motion-refined mode); [0338]-[0340], [0347], [0401], [0420], [0439]-[0440], [0576]-[0578], and [0608], disclosing examples in which the current block may be motion-compensated based on at least one piece of information associated with motion compensation, and further disclosing motion vector refinement (Figs. 15-21)).”
Regarding Claim 4, Lim discloses:
“wherein performing refinement on the at least one first motion vector of the N first motion vectors to determine the at least one second motion vector ([0334] [0409], [0606], disclosing examples of predicting the current block; Figs. 1-2, 5, and 15-21; [0319]-[0326], [0567]-[0568], [0573], and [0597]-[0599], disclosing an inter-prediction indicator, and examples of K prediction modes and N-directional prediction mode (i.e., bi-directional prediction, three-directional prediction, four-directional prediction, and N-direction prediction, along with motion-refined mode); [0338]-[0340], [0347], [0401], [0420], [0439]-[0440], [0576]-[0578], and [0608], disclosing examples in which the current block may be motion-compensated based on at least one piece of information associated with motion compensation, and further disclosing motion vector refinement (Figs. 15-21)) comprises:
determining motion vector difference information; determining a first motion vector difference based on the motion vector difference information; and performing refinement on the at least one first motion vector of the N first motion vectors based on the first motion vector difference, to determine the at least one second motion vector ([0334] [0409], [0606], disclosing examples of predicting the current block; Figs. 1-2, 5, and 15-21; [0187], [0235]-[0236], [0319]-[0326], [0336], [0567]-[0568], [0573], and [0597]-[0599], disclosing an inter-prediction indicator, and examples of K prediction modes and N-directional prediction mode (i.e., bi-directional prediction, three-directional prediction, four-directional prediction, and N-direction prediction, along with motion-refined mode), and further disclosing determining a motion vector difference; [0338]-[0340], [0347], [0401], [0420], [0439]-[0440], [0576]-[0578], and [0608], disclosing examples in which the current block may be motion-compensated based on at least one piece of information associated with motion compensation, and further disclosing motion vector refinement (Figs. 15-21)).”
Regarding Claim 7, Lim discloses:
“wherein performing refinement on the at least one first motion vector of the N first motion vectors based on the first motion vector difference, to determine the at least one second motion vector ([0334] [0409], [0606], disclosing examples of predicting the current block; Figs. 1-2, 5, and 15-21; [0187], [0235]-[0236], [0319]-[0326], [0336], [0567]-[0568], [0573], and [0597]-[0599], disclosing an inter-prediction indicator, and examples of K prediction modes and N-directional prediction mode (i.e., bi-directional prediction, three-directional prediction, four-directional prediction, and N-direction prediction, along with motion-refined mode), and further disclosing determining a motion vector difference; [0338]-[0340], [0347], [0401], [0420], [0439]-[0440], [0576]-[0578], and [0608], disclosing examples in which the current block may be motion-compensated based on at least one piece of information associated with motion compensation, and further disclosing motion vector refinement (Figs. 15-21)) comprises:
performing refinement on the N first motion vectors based on the first motion vector difference to determine N second motion vectors ([0334] [0409], [0606], disclosing examples of predicting the current block; Figs. 1-2, 5, and 15-21; [0187], [0235]-[0236], [0319]-[0326], [0336], [0567]-[0568], [0573], and [0597]-[0599], disclosing an inter-prediction indicator, and examples of K prediction modes and N-directional prediction mode (i.e., bi-directional prediction, three-directional prediction, four-directional prediction, and N-direction prediction, along with motion-refined mode), and further disclosing determining motion vector difference(s); [0338]-[0340], [0347], [0401], [0420], [0439]-[0440], [0576]-[0578], and [0608], disclosing examples in which the current block may be motion-compensated based on at least one piece of information associated with motion compensation, and further disclosing motion vector refinement (Figs. 15-21)).”
Regarding Claim 14, Lim discloses:
“wherein performing refinement on the at least one first motion vector of the N first motion vectors to determine the at least one second motion vector ([0334] [0409], [0606], disclosing examples of predicting the current block; Figs. 1-2, 5, and 15-21; [0187], [0235]-[0236], [0319]-[0326], [0336], [0567]-[0568], [0573], and [0597]-[0599], disclosing an inter-prediction indicator, and examples of K prediction modes and N-directional prediction mode (i.e., bi-directional prediction, three-directional prediction, four-directional prediction, and N-direction prediction, along with motion-refined mode), and further disclosing determining a motion vector difference; [0338]-[0340], [0347], [0401], [0420], [0439]-[0440], [0576]-[0578], and [0608], disclosing examples in which the current block may be motion-compensated based on at least one piece of information associated with motion compensation, and further disclosing motion vector refinement (Figs. 15-21)) comprises:
based on the at least one first motion vector, performing a matching search within a preset search range of a reference picture corresponding to the at least one first motion vector, to determine the at least one second motion vector ([0334] [0409], [0606], disclosing examples of predicting the current block; Figs. 1-2, 5, and 15-21; [0187], [0235]-[0236], [0319]-[0326], [0336], [0567]-[0568], [0573], and [0597]-[0599], disclosing an inter-prediction indicator, and examples of K prediction modes and N-directional prediction mode (i.e., bi-directional prediction, three-directional prediction, four-directional prediction, and N-direction prediction, along with motion-refined mode), and further disclosing determining a motion vector difference; [0338]-[0340], [0347], [0401], [0420], [0439]-[0440], [0576]-[0578], and [0608], disclosing examples in which the current block may be motion-compensated based on at least one piece of information associated with motion compensation, and further disclosing motion vector refinement and matching/searching (Figs. 15-21)).”
Regarding Claim 15, Lim discloses:
“wherein determining the prediction value of the current block based on the i-th prediction value ([0334] [0409], [0606], disclosing examples of predicting the current block; Figs. 1-2, 5, and 15-21; [0319]-[0326], [0567]-[0568], [0573], and [0597]-[0599], disclosing an inter-prediction indicator, and examples of K prediction modes and N-directional prediction mode (i.e., bi-directional prediction, three-directional prediction, four-directional prediction, and N-direction prediction, along with motion-refined mode); [0338]-[0340], [0347], [0401], [0576]-[0578], and [0608], disclosing examples in which the current block may be motion-compensated based on at least one piece of information associated with motion compensation) comprises:
determining a weight of the i-th prediction value based on a weight derivation mode; and determining the prediction value of the current block based on the i-th prediction value and the weight of the i-th prediction value ([0334], [0409], [0512], [0514]-[0515], [0606], disclosing examples of predicting the current block, including determining weights; Figs. 1-2, 5, and 15-21; [0319]-[0326], [0567]-[0568], [0573], and [0597]-[0599], disclosing an inter-prediction indicator, and examples of K prediction modes and N-directional prediction mode (i.e., bi-directional prediction, three-directional prediction, four-directional prediction, and N-direction prediction, along with motion-refined mode); [0338]-[0340], [0347], [0401], [0576]-[0578], and [0608], disclosing examples in which the current block may be motion-compensated based on at least one piece of information associated with motion compensation).”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 and 8-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Examiner notes that multiple references cited disclose video predictive coding. For example, the following references show similar features in the claims, although not relied upon: Lim (US 2020/0280735 A1), Figs. 1-2, 5, and 13-16.
/KATHLEEN M WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482