DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
Claims 1-14 have been examined in this application. This communication is a final rejection in response to the “Amendments to the claims” and “Remarks” filed 6/10/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 14 fails to comply with the written description requirement because there is no discussion of the plurality of first reinforcement members having a constant cross-section approximately equal to the cross-section of the center column.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-13 are rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CN108757336A by Yang
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a floating offshore structure comprising:
A plurality of columns (posts 2), the columns define the vertices of a polygonal shape being formed by an imaginary line connecting the vertices (Figure 1 shows the posts 2 defining a circle by connecting their vertices);
A center column disposed inside the polygonal shape formed by the columns (post 1); and
A plurality of first reinforcement members (trestles 10), arranged between each of the plurality of columns and the center column, for connecting each of the plurality of the columns and the center column (Figure 7 shows trestle 10 connecting upright posts 2 and 1),
Wherein the first reinforcement members form a merged area that is connected to the center column, and a cross-section of the merged area is greater than a cross-section of the center column (Figure 1 shows trestles 10 joining at transition platform 9, which is an area that is connected to the center column and the area of platform 9 is greater than a cross section of post 1).
Regarding claim 2 (dependent on claim 1), Yang discloses a plurality of first buoyancy bodies installed at a lower end of each of the columns. Figure 1 shows square cabins 4 installed at a lower end of each side post 2, the machine translation discloses “this scheme increases the square cabin under the four columns, circular, square, and circular cabin is but also increases the variable cross section matrix buoy as floating fan foundation of ballast”, and also “post 1 and side post 2 can provide overall buoyancy”. Thus the square cabins 4 increases the cross section of the buoy and therefore comprises first buoyancy bodies.
Regarding claim 3 (dependent on claim 1), Yang discloses the merged area surrounds the periphery of the center column and covers the center column (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 6 (dependent on claim 2), Yang discloses the center column further includes a second buoyancy body installed at a lower end of the center column. Figure 1 shows circular chamber 5 installed at a lower end of each side post 2, the machine translation discloses “this scheme increases the square cabin under the four columns, circular, square, and circular cabin is but also increases the variable cross section matrix buoy as floating fan foundation of ballast”, and also “post 1 and side post 2 can provide overall buoyancy”. Thus the square chamber 5 increases the cross section of the buoy and therefore comprises first buoyancy bodies.
Regarding claim 7 (dependent on claim 6), Yang discloses a plurality of second reinforcement members (rectangular buoys 6), which are arranged between the first buoyancy bodies and the second buoyancy body at a position lower than the first reinforcement members, and which connect each of the first buoyancy bodies and the second buoyancy body (Figure 1 shows rectangular buoys 6 connecting square cabins 4 and circular chamber 5 at a position lower than trestles 10).
Regarding claim 8 (dependent on claim 1), Yang discloses the center column has a circular cross-section (see post 1 in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 10 (dependent on claim 2), Yang discloses each of the first buoyancy bodies has a polygonal cross-section. Square cabins 4 have a polygonal cross-section.
Regarding claim 11 (dependent on claim 1), Yang discloses the first reinforcement members are arranged parallel to the sea level. Figure 1 shows trestles 10 being arranged horizontally and are therefore parallel to sea level.
Regarding claim 12 (dependent on claim 6), Yang discloses the second reinforcement members are arranged parallel to the sea level. Figure 1 shows rectangular buoys 6 being arranged horizontally and are therefore parallel to sea level.
Regarding claim 13 (dependent on claim 1), Yang discloses a floating offshore power generation apparatus, comprising:
the floating offshore structure of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above); and
a power generation structure installed on the floating offshore structure (wind turbine 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 9, 14 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over CN108757336A by Yang
Regarding claim 4 (dependent on claim 3), Yang does not disclose a cross-section of each of the plurality of first reinforcement members extending form the merged area to the plurality of columns is larger than the cross-section of the center column. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the trestles 10 of whatever width is desired to provide adequate space for pedestrians, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 5 (dependent on claim 4), Yang does not discloses merged area having a polygonal shape. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the transition platform of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Regarding claim 9 (dependent on claim 1), Yang does not disclose the floating offshore structure according to wherein each of the columns has a polygonal cross-section. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the posts 2 of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Regarding claim 14 (dependent on claim 1), Yang discloses the merged area tapers into each of the plurality of first reinforcement members having a constant cross-section. Figure 1 shows the sides of transition platform 9 tapering into each pedestrian trestle 10 and each pedestrian trestle having a constant cross-section.
Yang does not disclose each of the plurality of first reinforcement members having a constant cross-section approximately equal to the cross-section of the center column. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the trestles 10 of whatever width is desired to provide adequate space for pedestrians, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that Yang is not provided or contemplated as a reinforcement member but rather as a walkway from the transition platform to the upright posts 2, a connecting member such as a walkway inherently provides some level of reinforcement to the components that they are connected to. Furthermore, as discussed in the sections cited by the applicant, the walkway dissipates forces between the rectangular floats and the blower body, which also helps reinforce the connection. Furthermore, regarding the argument that transition pieces connect to the floating foundation to the turbine power and enable secure mounting, support equipment, and provide access for maintenance and cable management support, the section of Yang cited by the applicant discloses transferring forces between the rectangular float and the blower body, and enabling secure mounting between the rectangular float and the blower body is reinforcing the connection.
Regarding the argument that it would not have been obvious to form the trestle and the transition platform integrally in the manner required by the claims, there is no requirement in the claims for the trestle and transition platform to be formed integrally.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL H. WANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3642
/MICHAEL H WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642