DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
Claims 1-13 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits of these claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-13 are rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CN108757336A by Yang
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a floating offshore structure comprising:
A plurality of columns (posts 2), the columns define the vertices of a polygonal shape being formed by an imaginary line connecting the vertices (Figure 1 shows the posts 2 defining a circle by connecting their vertices);
A center column disposed inside the polygonal shape formed by the columns (post 1); and
A plurality of first reinforcement members (trestles 10), arranged between each of the plurality of columns and the center column, for connecting each of the plurality of the columns and the center column (Figure 7 shows trestle 10 connecting upright posts 2 and 1),
Wherein the first reinforcement members forms an area that is connected to the center column, and the area is greater than a cross section of the center column (Figure 1 shows trestles 10 joining at transition platform 9, which is an area that is connected to the center column and the area of platform 9 is greater than a cross section of post 1).
Regarding claim 2 (dependent on claim 1), Yang discloses a plurality of first buoyancy bodies installed at a lower end of each of the columns. Figure 1 shows square cabins 4 installed at a lower end of each side post 2, the machine translation discloses “this scheme increases the square cabin under the four columns, circular, square, and circular cabin is but also increases the variable cross section matrix buoy as floating fan foundation of ballast”, and also “post 1 and side post 2 can provide overall buoyancy”. Thus the square cabins 4 increases the cross section of the buoy and therefore comprises first buoyancy bodies.
Regarding claim 3 (dependent on claim 1), Yang discloses the first reinforcement members surround the periphery of the center column and cover the center column (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 4 (dependent on claim 3), Yang discloses a cross-sectional area of the region where the first reinforcement members cover the center column is larger than a cross-sectional area of the center column. Figure 1 shows the cross-sectional area of the transition platform 9 being larger than a cross-sectional area of post 1.
Regarding claim 6 (dependent on claim 2), Yang discloses the center column further includes a second buoyancy body installed at a lower end of the center column. Figure 1 shows circular chamber 5 installed at a lower end of each side post 2, the machine translation discloses “this scheme increases the square cabin under the four columns, circular, square, and circular cabin is but also increases the variable cross section matrix buoy as floating fan foundation of ballast”, and also “post 1 and side post 2 can provide overall buoyancy”. Thus the square chamber 5 increases the cross section of the buoy and therefore comprises first buoyancy bodies.
Regarding claim 7 (dependent on claim 6), Yang discloses a plurality of second reinforcement members (rectangular buoys 6), which are arranged between the first buoyancy bodies and the second buoyancy body at a position lower than the first reinforcement members, and which connect each of the first buoyancy bodies and the second buoyancy body (Figure 1 shows rectangular buoys 6 connecting square cabins 4 and circular chamber 5 at a position lower than trestles 10).
Regarding claim 8 (dependent on claim 1), Yang discloses the center column has a circular cross-section (see post 1 in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 10 (dependent on claim 2), Yang discloses each of the first buoyancy bodies has a polygonal cross-section. Square cabins 4 have a polygonal cross-section.
Regarding claim 11 (dependent on claim 1), Yang discloses the first reinforcement members are arranged parallel to the sea level. Figure 1 shows trestles 10 being arranged horizontally and are therefore parallel to sea level.
Regarding claim 12 (dependent on claim 6), Yang discloses the second reinforcement members are arranged parallel to the sea level. Figure 1 shows rectangular buoys 6 being arranged horizontally and are therefore parallel to sea level.
Regarding claim 13 (dependent on claim 1), Yang discloses a floating offshore power generation apparatus, comprising:
the floating offshore structure of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above); and
a power generation structure installed on the floating offshore structure (wind turbine 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over CN108757336A by Yang
Regarding claim 5 (dependent on claim 4), Yang does not discloses an area where the first reinforcement members cover the center column has a polygonal shape. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the transition platform of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Regarding claim 9 (dependent on claim 1), Yang does not disclose the floating offshore structure according to wherein each of the columns has a polygonal cross-section. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the posts 2 of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Conclusion
MICHAEL H. WANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3642
/MICHAEL H WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642