DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
Claims 1-9 have been examined in this application. This communication is a final rejection in response to the “Amendments to the claims” and “Remarks” filed 8/17/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9 are rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CN108757336A by Yang
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a floating offshore structure comprising:
A plurality of columns (posts 2), the columns define the vertices of a polygonal shape being formed by an imaginary line connecting the vertices (Figure 1 shows the posts 2 defining a circle by connecting their vertices);
A center column disposed inside the polygonal shape formed by the columns (post 1); and
A plurality of first buoyancy bodies installed at a lower end of each of the columns (Figure 1 shows square cabins 4 installed at a lower end of each side post 2, the machine translation discloses “this scheme increases the square cabin under the four columns, circular, square, and circular cabin is but also increases the variable cross section matrix buoy as floating fan foundation of ballast”, and also “post 1 and side post 2 can provide overall buoyancy”. Thus the square cabins 4 increases the cross section of the buoy and therefore comprises first buoyancy bodies);
A second buoyancy body installed at a lower end of the center column (Figure 1 shows circular chamber 5 installed at a lower end of upright post 1, the machine translation discloses “this scheme increases the square cabin under the four columns, circular, square, and circular cabin is but also increases the variable cross section matrix buoy as floating fan foundation of ballast”, and also “post 1 and side post 2 can provide overall buoyancy”. Thus the square chamber 5 increases the cross section of the buoy and therefore comprises first buoyancy bodies),
A plurality of first reinforcement members (trestles 10), arranged between each of the plurality of columns and the center column, for connecting each of the plurality of the columns and the center column (Figure 7 shows trestle 10 connecting upright posts 2 and 1),
A plurality of second reinforcement members (rectangular buoys 6), extending between the first buoyancy bodies and the second buoyancy body at a position lower than the first reinforcement members, and connecting each of the first buoyancy bodies to the second buoyancy body (Figure 1 shows rectangular buoys 6 connecting square cabins 4 and circular chamber 5 at a position lower than trestles 10).
Regarding claim 2 (dependent on claim 1), Yang discloses a plurality of third reinforcement members, each of the plurality of third reinforcement members connecting one of the plurality of first reinforcement members and one oof the plurality of second reinforcement members (Figure 1 shows struts 3 connecting trestle 10 and rectangular buoys 6).
Regarding claim 3 (dependent on claim 2)¸ Yang discloses each of the plurality of third reinforcement members connects one of the plurality of first reinforcement members and one of the plurality of second reinforcement members in a “V” shape.
Regarding claim 4 (dependent on claim 2), Yang discloses the center column has a circular cross-section (see post 1 in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 6 (dependent on claim 1), Yang discloses each of the plurality of second reinforcement members is arranged in a first plane parallel to the sea level. Figure 1 shows trestles 10 being arranged horizontally and are therefore parallel to sea level.
Regarding claim 7 (dependent on claim 1), Yang discloses the second reinforcement members are arranged in a second plane parallel to the sea level. Figure 1 shows rectangular buoys 6 being arranged horizontally and are therefore parallel to sea level.
Regarding claim 9 (dependent on claim 1), Yang discloses a floating offshore power generation apparatus, comprising:
the floating offshore structure of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above); and
a power generation structure installed on the floating offshore structure (wind turbine 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 8 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over CN108757336A by Yang in view of WO 2014/013097 A1 by Garcia.
Regarding claim 5 (dependent on claim 1), Yang does not disclose a plurality of fourth reinforcement members each connecting the plurality of columns. However, this limitation is taught by Garcia. Garcia discloses a buoyant platform with outer columns 14 and a central column 15 with additional reinforcement members 9 connecting the outer columns 14. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Yang using the teachings from Garcia in order to better reinforce the outer posts with respect to each other.
Regarding claim 8 (dependent on claim 5), Yang and Garcia do not disclose the cross-sectional area of each of the plurality of first reinforcement members is greater than a cross-sectional area of each of the plurality of fourth reinforcement members. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different reinforcement members of whatever size is needed to reinforce the posts against different motions and forces on the ocean, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that trestles 10 are access and maintenance structures ant not structural reinforcement members, a connecting structure between two components provides some level of structural reinforcement. Yang further discloses “between the transition platform and section variable rectangular float transfer blower body by inclined bending moment load, and the strut and the reduce section rectangular can buoy is provided with a connecting bridge, unbalanced load inclined and section variable rectangular float force transfer between the blower body transmitted from dissipating effectively. Dissipating the force transfer between the rectangular floats 4 and the blower also provides structural reinforcement.
Regarding the argument that the examiner’s mapping is internally consistent because the rejection identifies square cabins 4 as first buoyancy bodies and circular chamber 5 as the second buoyancy body, but rectangular buoys 6 as second reinforcement members, structures can provide both buoying force and reinforcement. Applicant’s arguments regarding trestles 10 admitted that Yang identifies struts 3 and rectangular buoys 6 as the primary force-transfer elements. Buoys 6 therefore provides force transfer between square cabins 4 and circular chamber 5, and is a reinforcement member.
Regarding the argument that Garcia’s element 9 connects column bases to a common plate and not to each other, the common plate are connected to each column base, therefore each column base being connected to the column base connects them to each other.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL H. WANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3642
/MICHAEL H WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642