DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
Claims 1-9 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits of these claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: ‘V’ shape should be amended to “V” shape. Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: there is no proper antecedent basis for what is considered the first, second, third, and fourth reinforcement members. While the specification does recite first to third reinforcements 410, 420, 430, these reference numbers in the drawings are drawn to one type of reinforcement member connecting an upper end of the columns and the center column, and does not read on the second, third, or fourth reinforcement members as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the limitations “the first reinforcement member” and “the second reinforcement member” render the claim indefinite because there is only antecedent basis for a plurality of first reinforcement members and a plurality of second reinforcement members, therefore it is unclear which of the plurality of members are being referred to.
Regarding claim 3, the limitations “the third reinforcement member”, “the first reinforcement member”, and “the second reinforcement member” render the claim indefinite because there is only antecedent basis for a plurality of first reinforcement members and a plurality of second reinforcement members, therefore it is unclear which of the plurality of members are being referred to.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation “the first reinforcement members” renders the claim indefinite because there is only antecedent basis for a plurality of first reinforcement members, therefore it is unclear which of the plurality of members are being referred to.
Regarding claim 7, the limitation “the second reinforcement member” renders the claim indefinite because there is only antecedent basis for a plurality of second reinforcement members, therefore it is unclear which of the plurality of members are being referred to.
Regarding claim 8, the limitations “the first reinforcement member” and “the fourth reinforcement member” render the claim indefinite because there is only antecedent basis for a plurality of first reinforcement members and a plurality of fourth reinforcement members, therefore it is unclear which of the plurality of members are being referred to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9 are rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CN108757336A by Yang
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a floating offshore structure comprising:
A plurality of columns (posts 2), the columns define the vertices of a polygonal shape being formed by an imaginary line connecting the vertices (Figure 1 shows the posts 2 defining a circle by connecting their vertices);
A center column disposed inside the polygonal shape formed by the columns (post 1); and
A plurality of first buoyancy bodies installed at a lower end of each of the columns (Figure 1 shows square cabins 4 installed at a lower end of each side post 2, the machine translation discloses “this scheme increases the square cabin under the four columns, circular, square, and circular cabin is but also increases the variable cross section matrix buoy as floating fan foundation of ballast”, and also “post 1 and side post 2 can provide overall buoyancy”. Thus the square cabins 4 increases the cross section of the buoy and therefore comprises first buoyancy bodies);
A second buoyancy body installed at a lower end of the center column (Figure 1 shows circular chamber 5 installed at a lower end of upright post 1, the machine translation discloses “this scheme increases the square cabin under the four columns, circular, square, and circular cabin is but also increases the variable cross section matrix buoy as floating fan foundation of ballast”, and also “post 1 and side post 2 can provide overall buoyancy”. Thus the square chamber 5 increases the cross section of the buoy and therefore comprises first buoyancy bodies),
A plurality of first reinforcement members (trestles 10), arranged between each of the plurality of columns and the center column, for connecting each of the plurality of the columns and the center column (Figure 7 shows trestle 10 connecting upright posts 2 and 1),
A plurality of second reinforcement members (rectangular buoys 6), which are arranged between the first buoyancy bodies and the second buoyancy body at a position lower than the first reinforcement members, and which connect each of the first buoyancy bodies and the second buoyancy body (Figure 1 shows rectangular buoys 6 connecting square cabins 4 and circular chamber 5 at a position lower than trestles 10).
Regarding claim 2 (dependent on claim 1), Yang discloses a plurality of third reinforcement members connecting the first reinforcement member and the second reinforcement member (Figure 1 shows struts 3 connecting trestle 10 and rectangular buoys 6).
Regarding claim 3 (dependent on claim 2)¸ Yang discloses the third reinforcement member connects the first reinforcement member and the second reinforcement member in a “V” shape.
Regarding claim 4 (dependent on claim 2), Yang discloses the center column has a circular cross-section (see post 1 in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 6 (dependent on claim 1), Yang discloses the first reinforcement members are arranged in a first plane parallel to the sea level. Figure 1 shows trestles 10 being arranged horizontally and are therefore parallel to sea level.
Regarding claim 7 (dependent on claim 1), Yang discloses the second reinforcement members are arranged in a second plane parallel to the sea level. Figure 1 shows rectangular buoys 6 being arranged horizontally and are therefore parallel to sea level.
Regarding claim 9 (dependent on claim 1), Yang discloses a floating offshore power generation apparatus, comprising:
the floating offshore structure of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above); and
a power generation structure installed on the floating offshore structure (wind turbine 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 8 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over CN108757336A by Yang in view of WO 2014/013097 A1 by Garcia.
Regarding claim 5 (dependent on claim 1), Yang does not disclose a plurality of fourth reinforcement members each connecting the plurality of columns. However, this limitation is taught by Garcia. Gardia discloses a buoyant platform with outer columns 14 and a central column 15 with additional reinforcement members 9 connecting the outer columns 14. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Yang using the teachings from Garcia in order to better reinforce the outer posts with respect to each other.
Regarding claim 8 (dependent on claim 5), Yang and Garcia do not disclose the cross-sectional area of the first reinforcement member is greater than a cross-sectional area of the fourth reinforcement member. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different reinforcement members of whatever size is needed to reinforce the posts against different motions and forces on the ocean, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
MICHAEL H. WANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3642
/MICHAEL H WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642