DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 52-60 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/25/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 40, 41, 43, 47 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 40, 41, and 47, the limitation “substantially” renders the claims indefinite. It is not clear what qualifies to meet the associated limitations, or what approximation (of the limitations) qualifies.
Regarding claims 43 and 49, the limitation “and/or” renders the claims indefinite. It is not clear if the associated limitations in the claims are inclusively required or merely recited in the alternative. For the sake of claim interpretation, it is assumed that the list is inclusive and has the same interpretation as “or”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 38-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jackson et al. (US 2017/0181908 A1).
Regarding claim 38, Jackson et al. (‘908) teach a patient support comprising: a seat member (see [0401]); and a shin rest (see [0563]), wherein the inclination of the seat member is adjustable about a pivotable mount (see [0402]).
Regarding claim 39, Jackson et al. (‘908) teach the patient support of claim 38, wherein a horizontal location of the shin rest is adjustable (see [0563]).
Regarding claim 40, Jackson et al. (‘908) teach the patient support of claim 38, wherein the inclination of the seat member is adjustable from a first position that is horizontal or substantially horizontal to a second position that is positioned downward about the pivotable mount (see [0502]).
Regarding claim 41, Jackson et al. (‘908) teach the patient support of claim 40, wherein the second position is inclined downward at an angle of approximately 60° from horizontal (see [0502]).
Regarding claim 42, Jackson et al. (‘908) teach the patient support of claim 38, wherein the patient support is rotatable about a vertical axis (see [0502]).
Regarding claim 43, Jackson et al. (‘908) teach the patient support of claim 38, wherein the patient support is horizontally and/or vertically translatable (see [0502]).
Regarding claim 44, Jackson et al. (‘908) teach the patient support of claim 38, wherein the patient support is tiltable (see [0502]).
Regarding claim 45, Jackson et al. (‘908) teach the patient support of claim 38, wherein the patient support is adjustable between a first configuration comprising the seat member in a horizontal position for supporting a patient's buttocks to a second configuration comprising the seat member at an inclined position for supporting a patient's thighs (see [0560]).
Regarding claim 46, Jackson et al. (‘908) teach the patient support of claim 38, wherein the patient support is adjustable between a first configuration comprising the shin rest in a first horizontal location for contacting a patient's shins to a second configuration comprising the shin rest in a second horizontal location for contacting a patient's shins (see [0560]-[0563]).
Regarding claim 47, Jackson et al. (‘908) teach the patient support of claim 38, wherein the patient support is adjustable between a first configuration for supporting a seated or substantially seated patient to a second configuration for supporting a standing or substantially standing patient (see [0560]-[0563]).
Regarding claim 48, Jackson et al. (‘908) teach the patient support of claim 38, further comprising a back rest (see [0401]-[0402]).
Regarding claim 49, Jackson et al. (‘908) teach the patient support of claim 48, wherein the back rest is translatable and/or tiltable (see [0401]-[0402]).
Regarding claim 50, Jackson et al. (‘908) teach the patient support of claim 38, further comprising a head rest (see [0401]-[0402]).
Regarding claim 51, Jackson et al. (‘908) teach the patient support of claim 38, further comprising an arm rest (see [0401]-[0402]).
Conclusion
/MARK D REMALY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797