DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: ‘
In claim 1, line 18, “the appliance” is read as “the handheld appliance”.
In claim 1, line 21, “an item” is read as “the item”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a locking mechanism” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “at a free end thereof” in line 12. It is unclear which structure the Applicant wants to refer to by “thereof”. Is it at a free end of the bearing plate or at a free end of the lower arm? For the purpose of applying art, the limitation is interpreted as at a free end of the lower arm.
Claim 1 recites “the first exhaust holes” in line 19. It is unclear which “exhaust holes” the Applicant wants to refer to as there are a plurality of first exhaust holes in line 10.
Claim 2 recites “substantially aligned”. It is unclear how to define “substantially aligned”. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of applying art, “substantially aligned” is interpreted as aligned.
Claim 2 recites “a respective first exhaust hole”. It is unclear about relationship between “a respective first exhaust hole” in claim 2 and “a plurality of first exhaust holes” in claim 1. Are they the same or different? For the purpose of applying art, the limitation is interpreted as a respective first exhaust hole of the plurality of first exhaust holes.
Claim 4 recites “the at least one first exhaust hole” in line 1 and “the at least one second exhaust hole” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Any remaining claims are rejected as depending from a rejected base claim.
In the art rejections below the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN207452527 (hereinafter CN’527).
Regarding claim 1, CN’527 teaches a method of steaming an item, comprising:
(a) providing a handheld appliance (fig. 2, device 100) comprising: an upper arm (fig. 2, first body 20); a lower arm (fig. 2, second body 30) attached at one end to an end of the upper arm; a steam generation unit mounted on the upper arm (fig. 2, plates 5, 6, machine translation, para. [0039], the water is vaporized by the heating plates to form steam); a water reservoir (fig. 2, water tank 1) located in the upper arm and/or the lower arm; a water pump (fig. 2, water pump 4) fluidly connected to the water reservoir and to the steam generation unit; a heating plate (fig. 2, plate 18) mounted near a free end of the upper arm, the heating plate including a plurality of first exhaust holes (fig. 2, holes 10) that are in fluid communication with the steam generation unit (fig. 2, machine translation, para. [0039]-[0040], steam is sprayed out through holes 10); and a bearing plate (fig. 2, plate 19) mounted on the lower arm at a free end thereof, the bearing plate including a plurality of second exhaust holes (fig. 2, holes 9);
(b) generating steam with the steam generation unit (machine translation, para. [0039]);
(c) moving the upper arm toward the lower arm to bring the heating plate closely adjacent to the bearing plate (fig. 4);
(d) locking, with a locking mechanism (fig. 4, machine translation, para. [0043], hooks 11 and 12), the upper arm relative to the lower arm to lock the appliance in closed position; and
(e) passing steam from the steam generation unit through the first exhaust holes and through at least one of the second plurality of exhaust holes and onto an item to be steamed (machine translation, para. [0043]).
Regarding claim 2, CN’527 teaches during step (d) each of the plurality of second exhaust holes is substantially aligned with a respective first exhaust hole (machine translation, para. [0042]).
Regarding claim 3, CN’527 teaches the steam generation unit includes a heating element (fig. 2, heating plates 5,6), and wherein the heating element is positioned to heat the heating plate (fig. 2, machine translation, para. [0039], the water is vaporized by the heating plates to form steam; para. [0040], surface 18 is provided with a steam outlet 10, through which water vapor is sprayed out; and the steam plays a role in ironing).
Regarding claim 4, CN’527 teaches the at least one first exhaust hole is smaller in diameter than the at least one second exhaust hole (machine translation, para. [0050]).
Regarding claim 5, CN’527 teaches the upper arm is pivotally attached to the lower arm (fig. 2, through rotary shaft 7).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,959,223 in view of CN207452527.
Regarding claim 1, the patented claim 10 does not teach step (d) locking, with a locking mechanism, the upper arm relative to the lower arm to lock the appliance in closed position. However, CN’527 teaches locking, with a locking mechanism, the upper arm relative to the lower arm to lock the appliance in closed position (fig. 4, machine translation, para. [0043]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the patented claim 10 with the teaching of CN’527 that locking, with a locking mechanism, the upper arm relative to the lower arm to lock the appliance in closed position so that the water vapor passes directly out from the steam outlet 10 through the steam through hole 9 so that the ironing device can achieve the best ironing effect, and after the ironing device stops working, it is used to minimize the space occupied by the ironing device for storage and carrying (CN’527, machine translation, para. [0043]).
For the same reasonings, claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,959,223 in view of CN207452527.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,959,223 in view of CN207452527.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,959,223 in view of CN207452527.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,959,223 in view of CN207452527.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
/UYEN T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3732