DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 6 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 19, “the first exhaust holes” is read as “the plurality of first exhaust holes”.
In claim 1, line 20, “the second plurality of exhaust holes” is read as “ the plurality of second exhaust holes”.
In claim 4, line 2, “ the first exhaust holes” is read as “the plurality of first exhaust holes”.
In claim 6, line 19, “the first exhaust holes” is read as “the plurality of first exhaust holes”.
In claim 6, line 20, “the second plurality of exhaust holes” is read as “ the plurality of second exhaust holes”.
In claim 9, line 1, “ the first exhaust holes” is read as “the plurality of first exhaust holes”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a locking mechanism” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN207452527 (hereinafter CN’527).
Regarding claim 6, CN’527 teaches a method of steaming an item, comprising:
(a) providing a handheld appliance (fig. 2, device 100) comprising:
an upper arm (fig. 2, first body 20);
a lower arm (fig. 2, second body 30) attached at one end to an end of the upper arm;
a steam generation unit mounted on the upper arm (fig. 2, plates 5, 6, machine translation, para. [0039], the water is vaporized by the heating plates to form steam);
a water reservoir (fig. 2, water tank 1) located in the upper arm;
a water pump (fig. 2, water pump 4) fluidly connected to the water reservoir and to the steam generation unit;
a switch (fig. 1, steam switch 2) operatively connected with the steam generation unit and the water pump (machine translation, if steam is needed, the steam switch 2 is toggled, and the water pump 4 starts to pump water to the heating plate to generate water vapor);
a heating plate (fig. 2, plate 18) mounted near a free end of the upper arm, the heating plate including a plurality of first exhaust holes (fig. 2, holes 10) that are in fluid communication with the steam generation unit (fig. 2, machine translation, para. [0039]-[0040], steam is sprayed out through holes 10); and
a bearing plate (fig. 2, plate 19) mounted at a free end of the lower arm, the bearing plate including a plurality of second exhaust holes (fig. 2, holes 9);
(b) generating steam with the steam generation unit (machine translation, para. [0039]);
(c) moving the upper arm toward the lower arm from an open position to a closed position to bring the heating plate closely adjacent to the bearing plate (fig. 4) and to cause the switch to activate the steam generation unit and the pump (machine translation, in order to increase the ironing effect, hot steam is also applied during clamping and the steam switch 2 is provided for the user; for the greatest convenience, the user can let the ironing device provide water vapor as needed);
(d) locking, with a locking mechanism (fig. 4, machine translation, para. [0043], hooks 11 and 12), the upper arm relative to the lower arm to lock the appliance in closed position; and
(e) passing steam from the steam generation unit through the first exhaust holes and through at least one of the second plurality of exhaust holes and onto an item to be steamed (machine translation, para. [0043]).
Regarding claim 7, CN’527 teaches during step (d) each of the plurality of second exhaust holes is substantially aligned with a respective first exhaust hole (machine translation, para. [0042]).
Regarding claim 8, CN’527 teaches the steam generation unit includes a heating element (fig. 2, heating plates 5,6), and wherein the heating element is positioned to heat the heating plate when the appliance is in the closed position (fig. 4, machine translation, para. [0039], the water is vaporized by the heating plates to form steam; para. [0040], surface 18 is provided with a steam outlet 10, through which water vapor is sprayed out; and the steam plays a role in ironing).
Regarding claim 9, CN’527 teaches at least one of the first exhaust holes is smaller in diameter than at least one second exhaust hole (machine translation, para. [0050]).
Regarding claim 10, CN’527 teaches the upper arm is pivotally attached to the lower arm (fig. 2, through rotary shaft 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN207452527 in view of Fabrikant (US 2010/0199528).
Regarding claim 1, CN’527 teaches a method of steaming an item, comprising:
(a) providing a handheld appliance (fig. 2, device 100) comprising: an upper arm (fig. 2, first body 20); a lower arm (fig. 2, second body 30) attached at one end to an end of the upper arm; a steam generation unit mounted on the upper arm (fig. 2, plates 5, 6, machine translation, para. [0039], the water is vaporized by the heating plates to form steam); a water reservoir (fig. 2, water tank 1) located in the upper arm and/or the lower arm; a water pump (fig. 2, water pump 4) fluidly connected to the water reservoir and to the steam generation unit; a heating plate (fig. 2, plate 18) mounted near a free end of the upper arm, the heating plate including a plurality of first exhaust holes (fig. 2, holes 10) that are in fluid communication with the steam generation unit (fig. 2, machine translation, para. [0039]-[0040], steam is sprayed out through holes 10); and a bearing plate (fig. 2, plate 19) mounted on the lower arm at a free end thereof, the bearing plate including a plurality of second exhaust holes (fig. 2, holes 9);
(b) generating steam with the steam generation unit (machine translation, para. [0039]);
(c) moving the upper arm toward the lower arm from an open position to a closed position to bring the heating plate closely adjacent to the bearing plate (fig. 4);
(d) locking (fig. 4, machine translation, para. [0043], hooks 11 and 12), the upper arm relative to the lower arm to lock the handheld appliance in its closed position; and
(e) passing steam from the steam generation unit through the first exhaust holes and through at least one of the second plurality of exhaust holes and onto an item to be steamed (machine translation, para. [0043]).
CN’527 does not teach a biasing member that engages the upper arm and the lower arm, wherein the biasing member biases the upper arm and lower arm toward the open position.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Fabrikant teaches a biasing member (fig. 4, a spring/hinge member 18) that engages the upper arm and the lower arm, wherein the biasing member biases the upper arm and lower arm toward the open position (para. [0021], the spring/hinge mechanism 18 separates the arms 12 significantly at the distal ends).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine CN’527 with a biasing member of Fabrikant for the benefit of keeping the heat plates separated until hand pressure is applied to clamp the fabric to be ironed (Fabrikant, para. [0024]).
Regarding claim 2, the modified method CN’527-Fabrikant teaches during step (d) each of the plurality of second exhaust holes is substantially aligned with a respective first exhaust hole (CN’527, machine translation, para. [0042]).
Regarding claim 3, the modified method CN’527-Fabrikant teaches the steam generation unit includes a heating element (CN’527, fig. 2, heating plates 5,6), and wherein the heating element is positioned to heat the heating plate when the appliance is in the closed position (CN’527, fig. 2, machine translation, para. [0039], the water is vaporized by the heating plates to form steam; para. [0040], surface 18 is provided with a steam outlet 10, through which water vapor is sprayed out; and the steam plays a role in ironing).
Regarding claim 4, the modified method CN’527-Fabrikant teaches at least one of the first exhaust holes is smaller in diameter than at least one second exhaust hole (CN’527, machine translation, para. [0050]).
Regarding claim 5, the modified method CN’527-Fabrikant teaches the upper arm is pivotally attached to the lower arm (CN’527, fig. 2, through rotary shaft 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, dated 06/16/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C 102 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the amended limitations. However, this argument is not commensurate with the rejected claims, as the limitations have not been previously presented. Thus, the amended limitations have been addressed as analyzed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/UYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732