DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 9-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 9-11 of U.S. Patent No. US 11468753 B2 in view of Krahnstoever et al. Pub. No.: US 20110316697 A1 (“Krahnstoever”).
Claims 1-2 and 9-10 of U.S. Patent No. US 11468753 B2 are similar in scope as the instant application of claims 1 and 9, but lack “manipulating a position of two or more dots on a display screen displaying the video”
On the other hand, Krahnstoever discloses “manipulating a position of two or more dots on a display screen displaying the video” (see figs. 5A-5C and paragraphs [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Claims 1-2 and 9-10 of U.S. Patent No. US 11468753 B2 with the teaching of Krahnstoever in order to provide a system and a method for monitoring/ /tracking an entity within an area, to assist operators in detecting suspicious behavior, or other behaviors or events of interest.
Claim 2 correspond to patent claim 3.
Claim 10 correspond to patent claim 11.
Claims 17 and 24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12361806 B2 in view of Kitagawa, Pub. No.: US 20140267751 A1 (“Kitagawa”).
Claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12361806 B2 are similar in scope as the instant application of claims 17 and 24, but lack “calculating a setting region associated with the user input data for at least one image-capture device;” “initiating an alert on a reporting device associated with the detected object;” and, “generating a report on the display device.”
On the other hand, Kitagawa discloses “calculating a setting region associated with the user input data for at least one image-capture device;” (see paragraph [0063]) “initiating an alert on a reporting device associated with the detected object” (see paragraph [0082]) and, “generating a report on the display device” (see paragraphs [0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12361806 B2 of with the teaching of Kitagawa in order to provide a technique to, when monitoring a region using a plurality of cameras, reduce the effort expended in configuring detection settings for each individual camera.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17, 21-24 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kitagawa. Pub. No.: US 20140267751 A1 (“Kitagawa”).
Regarding Claim 17, Kitagawa discloses a security detection system (see fig.7) comprising:
a memory for storing instructions (see paragraph [0094]);
at least one image-capture device (see paragraph [0027]: monitoring cameras 3001 to 3003);
an input device to input data for a setting operation (see paragraph [0035]: The user operation input unit 105 accepts user input for setting detection settings);
a display device (see paragraph [0034]: detection setting display unit 104 is a liquid crystal monitor for display.);
a reporting device (see paragraph [0072]: detection notification display unit 111 displays the results of detection notifications together with camera videos.); and,
a processor configured to execute the instructions (see paragraph [0094]) to perform:
displaying a setting screen on the display device (see paragraph [0044]: setting screen);
processing user input data input by a user using the displayed setting screen (see paragraph [0044]: The marked points A, B, C, D on the camera video displayed on a setting screen are selected through a user operation on the screen);
calculating a setting region associated with the user input data for at least one image-capture device (see paragraph [0044]: The marked points A, B, C, D on the camera video displayed on a setting screen are selected through a user operation on the screen; as a result, coordinates of these four points on the screen are obtained.);
initiating a set action using the user input data (see paragraph [0056]: passage detection is input as a detection type, start coordinates and end coordinates of the passage detection line L1 are input as a site targeted for detection, );
image-capturing the setting region with an image-capture device and generating image data (see paragraph [0060]: monitoring camera 3002 is selected as a camera targeted for detection settings, and a video of the monitoring camera 3002 is displayed on the screen.);
detection processing using a captured image data from the image-capture device (see paragraph [0070]: a detection display terminal when passage detection is performed by the monitoring camera 3001 and information to that effect is notified while the user is viewing a video of the monitoring camera 3002.);
identifying an object in the setting region (see figs.11 and 15);
initiating an alert on a reporting device associated with the detected object (see paragraph [0082]: a video of the monitoring camera 3002 is displayed on the screen, together with detection setting 1 as the detection information. Furthermore, a sentence "PASSAGE DETECTED!" is superimposed on the displayed video. see paragraph [0087]: the video of the monitoring camera 3002 is displayed on the screen, and a sentence "PASSAGE DETECTED BY ANOTHER CAMERA!" is superimposed on the displayed video.); and,
generating a report on the display device (see figs.11 and 15).
Regarding Claim 21, Kitagawa discloses the security detection system as discussed in the rejection of claim 17. Kitagawa further discloses wherein the object is identified using the captured image data as one of a person, a robotic machine, an animal, and a motor vehicle (see figs.11 and 15).
Regarding Claim 22, Kitagawa discloses the security detection system as discussed in the rejection of claim 17. Kitagawa further discloses wherein the setting region is defined by one or more warning lines (see figs.4 and 5).
Regarding Claim 23, Kitagawa discloses the security detection system as discussed in the rejection of claim 22. Kitagawa further discloses wherein the warning lines are defined by manipulating a position of two or more dots on the setting screen (see figs.4, 5 and paragraphs [0044-0045]).
Regarding Claim 24, the claim is being analyzed as discussed with respect to
the rejection of claim 17.
Regarding Claim 28, the claim is being analyzed as discussed with respect to
the rejection of claim 21.
Regarding Claim 29, the claim is being analyzed as discussed with respect to
the rejection of claim 22.
Regarding Claim 30, the claim is being analyzed as discussed with respect to
the rejection of claim 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-20 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitagawa. Pub. No.: US 20140267751 A1 (“Kitagawa”) in view of Luo Pub. No.: US 20070182543 A1 (“Luo”).
Regarding Claim 18, Kitagawa discloses the security detection system as discussed in the rejection of claim 17.
Kitagawa fails to disclose:
wherein the reporting device is a siren.
In analogous art, Luo teaches:
wherein the reporting device is a siren (see paragraphs [0011] and [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system of Kitagawa with the teaching as taught by Luo in order to provide an intelligent home security system by applying psychological knowledge and human intelligence to the system that can significantly reduce the possibility of an intruder breaking-in or even prevent a breaking-in from happening by real-life simulating, reactive real-life simulating, active and intelligent responding.
Regarding Claim 19, Kitagawa discloses the security detection system as discussed in the rejection of claim 17.
Kitagawa fails to disclose:
wherein the reporting device has a light.
In analogous art, Luo teaches:
wherein the reporting device has a light (see paragraphs [0011] and [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system of Kitagawa with the teaching as taught by Luo in order to provide an intelligent home security system by applying psychological knowledge and human intelligence to the system that can significantly reduce the possibility of an intruder breaking-in or even prevent a breaking-in from happening by real-life simulating, reactive real-life simulating, active and intelligent responding.
Regarding Claim 20, Kitagawa discloses the security detection system as discussed in the rejection of claim 17.
Kitagawa fails to disclose:
wherein the reporting device has a speaker.
In analogous art, Luo teaches:
the reporting device has a speaker (see paragraphs [0011] and [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system of Kitagawa with the teaching as taught by Luo in order to provide an intelligent home security system by applying psychological knowledge and human intelligence to the system that can significantly reduce the possibility of an intruder breaking-in or even prevent a breaking-in from happening by real-life simulating, reactive real-life simulating, active and intelligent responding.
Regarding Claim 25, the claim is being analyzed as discussed with respect to
the rejection of claim 18.
Regarding Claim 26, the claim is being analyzed as discussed with respect to
the rejection of claim 19.
Regarding Claim 27, the claim is being analyzed as discussed with respect to
the rejection of claim 20.
Conclusion
/ALAZAR TILAHUN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/A.T/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424