DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued that Boeics fails to disclose that the vane 4 and vane 7 do not face each other in the circumferential direction. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 has been amended to recite that that “the first vane and the second vane at least partially face each other in the circumferential direction”. Boeics discloses in Fig. 1a that the blades (4 and 7) can partially overlap depending on how they are positioned and so would partially face each other in the circumferential direction. Further, when the blades (4 and 7) of Boeics are positioned in the configuration shown in Fig. 1b they can still be interpreted to read on the claimed limitation in that the direction they face each other includes a circumferential element. For these reasons Applicant’s arguments have not been found persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boeics (US 3,588,270).
Regarding claim 1, Boeics (Fig. 1a-3b) discloses a rotary machine (Col. 1, lines 5-8: Centrifugal Compressor) comprising: an impeller (3); and a plurality of vanes (4 and 7) arranged apart from each other in a circumferential direction of the impeller (3) on a radially outer side with respect to the impeller (3), each of the vanes (4 and 7) being provided in such a manner as to be turnable about a turning axis extending in a rotation axis direction of the impeller, the plurality of vanes (4 and 7) including a first vane (4) and a second vane (7), turning axes (12 and 9, respectively) of the first vane (4) and the second vane (7) in a radial direction of the impeller (3) have mutually different relative positions, wherein the first vane (4) and the second vane (7) at least partially face each other in the circumferential direction (Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 2, Boeics discloses the rotary machine according to claim 1, wherein Boeics (Fig. 1a-3b) further discloses that in the plurality of vanes (4 and 7), the first vane (4) and the second vane (7) are alternately arranged in the circumferential direction.
Regarding claim 3, Boeics discloses the rotary machine according to claim 1, wherein Boeics (Fig. 1a-3b) further discloses a first drive ring (24) extending in the circumferential direction, the first drive ring (24) being provided in such a manner as to be turnable in the circumferential direction; a first link (20) having a first end engaged with the first drive ring (24) and a second end provided in such a manner as to be turnable integrally with the first vane (4) about the turning axis of the first vane (4); a second drive ring (25) extending in the circumferential direction, the second drive ring (25) being provided in such a manner as to be turnable in the circumferential direction; and a second link (21) having a first end engaged with the second drive ring (25) and a second end provided in such a manner as to be turnable integrally with the second vane (7) about the turning axis of the second vane (7). Refer to Fig. I below.
Fig. I. Boeics, Fig. 3b (Annotated)
Regarding claim 4, Boeics discloses the rotary machine according to claim 1, wherein Boeics (Fig. 1a-3b) further discloses that the plurality of vanes (4 and 7) can transition to a reference state (interpreted as Fig. 1b) in which an inclination with respect to the circumferential direction and a position in the radial direction of the first vane (4) coincide with an inclination with respect to the circumferential direction and a position in the radial direction of the second vane (7), respectively.
Regarding claim 5, Boeics discloses the rotary machine according to claim 4, wherein Boeics (Fig. 1a-3b) further discloses that the reference state (Fig. 1b), the inclinations of the first vane (4) and the second vane (7) with respect to the circumferential direction are minimized.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boeics (US 3,588,270). in view of Iwakiri (US 11,105,336).
Regarding claims 6-10, Boeics fails to explicitly disclose a turbocharger comprising the rotary machine according to claims 1-5, respectively.
Iwakiri (Fig. 1) teaches that it is well known for a turbocharger to include a centrifugal compressor. Based on this teaching, it would have been obvious to use Boeics centrifugal compressor in a turbocharger, since Iwakiri teaches that it is a well known environment for centrifugal compressors.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/DMC/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745