DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-13 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the first action on merits.
Information disclosure statement was filed and reviewed by examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Umemoto et al (US 20230104274 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Umemoto discloses an autonomous travel method for causing a work vehicle to autonomously travel along a target route (see at least [abstract], [0108-0109], and [0114-0115]), comprising: setting a travel mode of the work vehicle to an autonomous travel mode or a manual travel mode (see at least [0108-0109], [0114-0115], [0133-0134], [0135-0138], [0141-0144], [0147-0150], [0152-0154], and [0209-0211]); and maintaining the autonomous travel mode when the work vehicle set in the autonomous travel mode satisfies an autonomous travel maintaining condition (see at least [0133-0136], [0141-0144], [0148-0150], [0152-0154], [0209-0211], and [0216]).
With respect to claim 3, Umemoto discloses wherein: the autonomous travel is stopped when the work vehicle autonomously traveling in the autonomous travel mode satisfies an autonomous travel stop condition (see at least [0108-0109], [0114-0115], [0133-0134], [0135-0138], [0141-0144], [0147-0150], [0152-0154], and [0209-0211]), and resumption of the autonomous travel is permitted when the work vehicle satisfies the autonomous travel maintaining condition (see at least [0108-0109], [0114-0115], [0133-0134], [0135-0138], [0141-0144], [0147-0150], [0152-0154], [0209-0211], and [0216]).
With respect to claim 4, Umemoto discloses wherein: the work vehicle maintains the autonomous travel mode when the autonomous travel is stopped by an operation of an operation acceptor that temporarily stops the autonomous travel (see at least [0108-0109], [0114-0115], [0133-0138], [0141-0144], [0147-0150], [0152-0154], [0209-0211], and [0216]).
With respect to claim 5, Umemoto discloses wherein: the work vehicle maintains the autonomous travel mode when the autonomous travel is stopped due to positioning accuracy becoming less than a predetermined accuracy (see at least [0108-0109], [0114-0115], [0133-0138], [0141-0144], [0147-0150], [0152-0154], [0209-0211], and [0216]).
With respect to claim 6, Umemoto discloses wherein: the work vehicle maintains the autonomous travel mode when the autonomous travel is stopped due to detection of an obstacle (see at least [0108-0109], [0114-0115], [0133-0138], [0141-0144], [0147-0150], [0152-0154], [0209-0211], and [0216]).
With respect to claim 12, it is directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium claim that recite substantially the same limitations as the respective method claim 1. As such, claim 12 is rejected for substantially the same reasons given for the respective method claim 1 and is incorporated herein.
With respect to claim 13, it is directed to a system claim that recites substantially the same limitations as the respective method claim 1. As such, claim 13 is rejected for substantially the same reasons given for the respective method claim 1 and is incorporated herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umemoto et al (US 20230104274 A1) in view of Yasuyama et al (US 20250117014 A1).
With respect to claim 2, Umemoto do not specifically disclose wherein: when the work vehicle set in the autonomous travel mode does not satisfy the autonomous travel maintaining condition, the work vehicle is switched to the manual travel mode.
Yasuyama teaches wherein: when the work vehicle set in the autonomous travel mode does not satisfy the autonomous travel maintaining condition, the work vehicle is switched to the manual travel mode (see at least [0074-0075], [0083], [0095], [0122-0123], [0127], [0139-0140], and [0196]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Umemoto, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Yasuyama wherein: when the work vehicle set in the autonomous travel mode does not satisfy the autonomous travel maintaining condition, the work vehicle is switched to the manual travel mode. This would be done to improve resumption of autonomous driving of a vehicle (see Yasuyama para 0004).
With respect to claim 7, Umemoto do not specifically disclose wherein: the work vehicle switches to the manual travel mode when an operation of setting the work machine to a non-work position is received while the work vehicle autonomously travels in the autonomous travel mode, and the work vehicle maintains the autonomous travel mode when the work vehicle receives an operation to set the work machine to the non-work position while the work vehicle is stopped in the autonomous travel mode.
Yasuyama teaches wherein: the work vehicle switches to the manual travel mode when an operation of setting the work machine to a non-work position is received while the work vehicle autonomously travels in the autonomous travel mode (see at least [0074-0075], [0083], [0095], [0122-0123], [0127], [0139-0140], and [0196]), and the work vehicle maintains the autonomous travel mode when the work vehicle receives an operation to set the work machine to the non-work position while the work vehicle is stopped in the autonomous travel mode (see at least [0113-0119], [0027-0029], [0073-0076], [0095-0106], [0110-0113], [0118-0120], [0148], and [0184-0187]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Umemoto, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Yasuyama wherein: the work vehicle switches to the manual travel mode when an operation of setting the work machine to a non-work position is received while the work vehicle autonomously travels in the autonomous travel mode, and the work vehicle maintains the autonomous travel mode when the work vehicle receives an operation to set the work machine to the non-work position while the work vehicle is stopped in the autonomous travel mode. This would be done to improve resumption of autonomous driving of a vehicle (see Yasuyama para 0004).
With respect to claim 10, Umemoto do not specifically disclose wherein: the work vehicle switches to the manual travel mode when a communication state between the work vehicle and an operation terminal is deteriorated to a predetermined state while the work vehicle autonomously travels in the autonomous travel mode, and the work vehicle maintains the autonomous travel mode when the communication state between the work vehicle and the operation terminal is deteriorated to the predetermined state while the work vehicle is stopped in the autonomous travel mode.
Yasuyama teaches wherein: the work vehicle switches to the manual travel mode when a communication state between the work vehicle and an operation terminal is deteriorated to a predetermined state while the work vehicle autonomously travels in the autonomous travel mode (see at least [0017], [0025], [0164-0165], [0182], and [0184-0187]), and the work vehicle maintains the autonomous travel mode when the communication state between the work vehicle and the operation terminal is deteriorated to the predetermined state while the work vehicle is stopped in the autonomous travel mode (see at least [0017], [0025], [0164-0165], [0182], and [0184-0187]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Umemoto, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Yasuyama wherein: the work vehicle switches to the manual travel mode when a communication state between the work vehicle and an operation terminal is deteriorated to a predetermined state while the work vehicle autonomously travels in the autonomous travel mode, and the work vehicle maintains the autonomous travel mode when the communication state between the work vehicle and the operation terminal is deteriorated to the predetermined state while the work vehicle is stopped in the autonomous travel mode. This would be done to improve resumption of autonomous driving of a vehicle (see Yasuyama para 0004).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umemoto et al (US 20230104274 A1) in view of Kume et al (US 20240288883 A1).
With respect to claim 8, Umemoto do not specifically disclose wherein: the work vehicle is switched to the manual travel mode when an operator leaves a driver's seat while the work vehicle autonomously travels in the autonomous travel mode, and the work vehicle maintains the autonomous travel mode when the operator leaves the driver's seat while the work vehicle is stopped in the autonomous travel mode.
Kume teaches wherein: the work vehicle is switched to the manual travel mode when an operator leaves a driver's seat while the work vehicle autonomously travels in the autonomous travel mode (see at least [0082-0083]), and the work vehicle maintains the autonomous travel mode when the operator leaves the driver's seat while the work vehicle is stopped in the autonomous travel mode (see at least [0082-0083], [0087], [0096], and [claims 6-7]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Umemoto, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Kume teaches wherein: the work vehicle is switched to the manual travel mode when an operator leaves a driver's seat while the work vehicle autonomously travels in the autonomous travel mode, and the work vehicle maintains the autonomous travel mode when the operator leaves the driver's seat while the work vehicle is stopped in the autonomous travel mode. This would be done to safely response to determined/detected abnormality of a vehicle (see Kume para 0004).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umemoto et al (US 20230104274 A1) in view of Kim et al (US 20210323579 A1).
With respect to claim 9, Umemoto do not specifically disclose wherein: the work vehicle switches to the manual travel mode when a steering operation on a steering section is received while the work vehicle autonomously travels in the autonomous travel mode, and the work vehicle maintains the autonomous travel mode when the steering operation on the steering section is received while the work vehicle is stopped in the autonomous travel mode.
Kim teaches wherein: the work vehicle switches to the manual travel mode when a steering operation on a steering section is received while the work vehicle autonomously travels in the autonomous travel mode (see at least [0019] and [0053-0060]), and the work vehicle maintains the autonomous travel mode when the steering operation on the steering section is received while the work vehicle is stopped in the autonomous travel mode (see at least [0011-0013], [0021-0025], [0019] and [0053-0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Umemoto, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Kim teaches wherein: the work vehicle switches to the manual travel mode when a steering operation on a steering section is received while the work vehicle autonomously travels in the autonomous travel mode, and the work vehicle maintains the autonomous travel mode when the steering operation on the steering section is received while the work vehicle is stopped in the autonomous travel mode. This would be done to perform maximized responses when autonomous vehicle steering is detected (see Kim para 0004).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umemoto et al (US 20230104274 A1) in view of Sato et al (US 20180059661 A1).
With respect to claim 11, Umemoto do not specifically disclose wherein, in a case where the work vehicle that has stopped the autonomous travel satisfies the autonomous travel maintaining condition, resumption of the autonomous travel is permitted when positioning accuracy of the work vehicle is equal to or more than predetermined accuracy, and a notification of warning information is made for an operator when the positioning accuracy of the work vehicle is less than the predetermined accuracy.
Sato teaches wherein, in a case where the work vehicle that has stopped the autonomous travel satisfies the autonomous travel maintaining condition, resumption of the autonomous travel is permitted when positioning accuracy of the work vehicle is equal to or more than predetermined accuracy (see at least [0006-0007], [0022-0025], [0034-0042], [0044-0047], [0050-0052], and [0056-0057]), and a notification of warning information is made for an operator when the positioning accuracy of the work vehicle is less than the predetermined accuracy (see at least [0006-0007], [0022-0025], [0034-0042], [0044-0047], [0050-0052], and [0056-0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Umemoto, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Kim teaches wherein, in a case where the work vehicle that has stopped the autonomous travel satisfies the autonomous travel maintaining condition, resumption of the autonomous travel is permitted when positioning accuracy of the work vehicle is equal to or more than predetermined accuracy, and a notification of warning information is made for an operator when the positioning accuracy of the work vehicle is less than the predetermined accuracy. This would be done to account for situations in which performing autonomous driving is difficult and thus increasing safety of vehicle operating in autonomous driving (see Sato para 0004).
Inquiry
/ABDALLA A KHALED/Examiner, Art Unit 3667