DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the phrase “the disclosure”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 5, 6, 8, 9 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 line 3, change the phrase “from the outer skin or outer body (7) of the vehicle” to -from an outer skin or outer body (7) of the vehicle- (proper antecedent of basis).
Claims 2, 5, 6, 8, 9 and 11, change the term “sensor apparatus” to -sensor device-.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5, 7, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 5, 8 and 10 require the following:
At the instant, the limitation is indefinite. Here is the invention:
As shown, the carrier 8 is mounted to the bearing structure 4 and is located within the actuator shells 9, 10, so as to allow the sensor apparatus to be arranged therewithin; not projecting outwardly from the outer skin of the vehicle.
Therefore, in order to continue with the examination, the limitation will be interpreted and examined as mentioned above. Correction is required.
As to claim 3, the claim requires that the carrier is received at least in part or in sections between the shells.
At the instant, the limitation is indefinite since the carrier is one member, that is received between the shells. Correction is required.
As to claim 7, the claim requires that the switch is configured as an MOC switch. At the instant, it is unclear how.
A MOC switch stands for Mechanism-Operated Contacts. It is an auxiliary switch mounted inside a switchgear cell (compartment) that is mechanically linked to a circuit breaker operating mechanism.
As seen above, it is unclear how 11 is a MOC switch. Therefore, in order to continue with the examination, a very broad interpretation will be given. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 7,422,258 to Schindler et al (Schindler) in view of US Pat No 7,217,899 to Hidaka et al (Hidaka).
Regarding claim 1, Schindler discloses an actuating mechanism (1) for actuating, in particular unlocking and opening or locking, a vehicle door. The actuating mechanism has an actuator (2) for opening the vehicle door manually, and a bearing structure (4), wherein the actuator is pivotably mounted relative to the bearing structure about a pivot axis on the bearing structure, and a sensor device (6) is arranged or accommodated at least in part or in sections, which sensor apparatus is configured to generate an electrical signal when the actuator (3) is actuated.
Schindler fails to disclose that the actuator is configured in part or in sections as a housing shell. Schindler shows a one-piece member.
Hidaka teaches that it is well known in the art to provide an actuator (14) composed of sections as a housing shell (22, 23) that accommodates a sensor device (42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture the actuator described by Schindler as one consisted of parts creating a shell, as taught by Hidaka, in order to easily mount the elements in place.
Applicant is reminded that separate elements fastened together, in place of a one-piece construction, is a design consideration within the skill of the art.
As to claim 2, Schindler discloses that the sensor device is located on the bearing structure.
Hidaka teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a carrier (46) wherein the sensor device is arranged or received.
As to claims 3 and 5, Hidaka teaches that the actuator is configured at least in part or in sections as a housing with an upper housing shell (23) and a lower housing shell (22), and wherein the carrier (46) is received between the upper housing shell and the lower housing shell.
As to claim 4, Hidaka teaches that the upper housing shell and the lower housing shell are each designed as separate components which are connected or can be connected to one another in a detachable manner via a positive-locking connection (screws).
As to claim 11, Schindler discloses that the actuator is mounted movably relative to the bearing structure such that manipulation of the actuator causes the actuator to pivot, wherein the sensor apparatus is configured to capture movement of the actuator relative to the bearing structure.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 7,422,258 to Schindler et al (Schindler) in view of US Pat No 7,217,899 to Hidaka et al (Hidaka) and further in view of DE 102008032820 to Habecke.
As to claims 6 and 7, Schindler, as modified by Hidaka, fails to disclose that the sensor device is a switch that can be actuated via a switch tappet connected to the actuator. Schindler discloses a different sensor that detects the approach of the user.
Habecke teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a sensor device (20) for an actuator, as a switch (21) having a tappet (31) to activate a detector (22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the sensor device described by Schindler, as modified by Hidaka, as a mechanical switch, as taught by Habecke, in order to allow the user to chose a device to electronically operate the vehicle door and to positively input a actuation.
As to claim 16, Schindler, as modified by Hidaka and Habecke, teaches that the switch is a microswitch.
As to claim 17, Schindler, as modified by Hidaka and Habecke, teaches that the switch is a capacitive switch or an inductive switch.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 7,422,258 to Schindler et al (Schindler) in view of US Pat No 7,217,899 to Hidaka et al (Hidaka) and further in view of US Pat No 11,486,173 to Marcolino et al (Marcolino).
Schindler, as modified by Hidaka, fails to disclose that the sensor device is a radar sensor and/or at least one IR sensor. Schindler discloses a different sensor that detects the approach of the user.
Marcolino that it is well known in the art to provide a sensor device (320) that can be among other things a radar sensor and/or at least one IR sensor (col 8 line 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the sensor device described by Schindler, as modified by Hidaka, as a radar or IR sensor, as taught by Marcolino, since it would be considered as a design consideration within the art to choose any of those proximity sensors.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 7,422,258 to Schindler et al (Schindler) in view of US Pat No 7,217,899 to Hidaka et al (Hidaka) and further in view of US Pat Application Publication No 20240352775 to Scheiern et al (Scheiern).
Schindler, as modified by Hidaka, fails to disclose that the sensor device further comprises an NFC data transmission device.
Scheiern teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a sensor device with a proximity sensor (46) that has an NFC data transmission device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the sensor device described by Schindler, as modified by Hidaka, with an NFC data transmission device, as taught by Scheiern, in order to provide the technology to exchange data wireless.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 7,422,258 to Schindler et al (Schindler) in view of US Pat No 7,217,899 to Hidaka et al (Hidaka) and further in view of US Pat No 12,248,882 to Patel et al (Patel).
Schindler, as modified by Hidaka, fails to disclose that the actuating mechanism comprises at least one light source which is accommodated in the interior of the actuator.
Patel teaches that it is well known in the art to provide an actuating mechanism that has an actuator (52) with a light source (84) which is accommodated in the interior of the actuator.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the mechanism described by Schindler, as modified by Hidaka, with a light source, as taught by Patel, in order to provide illumination around the mechanism area.
Claim(s) 12-15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 7,422,258 to Schindler et al (Schindler) in view of US Pat No 7,217,899 to Hidaka et al (Hidaka) and further in view of US Pat No 10,294,692 to Smart.
As to claim 12, Schindler, as modified by Hidaka, fails to disclose that the actuating mechanism comprises a biasing element is assigned to the actuator for biasing the actuator into a first pivot position relative to the bearing structure.
Smart teaches that it is well known in the art to provide an actuator (10) with a biasing element (26) to aid in moving the actuator to a desired position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the mechanism described by Schindler, as modified by Hidaka, with a biasing element, as taught by Smart, in order to aid in moving the actuator to any desired position.
As to claims 13, 14 and 18, Smart illustrates that the biasing element (26) is configured as a two-way spring element or a bi-directional spring element with tolerance compensation or as a double-wound torsion spring.
As to claim 15, Smart illustrates that the bi-directional spring element has a first spring leg and a second spring leg, wherein the first spring leg has an additional degree of elasticity for tolerance compensation, so that an alignment of the actuator relative to a bearing structure (handle housing, not shown) is affected on the first spring leg.
Conclusion
/Carlos Lugo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3675
August 25, 2026