DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a plurality of driving elements configured to control at least one light source of a plurality of light sources” in claim 1.
“a switch configured to receive a carry signal from the controller through the carry line and transmit the carry signal to the plurality of scan lines” in claim 2.
“switch is further configured to determine a transmission time point of the carry signal through each of the plurality of scan lines based on the number of scan groups”; “one of the driving elements included in the plurality of scan groups is configured to generate the scan signal based on the carry signal being received from the switch, and wherein the at least one of the driving element is further configured to transmit an on- signal to the light source on a basis of the scan signal” in claim 3.
“the switch is further configured to transmit the carry signal to the plurality of scan lines for each 1/n cycle of a reference cycle based on the number of scan groups being n, wherein the reference cycle is a cycle of the scan signal, and wherein n is a natural number” in claim 4.
“the plurality of the one or more driving elements included in a same scan group, of the scan groups, are connected by a same scan line, of the scan lines, and are configured to generate the scan signals at an interval of a reference cycle based on an order in which the one or more driving elements are connected by the scan line” in claim 8.
“a switch configured to receive a carry signal from the controller through the carry line and to transmit the carry signal to the plurality of scan lines” in claim 11.
“wherein the switch is further configured to transmit the carry signal to the plurality of scan lines for each 1/n cycle of a reference cycle based on the number of scan groups being n”; “the driving elements included in the plurality of scan groups are configured to generate the scan signal based on the carry signal is received from the switch, wherein at least one of the driving elements is configured to transmit an on-signal to at least one of the light sources based on the scan signal, wherein the reference cycle is a cycle of the scan signal, and wherein n is a natural number” in claim 12.
Paragraph 0243 of the patent publication describes “the plurality of driving elements 200 may each include a 1C2T (one capacitor and two transistors) topology circuit. However, the circuit structure of the driving element 200 is not limited thereto. For example, the driving element 200 may include a 3T1C topology circuit to which a transistor for correcting a body effect of a driving transistor is added”. However, the specification fails to provide any disclosure describing the structure for the claimed switch.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 2-4, 11-12 includes a structural modifier, however the specification fails to provide any disclosure describing the structure for the claimed structural modifier “switch” in a manner that one having ordinary skill in the art can make use of the invention.
Claims 2-9 are further rejected under rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, for being directly or indirectly dependent on claim 1.
Claims 12-15 are further rejected under rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, for being directly or indirectly dependent on claim 11.
Claims 2-4, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 2-4, 11-12 includes a structural modifier “switch; however, the specification fails to provide any disclosure describing the structure for the claimed switch. Hence the structure of the structural modifier in unknown which renders the claim indefinite.
Claims 2-9 are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for being directly or indirectly dependent on rejected claim 1.
Claims 12-15 are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for being directly or indirectly dependent on rejected claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al (US Pub 2023/0055132) in view of LEE et al (US Pub 2020/0258455) referred to as LEE455.
With respect to claim 1, LEE discloses a light source device comprising (fig. 2; discloses display device 10 comprising the backlight unit 100 (i.e. light source device)): a plurality of light source modules each respectively comprising ones of a plurality of driving elements configured to control at least one light source of a plurality of light sources (fig. 10; discloses plurality of light source module each comprising plurality of driving devices 300 that control plurality of light sources 111); a plurality of scan lines configured to transmit scan signals to the plurality of light source modules (fig. 13; discloses plurality of scan lines S1 S2… connected to driving devices 300 and supply scan signals to the driving devices; par 0149; discloses There are a plurality of scan lines S1 and S2 for providing scan signals to the plurality of driving devices 300 from the dimming driver 170); a data line configured to transmit a data signal to the plurality of scan groups (fig. 13; discloses data lines D1, D2.. connected to driving device 300 that supply data signals to the driving device 300; par 0149; discloses a plurality of data lines D1 and D2 for providing dimming signals to the plurality of driving devices 300 from the dimming driver 170); and a controller configured to determine a generation time point of a scan signal, of the scan signals, (fig. 13; dimming driver 170; par 0152; discloses The driving devices 300 may be input-activated by scan signals of the dimming driver 170, and may receive a dimming signal from the dimming driver 170. The dimming driver 170 may provide a scan signal to the driving devices 300 arranged in one of the plurality of rows and dimming signals to the driving devices 300 arranged in the plurality of columns; For example, while the dimming driver 170 may be outputting a scan signal through the first scan line S1, the first driving device 310a and the second driving device 300b may receive dimming signals through the first and second data lines D1 and D2, respectively. In this case, the fifth driving device 300e and the sixth driving device 300f do not receive the dimming signals; par 0153; discloses While the dimming driver 170 may be outputting a scan signal through the second scan line S2, the fifth driving device 310e and the sixth driving device 300f may receive dimming signals through the first and second data lines D1 and D2, respectively. In this case, the first driving device 300a and the second driving device 300b do not receive the dimming signals);
LEE discloses the controller configured to generate the data signal (par 0149; discloses a plurality of data lines D1 and D2 for providing dimming signals to the plurality of driving devices 300 from the dimming driver 170);
LEE doesn’t expressly disclose forming a plurality of scan lines groups comprising the light source modules and to determine a cycle of the data signal based on a number of scan groups of the plurality of scan groups;
In the same field of endeavor, LEE455 discloses light source apparatus and display apparatus (see abstract); LEE455 discloses forming a plurality of scan lines groups comprising the light source modules (par 0076; discloses Referring to FIGS. 1-5, the light source BLU may include a plurality of scan blocks (e.g., SB1 to SB6 in FIG. 5). The scan blocks SB1 to SB6 may include a plurality of local dimming blocks (e.g., LB1 to LB144 in FIG. 5). For example, a first scan block SB1 may include local dimming blocks LB1 to LB12 in a first row and local dimming blocks LB13 to LB24 in a second row. For example, a second scan block SB2 may include local dimming blocks LB25 to LB36 in a third row and local dimming blocks LB37 to LB48 in a fourth row. For example, a third scan block SB3 may include local dimming blocks LB49 to LB60 in a fifth row and local dimming blocks LB61 to LB72 in a sixth row) and to determine a cycle of the data signal based on a number of scan groups of the plurality of scan groups (par 0070; discloses The light source driver 600 may receive the dimming signal DIMM from the driving controller 200. The light source driver 600 may convert the dimming signal DIMM into a light source driving signal. The light source driver 600 may output the light source driving signal to the light source BLU. Par 0082; discloses the light source driving signal may include a light source intensity value representing a light intensity of the local dimming block and a delay value representing a degree of a delay of the local dimming block. Par 0094; discloses The delay parameter DLYPAR may be determined by the count value HCOUNT of the horizontal synchronizing signal HSYNC of the light source driving signal and the number of the scan blocks of the light source BLU);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by LEE to incorporate the teachings of LEE455 to form the light sources module into plurality of scan groups and supply the driving signal to the plurality of groups having consistent delay based on the number of scan groups in order to efficiently drive the light source device while reducing power consumption and improve the response time.
With respect to claim 5, LEE as modified by LEE455 discloses wherein the controller is further configured to transmit the data signal to at least one of the driving elements included in the plurality of scan groups based on the cycle of the data signal, (LEE; par 0149; discloses a plurality of data lines D1 and D2 for providing dimming signals to the plurality of driving devices 300 from the dimming driver 170; par 0152; discloses while the dimming driver 170 may be outputting a scan signal through the first scan line S1, the first driving device 310a and the second driving device 300b may receive dimming signals through the first and second data lines D1 and D2, respectively. In this case, the fifth driving device 300e and the sixth driving device 300f do not receive the dimming signals) and wherein the data signal comprises a signal corresponding to a brightness of the at least one light source (par 0115; discloses the dimming driver 170 may receive dimming data from the image processor 90, and convert the dimming data to dimming signals for controlling the plurality of driving devices 300. The dimming driver 170 may provide the dimming signals to the respective driving devices 300. The dimming data may include information about brightness of each of the plurality of dimming blocks 200, and/or information about brightness of light sources 111 included in each of the plurality of dimming blocks 200).
With respect to claim 6, LEE as modified by LEE455 discloses wherein the data line is connected to the driving elements included in the plurality of scan groups, (LEE; fig. 13; discloses data lines D1, D2,… connected between the dimming driver 170 and the plurality of driving device 300 arranged in the row directions) and wherein the controller is further configured to transmit the data signal to the driving elements included in the plurality of scan groups based on an order in which the driving elements are connected by the data line (LEE; par 0152; discloses while the dimming driver 170 may be outputting a scan signal through the first scan line S1, the first driving device 310a and the second driving device 300b may receive dimming signals through the first and second data lines D1 and D2, respectively. In this case, the fifth driving device 300e and the sixth driving device 300f do not receive the dimming signals; par 0153; discloses While the dimming driver 170 may be outputting a scan signal through the second scan line S2, the fifth driving device 310e and the sixth driving device 300f may receive dimming signals through the first and second data lines D1 and D2, respectively. In this case, the first driving device 300a and the second driving device 300b do not receive the dimming signals).
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al (US Pub 2023/0055132) in view of LEE et al (US Pub 2020/0258455) referred to as LEE455 and Konno et al (US Pub 2005/0184952).
With respect to claim 2, LEE as modified by LEE455 discloses further comprising: a carry line connected to the controller (LEE; fig. 11; connection line 131 connected to second interface board 130 housing the dimming driver 170 which connects the dimming driver to the plurality of driving device 300);
LEE as modified by LEE455 don’t expressly disclose a switch configured to receive a carry signal from the controller through the carry line and transmit the carry signal to the plurality of scan lines;
In the same field of endeavor, Konno discloses display apparatus and control method (see abstract); Konno discloses a switch configured to receive a carry signal from the controller through the carry line and transmit the carry signal to the plurality of scan lines (fig. 12; row driver 22; par 0113; discloses A timing signal s110 to the row driver 22 is also fed from the backlight control means 80; fig. 20 and par 0127; discloses G1, G2, . . . , Gn are sequentially delivered from the scan lines of row driver 22 shown in FIG. 20);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by LEE as modified by LEE455 to incorporate the teachings of Konno to include a row driver connected between the scan lines and the dimming controller such that scan signals are sequentially supplied to plurality of scan lines while reducing the output pins for the dimming controller.
With respect to claim 3, LEE as modified by LEE455 and Konno discloses wherein the switch is further configured to determine a transmission time point of the carry signal through each of the plurality of scan lines based on the number of scan groups, wherein at least one of the driving elements included in the plurality of scan groups is configured to generate the scan signal based on the carry signal being received from the switch, (LEE; par 0152; discloses while the dimming driver 170 may be outputting a scan signal through the first scan line S1, the first driving device 310a and the second driving device 300b may receive dimming signals through the first and second data lines D1 and D2, respectively. In this case, the fifth driving device 300e and the sixth driving device 300f do not receive the dimming signals. Par 0153; discloses While the dimming driver 170 may be outputting a scan signal through the second scan line S2, the fifth driving device 310e and the sixth driving device 300f may receive dimming signals through the first and second data lines D1 and D2, respectively. In this case, the first driving device 300a and the second driving device 300b do not receive the dimming signals) and wherein the at least one of the driving element is further configured to transmit an on- signal to the light source on a basis of the scan signal (LEE; par 0147; discloses Based on the dimming signal, the driving device 300 may control the light sources 111 included in the plurality of dimming blocks. For example, the first driving device 300a may control the light sources 111 belonging to the first dimming block 200a and second dimming block 200b. The second driving device 300b may control the light sources 111 belonging to the third dimming block 200c, fourth dimming block 200d, and fifth dimming block 200e. The driving device 300 may control an amount of current (the magnitude of a driving current) to be applied to the light sources 111 based on the dimming signal);
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al (US Pub 2023/0055132) in view of LEE et al (US Pub 2020/0258455) referred to as LEE455 and Konno et al (US Pub 2005/0184952) and KIM et al (US Pub 2024/0249692)
With respect to claim 4, LEE as modified by LEE455 and Konno don’t expressly disclose wherein the switch is further configured to transmit the carry signal to the plurality of scan lines for each 1/n cycle of a reference cycle based on the number of scan groups being n, wherein the reference cycle is a cycle of the scan signal, and wherein n is a natural number;
In the same field of endeavor, KIM discloses a backlight device for display and control method (see abstract); KIM discloses wherein the switch is further configured to transmit the carry signal to the plurality of scan lines for each 1/n cycle of a reference cycle based on the number of scan groups being n, wherein the reference cycle is a cycle of the scan signal, and wherein n is a natural number (par 0087; discloses The row driver 20 is configured to receive the row data and to provide the row signals G1, G2, and so forth up to G9 that correspond to the rows for the light-emitting diode channels on a basis per one frame (i.e. reference cycle) of the backlight in a manner that corresponds to the row data. The row signals G1, G2, and so forth up to G9 have a preset pulse width and are sequentially provided according to the horizontal period for the backlight. Row-based signal lines to which the row signals G1, G2, and so forth up to G9 are applied may be referred to as row lines);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by LEE as modified by LEE455 and Konno to incorporate the teachings of KIM to sequentially apply scan signal within a frame period having preset pulse width in order to maintain light emission for one frame. Furthermore, the light emission from the light-emitting diode channels can be sufficiently maintained for the backlight, thereby reducing or eliminating flicker.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al (US Pub 2023/0055132) in view of LEE et al (US Pub 2020/0258455) referred to as LEE455 and KIM et al (US Pub 2024/0249692).
With respect to claim 7, LEE as modified by LEE455 discloses wherein the controller is further configured to transmit the data signal through the data line, (LEE; fig. 13; discloses the dimming driver 170 transmits the data signals to the driving device 300 via data lines D1, D2..);
LEE as modified by LEE455 don’t expressly discloses wherein the controller is further configured to determine the cycle of the data signal to be equal to or less than 1/n of a reference cycle based on the number of scan groups being n, and wherein n is a natural number;
In the same field of endeavor, KIM discloses a backlight device for display and control method (see abstract); KIM discloses wherein the controller is further configured to determine the cycle of the data signal to be equal to or less than 1/n of a reference cycle based on the number of scan groups being n, and wherein n is a natural number (par 0085; discloses The column driver 10 is configured to provide the column signals that correspond to every horizontal period for the backlight. For example, the column driver 10 provides the column signals D1, D2, and D3 that correspond to the columns for the light-emitting diode channels, on a per-horizontal period basis, simultaneously; fig. 8; discloses duration of data line D1 is equal to the duration of scan lines G1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by LEE as modified by LEE455 to incorporate the teachings of KIM to simultaneously apply data signal within a frame period having pulse width equal to scan signals in order to maintain light emission for one frame. Furthermore, the light emission from the light-emitting diode channels can be sufficiently maintained for the backlight, thereby reducing or eliminating flicker.
With respect to claim 8, LEE as modified by LEE455 discloses wherein based on the one or more driving elements included in each of the plurality of scan groups being provided as a plurality of the one or more driving elements, the plurality of the one or more driving elements included in a same scan group, of the scan groups, are connected by a same scan line, of the scan lines, (LEE; par 0150; discloses the driving devices 300 for controlling the light sources 111 of the dimming blocks belonging to the same row may share the same scan line. For example, the first and second driving devices 300a and 300b included in the first light source module 110-1 may share a first scan line S1. The fifth and sixth driving devices 300e and 300f included in the third light source module 110-3 may share a second scan line S1) and are configured to generate the scan signals based on an order in which the one or more driving elements are connected by the scan line (par 0152; discloses while the dimming driver 170 may be outputting a scan signal through the first scan line S1, the first driving device 310a and the second driving device 300b may receive dimming signals through the first and second data lines D1 and D2, respectively. In this case, the fifth driving device 300e and the sixth driving device 300f do not receive the dimming signals; par 0153; discloses While the dimming driver 170 may be outputting a scan signal through the second scan line S2, the fifth driving device 310e and the sixth driving device 300f may receive dimming signals through the first and second data lines D1 and D2, respectively. In this case, the first driving device 300a and the second driving device 300b do not receive the dimming signals);
LEE as modified by LEE455 don’t expressly disclose generate the scan signals at an interval of a reference cycle;
In the same field of endeavor, KIM discloses a backlight device for display and control method (see abstract); KIM discloses generate the scan signals at an interval of a reference cycle (par 0087; discloses the row driver 20 is configured to receive the row data and to provide the row signals G1, G2, and so forth up to G9 that correspond to the rows for the light-emitting diode channels on a basis per one frame of the backlight in a manner that corresponds to the row data. The row signals G1, G2, and so forth up to G9 have a preset pulse width and are sequentially provided according to the horizontal period for the backlight);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by LEE as modified by LEE455 to incorporate the teachings of KIM to sequentially apply scan signal within a frame period having preset pulse width in order to maintain light emission for one frame. Furthermore, the light emission from the light-emitting diode channels can be sufficiently maintained for the backlight, thereby reducing or eliminating flicker.
With respect to claim 10, LEE discloses a display apparatus (fig. 2; discloses display device 10) comprising: a plurality of light sources corresponding to a plurality of pixels (fig. 4; discloses backlight 100 includes plurality of light sources 111; par 0047; discloses The liquid crystal panel 20 may be arranged in front of the backlight unit 100 for blocking or passing the light emitted from the backlight unit 100 to produce the image I. The front surface of the liquid crystal panel 20 may form the screen 12 of the aforementioned display apparatus 10, and the liquid crystal panel 20 may include the plurality of pixels P. The plurality of pixels P of the liquid crystal panel 20 may each separately block or pass the light from the backlight unit 100, and the light having passed the plurality of pixels P forms the image I to be displayed on the screen 12 ); a plurality of driving elements respectively connected to the plurality of light sources (fig. 13; discloses plurality of driving device 300 connected to plurality of light source 111) and grouped into a plurality of data groups (par 0139; discloses the plurality of dimming blocks may be divided into a plurality of groups G1 and G2. For example, as shown in FIG. 11, the first group G1 may include the first dimming block 200a and the second dimming block 200b, and the second group G2 may include the third dimming block 200c, the fourth dimming block 200d and the fifth dimming block 200e. In another example, four of the dimming blocks may define one group); a plurality of data lines respectively connected to the plurality of data groups (fig. 13; discloses plurality of data lines D1, D2.. connected to plurality of driving device 300 forming the plurality of data groups); a plurality of scan lines respectively connected to the plurality of driving elements (fig. 13; discloses plurality of scan lines S1, S2…connected to plurality of driving devices 300); and a controller configured to determine a generation time point, of a scan signal for each of the plurality of driving devices, (fig. 13; dimming driver 170; par 0152; discloses The driving devices 300 may be input-activated by scan signals of the dimming driver 170, and may receive a dimming signal from the dimming driver 170. The dimming driver 170 may provide a scan signal to the driving devices 300 arranged in one of the plurality of rows and dimming signals to the driving devices 300 arranged in the plurality of columns; For example, while the dimming driver 170 may be outputting a scan signal through the first scan line S1, the first driving device 310a and the second driving device 300b may receive dimming signals through the first and second data lines D1 and D2, respectively. In this case, the fifth driving device 300e and the sixth driving device 300f do not receive the dimming signals; par 0153; discloses While the dimming driver 170 may be outputting a scan signal through the second scan line S2, the fifth driving device 310e and the sixth driving device 300f may receive dimming signals through the first and second data lines D1 and D2, respectively. In this case, the first driving device 300a and the second driving device 300b do not receive the dimming signals);
LEE doesn’t expressly disclose a plurality of driving elements grouped into a plurality of scan groups; and determine a scan signal for each of the plurality of driving devices scan groups based on a number of scan groups;
In the same field of endeavor, LEE455 discloses light source apparatus and display apparatus (see abstract); LEE455 discloses a plurality of driving elements grouped into a plurality of scan groups; (par 0076; discloses Referring to FIGS. 1-5, the light source BLU may include a plurality of scan blocks (e.g., SB1 to SB6 in FIG. 5). The scan blocks SB1 to SB6 may include a plurality of local dimming blocks (e.g., LB1 to LB144 in FIG. 5). For example, a first scan block SB1 may include local dimming blocks LB1 to LB12 in a first row and local dimming blocks LB13 to LB24 in a second row. For example, a second scan block SB2 may include local dimming blocks LB25 to LB36 in a third row and local dimming blocks LB37 to LB48 in a fourth row. For example, a third scan block SB3 may include local dimming blocks LB49 to LB60 in a fifth row and local dimming blocks LB61 to LB72 in a sixth row); determine a scan signal for each of the plurality of driving devices scan groups based on a number of scan groups (par 0070; discloses The light source driver 600 may receive the dimming signal DIMM from the driving controller 200. The light source driver 600 may convert the dimming signal DIMM into a light source driving signal. The light source driver 600 may output the light source driving signal to the light source BLU. Par 0082; discloses the light source driving signal may include a light source intensity value representing a light intensity of the local dimming block and a delay value representing a degree of a delay of the local dimming block. Par 0094; discloses The delay parameter DLYPAR may be determined by the count value HCOUNT of the horizontal synchronizing signal HSYNC of the light source driving signal and the number of the scan blocks of the light source BLU);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by LEE to incorporate the teachings of LEE455 to form the light sources module into plurality of scan groups and supply the driving signal to the plurality of groups having consistent delay based on the number of scan groups in order to efficiently drive the light source device while reducing power consumption and improve the response time;
LEE as modified by LEE455 don’t expressly disclose determine a cycle of a data signal transmitted through the data line; wherein the plurality of data groups each comprise respective ones of the plurality of scan groups, and wherein an amount of the scan groups included in the plurality of data groups are equal across the data groups;
In the same field of endeavor, KIM discloses a backlight display for display device and control method (see abstract); KIM discloses determine a cycle of a data signal transmitted through the data line (par 0085; discloses the column driver 10 is configured to provide the column signals that correspond to every horizontal period for the backlight. For example, the column driver 10 provides the column signals D1, D2, and D3 that correspond to the columns for the light-emitting diode channels, on a per-horizontal period basis, simultaneously); wherein the plurality of data groups each comprise respective ones of the plurality of scan groups, and wherein an amount of the scan groups included in the plurality of data groups are equal across the data groups (fig. 3; par 0077; discloses the light-emitting diode channels CH11 to CH93 are divided into a plurality of control groups; par 0078; discloses the control group according to the present disclosure includes a predetermined number of light-emitting diodes adjacent to each other that share the column signal. According to the embodiment of the present disclosure, for example, the control group includes a predetermined number of light-emitting diodes arranged successively in the same column; par 0080; discloses The control group may be defined as including the four light-emitting diode channels, resulting from the division);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by LEE as modified by LEE455 to incorporate the teachings of KIM to form control groups for the driving device that share the same data line in column direction comprising plurality of row groups in order to provide a backlight device for display that is capable of dividing light-emitting diode channel on a backlight board into a plurality of control groups and controlling driving currents of the light-emitting diode channels on a per-control group basis, and to provide a current control integrated circuit for the backlight device for display, hence providing an amount of good-quality light to an LCD panel to ensure high reliability.
With respect to claim 11, LEE as modified by LEE455 and KIM discloses further comprising: a carry line connected to the controller (LEE; fig. 11; connection line 131 connected to second interface board 130 housing the dimming driver 170 which connects the dimming driver to the plurality of driving device 300);
LEE as modified by LEE455 and KIM don’t expressly disclose a switch configured to receive a carry signal from the controller through the carry line and to transmit the carry signal to the plurality of scan lines;
KIM further discloses backlight for display apparatus and control method (see abstract); KIM discloses a switch configured to receive a carry signal from the controller through the carry line and transmit the carry signal to the plurality of scan lines (fig. 2; row driver 20; par 0071; discloses the row driver 20 is configured to receive the row data GA on a per-horizontal period basis and to sequentially output the row signals corresponding to the row data GA on a per-horizontal period basis for the backlight);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by LEE as modified by LEE455 and KIM to incorporate the teachings of KIM to include a row driver connected between the scan lines and the dimming controller such that scan signals are sequentially supplied to plurality of scan lines while reducing the output pins for the dimming controller.
With respect to claim 12, LEE as modified by LEE455 and KIM discloses the driving elements included in the plurality of scan groups are configured to generate the scan signal based on the carry signal is received from the switch, (LEE; par 0152; discloses while the dimming driver 170 may be outputting a scan signal through the first scan line S1, the first driving device 310a and the second driving device 300b may receive dimming signals through the first and second data lines D1 and D2, respectively. In this case, the fifth driving device 300e and the sixth driving device 300f do not receive the dimming signals. Par 0153; discloses While the dimming driver 170 may be outputting a scan signal through the second scan line S2, the fifth driving device 310e and the sixth driving device 300f may receive dimming signals through the first and second data lines D1 and D2, respectively. In this case, the first driving device 300a and the second driving device 300b do not receive the dimming signals) wherein at least one of the driving elements is configured to transmit an on-signal to at least one of the light sources based on the scan signal (LEE; par 0147; discloses Based on the dimming signal, the driving device 300 may control the light sources 111 included in the plurality of dimming blocks. For example, the first driving device 300a may control the light sources 111 belonging to the first dimming block 200a and second dimming block 200b. The second driving device 300b may control the light sources 111 belonging to the third dimming block 200c, fourth dimming block 200d, and fifth dimming block 200e. The driving device 300 may control an amount of current (the magnitude of a driving current) to be applied to the light sources 111 based on the dimming signal);
LEE as modified by LEE455 and KIM don’t expressly disclose wherein the switch is further configured to transmit the carry signal to the plurality of scan lines for each 1/n cycle of a reference cycle based on the number of scan groups being n, wherein the reference cycle is a cycle of the scan signal, and wherein n is a natural number;
In the same field of endeavor, KIM discloses a backlight device for display and control method (see abstract); KIM discloses wherein the switch is further configured to transmit the carry signal to the plurality of scan lines for each 1/n cycle of a reference cycle based on the number of scan groups being n, wherein the reference cycle is a cycle of the scan signal, and wherein n is a natural number; (par 0087; discloses The row driver 20 is configured to receive the row data and to provide the row signals G1, G2, and so forth up to G9 that correspond to the rows for the light-emitting diode channels on a basis per one frame (i.e. reference cycle) of the backlight in a manner that corresponds to the row data. The row signals G1, G2, and so forth up to G9 have a preset pulse width and are sequentially provided according to the horizontal period for the backlight. Row-based signal lines to which the row signals G1, G2, and so forth up to G9 are applied may be referred to as row lines);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by LEE as modified by LEE455 and KIM to incorporate the teachings of KIM to sequentially apply scan signal within a frame period having preset pulse width in order to maintain light emission for one frame. Furthermore, the light emission from the light-emitting diode channels can be sufficiently maintained for the backlight, thereby reducing or eliminating flicker.
With respect to claim 13, LEE as modified by LEE455 and KIM discloses wherein the controller is further configured to determine an electric current, to be applied to the plurality of light sources based on image data to be output through the plurality of pixels, (LEE; par 0106; discloses The processor 91 may obtain dimming data from image data decoded from a video signal; par 0104; discloses The processor 91 may provide dimming data for local dimming to the dimming driver 170 of the backlight unit 100. The dimming data may include information about brightness of each of the plurality of dimming blocks; par 0102; discloses The driving device 300 may control and/or determine an amount of current to be applied to the plurality of dimming blocks 200 based on the dimming signal sent from the dimming driver 170) and to transmit the data signal to the driving elements included in the plurality of scan groups and of each of the data groups based on determining the electric current and the cycle of the data signal (LEE; par 0101; discloses For local dimming, the plurality of light sources 111 included in the light source modules 110 may be classified into a plurality of dimming blocks 200. For example, the number of dimming blocks 200 may be 700 or more. Each of the plurality of dimming blocks 200 may include at least one light source 111. One dimming block may include two or more neighboring light sources 111; par 0103; discloses based on the dimming signal, different driving currents may be applied to the light sources 111 belonging to the different dimming blocks. Accordingly, the light sources 111 belonging to the different dimming blocks may each emit light of different brightness).
With respect to claim 14, LEE as modified by LEE455 and KIM discloses wherein the data lines for each of the data groups are connected to one or more driving elements, of the plurality of driving elements, included in the plurality of scan groups and of each of the data groups, (LEE; fig. 13; discloses data lines D1 is connected to plurality of driving devices 300s arranged in the same column and data line D2 is connected to plurality of driving devices 300 arranged in the same column) and wherein the controller is further configured to transmit the data signal to the one or more of the driving elements based on an order in which the one or more of the driving elements are connected by one or more of the data lines (LEE; par 0152; discloses while the dimming driver 170 may be outputting a scan signal through the first scan line S1, the first driving device 310a and the second driving device 300b may receive dimming signals through the first and second data lines D1 and D2, respectively. In this case, the fifth driving device 300e and the sixth driving device 300f do not receive the dimming signals; par 0153; discloses While the dimming driver 170 may be outputting a scan signal through the second scan line S2, the fifth driving device 310e and the sixth driving device 300f may receive dimming signals through the first and second data lines D1 and D2, respectively. In this case, the first driving device 300a and the second driving device 300b do not receive the dimming signals).
With respect to claim 15, LEE as modified by LEE455 and KIM discloses wherein the controller is further configured to transmit the data signal through the data line, (LEE; fig. 13; discloses the dimming driver 170 transmits the data signals to the driving device 300 via data lines D1, D2..);
LEE as modified by LEE455 and KIM don’t expressly disclose wherein the controller is further configured to determine a cycle of the data signal to be equal to or less than 1/n of a reference cycle based on the number of scan groups being n, and wherein n is a natural number;
KIM further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to determine the cycle of the data signal to be equal to or less than 1/n of a reference cycle based on the number of scan groups being n, and wherein n is a natural number (par 0085; discloses The column driver 10 is configured to provide the column signals that correspond to every horizontal period for the backlight. For example, the column driver 10 provides the column signals D1, D2, and D3 that correspond to the columns for the light-emitting diode channels, on a per-horizontal period basis, simultaneously; fig. 8; discloses duration of data line D1 is equal to the duration of scan lines G1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by LEE as modified by LEE455 and KIM to incorporate the teachings of KIM to simultaneously apply data signal within a frame period having pulse width equal to scan signals in order to maintain light emission for one frame. Furthermore, the light emission from the light-emitting diode channels can be sufficiently maintained for the backlight, thereby reducing or eliminating flicker.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al (US Pub 2023/0055132) in view of LEE et al (US Pub 2020/0258455) referred to as LEE455 and KIM et al (US Pub 2022/0114975).
With respect to claim 9, LEE as modified by LEE455 discloses wherein based on the light sources being connected by the driving elements of the plurality of scan groups, (LEE; fig. 13; discloses driving device 300 connected to plurality of light sources 111) the driving elements connected to the light sources equally control brightness of the light sources, (par 0140; discloses the light sources 111 belonging to one dimming block may receive a driving current with the same magnitude and then emit light with the same intensity);
LEE as modified by LEE455 don’t expressly disclose the driving elements connected to the light sources are connected in series;
In the same field of endeavor, KIM discloses backlight system for a display device and control method (see abstract); KIM discloses the driving elements connected to the light sources are connected in series (par 0041; discloses The plurality of slave driving circuits PDR1,1˜PDRn,m, where each of n and m is a positive integer greater than one, may be arranged in a matrix of driving rows DR1˜DRn and driving columns DC1˜DCm. As illustrated in FIG. 1, first through m-th slave driving circuits PDRi,1˜PDRi,m (i=1˜n) arranged in each driving row DRi may be connected in a daisy chain structure);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by LEE as modified by LEE455 to incorporate the teachings of KIM to serially connect plurality of driving devices such that signal having same magnitude may be supplied to plurality of driving device in order to emit light at the same brightness.
Conclusion
/SUJIT SHAH/ Examiner, Art Unit 2624