This communication is in response to applicant’s arguments/amendments filed 8/24/2026. Claims 1, 9-10, 15, and 18-19 are amended and hereby entered. Claims 4, 7, and 14 are cancelled. Claims 20 and 21 are added.
Response to Arguments
Regarding 35 USC 101:
The applicant submits the claim amendments, (incorporated from now canceled claims 7 and 14), comprise features outside the abstract idea of mental processes because the system creates a specific graphical interface through functional steps of generating a visual graph. However, the amendments still recite mental processes in the claims are directed to collecting, analyzing, and displaying results, where the analysis is recited at a high level of generality such that it could be practically performed in the human mind, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III). First, the amended steps do not specifically recite an alleged “graphical user interface”. Second, the amended steps of generating and outputting display information recite displaying the results in a graphical format. For example, a human can plot data to generate a graphical display of various patent information. Further, changing the plotted information depending on the rank still describes graphing and displaying information based on simple analysis of the data. Additionally, using general purpose computing components or computer circuitry to perform this analysis and graphing recites an “apply it” level recitation, amounting to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception, see MPEP 2106.05(f).
The applicant also submits a human cannot mentally process the sheer amount of information required to plot the display. However, the use of a physical aid does not negate the mental nature of the limitation. It simply accounts for variations in memory capacity from one person to another, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III). Again, using general purpose computing components or computer circuitry to perform analysis and graphing recites an “apply it” level recitation, amounting to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception, (i.e. the computer is used as a tool to perform the mental process), see MPEP 2106.05(f). Therefore, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant and the rejection is maintained.
Regarding 35 USC 112:
Applicants’ arguments filed 8/24/2026 regarding the rejection under 35 USC 112(b) are fully considered and persuasive. The 112(b) rejection is withdrawn. However, a new 112(b) rejection is made in light of added claim 20-21.
Regarding 35 USC 102:
The applicant’s amendments necessitate a new combination of prior art rendering the arguments moot.
Regarding 35 USC 103:
The applicant submits Lundberg does not teach the amended limitation rolled up from previous claim 14 regarding satisfying a condition and changing classifications. Specifically, the applicant argues the manual inputs of Lundberg differ from the invention’s automatic update of display information. However, the claims are interpreted under broadest reasonable interpretation, and the claims recite a condition being satisfied with the computer circuitry changing the display information. The claims do not recite mathematical conditions, rather the conditions are descriptive data features. In Lundberg, the prior art teaches both a condition of a plot and computer circuitry being used to display a different set of data. Therefore, the examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant, and the rejection of the limitation under Lundberg is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the acquirer". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the claim limitation is interpreted to recite “An acquirer”.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the identifier". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the claim limitation is interpreted to recite “An identifier”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-13, and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) with no practical application and without significantly more.
The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea in that the instant application is directed to a mental processes (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)). The independent claims (1, 18, and 19) recite a method and systems to collect and analyze data related to patents. These claim elements are being interpreted as concepts performed in the human mind (including observation, evaluation, judgement, and opinion). The independent claims recite:
Claims 1, 18, and 19 (substantially similar in scope and language): “An information processing apparatus comprising: circuitry configured to:”, “A computer-implemented information processing method implemented by circuitry of an information processing apparatus, the method comprising:”, “A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor of a computer system including a memory cause the processor to perform operations comprising:”, “acquire patent information related to a plurality of patents; identify first information based on the patent information, the first information including: a number of patents held by each of a plurality of applicants for a predetermined technical classification, and a number of patents held by a specific applicant for the predetermined technical classification; calculate second information based on the first information, the second information including at least one of a share or a rank of the specific applicant for the predetermined technical classification; generate display information including a plurality of plots arranged at respective positions in a coordinate system with a first axis representing the rank and a second axis representing the share, each of the plurality of plots corresponding to one of the plurality of technical classifications for the specific applicant; and output the display information as the second information, wherein each of the plurality of technical classifications corresponds to a predetermined level of a technical category having a plurality of hierarchical levels, with lower levels of the technical category representing more detailed classifications, and wherein, when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: the plurality of plots have ranks lower than a predetermined rank, and the plurality of plots have shares lower than a predetermined share, the circuitry changes the plurality of technical classifications to a lower level of the technical category, and updates the display information including a plurality of plots corresponding to the changed respective technical classifications
These claim limitations, (that is other than the bolded language), are being interpreted as mental processes (i.e. collecting information, analyzing information, and displaying the results of analysis). Using patent data to determine share or rank can equivalently be achieved by human observation and evaluation. Processing patent data to plot or graph specific data points for a user recites an abstract idea consistent with the “mental process” grouping set forth in the MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
The instant application fails to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because the instant application merely recites an “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea. The instant application is directed towards a method and systems to implement the identified abstract idea of receiving information, processing information, and displaying the result of the analysis (i.e. processing patent data to display to a user) in a general computer environment. The claims do not include additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The independent claims recite the additional elements “circuitry”, “A computer”, “A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions”, “a processor”, and “a memory”. These claim elements are recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a general computer environment. The machines merely act as a modality to implement the abstract idea and are not indicative of integration into a practical application (i.e., the additional elements are simply used as a tool to perform the abstract idea), see MPEP 2106.05(f).
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed in Step 2A Prong Two analysis, the additional elements in the claims amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The same analysis applies here in 2B and does not provide an inventive concept.
Regarding the dependent claims
Regarding Claim 5, a new abstract idea is introduced in that the claims recite mathematical concepts (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)). Performing calculations based on a ratio recite an abstract idea consistent with the mathematical relationships set forth in the MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I). Further, there are no new additional elements, and the previously recited additional elements do not integrate the claims into practical application or amount to significantly more. The machines merely act as a modality to implement the abstract idea and are not indicative of integration into a practical application (i.e., the additional elements are simply used as a tool to perform the abstract idea), see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Regarding Claims 10-12, the claims further limit the abstract idea of mathematical concepts (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)). Using an approximation curve to analyze trends abstract idea consistent with the mathematical formulas or equations set forth in the MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I). Further, there are no new additional elements, and the previously recited additional elements do not integrate the claims into practical application or amount to significantly more. The machines merely act as a modality to implement the abstract idea and are not indicative of integration into a practical application (i.e., the additional elements are simply used as a tool to perform the abstract idea), see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claims 2-3, 6, 8-9, 13, and 15-17 recite further embellishments of the existing abstract ideas. The claims introduce no new abstract ideas or new additional elements, and do not further impact analysis under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lundberg (US 20140258153 A1) in view of Millien (NPL: Rethinking the Annual Patent Application Filing Target).
Regarding Claim 1, 18, and 19, (substantially similar in scope and Language), Lundberg teaches:
An information processing apparatus comprising: circuitry configured to: [see at least Lundberg: (Para 0332) “In various embodiments, a hardware-implemented module may be implemented mechanically or electronically. For example, a hardware-implemented module may comprise dedicated circuitry or logic that is permanently configured (e.g., as a special-purpose processor, such as a field programmable gate array (FPGA) or an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC)) to perform certain operations. A hardware-implemented module may also comprise programmable logic or circuitry (e.g., as encompassed within a general-purpose processor or other programmable processor) that is temporarily configured by software to perform certain operations. It will be appreciated that the decision to implement a hardware-implemented module mechanically, in dedicated and permanently configured circuitry, or in temporarily configured circuitry (e.g., configured by software) may be driven by cost and time considerations.]
acquire patent information related to a plurality of patents; [see at least Lundberg: (Para 0033) “During operation of patent management system 102, data from multiple data sources (internal and/or external) is imported into or accessed by the operations database 116. Internal sources may include data from the various tools of the patent management system (e.g., an internal docketing system). External sources 120 may include websites or databases associated with foreign and domestic patent offices, assignment databases, WIPO, and INPADOC, among others. In various embodiments, if the data is unavailable through a database, the data is scraped and parsed from the websites”]
identify first information based on the patent information, the first information including: a number of patents held by each of a plurality of applicants for a predetermined technical classification, and a number of patents held by a specific applicant for the predetermined technical classification; [see at least Lundberg: (Figures 20-22), (Para 0037) “In some example embodiments, a matter entry includes data fields representing a matter ID, patent number, publication number, serial number, docketing number, title (e.g., the name of the patent or patent application), type of the matter (e.g., patent application, issued patent, PCT patent application), status of the matter (e.g., issued, abandoned, allowed), a link to the patent office where the matter was filed, a link to a PDF download of the matter, abstract of the matter, one or more claims of the matter, one or more drawings of the matter, inventor(s) of the matter, current owner(s) of the matter, cited references on the face of the matter, filed date, issue date, docket number, various prosecution metrics”, (Para 0234) “Alternatively, a segment of a portfolio may be defined to include a slice of a particular portfolio (e.g., a subset of matters of the total number of patents/applications in a portfolio). In some example embodiments, a portfolio slice may include one or more matters in a particular technology class”, (Para 0263) “In some example embodiments, the relevance of the patent may be illustrated using one or more graphs displayed in a UI that provides details for a particular patent. For example, a graph (e.g., a pie chart) of the distribution of the total number of patents among the patent owners in a class”, (Para 0268) “For each classification, the patent portfolio management system displays the number of patents the owner has that are part of the particular classification and their percentage of the classification as a whole. Each class may be displayed as subdivided into subclasses or by top owners, as illustrated in FIG. 20”]
calculate second information based on the first information, the second information including at least one of a share or a rank of the specific applicant for the predetermined technical classification; [see at least Lundberg: (Figures 20-22), (Para 0269-0270) “As discussed above, a user may drill down into each category by selecting the subcategory link or the top owners link. For example, upon receiving an indication that the user selected the top owners link, the portfolio management system may display the list of top owners for that particular category, as shown in FIG. 21. The UI shows, for each owner, the number of patents owned and the owner's rank in the particular technology class as compared to other owners in the respective technology class. Similarly, as shown in FIG. 22, a user can drill down from a class to a subclass to view how many patents/applications an owner has in a particular subclass and what percentage of the total patents/applications in the subclass the particular owner's patents/applications have. Also, by selecting the Top Owners link for a particular subclass, the user may be presented with the list of top owners in the respective subclass of patents/applications, as shown in FIG. 21. The ability to view classifications, subclasses, and top owners using the same UI may be helpful to a user in matching classifications with products/product lines or in performing competitive analysis.”]
generate display information including a plurality of plots arranged at respective positions in a coordinate system [see at least Lundberg: (Figures 31-42) showing plots arranged in a coordinate system]
each of the plurality of plots corresponding to one of the plurality of technical classifications for the specific applicant; and output the display information as the second information, [see at least Lundberg: (Figures 20-22) showing technical classifications data]
wherein each of the plurality of technical classifications corresponds to a predetermined level of a technical category having a plurality of hierarchical levels, with lower levels of the technical category representing more detailed classifications, and [see at least Lundberg: (Para 0251-0253) “Each item in the list may be a matter identified by, for example, a publication number, a country, a kind, a title, etc. [0252] 2) the name of the patent owner; [0253] 3) the international classification;”]
wherein, when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: the plurality of plots have ranks lower than a predetermined rank, and the plurality of plots have shares lower than a predetermined share, the circuitry changes the plurality of technical classifications to a lower level of the technical category, and updates the display information including a plurality of plots corresponding to the changed respective technical classifications [The limitations recite showing the same data for lower levels of classification; see at least Lundberg: (Figures 19-20) classifications, (Figures 21) rank within a classification, (Figure 47), (Para 0302) “The comparison of two or more portfolios (or portfolio slices) may be done by classification codes, as shown in FIG. 47. The comparison results also include the number of patents each compared portfolio has in the particular classification and the rank number of the portfolio in the particular classification. The user may select to view the comparisons in all classes in which the primary portfolio has patent assets or only the comparisons in a subset of the classes”]
However, Lundberg does not teach but Millien does teach:
with a first axis representing the rank and a second axis representing the share, [see at least Millien: (Figure 2) showing share ranked]
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the patent analysis apparatus (Lundberg) with showing graphical representations of rank and share (Millien). One of ordinary skill would have recognized displaying the rank and share data information on a plot with axis would allow for alternative ways to display the information. Lundberg already shows the use of graphs to display data, see figures 16-17 and 27-44. Combining the graphical representation of Millien with the data from Lundberg would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Lundberg and Millien teaches the limitations of claim 1. Lundberg further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry calculates, as the second information, information including the share and the rank of the specific applicant. [see at least Lundberg: (Figures 20-22), (Para 0269-0270) “As discussed above, a user may drill down into each category by selecting the subcategory link or the top owners link. For example, upon receiving an indication that the user selected the top owners link, the portfolio management system may display the list of top owners for that particular category, as shown in FIG. 21. The UI shows, for each owner, the number of patents owned and the owner's rank in the particular technology class as compared to other owners in the respective technology class. Similarly, as shown in FIG. 22, a user can drill down from a class to a subclass to view how many patents/applications an owner has in a particular subclass and what percentage of the total patents/applications in the subclass the particular owner's patents/applications have. Also, by selecting the Top Owners link for a particular subclass, the user may be presented with the list of top owners in the respective subclass of patents/applications, as shown in FIG. 21. The ability to view classifications, subclasses, and top owners using the same UI may be helpful to a user in matching classifications with products/product lines or in performing competitive analysis.”]
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Lundberg and Millien teaches the limitations of claim 2. Lundberg further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein, when the predetermined technical classification includes a plurality of classifications, the circuitry identifies, as the first information, information including, for each of the plurality of technical classifications, the number of patents held by each applicant and the number of patents held by the specific applicant. [see at least Lundberg: (Figures 20-22), (Para 0269-0270) “As discussed above, a user may drill down into each category by selecting the subcategory link or the top owners link. For example, upon receiving an indication that the user selected the top owners link, the portfolio management system may display the list of top owners for that particular category, as shown in FIG. 21. The UI shows, for each owner, the number of patents owned and the owner's rank in the particular technology class as compared to other owners in the respective technology class. Similarly, as shown in FIG. 22, a user can drill down from a class to a subclass to view how many patents/applications an owner has in a particular subclass and what percentage of the total patents/applications in the subclass the particular owner's patents/applications have. Also, by selecting the Top Owners link for a particular subclass, the user may be presented with the list of top owners in the respective subclass of patents/applications, as shown in FIG. 21. The ability to view classifications, subclasses, and top owners using the same UI may be helpful to a user in matching classifications with products/product lines or in performing competitive analysis.”]
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Lundberg and Millien teaches the limitations of claim 3. Lundberg further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the circuitry calculates, for each of the plurality of technical classifications, a total evaluation value based on a total number of patents held by the plurality of applicants; [see at least Lundberg: (Figures 20-22), (Para 0234) “Alternatively, a segment of a portfolio may be defined to include a slice of a particular portfolio (e.g., a subset of matters of the total number of patents/applications in a portfolio). In some example embodiments, a portfolio slice may include one or more matters in a particular technology class”, (Para 0263) “In some example embodiments, the relevance of the patent may be illustrated using one or more graphs displayed in a UI that provides details for a particular patent. For example, a graph (e.g., a pie chart) of the distribution of the total number of patents among the patent owners in a class”, (Para 0268) “For each classification, the patent portfolio management system displays the number of patents the owner has that are part of the particular classification and their percentage of the classification as a whole. Each class may be displayed as subdivided into subclasses or by top owners, as illustrated in FIG. 20”]
calculates, for each of the plurality of technical classifications, a specific evaluation value based on the number of patents held by the specific applicant; and determines, for each of the plurality of technical classifications, a share of the specific applicant, based on a ratio of the specific evaluation value to the total evaluation value. [see at least Lundberg: (Figures 20-22), (Para 0269-0270) “As discussed above, a user may drill down into each category by selecting the subcategory link or the top owners link. For example, upon receiving an indication that the user selected the top owners link, the portfolio management system may display the list of top owners for that particular category, as shown in FIG. 21. The UI shows, for each owner, the number of patents owned and the owner's rank in the particular technology class as compared to other owners in the respective technology class. Similarly, as shown in FIG. 22, a user can drill down from a class to a subclass to view how many patents/applications an owner has in a particular subclass and what percentage of the total patents/applications in the subclass the particular owner's patents/applications have. Also, by selecting the Top Owners link for a particular subclass, the user may be presented with the list of top owners in the respective subclass of patents/applications, as shown in FIG. 21. The ability to view classifications, subclasses, and top owners using the same UI may be helpful to a user in matching classifications with products/product lines or in performing competitive analysis.”]
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Lundberg and Millien teaches the limitations of claim 3. Lundberg further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the circuitry calculates, for each of the plurality of technical classifications, an individual evaluation value based on the number of patents held by each of the plurality of applicants; and determines, for each of the plurality of technical classifications, a rank of the specific applicant, based on a relative rank of a corresponding evaluation value of the specific applicant among the individual evaluation values. [see at least Lundberg: (Figures 20-22), (Para 0269-0270) “As discussed above, a user may drill down into each category by selecting the subcategory link or the top owners link. For example, upon receiving an indication that the user selected the top owners link, the portfolio management system may display the list of top owners for that particular category, as shown in FIG. 21. The UI shows, for each owner, the number of patents owned and the owner's rank in the particular technology class as compared to other owners in the respective technology class. Similarly, as shown in FIG. 22, a user can drill down from a class to a subclass to view how many patents/applications an owner has in a particular subclass and what percentage of the total patents/applications in the subclass the particular owner's patents/applications have. Also, by selecting the Top Owners link for a particular subclass, the user may be presented with the list of top owners in the respective subclass of patents/applications, as shown in FIG. 21. The ability to view classifications, subclasses, and top owners using the same UI may be helpful to a user in matching classifications with products/product lines or in performing competitive analysis.”]
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Lundberg and Millien teaches the limitations of claim 1. Lundberg further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry calculates a specific evaluation value based on the number of patents held by the specific applicant for each of the plurality of technical classifications, and generates the display information such that each of the plurality of plots has a size based on the specific evaluation value of the corresponding technical classification. [see at least Lundberg: (Figures 20-22), (Para 0269-0270) “As discussed above, a user may drill down into each category by selecting the subcategory link or the top owners link. For example, upon receiving an indication that the user selected the top owners link, the portfolio management system may display the list of top owners for that particular category, as shown in FIG. 21. The UI shows, for each owner, the number of patents owned and the owner's rank in the particular technology class as compared to other owners in the respective technology class. Similarly, as shown in FIG. 22, a user can drill down from a class to a subclass to view how many patents/applications an owner has in a particular subclass and what percentage of the total patents/applications in the subclass the particular owner's patents/applications have. Also, by selecting the Top Owners link for a particular subclass, the user may be presented with the list of top owners in the respective subclass of patents/applications, as shown in FIG. 21. The ability to view classifications, subclasses, and top owners using the same UI may be helpful to a user in matching classifications with products/product lines or in performing competitive analysis.”]
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Lundberg and Millien teach the limitations of claim 1. Lundberg further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry generates the display information such that a common display mode is applied for each related technical classification among the plurality of technical classifications. [see at least Lundberg: (Figures 20-22 and 31)]
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Lundberg and Millien teach the limitations of claim 1. Lundberg further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the technical category having a plurality of hierarchical levels is based on the International Patent Classification (IPC). [The limitations describe intended use or intended results. However, art is still provided; see at least Lundberg: (Para 0251-0253) “The family information may also be displayed as part of a list. Each item in the list may be a matter identified by, for example, a publication number, a country, a kind, a title, etc. 2) the name of the patent owner; 3) the international classification;]
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Lundberg and Millien teaches the limitations of claim 1, Lundberg further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry acquires the patent information by treating one patent family as a single patent. [The limitations describe intended use or intended results. However, art is still provided; see at least Lundberg: (Para 0031) “One or more matters may be grouped together to form a portfolio. A matter may also be associated with one or more other matters in a family. A family member may be a priority matter, a continuing (e.g., continuation, divisional) matter, or foreign counter-part member”, (Para 0038) “In various embodiments, a matter is associated with one or more other matters as a family with a family ID. Family members may be priority documents, continuation patents/applications, divisional patents/applications, and foreign patent/application counterparts. In an embodiment, family information is determined according to an external source such as INPADOC. Patent reference documents and/or other prior art may be manually or automatically stored, cross-cited, and associated with related family matters, for example”, (Para 0043) “ In various embodiments, portfolio and family analytics information may be stored in analytics database 210 based on aggregating the metrics for an individual matter”]
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Lundberg and Millien teaches the limitations of claim 1, Lundberg further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry acquires the patent information for patents in which predetermined date information falls within a predetermined period. [The limitation describes intended use or intended results. However, art is still provided; see at least Lundberg: (Para 0062) “Date boxes 308 and 310 are user elements that allow a user to select a time period”, (Para 0065) “In various embodiments, activation of button 320 updates user interface 300 to reflect the choices made by the user with respect to date boxes 308”, (Para 0018) “Examples of bibliographic data include but are not limited to class codes/estimated class codes, topical classifications (comprising key word, support vector, and hand-classified data sets), priority dates”, (Para 0037) “ In some example embodiments, matter database 204 stores data representing matters… cited references on the face of the matter, filed date, issue date, docket number, various prosecution metrics” ]
Regarding Claim 20, Lundberg in view of Millien teach the limitations of claim 1. Lundberg further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the acquirer acquires patent information relating to at least one or more technical classifications among the predetermined technical classifications. [see at least Lundberg: (Para 0022) “A first module is configured to combine data received from an official government source and from a docketing system. The data received may pertain to one or more assets of a patent portfolio. A second module is configured to generate a metric of the patent portfolio based on the combined data”, acquired data regarding technology, patent information, technical classifications: (Figures 19-22)]
Regarding Claim 21, Lundberg in view of Millien teach the limitations of claim 1. Lundberg further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the identifier identifies the number of patents for each applicant based on the patent information relating to the at least one or more technical classifications [see at least Lundberg: (Para 0023) “In various example embodiments, one or more modules of the system are configured to receive a filtering request to filter the displayed metric, the filtering request including an identifier of a filtering criterion; identify one or more discoverable features of the metric based on applying the filtering criterion to the combined data; and display the one or more discoverable features of the metric in response to the filtering request”, number of patents by applicant and class: (Figure 21), (Para 0269) “For example, upon receiving an indication that the user selected the top owners link, the portfolio management system may display the list of top owners for that particular category, as shown in FIG. 21. The UI shows, for each owner, the number of patents owned and the owner's rank in the particular technology class as compared to other owners in the respective technology class”, by applicant and class: (Para 0243) “The user may refine or filter the portfolio results by type of matter (e.g., patents, filed applications, unfiled applications, all matters, etc.), patent status (e.g., in-force, expired, or all), class, title, inventor name, serial number, patent or publication number, abstract content, tag name (e.g., by law firm name or client-provided ontology)”]
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lundberg (US 20140258153 A1) in view of Millien (NPL: Rethinking the Annual Patent Application Filing Target) in further view of Chen (NPL: Chinese Word Length Motif and Its Evolution)
Regarding Claim 10, The combination of Lundberg and Millien teach the limitations of claim 1. While the combination teaches graphing patent analysis data via rank and share, it does not explicitly teach using an approximation curve to analyze data.
However, Chen teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry generates the display information including an approximation curve that approximates the plurality of plots, and parameters representing the approximation curve. [see at least Chen: (Figure 1)]
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the patent analysis graph (Lundberg and Millien) with an approximation curve (Chen). One of ordinary skill would have recognized the benefits of using an approximation curve on data to better analyze trends. Lundberg discusses use of graphical representations to illustrate trends, see at least Lundberg Paragraph 292-294 stating, “This graphical representation may also illustrate a trend toward more restriction requirements being issued in recent years… In some example embodiments, the portfolio management system includes a tool for determining portfolio composition trends. The portfolio composition trends may be displayed in a line graph in a portfolio composition section of the UI, as illustrated below”. Trend analysis would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Lundberg, Millien, and Chen teach the limitations of claim 10. While Lundberg and Millien teach graphing patent analysis data via rank and share, it does not explicitly teach using a power approximation curve to analyze data.
However Chen teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 10, wherein, when the first axis is an X-axis and the second axis is a Y-axis, the circuitry generates the approximation curve as a power approximation curve represented by Equation (1): Y = aXᵇ (wherein 0 < a and b < 0). [see at least Chen: (Figure 1), (Page 6) “Next we fit the power law function y=ax^b to the rank-frequency distribution data of word length motifs in the 20 spoken texts”]
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the patent analysis graph (Lundberg and Millien) with a power approximation curve (Chen). One of ordinary skill would have recognized the benefits of using a power approximation curve on data to better analyze trends. Lundberg discusses use of graphical representations to illustrate trends, see at least Lundberg Paragraph 292-294 stating, “This graphical representation may also illustrate a trend toward more restriction requirements being issued in recent years… In some example embodiments, the portfolio management system includes a tool for determining portfolio composition trends. The portfolio composition trends may be displayed in a line graph in a portfolio composition section of the UI, as illustrated below”. Trend analysis following power laws would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 12, The combination of Lundberg, Millien, and Chen teach the limitations of claim 11. Lundberg further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the circuitry determines a trend of a technical portfolio of the specific applicant [see at least Lundberg: (Para 0265) “In some example embodiments, the UI displays high-level analytics of a portfolio. High-level analytics provide a layered-level look of the portfolio as the user examines a portfolio of the user's company, a portfolio slice, or a competitor's portfolio/portfolio slice”, (Para 0294) “In some example embodiments, the portfolio management system includes a tool for determining portfolio composition trends. The portfolio composition trends may be displayed in a line graph in a portfolio composition section of the UI, as illustrated below”]
While the combination of Lundberg and Millien teach analysis of trends, it does not explicitly teach using a power approximation curve to analyze data.
However, Chen teaches:
based on at least one of a value of a parameter a or a value of a parameter b in Equation (1), and generates the display information including a determination result. [see at least Chen: (Figure 1)]
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the patent analysis graph (Lundberg and Millien) with a power approximation curve (Chen). One of ordinary skill would have recognized the benefits of using a power approximation curve on data to better analyze trends. Lundberg discusses use of graphical representations to illustrate trends, see at least Lundberg Paragraph 292-294 stating, “This graphical representation may also illustrate a trend toward more restriction requirements being issued in recent years… In some example embodiments, the portfolio management system includes a tool for determining portfolio composition trends. The portfolio composition trends may be displayed in a line graph in a portfolio composition section of the UI, as illustrated below”. Trend analysis following power laws would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 13, The combination of Lundberg, Millien, and Chen teach the limitations of claim 10. Lundberg further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the circuitry calculates, for each of the plurality of technical classifications, a specific evaluation value based on the number of patents held by the specific applicant, and excludes, from a target of approximation by the approximation curve, plots among the plurality of plots for which the specific evaluation value of the corresponding technical classification is less than a predetermined threshold. [The limitations recite exclusion of values for use; see at least Lundberg: (Figures 20-22), (Para 0269-0270) “As discussed above, a user may drill down into each category by selecting the subcategory link or the top owners link. For example, upon receiving an indication that the user selected the top owners link, the portfolio management system may display the list of top owners for that particular category, as shown in FIG. 21. The UI shows, for each owner, the number of patents owned and the owner's rank in the particular technology class as compared to other owners in the respective technology class. Similarly, as shown in FIG. 22, a user can drill down from a class to a subclass to view how many patents/applications an owner has in a particular subclass and what percentage of the total patents/applications in the subclass the particular owner's patents/applications have. Also, by selecting the Top Owners link for a particular subclass, the user may be presented with the list of top owners in the respective subclass of patents/applications, as shown in FIG. 21. The ability to view classifications, subclasses, and top owners using the same UI may be helpful to a user in matching classifications with products/product lines or in performing competitive analysis”, (Para 0058) “In various embodiments, a filtering module is configured to filter a set of matters according to a user preference. For example, a user may activate a check box that indicates only pending matters should be shown in a user interface.”]
Conclusion
Applicant's arguments/amendments necessitated the grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nathan Uber SPE can be reached on 571-270-3923. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300 Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/B.L.T. /Examiner, Art Unit 3626
/LUIS A BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626