Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,368,919. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,368,919. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,368,919. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,368,919. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,368,919. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,368,919. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,368,919. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,368,919. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,368,919. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,368,919. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,368,919. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,368,919. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,368,919. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,368,919. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,368,919. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,368,919. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,368,919. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-12, 14, 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (US 2015/0256903) in view of Carney (US 2021/0136458).
Regarding claim 1, 12, Walker discloses A method comprising: receiving, by a supplemental content server, a request including a supplemental content code originating from a field from closed captioning data associated with broadcasted video content ([0044, 0073]); identifying supplemental content associated with the supplemental content code; and transmitting the supplemental content ([044,0073] Supplemental content identifier is included in the closed captioning data).
Walker does not specifically disclose supplemental content code originating from a secondary captioning field.
However, Carney discloses supplemental content code originating from a secondary captioning field ([0017] “text channel”). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the secondary captioning field into the system of Walker in order to use the text channel to transmit supplemental data.
Regarding claim 3, 14, Walker discloses wherein the supplemental content comprises one or more of:
a video stream stored at the supplemental content server;
statistical data stored at the supplemental content server;
a resource on an external webpage identified by a URL ([0043, 0046, 0053]);
an interactive voting or polling interface;
a gaming interface;
a wagering interface;
an additional informational interface; and/or
a shopping interface concerning products or services for purchase.
Regarding claim 4, 15, Walker discloses wherein the broadcasted video content is under the Digital Television Closed Captioning (DTVCC) standard, and the closed captioning data is implemented
as DTVCC CTA-708 data and/or CTA-608 data that is upconverted, further wherein the
supplemental content code is encoded in the secondary captioning field of the CTA-708 data
and/or CTA-608 data ([0044, 0073]).
Regarding claim 6, 17, Walker discloses wherein the closed captioning data includes primary closed captioning data that is not received by the supplemental content server and remains available for
text presentation on a display of a user computing device by a closed captioning decoder. ([0056, 0073]).
Regarding claim 7, Walker discloses receiving, by the supplemental content server, identification information pertaining to user computing device ([0010]).
Regarding claim 8, Walker discloses receiving, by the supplemental content server, information pertaining to duration of all or a portion of interactive viewing session of a user computing device ([0012-0014]).
Regarding claim 9, Walker discloses receiving, by the supplemental content server, information pertaining to user provided feedback ([0015, 0034, 0042, 0065]).
Regarding claim 10, Walker discloses receiving, by the supplemental content server, information pertaining to user provided feedback ([0015, 0034, 0042, 0065]).
Regarding claim 11, Walker discloses receiving, by the supplemental content server, information pertaining to viewing information of the user computing device ([0035, 0065]).
Claim(s) 2, 5, 13, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (US 2015/0256903) in view of Carney (US 2021/0136458) in view of Kuang (US 2021/0211271).
Regarding claim 2, 13, Walker in view of Carney discloses wherein the supplemental content code comprises a code that is unique to, and associated with, said supplemental content, and wherein a user computing device comprise a decoder that scans the secondary captioning field ([0017] of Carney) of the closed captioning data associated with the broadcasted video content ([0044, 0073] of Walker).
However, Walker in view of Carney does not specifically disclose hash code and hash decoder.
Kuang discloses hash code and hash decoder ([0178]). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the hash code of Kuang into the system of Walker in view of Carney in order to provide fast data retrieval.
Regarding claim 5, 16, Walker discloses wherein the broadcasted video content is under the Digital Television Closed Captioning (DTVCC) standard, and the closed captioning data is implemented
as DTVCC CTA-708 data and/or CTA-608 data that is upconverted, further wherein the supplemental content code is encoded in the secondary captioning field of the CTA-708 data and/or CTA-608 data ([0044, 0073]).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL H HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426