DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,393,282. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are shown to be provisionally subject to nonstatutory double patenting rejections by comparing the claims of the current application with the claims of the copending application as shown below. The claims of the copending application anticipate the claims of the current application.
US Application 19/272,584
US Patent No. 12,393,282
Claim 1: A method for controlling a display apparatus, which is applied to a control device, the method comprising: judging, by the control device, whether an input operation of an input device belongs to a preset operation in response to the input operation of the input device, and determining a current operating mode of the display apparatus; and controlling the display apparatus to execute corresponding functions according to the preset operation and the operating mode in response to the input operation belonging to the preset operation; wherein the preset operation comprises a combination of a plurality of key operations, and the operating mode is one of a plurality of optional modes comprising a safe mode, the method further comprises: wherein the determining the current operating mode of the display apparatus comprises: judging, by the control device, whether a safe mode identifier is stored in the control device; and determining that the current operating mode of the display apparatus is the safe mode in response to the safe mode identifier being stored in the control device.
Claim 1: A method for controlling a display apparatus, which is applied to a control device, the method comprising: judging, by the control device, whether an input operation of an input device belongs to a preset operation in response to the input operation of the input device, and determining a current operating mode of the display apparatus; and controlling the display apparatus to execute corresponding functions according to the preset operation and the operating mode in response to the input operation belonging to the preset operation; wherein the preset operation comprises a combination of a plurality of key operations, and the operating mode is one of a plurality of optional modes comprising a safe mode, the method further comprises: judging whether the input device is a preset forbidden device or not in response to the input operation of the input device does not belong to the preset operation and the operating mode is the safe mode; and controlling the display apparatus to filter out the input operation in response to the input device being the preset forbidden device.
Claim 7: wherein the determining the current operating mode of the display apparatus comprises: judging, by the control device, whether a safe mode identifier is stored in the control device; and determining that the current operating mode of the display apparatus is the safe mode in response to the safe mode identifier being stored in the control device.
Claim 2: wherein the preset operation is determined according to preconfigured key information, and the key information comprises: at least one of a function of a key, a number of times a key is pressed, and a sequence of a key.
Claim 2: wherein the preset operation is determined according to preconfigured key information, and the key information comprises: at least one of a function of a key, a number of times a key is pressed, and a sequence of a key.
Claim 3: wherein the control device comprises a main controller; the preset operation comprises a mode switching operation; and the mode switching operation comprises: a combination of key operations sequentially performed on a plurality of first type keys according to a first sequence within a preset time period; and controlling the display apparatus to execute the corresponding functions in response to that the input operation is the mode switching operation and the operating mode is a non-safe mode, comprises: controlling, by the main controller, the display apparatus to open the safe mode, and generating and storing a safe mode identifier.
Claim 3: wherein the control device comprises a main controller; the preset operation comprises a mode switching operation; and the mode switching operation comprises: a combination of key operations sequentially performed on a plurality of first type keys according to a first sequence within a preset time period; and controlling the display apparatus to execute the corresponding functions in response to that the input operation is the mode switching operation and the operating mode is a non-safe mode, comprises: controlling, by the main controller, the display apparatus to open the safe mode, and generating and storing a safe mode identifier.
Claim 4: wherein controlling the display apparatus to execute the corresponding functions in response to that the input operation is the mode switching operation and the operating mode is the safe mode, comprises: controlling the display apparatus to close the safe mode, and clearing the safe mode identifier stored in the control device.
Claim 4: wherein controlling the display apparatus to execute the corresponding functions in response to that the input operation is the mode switching operation and the operating mode is the safe mode, comprises: controlling the display apparatus to close the safe mode, and clearing the safe mode identifier stored in the control device.
Claim 5: wherein controlling the display apparatus to execute the corresponding functions in response to that the input operation is the mode switching operation and the operating mode is the non-safe mode further comprises: outputting, by the control device, a configuration request to request a user to input configuration information; wherein the configuration information comprises: device information of a preset forbidden device and key information corresponding to the mode switching operation; and receiving and storing, by the control device, the configuration information input by the user.
Claim 5: wherein controlling the display apparatus to execute the corresponding functions in response to that the input operation is the mode switching operation and the operating mode is the non-safe mode further comprises: outputting, by the control device, a configuration request to request a user to input configuration information; wherein the configuration information comprises: device information of a preset forbidden device and key information corresponding to the mode switching operation; and receiving and storing, by the control device, the configuration information input by the user.
Claim 6: wherein the outputting, by the control device, the configuration request comprises: judging, by the control device, whether first valid flag information is stored in the control device; and in response to the first valid flag information being not stored in the control device, outputting the configuration request to request the user to input the configuration information; and outputting a flag request to request the user to input one of the first valid flag information and second valid flag information; wherein the first valid flag information indicating that the configuration information input by the user is valid continuously; and the second valid flag information indicating that the configuration information input by the user is valid in the current safe mode; and the method further comprises: receiving and storing, by the control device, the first valid flag information or the second valid flag information input by the user.
Claim 6: wherein the outputting, by the control device, the configuration request comprises: judging, by the control device, whether first valid flag information is stored in the control device; and in response to the first valid flag information being not stored in the control device, outputting the configuration request to request the user to input the configuration information; and outputting a flag request to request the user to input one of the first valid flag information and second valid flag information; wherein the first valid flag information indicating that the configuration information input by the user is valid continuously; and the second valid flag information indicating that the configuration information input by the user is valid in the current safe mode; and the method further comprises: receiving and storing, by the control device, the first valid flag information or the second valid flag information input by the user.
Claim 7: wherein the preset operation comprises: a safe turn- off operation, and the safe turn-off operation comprises: a combination of key operations sequentially performed on a second type key and a plurality of first type keys according to a second sequence within a preset time period during an operation process of the display apparatus; the control device comprises a main controller and an auxiliary controller; and wherein controlling the display apparatus to execute the corresponding functions in response to that the input operation is the safe turn-off operation and the operating mode is the safe mode, comprises: controlling, by the main controller, the display apparatus to be turned off and writing the safe mode identifier stored in the main controller into the auxiliary controller.
Claim 8: wherein the preset operation comprises: a safe turn-off operation, and the safe turn-off operation comprises: a combination of key operations sequentially performed on a second type key and a plurality of first type keys according to a second sequence within a preset time period during an operation process of the display apparatus; the control device comprises a main controller and an auxiliary controller; and wherein controlling the display apparatus to execute the corresponding functions in response to that the input operation is the safe turn-off operation and the operating mode is the safe mode, comprises: controlling, by the main controller, the display apparatus to be turned off and writing the safe mode identifier stored in the main controller into the auxiliary controller.
Claim 8: wherein, judging, by the control device, whether or not the safe mode identifier is stored in the control device in response to that the display apparatus is in a turn-off state comprises: judging, by the auxiliary controller, whether the safe mode identifier is stored in the auxiliary controller; the preset operation further comprises a safe turn-on operation; the safe turn-on operation comprises: a combination of key operations sequentially performed on a second type key and a plurality of first type keys according to a second sequence within a preset time period when the display apparatus is in the turn-off state; and controlling the display apparatus to execute the corresponding functions in response to that the input operation is the safe turn-on operation and the operating mode is the safe mode, comprises: controlling the display apparatus to be turned on.
Claim 11: wherein, judging, by the control device, whether or not the safe mode identifier is stored in the control device in response to that the display apparatus is in a turn-off state comprises: judging, by the auxiliary controller, whether the safe mode identifier is stored in the auxiliary controller; the preset operation further comprises a safe turn-on operation; the safe turn-on operation comprises: a combination of key operations sequentially performed on a second type key and a plurality of first type keys according to a second sequence within a preset time period when the display apparatus is in the turn-off state; and controlling the display apparatus to execute the corresponding functions in response to that the input operation is the safe turn-on operation and the operating mode is the safe mode, comprises: controlling the display apparatus to be turned on.
Claim 9: wherein the second type key comprises a power key.
Claim 9: wherein the second type key comprises a power key.
Claim 10: wherein the auxiliary controller comprises a single chip microcomputer.
Claim 10: wherein the auxiliary controller comprises a single chip microcomputer.
Claim 11: A device for controlling a display apparatus, comprising: a judging module configured to judge whether an input operation of an input device belongs to a preset operation in response to the input operation of the input device, and determine a current operating mode of the display apparatus; and a processing module configured to control the display apparatus to execute corresponding functions according to the preset operation and the operating mode in response to the input operation belonging to the preset operation; wherein the preset operation comprises a combination of a plurality of key operations, and the operating mode is one of a plurality of optional modes comprising a safe mode, the judging module is further configured to: judge whether a safe mode identifier is stored in the control device; and determine that the current operating mode of the display apparatus is the safe mode in response to the safe mode identifier being stored in the control device.
Claim 16: A device for controlling a display apparatus, comprising: a judging module configured to judge whether an input operation of an input device belongs to a preset operation in response to the input operation of the input device, and determine a current operating mode of the display apparatus; and a processing module configured to control the display apparatus to execute corresponding functions according to the preset operation and the operating mode in response to the input operation belonging to the preset operation; wherein the preset operation comprises a combination of a plurality of key operations, and the operating mode is one of a plurality of optional modes comprising the safe mode, the judging module is further configured to: judge whether the input device is a preset forbidden device or not in response to the input operation of the input device does not belong to the preset operation and the operating mode is the safe mode; and control the display apparatus to filter out the input operation in response to the input device being the preset forbidden device.
Claim 1: A method for controlling a display apparatus, which is applied to a control device, the method comprising: judging, by the control device, whether an input operation of an input device belongs to a preset operation in response to the input operation of the input device, and determining a current operating mode of the display apparatus; and controlling the display apparatus to execute corresponding functions according to the preset operation and the operating mode in response to the input operation belonging to the preset operation; wherein the preset operation comprises a combination of a plurality of key operations, and the operating mode is one of a plurality of optional modes comprising a safe mode, the method further comprises: judging whether the input device is a preset forbidden device or not in response to the input operation of the input device does not belong to the preset operation and the operating mode is the safe mode; and controlling the display apparatus to filter out the input operation in response to the input device being the preset forbidden device.
Claim 7: wherein the determining the current operating mode of the display apparatus comprises: judging, by the control device, whether a safe mode identifier is stored in the control device; and determining that the current operating mode of the display apparatus is the safe mode in response to the safe mode identifier being stored in the control device.
Claim 12: A display apparatus, comprising: one or more processors; and a memory for storing one or more programs therein; wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement the method
Claim 14: A display apparatus, comprising: one or more processors; and a memory for storing one or more programs therein; wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement the method
Claim 13: A computer readable non-transitory medium on which a computer program is stored; wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, implements the method
Claim 15: A computer readable non-transitory medium on which a computer program is stored; wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, implements the method
Claim 14: wherein the second type key in the safe turn-on operation comprises a power key.
Claim 9: wherein the second type key comprises a power key
Claim 15: wherein the auxiliary controller comprises a single chip microcomputer.
Claim 10: wherein the auxiliary controller comprises a single chip microcomputer
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“judging module” in claim 11.
“processing module” in claim 11
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0297683 A1 (Liu).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a method for controlling an apparatus, which is applied to a control device ([12], [18]-[19]), the method comprising:
judging, by the control device, whether an input operation of an input device belongs to a preset operation in response to the input operation of the input device, and determining a current operating mode of the apparatus ([22], [59], [62]-[65]); and
controlling the apparatus to execute corresponding functions according to the preset operation and the operating mode in response to the input operation belonging to the preset operation ([62]-[67]; Fig. 5);
wherein the preset operation comprises a combination of a plurality of key operations ([22], [59], [63]), and the operating mode is one of a plurality of optional modes comprising a safe mode ([22], [59], [63]),
the method further comprises:
wherein the determining the current operating mode of the apparatus ([62]-[65]) comprises:
judging, by the control device, whether a safe mode identifier is stored in the control device ([64]); and
determining that the current operating mode of the apparatus is the safe mode in response to the safe mode identifier being stored in the control device ([64]-[65]).
Liu does not expressly teach that the apparatus is a display apparatus. However, official notice is taken that it was well-known for an apparatus such as a laptop computer, smartphone, or tablet to comprise a display apparatus. The suggestion to modify the teaching of Liu in this manner is present as Liu teaches that its device may be a laptop, smartphone, or tablet ([11]). The motivation is to implement the most common and useful form of a laptop, smartphone, or tablet. The combination would have been unsurprising and had a reasonable expectation of success because Liu teaches that its device may be a laptop, smartphone, or tablet. Thus, before the effective filing date of the current application, the combination of Liu and official notice would have rendered obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, that the apparatus is a display apparatus.
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches wherein the preset operation is determined according to preconfigured key information, and the key information comprises a sequence of a key ([22]).
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches a device for controlling an apparatus (Abstract), comprising:
a judging module configured to judge whether an input operation of an input device belongs to a preset operation in response to the input operation of the input device, and determine a current operating mode of the apparatus ([12], [18]-[19], [22], [59], [62]-[65]); and
a processing module configured to control the apparatus to execute corresponding functions according to the preset operation and the operating mode in response to the input operation belonging to the preset operation ([12], [18]-[20], [62]-[67]; Fig. 5);
wherein the preset operation comprises a combination of a plurality of key operations ([22], [59], [63]), and the operating mode is one of a plurality of optional modes comprising a safe mode ([22], [59], [63]),
the judging module is further configured to:
judge whether a safe mode identifier is stored in the control device ([64]); and
determine that the current operating mode of the apparatus is the safe mode in response to the safe mode identifier being stored in the control device ([64]-[65]).
Liu does not expressly teach that the apparatus is a display apparatus. However, official notice is taken that it was well-known for an apparatus such as a laptop computer, smartphone, or tablet to comprise a display apparatus. The suggestion to modify the teaching of Liu in this manner is present as Liu teaches that its device may be a laptop, smartphone, or tablet ([11]). The motivation is to implement the most common and useful form of a laptop, smartphone, or tablet. The combination would have been unsurprising and had a reasonable expectation of success because Liu teaches that its device may be a laptop, smartphone, or tablet. Thus, before the effective filing date of the current application, the combination of Liu and official notice would have rendered obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, that the apparatus is a display apparatus.
Regarding claim 12, Liu teaches an apparatus (Abstract), comprising: one or more processors ([12], [18]-[20]); and a memory for storing one or more programs therein ([12], [18]-[20]); wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement the method ([12], [18]-[20]).
Liu does not expressly teach that the apparatus is a display apparatus. As explained regarding claim 1, before the effective filing date of the current application, the combination of Liu and official notice would have rendered obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, that the apparatus is a display apparatus.
Regarding claim 13, Liu teaches a computer readable medium on which a computer program is stored ([12], [18]-[20]); wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, implements the method ([12], [18]-[20]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10 and 14-15 are subject to objection as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the terminal disclaimer is filed as explained above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Claims 3-10 and 14-15, subject to objection as being dependent upon a rejected claim, would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, because the prior art cited to reject the aforementioned base and intervening claims does not subsequently teach or render obvious the dependent claims indicated as otherwise allowable in the full context of the claims. Nor does any observed additional prior art in combination with the cited prior art render obvious the dependent claims indicated as being allowable in the full context of the claims.
Conclusion
/Gene W Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624