Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 17 July 2025 and 17 April 2026 is being considered by the examiner. The Office notes a typo in the IDs filed on 17 July 2025 foreign reference #1 lists WO-24/02443 to “Aisin Corp”. The IDS has been corrected to include the correct document number WO-202402443 which matches the foreign document provided by the applicant (see FIG. A below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Denoual CN-114787572.
Regarding claims 1, 6 and 8, Denoual CN-114787572 teaches in Figs. 1-12 (see at least Figs. 3a-5 and 8, in particular Fig. 5) the limitations of:
---Claim 1. A manifold (3) comprising:
a first manifold portion (see in Fig. 5 the right portion of the manifold that handles refrigerant flow A, see Fig. 8 which is shown on the left side) including a refrigerant flow path (A) through which a refrigerant flows (see at least Fig. 8 and pages 8-9 of the translation);
a second manifold portion (see in Fig. 5 the left portion of the manifold that handles cooling liquid flow B, see Fig. 8 which is shown on the right side) including a cooling liquid flow path (B) through which a cooling liquid flows (see at least Fig. 8 and pages 8-9 of the translation); and
a coupling portion (see in Fig. 5 the middle portion of the manifold that couples the two manifold portions and has a smaller cross-sectional area as compared to the two manifold portions) configured to couple the first manifold portion and the second manifold portion to each other, wherein
the first manifold portion, the second manifold portion, and the coupling portion are integrally molded into an integrally molded product (see at least Fig. 5 and page 6 of the translation), and
a cross-sectional area of a surface orthogonal to a first direction (X) in which the first manifold portion and the second manifold portion face each other in the coupling portion is smaller than a cross-sectional area of a surface orthogonal to the first direction in each of the first manifold portion and the second manifold portion (see in Fig. 5 that the coupling portion has a smaller cross-sectional area as compared to the two manifold portions).
---Claim 6. The manifold according to claim 1, wherein a heat exchanger (100 and/or 200) is provided, the heat exchanger being configured to exchange heat between the refrigerant and the cooling liquid in the first manifold portion and the second manifold portion (see at least Fig. 3a).
---Claim 8. The manifold according to claim 1, wherein the refrigerant flow path and the cooling liquid flow path are not provided in the coupling portion (see at least Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Denoual CN-114787572 in view of Woo US-20250058605.
Regarding claims 2-3, 7 and 9, the device of Denoual CN-114787572 fails to disclose that the coupling portion has a first and second coupling portions with a gap as claimed. However, heat management manifolds having such an arrangement are known in the art.
Woo US-20250058605 teaches in Figs. 1-11 (see at least Fig. 2) of a manifold 1 with a first/lower manifold portion (see the lower portion with ports 8, 10, 14 and 18) and a second/upper manifold portion (see the upper portion with ports 12, 13, 16, 17 and 20) and a coupling portion (see the middle portion of the body of the manifold that couples the two manifold portions and that includes coupling portions between gaps/openings 6). Para. [0046] teaches that the openings 6 maximizes separation between a high temperature area and a low temperature area of the manifold.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was effectively filed to modify the coupling part of the manifold of Denoual to have a similar design to the one as taught by Woo wherein the manifold portions are linked via at least first and second portions/webs having an opening/gap 6 in between them in a similar manner as taught by at least Fig. 2 of Woo since such a modification aids in improving heat insulation by maximizing separation between a high temperature area of the manifold from a cold temperature area of the manifold while maintaining the connection between the first and second manifold portions.
As such, the device of the combination of Denoual CN-114787572 in view of Woo US-20250058605 teaches the limitations of:
---Claim 2. The manifold according to claim 1, wherein
the first manifold portion and the second manifold portion are coupled to each other by a first coupling portion and a second coupling portion included in the coupling portion (see the coupling portion of Denoual as modified by Woo with the coupling portion including at least a first and second coupling portions divided by a gap/opening 6 with the gap 6 improving heat insulation between the manifold portions), and
the first coupling portion and the second coupling portion are provided with a gap (see opening 6 as taught by at least Fig. 2 of Woo) therebetween.
---Claim 3. The manifold according to claim 2, wherein
when viewed along a third direction (Y of Fig. 5 of Denoual) orthogonal to both the first direction and a second direction (Z of Fig. 5 of Denoual) in which the first coupling portion and the second coupling portion face each other, the gap is provided between an inflow port (in Fig. 5 of Denoual see the inflow port at 36) through which the refrigerant flows in and an outflow port (in Fig. 5 of Denoual see the outflow port at 35) through which the refrigerant flows out in the first manifold portion and an inflow port (in Fig. 5 of Denoual see the inflow port at 37) through which the cooling liquid flows in and an outflow port (in Fig. 5 of Denoual see the outflow port at 38) through which the cooling liquid flows out in the second manifold portion (notice that similar to applicant’s invention, the gap as taught by Woo is provided at the coupling portion with the gap being in between the respective ports of the first and second manifold portions).
---Claim 7. The manifold according to claim 2, wherein a heat exchanger (100 and/or 200 of Denoual) is provided, the heat exchanger being configured to exchange heat between the refrigerant and the cooling liquid in the first manifold portion and the second manifold portion (see at least Fig. 3a of Denoual).
---Claim 9. The manifold according to claim 2, wherein the refrigerant flow path and the cooling liquid flow path are not provided in the coupling portion (see at least Fig. 5 of Denoual).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 4 and 5 recite the following:
---Claim 4. The manifold according to claim 1, wherein a slit is provided at least one of: between an inflow port through which the refrigerant flows in and an outflow port through which the refrigerant flows out in the first manifold portion and between an inflow port through which the cooling liquid flows in and an outflow port through which the cooling liquid flows out in the second manifold portion.
---Claim 5. The manifold according to claim 2, wherein a slit is provided at least one of: between an inflow port through which the refrigerant flows in and an outflow port through which the refrigerant flows out in the first manifold portion and between an inflow port through which the cooling liquid flows in and an outflow port through which the cooling liquid flows out in the second manifold portion.
The closest prior art are:
---References A (Fluidic systems for thermal management):
Kwak US-12673536 and Hong US-10358015.
---References B (Manifolds for thermal management):
Lee US-20250369666, Sharpe US-20250282201, Woo US-20250058605, Kang US-20240131903,
Nacer-Bey FR-3158065, Lee Jong KR-20240127541, Kang In KR-20240099605, Park KR-20230108394, Schafer DE-102021133850 and Denoual CN-114787572.
References A teaches the general state of the art of fluidic systems for thermal management such as those used in air conditioning system similar to applicant’s general disclosure. References B teaches of various examples of manifolds used in thermal management systems that allow for the routing of refrigerant and cooling fluids similar to applicant’s general invention. Among these, as noted in the rejections above, Denoual CN-114787572 and Woo US-20250058605 teaches of manifold having the basics features of the claimed invention such as showing an integral manifold composed of two manifold parts that connected via an intermediate coupling portion with the fluid ports of the manifold parts not present in the coupling portion. However, while having some of the claimed features, the closest prior art fails to disclose or render obvious the particular structure and use of the slit 91 between the inflow and outflow ports as claimed in combination with all the limitations as claimed in claims 4-5 and as shown in at least Figs. 2 and 8 of the application.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DAVID COLON-MORALES, whose telephone number is 571-270-1741 and fax number is 571-270-2741. If the applicant has authorized internet communications via the filling of form PTO/SB/439, the examiner can be reached via email at david.colon-morales@uspto.gov , email communication is not permitted if the applicant has not filed an authorization for internet communication (see MPEP 502.03 for more details on internet communications). The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday (7:30AM-3:30PM EST).
/DAVID COLON-MORALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753