Double Patenting
Patent US 12,389,003 B2
Claims 1, 6-7, 9, 14-15 & 17-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 & 9-10 of US 12,389,003 B2.
Instant 19/272,686
Patent US 12,389,003 B2
1. A transform method, applied to an encoder, the method comprising:
1. A transform method, applied to an encoder, the method comprising:
determining a prediction mode parameter of a current block;
determining a prediction mode parameter of a current block;
determining a Matrix-based Intra Prediction (MIP) parameter when the prediction mode parameter indicates that MIP is used for the current block to determine an intra prediction value;
determining a Matrix-based Intra Prediction (MIP) parameter when the prediction mode parameter indicates that MIP is used for the current block to determine an intra prediction value;
determining the intra prediction value of the current block according to the MIP parameter, and calculating a residual value between the current block and the intra prediction value;
determining the intra prediction value of the current block according to the MIP parameter, and calculating a residual value between the current block and the intra prediction value;
performing a first transform on the residual value to obtain a first coefficient matrix;
performing a first transform on the residual value to obtain a first coefficient matrix;
determining a scanning order of Low-Frequency Non-Separable Transform (LFNST) coefficients used for the current block according to the MIP parameter when an LFNST is used for the current block;
determining a scanning order of LFNST coefficients used for the current block according to the MIP parameter when an LFNST is used for the current block;
constructing an input coefficient matrix of the LFNST based on the first coefficient matrix according to the scanning order of LFNST coefficients; and
constructing an input coefficient matrix of the LFNST based on the obtained first coefficient matrix according to the scanning order of LFNST coefficients,
performing an LFNST processing on the input coefficient matrix to obtain a transform coefficient matrix of the current block;
performing an LFNST processing on the constructed input coefficient matrix to obtain a transform coefficient matrix of the current block;
wherein, the first transform is a transform different from the LFNST, and scanning orders of LFNST coefficients comprise a horizontal scanning order and a vertical scanning order.
wherein the first transform is a transform different from Low-Frequency Non-Separable Transform (LFNST); wherein the scanning order of LFNST coefficients comprises a horizontal scanning order or a vertical scanning order;
Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the instant application falls within the scope of claim 1 of US 12,389,003 B2.
Regarding claims (6-7, 9, 14-15 & 17-19), claims (6-7, 9, 14-15 & 17-19) in the instant application correspond to claims (2-7 & 9-10), respectively, in US 12,389,003 B2.
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9 & 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biatek et al. (US 2021/0092405 A1 with provisional benefit to 62/905,865) (hereinafter Biatek) in view of Koo et al. (US 2022/0256150 A1 with provisional benefit to 62/929,762) (hereinafter Koo), and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2020/0396455 A1 with provisional benefit to 62/860,149) (hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 1, Biatek discloses A transform method, applied to an encoder [Paragraph [0008] supported in Paragraph [0018] of provisional, method for encoding, as transform method applied to encoder], the method comprising:
determining a prediction mode parameter of a current block [Paragraph [0085] supported in Paragraph [0121] of provisional, flag intra_mip_flag specifying whether MIP mode is used, as prediction mode parameter for each CU as current block];
determining a Matrix-based Intra Prediction (MIP) parameter when the prediction mode parameter indicates that MIP is used for the current block to determine an intra prediction value [Paragraph [0085]-[0183] supported in Paragraph [0121]-[0148] of provisional, When intra_mip_flag is true, value of intra_mip_transposed as MIP parameter is determined, to determine MIP mode for luma samples as intra prediction values is transposed or not];
determining the intra prediction value of the current block according to the MIP parameter [Paragraph [0085]-[0186] supported in Paragraph [0121]-[0148] of provisional, intra_mip_transposed as MIP parameter is determined to derive luma intra prediction mode], and calculating a residual value between the current block and the intra prediction value [Paragraph [0130] supported in Paragraph [0084] of provisional, residual generation unit 204 receives the video data for the current block and the corresponding prediction block. Residual generation unit 204 then generates a residual block for the current block];
performing a first transform on the residual value to obtain a first coefficient matrix [Paragraph [0131] supported in Paragraph [0085] of provisional, Transform processing unit 206 applies one or more transforms as first transform to the residual block to generate a block of transform coefficients as first coefficient matrix].
However, Biatek does not explicitly disclose determining a scanning order of Low-Frequency Non-Separable Transform (LFNST) coefficients used for the current block according to the MIP parameter when an LFNST is used for the current block;
constructing an input coefficient matrix of the LFNST based on the first coefficient matrix according to the scanning order of LFNST coefficients; and performing an LFNST processing on the input coefficient matrix to obtain a transform coefficient matrix of the current block; wherein, the first transform is a transform different from the LFNST.
Koo teaches determining a scanning order of Low-Frequency Non-Separable Transform (LFNST) coefficients used for the current block [Paragraph [0170]-[0172] supported in Section 3.7 Embodiment 7 of provisional, in LFNST, output values may be arranged in a 2D block according to a predetermined scan order] according to the MIP parameter when an LFNST is used for the current block [Paragraph [0239]-[0246] supported in Section 3.8.9 of provisional, Ifnst_idx may be signaled only when the condition (!intra_mip_flag[x0][y0] | | Min( lfnstWidth, lfnstHeight ) >= 16 ) is satisfied. Herein, intra_mip_flag[x0][y0] is a flag indicating whether the MIP (matrix-based intra-prediction) is applied to a Luma block];
constructing an input coefficient matrix of the LFNST based on the first coefficient matrix according to the scanning order of LFNST coefficients [Paragraph [0170]-[0172] supported in Section 3.7 Embodiment 7 of provisional, in LFNST, output values may be arranged in a 2D block according to a predetermined scan order, with x being input [48x1] vector as input coefficient matrix arranged from 2D output of primary transform according to scan order]; and
performing an LFNST processing on the input coefficient matrix to obtain a transform coefficient matrix of the current block [Paragraph [0170]-[0172] supported in Section 3.7 Embodiment 7 of provisional, forward secondary transform (after forward primary transform) is performed as LFNST, upon input x convoluted with LFNST matrix GT to obtain output y as transform coefficient matrix of current block]; wherein, the first transform is a transform different from the LFNST [Paragraph [0098]-[0100] supported in Section 0.6 & 2.2 of provisional, forward primary transform is a multiple transform set (MTS), of which DST, DCT transforms are different from LFNST].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Biatek to integrate and implement the teachings of Koo as above, for increasing coding efficiency in coding an LFNST index (Koo, Paragraph [0006]-[0007]).
However, Biatek and Koo do not explicitly disclose scanning orders of LFNST coefficients comprise a horizontal scanning order and a vertical scanning order.
Liu teaches scanning orders of LFNST coefficients comprise a horizontal scanning order and a vertical scanning order [Paragraph [0019] & [0153] supported in Section 3.3.1-3.3.2 of provisional, The non-separable transform is calculated re-organizes 16x1 vector as a 4×4 block using a scanning order for that block (horizontal, vertical or diagonal)].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Biatek to integrate and implement the teachings of Liu as above, for keeping low computation complexity when transforming low frequency coefficients after a primary transform (Liu, Paragraph [0151]).
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 is drawn to a transform method, applied to a decoder, having limitations similar to the transform method of using the same as claimed in claim 1 treated in the above rejection. Therefore, method claim 9 corresponds to method claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Furthermore, Biatek discloses of a transform method, applied to a decoder [Paragraph [0027] supported in Paragraph [0019] in provisional, providing a method for decoding an image].
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is drawn to a decoder having limitations similar to the transform methods, applied to the decoder of using the same as claimed in claim 9 treated in the above rejections. Therefore, device claim 18 corresponds to method claim 9 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Furthermore, Biatek discloses the decoder comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program runnable on the processor; and the processor is configured to perform the method [Paragraph [0046] and supported in [0033] of provisional, Video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 each may be implemented as any of a variety of suitable encoder and/or decoder circuitry, such as one or more microprocessors, digital signal processors (DSPs), application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), discrete logic, software, hardware, firmware or any combinations thereof. When the techniques are implemented partially in software, a device may store instructions for the software in a suitable, non-transitory computer-readable medium and execute the instructions in hardware using one or more processors to perform the techniques of this disclosure].
Regarding claim 19, non-transitory computer storage medium claim 19 corresponds to the same method as claimed in claim 1, and therefore is also rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as listed above.
Furthermore, Biatek discloses of a non-transitory computer storage medium having stored therein a computer program wherein, the method according to claim 1 is implemented when the computer program is executed by a processor [Paragraph [0046] and supported in [0033] of provisional, techniques are implemented partially in software, a device may store instructions for the software in a suitable, non-transitory computer-readable medium and execute the instructions in hardware using one or more processors to perform the techniques of this disclosure].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 8, 10-13 & 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 2-5, 8, 10-13 & 16 contain allowable subject matter.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The various claimed limitations mentioned in the claims are not taught or suggested by the prior art taken either singly or in combination, with emphasize that it is each claim, taken as a whole, including the interrelationships and interconnections between various claimed elements make them allowable over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/DANIEL CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487