DETAILED ACTION
Applicants’ reply to the November 28, 2025 Office Action, filed May 28, 2026, is acknowledged. Applicants make no amendments to the previously pending claims, but add new claims 22-23. Claims 1-23 are pending in this application, and are under examination.
Any objection or rejection of record in the previous Office Action, mailed November 28, 2025, which is not addressed in this action has been withdrawn in light of Applicants’ amendments and/or arguments. This action is FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed May 28, 2026 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-15, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,447,770, issued September 20, 2022, filed March 31, 2021, and claiming priority to PCT Patent Application No. PCT/US2020/023712 and U.S. Provisional Patent Application Nos. 62/991,069; 63/100,548; 62/994,231; 62/974,537; 62/931,195; 62/973,558; 62/913,553; 62/922,654; 62/889,996; 62/858,958; and 62/820,813; filed March 19, 2020; March 17, 2020; March 17, 2020; December 5, 2019; December 5, 2019; November 5, 2019; October 10, 2019; October 10, 2019; August 21, 2019; August 21, 2019; June 7, 2019; and March 19, 2019, respectively, and cited in the Information Disclosure Statement filed August 19, 2025) in view of Yu et al. (2012 Journal of Biomedicine and Biotechnology Art. 482568, 1-10 (2011)). This rejection is maintained.
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses method for prime editing of a target DNA molecule (abstract). Liu discloses fusion protein comprising a reverse transcriptase fused to a Cas9 nickase domain and nucleic acids encoding the fusion protein (column 3, lines 25-30, column 8, lines 49-60, column 12, line 64 to column 13, line 5, column 57, lines 12-15 and column 273, lines 5-31). Liu discloses that the reverse transcriptase domain is fused to the C-terminal of the Cas9 domain (column 13, lines 14-21 and column 58, lines 63-67). Liu discloses that the Cas9 domain can be a nickase domain (column 14, lines 47-49 and column 23, lines 8-17). Liu discloses that the reverse transcriptase can be a wide variety of reverse transcriptases (column 184, lines 16-43). Liu discloses a guide RNA that binds to a target and the fusion protein, which can be used as a template, a heterologous object sequence, and a 3’ target homology zone (Figures 1A-1M).
Regarding claims 2-3, Liu discloses that the nickase can be an SpyCas9 (S. pyogenes) N863A nickase (column 83, lines 56-64).
Regarding claims 5-7, Liu discloses that the Cas9 can be an NmeCas9, an StCas9 (StlCas9) or an SaCas9 (SauCas9) (columns 103 and 134).
Regarding claims 8-9, Liu discloses a linker, which may be between 2 and 40 amino acids in length between the reverse transcriptase domain and the Cas9 nickase domain (column 5, line 65 to column 6, line 10, column 20, lines 61-66, and Figure 3G).
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses that the peptide linker can have a sequence identical to SEQ ID NO: 1589 (SEQ ID NO: 127, column 38, line 57 to column 39, line 9 and Figure 79).
Regarding claims 11-13, Liu discloses that the fusion protein may include a nuclear localization sequence (NLS) at either the C-terminus of the fusion protein or the N-terminus of the Cas9 nickase domain (column 57, lines 16-29, column 58, lines 63-67, and column 236, line 55 to column 237, line 12).
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses that the NLS can be a bipartite NLS or a monopartite NLS (column 237, lines 1-7 and column 237, line 64 to column 238, line 6)
Regarding claim 15, Liu discloses that a linker can be positioned between or flanked by two groups molecules or other moieties, which is interpreted as a linker can be situated between the NLS and the Cas9 nickase domain (column 233, lines 40-60 and column 238, lines 20-47).
Regarding claim 17, Liu discloses that the fusion protein has at least 50% activity compared to an unfused Cas9 nickase molecule (column 163).
Regarding claim 18, Liu discloses that the method can be carried out using the nucleic acid encoding the fusion protein (column 519, line 27 to column 521, line 67).
Regarding claim 19, Liu discloses that the nucleic acid can be an mRNA (column 519, line 27 to column 521, line 67).
Regarding claim 20, Liu discloses that the sequence binding the fusion protein can be a gRNA scaffold (column 553, line 58 to column 554, line 10).
Regarding claim 21, Liu discloses that the fusion protein or nucleic acid can be delivered using lipid nanoparticles (column 518, lines 45-61).
Liu fails to disclose or suggest the sequence of the reverse transcriptase.
Yu discloses that pigs can be infected by porcine endogenous retroviruses (PERVs), which might transmit disease to humans during xenotransplantation (abstract). You discloses a reverse transcriptase having a sequence that has 98.9 % identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 3225, and which is a reverse transcriptase (Appendix I).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Yu’s reverse transcriptase for Liu’s reverse transcriptase because, as disclosed by Liu, a wide variety of reverse transcriptases can be incorporated into a fusion protein with a Cas9 nickase. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to substitute Yu’s known reverse transcriptase for use in Liu’s editing method with a predictable and reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 4 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Yu, as applied to claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-15, and 17-21 above, and further in view of Vyas et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0166928, published June 15, 2017, and cited in the Information Disclosure Statement filed August 19, 2025). This rejection is maintained.
Liu and Yu disclose and suggest a method of modifying a target site in genomic DNA of a cell, as discussed above.
Liu and Yu fail to disclose the sequence of the Cas9 nickase, which may be the same as SEQ ID NO: 3269. Liu and Yu fail to disclose that the fusion protein has the sequence of SEQ ID NO:3561.
Vyas discloses a Cas9 that can genetically modify eukaryotic cells (abstract). Vayas discloses that the Cas9 can be a nickase, that can include an amino acid substitution at position 863 (paragraph [0052]). Vyas discloses a nickase having the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 5, which is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 3269 (SEQ ID NO: 5) (Appendix II).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Vyas’ Cas9 nickase for the Cas9 nickase claimed and disclosed by Liu and Yu because, as disclosed by Liu, a wide variety of Cas9 nickases can be incorporated into a fusion protein with a reverse transcriptase. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to substitute Vyas’ known Cas9 nickase for the different Cas9 nickase disclosed and suggested by Liu and Yu with a predictable and reasonable expectation of success.
It would also have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, having Liu, Yu, and Vyas in front of them, which disclose each of the components of the fusion protein, including components having the same sequences as the reverse transcriptase of Yu, the linker of Liu, and the Cas9 nickase of Vyas to prepare the fusion protein having the sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 3561 in order to employ the fusion protein in methods of modifying a target site in a cell’s genomic DNA. Because each of the components of Yu, Liu, and Vyas were well known, and were known to be able to form a fusion protein for modifying genomic DNA, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a predictable and reasonable expectation of success in creating the fusion protein having the sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 3561, and to use the fusion protein in a method of modifying a target site in genomic DNA.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 and 22-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No.12,157,898. This rejection is modified as necessitated by Applicants’ amendments.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘898 patent claims fusion protein comprising: a) a reverse transcriptase (RT) domain having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3225; and b) a Cas9 nickase domain, wherein the RT domain is C-terminal of the Cas9 nickase domain (claim 1). The ‘898 patent claims that the Cas9 nickase domain is a SpyCas9 nickase domain (claim 2). The ‘898 patent claims that Cas9 nickase domain is a SpyCas9 (N863A) nickase domain (claim 3). The ‘898 patent claims that the Cas9 nickase domain comprises an amino acid sequence having at least 99% identity to SEQ ID NO: 3269 (Claim 4). The ‘898 patent claims that the Cas9 nickase domain is an NmeCas9 domain (claim 5). The ‘898 patent claims that the Cas9 nickase domain is an St1Cas9 domain (claim 6). The ‘898 patent claims that the Cas9 nickase domain is a SauCas9 domain (claim 7). The ‘898 patent claims that the fusion protein comprises a peptide linker disposed between the RT domain and the Cas9 nickase domain (claim 8). The ‘898 patent claims that the peptide linker is between 2-40 amino acids in length (claim 9). The ‘898 patent claims that the peptide linker has an amino acid sequence according to SEQ ID NO: 1589 (claim 10). The ‘898 patent claims that the fusion protein further comprises a nuclear localization sequence (NLS) (claim 11). The ‘898 patent claims that the NLS is fused to the N-terminus of the Cas9 nickase domain (claim 12). The ‘898 patent claims that the NLS is fused to the C-terminus of the fusion protein (claim 13). The ‘898 patent claims that the NLS is a monopartite NLS or a bipartite NLS (claim 14). The ‘898 patent claims that the fusion protein further comprises a linker disposed between the NLS and the Cas9 nickase domain (claim 15). The ‘898 patent claims that comprises an amino acid sequence according to SEQ ID NO: 3561 (claim 16). The ‘898 patent claims that the Cas9 nickase domain has an activity at least 50% of that of an otherwise similar Cas9 nickase molecule that is not fused to an RT domain (claim 17).
The instant case is analogous to Sun Pharmaceutical Industries, Ltd. v. Eli Lilly and Company (Fed. Cir. July 28, 2010), where the courts ruled that obviousness-type double patenting exist between previously-disclosed, but newly-claimed utility. Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fusion protein of the ‘898 patent in the method of modifying a target site in a cell’s genomic DNA according to the instant application because the fusion protein of the instant application is the same as that of the ‘898 patent. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable and predictable expectation of success in using the fusion protein of the ‘898 patent in the method claimed by the instant application.
Claims 1, 8-9, and 20-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 110-113, 115-116, 121, 129, and 131 of copending Application No. 17/929,116 (reference application). This rejection is maintained as modified by Applicants’ amendments.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘116 application claims a fusion protein comprising a reverse transcriptase domain and a Cas nickase domain, and a method of modifying a target site in genomic DNA by contacting the cell with the fusion protein system, and the instant application claims a method of using such a fusion protein for modifying a target site in the genomic DNA of a cell (claim 1). The ‘116 application claims that the reverse transcriptase has a sequence selected from those listed in Table 30 or Table 44, which the instant application claims that the sequence has the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3225 (claim 1), which is listed in Table 44. The ‘116 application claims that the DNA binding domain is a CRISPR/Cas nickase domain (claim 1). The ‘116 application claims a linker positioned between the RT domain and the Cas9 nickase (DBD domain) (claim 8). The ‘116 application claims that the linker is between 2 and 50 amino acids in length (claim 9). The ‘116 application claims that the sequence that binds the fusion protein is a gRNA scaffold (claim 20). The ‘116 application claims that the fusion protein, or nucleic acid encoding the fusion protein is formulated in a lipid nanoparticle (claim 21).
Therefore, the claims of the ‘116 application and the instant application are not deemed to be patentably distinct.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 2-3, 5-15, and 17-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 110-113, 115-116, 121, 129, and 131 of copending Application No. 17/929,116 (reference application) in view of Liu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,447,770, issued September 20, 2022, filed March 31, 2021, and claiming priority to PCT Patent Application No. PCT/US2020/023712 and U.S. Provisional Patent Application Nos. 62/991,069; 63/100,548; 62/994,231; 62/974,537; 62/931,195; 62/973,558; 62/913,553; 62/922,654; 62/889,996; 62/858,958; and 62/820,813; filed March 19, 2020; March 17, 2020; March 17, 2020; December 5, 2019; December 5, 2019; November 5, 2019; October 10, 2019; October 10, 2019; August 21, 2019; August 21, 2019; June 7, 2019; and March 19, 2019, respectively, and cited in the Information Disclosure Statement filed August 19, 2025). This rejection is maintained as modified by applicants’ amendments.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘116 application claims a fusion protein comprising a reverse transcriptase domain and a Cas nickase domain, as well as the method of modifying a target site in a cell’s genomic DNA, as discussed above.
The ‘116 application fails to explicitly claim additional characteristics and sequences of the fusion protein. The ‘116 application does not claim that the CRISPR/Cas domain is a Cas9 domain.
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses compositions for prime editing of a target DNA molecule (abstract). Liu discloses fusion protein comprising a reverse transcriptase fused to a Cas9 nickase domain and nucleic acids, which are interpreted to included mRNA, encoding the fusion protein (column 3, lines 25-30, column 8, lines 49-60, column 12, line 64 to column 13, line 5, and column 57, lines 12-15). Liu discloses that the reverse transcriptase domain is fused to the C-terminal of the Cas9 domain (column 13, lines 14-21 and column 58, lines 63-67). Liu discloses that the Cas9 domain can be a nickase domain (column 14, lines 47-49 and column 23, lines 8-17). Liu discloses that the reverse transcriptase can be a wide variety of reverse transcriptases (column 184, lines 16-43).
Regarding claims 2-3, Liu discloses that the nickase can be an SpyCas9 (S. pyogenes) N863A nickase (column 83, lines 56-64).
Regarding claims 5- 7, Liu discloses that the Cas9 can be an NmeCas9, an StCas9 (StlCas9) or an SaCas9 (SauCas9) (columns 103 and 134).
Regarding claims 8-9, Liu discloses a linker, which may be between 2 and 40 amino acids in length between the reverse transcriptase domain and the Cas9 nickase domain (column 5, line 65 to column 6, line 10, column 20, lines 61-66, and Figure 3G).
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses that the peptide linker can have a sequence identical to SEQ ID NO: 1589 (SEQ ID NO: 127, column 38, line 57 to column 39, line 9 and Figure 79).
Regarding claims 11-13, Liu discloses that the fusion protein may include a nuclear localization sequence (NLS) at either the C-terminus of the fusion protein or the N-terminus of the Cas9 nickase domain (column 57, lines 16-29, column 58, lines 63-67, and column 236, line 55 to column 237, line 12).
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses that the NLS can be a bipartite NLS or a monopartite NLS (column 237, lines 1-7 and column 237, line 64 to column 238, line 6)
Regarding claim 15, Liu discloses that a linker can be positioned between or flanked by two groups molecules or other moieties, which is interpreted as a linker can be situated between the NLS and the Cas9 nickase domain (column 233, lines 40-60 and column 238, lines 20-47).
Regarding claim 17, Liu discloses that the fusion protein has at least 50% activity compared to an unfused Cas9 nickase molecule (column 163).
Regarding claim 18, Liu discloses that the method can be carried out using the nucleic acid encoding the fusion protein (column 519, line 27 to column 521, line 67).
Regarding claim 19, Liu discloses that the nucleic acid can be an mRNA (column 519, line 27 to column 521, line 67).
Regarding claim 20, Liu discloses that the sequence binding the fusion protein can be a gRNA scaffold (column 553, line 58 to column 554, line 10).
Regarding claim 21, Liu discloses that the fusion protein or nucleic acid can be delivered using lipid nanoparticles (column 518, lines 45-61).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute ‘116 application’s additional components and sequences with Liu’s fusion protein because, as disclosed by Liu, a wide variety of reverse transcriptases can be incorporated into a fusion protein with a Cas9 nickase. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to substitute one known fusion protein for a different fusion protein comprising the same components with a predictable and reasonable expectation of success.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 4 and 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 110-113, 115-116, 121, 129, and 131 of copending Application No. 17/929,116 (reference application) in view of Liu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,447,770, issued September 20, 2022, filed March 31, 2021, and claiming priority to PCT Patent Application No. PCT/US2020/023712 and U.S. Provisional Patent Application Nos. 62/991,069; 63/100,548; 62/994,231; 62/974,537; 62/931,195; 62/973,558; 62/913,553; 62/922,654; 62/889,996; 62/858,958; and 62/820,813; filed March 19, 2020; March 17, 2020; March 17, 2020; December 5, 2019; December 5, 2019; November 5, 2019; October 10, 2019; October 10, 2019; August 21, 2019; August 21, 2019; June 7, 2019; and March 19, 2019, and cited in the Information Disclosure Statement filed August 19, 2025), as applied to claims 1-3, 5-15, and 17-21 above, and further in view of Vyas et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0166928, published June 15, 2017, and cited in the Information Disclosure Statement filed August 19, 2025). This rejection is maintained as modified by Applicants’ amendments.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘116 application and Liu claim and discloses a fusion protein comprising a reverse transcriptase and a Cas9 nickase, as discussed above.
The ‘116 application and Liu fail to claim the sequence of the Cas9 nickase, which may be the same as SEQ ID NO: 3269. The ‘116 application and Liu fail to claim that the sequence of the fusion protein is instant SEQ ID NO: 3651.
Vayas discloses a Cas9 that can genetically modify eukaryotic cells (abstract). Vayas discloses that the Cas9 can be a nickase, that can include an amino acid substitution at position 863 (paragraph [0052]). Vayas discloses a nickase having the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 5, which is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 3269 (SEQ ID NO: 5) (Appendix II).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Vayas’ Cas9 nickase for the Cas9 nickase claimed and disclosed by the ‘116 application and Liu because, as disclosed by Liu, a wide variety of Cas9 nickases can be incorporated into a fusion protein with a reverse transcriptase. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to substitute one known Cas9 nickase for a different Cas9 nickase with a predictable and reasonable expectation of success.
It would also have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, having the ‘116 application, Liu, and Vayas in front of them, which disclose each of the components of the fusion protein, including components having the same sequences as the reverse transcriptase of the ‘116 application, the nickase of Vayas to prepare the fusion protein having the sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 3561 in order to employ the fusion protein in methods of modifying a target site in a cell’s genomic DNA. Because each of the components of the ‘116 application, Liu, and Vayas were well known, and were known to be able to form a fusion protein for modifying genomic DNA, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a predictable and reasonable expectation of success in creating the fusion protein having the sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 3561, and to use the fusion protein in a method of modifying a target site in genomic DNA.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered, but are not deemed to be persuasive.
Applicants assert that there is no motivation to combine Liu and Yu to reach the claimed invention. Applicants assert that, because Liu apparently solves the problem of successful gene editing using a fusion protein of a reverse transcriptase (RT) and a Cas9 nickase, one of ordinary skill in the art would not look to use a different reverse transcriptase. Applicants further assert that the reverse transcriptase of Yu arises from a different host species than that of Liu and allegedly the RT of Yu exhibits over 38% amino acid difference from Liu’s MLV RT. Applicants assert that there is no guidance provided, nor any criticality of RT parameters, provided. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would not look to provide a different RT than that of Liu, without hindsight.
To begin, contrary to Applicants’ assertion, it is noted that the RT sequence of Yu has 98.4 % sequence identity. It is not clear what is meant by Applicants’ stating that 38% sequence identity “spread across their entire sequences.” Even with origination in the different species (murine versus porcine), the sequences still have over 98% sequence identity. Thus, the RT sequence of Yu has the required sequence identity of greater than 98% with Applicants’ SEQ ID NO: 3225.
Regarding Applicants assertion that one of ordinary skill in the art would not look to other RTs because Liu’s RT already functioned as required by the claims and one of ordinary skill in the art would not have any reason to select the one RT of Yu having the desired sequence. However, there are still a finite number of RTs available. And one ordinarily skilled in the art would have been motivated to select additional RTs to test in fusion proteins for gene editing purposes in order to increase the level of editing, as well as looking for RTs for fusion proteins that have greater editing efficiency and lower off-target effects. Because there are finite numbers of RTs, determining the most efficient and effective RTs, even given the large number of available RTs and alleged lack of direction, it would have been well within the purview of one skilled in the art to prepare and test fusion proteins between the Cas9 nickase of Liu and the list of RTs disclosed by Yu or otherwise known and available. And, regarding the alleged lack of direction, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been both motivated and directed to references that have the required level of sequence identity to the claimed RT. At the very least, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to try the RTs of Yu (as well as other known RTs) in a fusion protein with a Cas9 nickase in order to modify a target site in the genome of a cell. Indeed, at the very least, it would have been obvious to try to any RT, and in particular, those having at least 98% ide and would have had a predictable and reasonable expectation of success in doing so, since the sequences were similar over the RT sequence (See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., (550 U.S. 398; 127 S.Ct. 1727; 82 USPQ2d 1385). And one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected at least the same level or even an increased level in editing efficiency and specificity and along with a comparable reduction in off target effects.
Regarding Applicants’ assertion of hindsight, "[a]ny judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based on hindsight reasoning, but so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper." In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 1395, 170 USPQ 209, 212 (CCPA 1971).
In addition, Applicants assert that Vyas does not remedy the alleged deficiencies of the combination of Liu and Yu. It is noted, however, that Vyas is cited for disclosing the sequence of the Cas9 nickase. As noted above, the combination of Liu and Yu render the instant invention obvious. The teachings of Vyas are directed to the sequence of the Cas9 nickase.
For all these reasons, and those listed above, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are maintained.
Regarding the non-statutory double patenting rejections over U.S. Patent No. 12,157,898 and U.S. Patent Application No. 17/929,116, Applicants request that these rejections be held in abeyance until the outstanding rejections are overcome. Therefore, these rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NANCY J. LEITH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1636
/NANCY J LEITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636