DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 2 and 10-13, the terms “said display” lacks antecedent basis. It is unclear as to what is being referred to as said display.
Clarification and correction are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-10 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2017/0084253).
Regarding claim 1
Li et al. shows the active receiver card (combination of 10, 110, 120 and 13/130), see Figs. 1-9) comprising:
a processor (10); and
at least one interface (110 in combination with 120) configured to receive a broadcast serialized video data stream as input from a video processing system (see para. 0045-0046);
wherein the active receiver card is configured to be electrically connected to one or more tiles (taken to be display panel or display panels having LED drivers 14/14a-e/140a-14e, see para. 0003-0005 and 0040), each tile comprising a plurality of pixels (see para. 0066);
wherein said active receiver card is configured to receive a first video stream (taken to be input of first receivers 120 from the output of video processor 10/110, see Figs. 4, 6 and 7, and para. 0050-0051 and 0057), and a second video stream by the at least one interface (taken to be input of second receivers 130, see Figs. 3-7, and para. 0061-0063 and 0065-0066; or also taken to be inputs from the other receivers/interface such as 120b-120i, see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2
Li et al. further shows, wherein the active receiver card comprises a first interface (taken to be the combination of 110 and 120a, see Fig. 4) and a second interface (taken to be the combination of 110 and 120b, see Fig. 4), and said display (1) is configured to receive the first video stream for the first interface (taken to be the output from 120a) and the second video stream for the second interface (taken to be the output from 120b, see Fig. 4 and para. 0049).
Regarding claim 3
Li et al. further shows, wherein the second video stream is different from the first video stream (taken to be different data rates, see para. 0052).
Regarding claim 7
Li et al. further shows, wherein the first video stream is originating from a first source (taken to be from video processor 10, such as VCR, satellite etc., see para. 0045), and the second video stream is originating from a second source (taken to be from first receivers 120 which is converted to different data rates, see para. 0046 and 0052).
Regarding claim 8
Li et al. further shows, wherein the first video stream received by the first interface (110 in combination with 120a, see Fig. 4) and the second video stream received by the second interface (110 in combination with 120b, see Fig. 4), are used alternatingly in said active receiver card (taken to be multiplexing the receivers 120, see para. 0061).
Regarding claim 9
Li et al. further shows, wherein the second video stream is derived from the first video stream (taken to be converting the first data from 120 to a different data rate, see 0052).
Regarding claim 10
Li et al. further shows, wherein the first video stream and the second video stream are each providing an image to said display (see para. 0007, 0052, 0071 and 0076).
Regarding claim 14
Li et al. further shows, a display (taken to be an LED display device, see the abstract) comprising:
the active receiver card according to claim 1 (see Figs. 1-9); and
one or more tiles, each tile comprising a plurality of pixels (taken to be display panel or display panels having LED drivers 14/14a-e/140a-14e, see para. 0003-0005 and 0040);
wherein said display is configured to receive a video stream for each of said interfaces (taken to be the output from video source 10 and 12).
Regarding claim 15
Li et al. further shows, wherein the active receiver card comprises a plurality of interfaces (120/120a-120i, see Fig. 4), each of the plurality of interfaces being configured to receive a broadcast serialized video data stream as input from a video processing system (10/110, see Fig. 4 and para. 0040-0043).
Regarding claim 16
Li et al. further shows, wherein the plurality of interfaces of the active receiver card comprises at least a first interface (taken to be the combination of 110 and 120a, see Fig. 4) and a second interface (taken to be the combination of 110 and 120b, see Fig. 4), and said display (1) is configured to receive the first video stream for the first interface (taken to be the output from 120a) and the second video stream for the second interface (taken to be the output from 120b, see Fig. 4 and para. 0049).
Regarding claim 17
Li et al. further shows, wherein the second video stream is different from the first video stream (taken to be different data rates, see para. 0052).
Regarding claim 18
Li et al. further shows, wherein each of the plurality of interfaces (120a-120i) of the active receiver card are configured to be used in parallel (see Fig. 4).
Double Patenting
In order to expedite prosecution even though the claims have not been allowed, a double patenting rejection is provided below for applicant consideration.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-3, 7-10, 14-17 and 19 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,506,923 in view of common knowledge in the art.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant applicant claims are taken to be broader and include all of the limitations of the patent claims (see for example the similar language used in the patent claims and the claims of the instant application), however the patent claims do not specifically recite the
active receiver card is configured to receive a first video stream and a second video stream by the at least one interface
It should be noted, that while in patented claim 1, the first interface of the active receiver card receives a broadcast serialized video data stream including video image data pertaining to said tile of the display and the broadcast serialized video data stream further including other video image data pertaining to one or more other tiles of said display, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that “the video data stream including video image data pertaining to said tile of the display and other video image data pertaining to one or more other tiles of said display” could be implemented by respective first and second video data streams serially placed back-to-back, in which case the result would read on the application claim 1.
The dependent claims 2, 3, 7-10, 14-17 and 19 are also rejected because they include language of claim 1, and the further limitations as recited in the dependent claims are taken to be inherent to having first and second video streams.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 11-13, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an Examiner's Statement of Reasons for Allowance:
Regarding claim 4
The prior art of record, including Li et al. (US 2017/0084253), taken to be the closest prior art noted in the above rejection to the claims, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the active receiver card, as recited in claim 1, having the combination of elements, along with having the further limitations which include,
wherein the first video stream is providing an image using odd pixels, and the second video stream is providing an image using even pixels, as recited in claim 4.
Further, even though Li et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed in the above rejections, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claim 4, noted above.
Also, none of the prior art of record teaches having the first video stream is providing an image using odd pixels, and the second video stream is providing an image using even pixels, as recited in claim 4.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Li et al., with any of the prior art of record, to include the limitations as recited in claim 4.
Regarding claim 5
The prior art of record, including Li et al. (US 2017/0084253), taken to be the closest prior art noted in the above rejection to the claims, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the active receiver card, as recited in claim 1, having the combination of elements, along with having the further limitations which include,
wherein the first video stream is the top or upper layer or overlay of an image, and the second video stream is the bottom or under layer or underlay of said image, as recited in claim 5.
Further, even though Li et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed in the above rejections, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claim 5, noted above.
Also, none of the prior art of record teaches having the first video stream is the top or upper layer or overlay of an image, and the second video stream is the bottom or under layer or underlay of said image, as recited in claim 5.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Li et al., with any of the prior art of record, to include the limitations as recited in claim 5.
Regarding claim 6
The prior art of record, including Li et al. (US 2017/0084253), taken to be the closest prior art noted in the above rejection to the claims, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the active receiver card, as recited in claim 1, having the combination of elements, along with having the further limitations which include,
wherein the first and second video stream are part of a 3D display application, wherein the first video stream is providing an image meant for a left eye, and the second video stream is providing an image meant for a right eye, as recited in claim 6.
Further, even though Li et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed in the above rejections, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claim 6, noted above.
Also, none of the prior art of record teaches having the first and second video stream are part of a 3D display application, wherein the first video stream is providing an image meant for a left eye, and the second video stream is providing an image meant for a right eye, as recited in claim 6.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Li et al., with any of the prior art of record, to include the limitations as recited in claim 6.
Regarding claims 11-13
The prior art of record, including Li et al. (US 2017/0084253), taken to be the closest prior art noted in the above rejection to the claims, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the active receiver card, as recited in claim 1, having the combination of elements, along with having the further limitations which include,
wherein the first video stream is providing a first image to said display, the second video stream is providing a second image to said display, and depending on said first or second image, the first video stream is overlaying the second video stream on said display, or vice versa, the second video stream is overlaying the first video stream on said display, as recited in claims 11-13.
Further, even though Li et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed in the above rejections, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claims 11-13, noted above.
Also, none of the prior art of record teaches having the first video stream is providing a first image to said display, the second video stream is providing a second image to said display, and depending on said first or second image, the first video stream is overlaying the second video stream on said display, or vice versa, the second video stream is overlaying the first video stream on said display, as recited in claims 11-13.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Li et al., with any of the prior art of record, to include the limitations as recited in claims 11-13.
Regarding claims 19 and 20
The prior art of record, including Li et al. (US 2017/0084253), taken to be the closest prior art noted in the above rejection to the claims, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the active receiver card, as recited in claim 16, having the combination of elements, along with having the further limitations which include,
synchronizing and blending in real-time the first video stream and the second video stream received respectively via the first interface and second interface such that images provided by said first and second video streams are displayed, as recited in claims 19 and 20.
Further, even though Li et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed in the above rejections, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claims 19 and 20, noted above.
Also, none of the prior art of record teaches the synchronizing and blending in real-time the first video stream and the second video stream received respectively via the first interface and second interface such that images provided by said first and second video streams are displayed, as recited in claims 19-20.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Li et al., with any of the prior art of record, to include the limitations as recited in claims 19-20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hundemer (US 9,451,231), show a display system configured to receive broadcast a serialized video data stream, comprising: a display for displaying the serialized video data stream, wherein the video stream may include plural video data streams (see the abstract, Figs. 1-5 and columns 4-14).
Campbell et al. (US 2007/0186002), show a display system configured to receive broadcast a serialized video data stream, comprising: a display for displaying the serialized video data stream, wherein the video stream may include plural video data streams (see the abstract, Figs. 1-11 and para. 0091-0134).
/MUHAMMAD N. EDUN/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2629
/MUHAMMAD N EDUN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629