DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication filed on 07/17/2025.
Claims 1-20 present for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
It is hereby acknowledged that the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file:
Information Disclosure Statement(s) as received on 07/17/2025 is/are considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8, line 1, “determining participation in an interaction function is further with a second user of the interaction system” should read “determining participation in the interaction function is further with a second user of the interaction system”;
Claim 9, line 1, “determining participation in an interaction function is further with a second user of the interaction system” should read “determining participation in the interaction function is further with a second user of the interaction system”;
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,047,337 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the patent anticipate all the claims in the applications.
Instant Application
Patent (US 12,047,337 B1)
1. A system comprising:
a memory; and
one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to perform operations comprising:
determining participation in an interaction function by a first user of an interaction system;
determining that the first user has not captured or designated a first-user self-image for use in the interaction function;
replacing a portion of a character within a media content item with a placeholder space; and
displaying the media content item with the placeholder space in a user interface corresponding to the interaction function.
1. A system comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory component storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising:
determining participation in an interaction function by a first user of an interaction system with a second user of the interaction system;
accessing profile data of the first user;
determining, based on the profile data of the first user, whether the first user has captured or designated a first-user self-image for use in the interaction function; and
in response to determining that the first user has not captured or designated the first-user self-image:
accessing a media content item that includes a character;
identifying a head portion of the character in the media content item;
determining, from profile data of the second user, that the second user has captured or designated a second-user self-image but has not enabled other users to use the second-user self-image;
in response to determining, from the profile data of the second user, that the second user has not enabled other users to use the second-user self-image:
replacing the head portion with a placeholder space; and
displaying the media content item with the placeholder space in a user interface corresponding to the interaction function.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the portion is a head portion.
1. A system comprising:
…
replacing the head portion with a placeholder space;
…
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise, subsequent to displaying the media content item with the placeholder space:
determining that the first user has captured or designated the first-user self-image; and
in response to determining that the first user has captured or designated the first-user self-image, replacing the placeholder space with a portion of the first-user self-image in the user interface corresponding to the interaction function.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise, subsequent to displaying the media content item with the placeholder space:
determining that the first user has captured or designated the first-user self-image; and
in response to determining that the first user has captured or designated the first-user self-image, replacing the placeholder space with a head portion of the first-user self-image in the user interface corresponding to the interaction function.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further include disabling an option to save the media content item onto at least one memory component.
11. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further include disabling an option to save the media content item onto the at least one memory component.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise displaying a search bar configured to initiate a search for other media content items that include a placeholder space for the portion.
12. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise displaying a search bar configured to initiate a search for other media content items that include a placeholder space for the head portion.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise filtering out media content items that include a plurality of portions or media content items that are specific to a particular gender or age group for said media content item.
13. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise filtering out media content items that include a plurality of head portions or media content items that are specific to a particular gender or age group for said accessing of the media content item.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the media content item includes a static image or an animation.
16. The system of claim 1, wherein the media content item includes a static image or an animation.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein determining participation in an interaction function is further with a second user of the interaction system, wherein replacing the portion of the character within the media content item with the placeholder space is in response to determining that the second user has not captured or designated a second-user self-image for use in the interaction function.
1. A system comprising:
…
determining participation in an interaction function by a first user of an interaction system with a second user of the interaction system;
…
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise determining that a second user has not captured or designated a second-user self-image, wherein replacing the head portion with the placeholder space is further in response to determining that the second user has not captured or designated the second-user self-image.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein determining participation in an interaction function is further with a second user of the interaction system, wherein replacing the portion of the character within the media content item with the placeholder space is in response to determining that the second user has not enabled other users to use a second-user self-image in the interaction function.
1. A system comprising:
…
in response to determining, from the profile data of the second user, that the second user has not enabled other users to use the second-user self-image:
replacing the head portion with a placeholder space; and
...
10. The system of claim 1, wherein the interaction function includes a chat window configured to display exchanged messages between the first user and a second user.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the interaction function includes a chat window configured to display exchanged messages between the first and second users.
11. The system of claim 10, wherein displaying the media content item includes:
reducing a size of the chat window in the user interface; and
apportioning unused user interface space for display of the media content item.
6. The system of claim 5, wherein displaying the media content item includes:
reducing a size of the chat window in the user interface; and
apportioning unused user interface space for display of the media content item.
12. The system of claim 10, wherein the operations further include, subsequent to displaying the media content item with the placeholder space:
identifying a user selection of the media content item from a set of media content items being displayed in the user interface; and
in response to the user selection, causing presentation of the selected media content item in the chat window at a first interaction client of the first user and a second interaction client of a second user.
7. The system of claim 5, wherein the operations further include, subsequent to displaying the media content item with the placeholder space:
identifying a user selection of the media content item from a set of media content items being displayed in the user interface; and
in response to the user selection, causing presentation of the selected media content item in the chat window at a first interaction client of the first user and a second interaction client of the second user.
13. The system of claim 10, wherein the operations further include, subsequent to displaying the media content item in the chat window:
determining that the second user has enabled other users to use a second-user self-image; and
in response determining that the second user has enabled other users to use the second-user self-image, replacing the placeholder space in the media content item that is displayed in the chat window with a portion of the second-user self-image.
8. The system of claim 7, wherein the operations further include, subsequent to displaying the selected media content item in the chat window:
determining that the second user has enabled other users to use the second-user self-image; and
in response determining that the second user has enabled other users to use the second-user self-image, replacing the placeholder space in the media content item that is displayed in the chat window with a head portion of the captured or designated second-user self-image.
14. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further include:
displaying a selectable user interface element that initiates a camera feed from a camera system of a first interaction client of the first user to capture the first-user self-image, wherein the selectable user interface element is disposed adjacent to or embedded at least partially within the displayed media content item.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further include:
displaying a selectable user interface element that initiates a camera feed from a camera system of a first interaction client of the first user to capture the first-user self-image, wherein the selectable user interface element is disposed adjacent to or embedded at least partially within the displayed media content item.
15. The system of claim 14, wherein the operations further include:
displaying a message between the first user and a second user subsequent to displaying the media content item with the placeholder space, wherein the message is displayed below the displayed media content item, wherein the selectable user interface element moves along the user interface with the displayed media content item.
10. The system of claim 9, wherein the operations further include:
displaying a message between the first and second users subsequent to displaying the media content item with the placeholder space, wherein the message is displayed below the displayed media content item, wherein the selectable user interface element moves along the user interface with the displayed media content item.
16. The system of claim 1, wherein the interaction function comprises a user selectable user interface element configured to enable the first user to subscribe to a channel of a second user.
14. The system of claim 1, wherein the interaction function comprises a user selectable user interface element configured to enable the first user to subscribe to a channel of the second user.
17. The system of claim 1, wherein the interaction function comprises an online post, wherein the operations further comprise displaying one or more online posts from a second user, wherein the one or more online posts include the media content item with the placeholder space.
15. The system of claim 1, wherein the interaction function comprises an online post, wherein the operations further comprise displaying one or more online posts from the second user, wherein the one or more online posts include the media content item with the placeholder space.
18. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise, subsequent to displaying the media content item with the placeholder space:
determining that a second user captured or designated a second-user self-image; and
in response to determining that the second user captured or designated the second-user self-image, replacing the placeholder space with the second-user self-image.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise,
subsequent to displaying the media content item with the placeholder space:
determining that a third user captured or designated a third-user self-image; and
in response to determining that the second user captured or designated the third-user self-image, replacing the placeholder space with the third-user self-image, wherein the third user is also participating in the interaction function.
19. A method comprising:
determining participation in an interaction function by a first user of an interaction system;
determining that the first user has not captured or designated a first-user self-image for use in the interaction function;
replacing a portion of a character within a media content item with a placeholder space; and
displaying the media content item with the placeholder space in a user interface corresponding to the interaction function.
17. A method comprising:
determining participation in an interaction function by a first user of an interaction system with a second user of the interaction system;
accessing profile data of the first user;
determining, based on the profile data of the first user, whether the first user has captured or designated a first-user self-image for use in the interaction function; and
in response to determining that the first user has not captured or designated the first-user self-image:
accessing a media content item that includes a character;
identifying a head portion of the character in the media content item;
determining, from profile data of the second user, that the second user has captured or designated a second-user self-image but has not enabled other users to use the second-user self-image;
in response to determining, from the profile data of the second user, that the second user has not enabled other users to use the second-user self-image:
replacing the head portion with a placeholder space; and
displaying the media content item with the placeholder space in a user interface corresponding to the interaction function.
20. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising:
determining participation in an interaction function by a first user of an interaction system;
determining that the first user has not captured or designated a first-user self-image for use in the interaction function;
replacing a portion of a character within a media content item with a placeholder space; and
displaying the media content item with the placeholder space in a user interface corresponding to the interaction function.
18. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising:
determining participation in an interaction function by a first user of an interaction system with a second user of the interaction system;
accessing profile data of the first user;
determining, based on the profile data, whether the first user has captured or designated a first-user self-image for use in the interaction function; and
in response to determining that the first user has not captured or designated the first-user self-image:
accessing a media content item that includes a character;
identifying a head portion of the character in the media content item;
replacing the head portion with a placeholder space;
displaying the media content item with the placeholder space in a user interface corresponding to the interaction function;
determining that the first user captured or designated the first-user self-image using a first interaction client of the first user;
determining the second user captured or designated a second-user self-image of the second user using a second interaction client of the second user; and
in response to determining that the first user and the second user captured or designated the first-user self-image and the second-user self-image, respectively:
identifying a media content item with two characters;
replacing a head portion for a first character identified in the media content item with a head portion of the first-user self-image;
replacing a head portion for a second character identified in the media content item with a head portion of the second-user self-image; and
displaying the media content item with the replaced head portion of the first-user self-image and the replaced head portion of the second-user self-image for the interaction function.
Claims 1-7, and 10-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, and 7-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,395,456 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the patent anticipate all the claims in the applications.
Instant Application
Patent (US 12,395,456 B2)
1. A system comprising:
a memory; and
one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to perform operations comprising:
determining participation in an interaction function by a first user of an interaction system;
determining that the first user has not captured or designated a first-user self-image for use in the interaction function;
replacing a portion of a character within a media content item with a placeholder space; and
displaying the media content item with the placeholder space in a user interface corresponding to the interaction function.
1. A system comprising:
memory; and
one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to perform operations comprising:
determining participation in an interaction function by a first user of an interaction system with a second user of the interaction system;
accessing profile data of the first user;
determining, based on the profile data of the first user, that the first user has not captured or designated a first-user self-image for use in the interaction function;
determining, from profile data of the second user, that the second user has not enabled other users to use a second-user self-image in response to determining that the first user has not captured or designated the first-user self-image;
in response to determining, from the profile data of the second user, that the second user has not enabled other users to use the second-user self-image:
replacing a portion of a character within a media content item with a placeholder space; and
displaying the media content item with the placeholder space in a user interface corresponding to the interaction function.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the portion is a head portion.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the portion is a head portion.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise, subsequent to displaying the media content item with the placeholder space:
determining that the first user has captured or designated the first-user self-image; and
in response to determining that the first user has captured or designated the first-user self-image, replacing the placeholder space with a portion of the first-user self-image in the user interface corresponding to the interaction function.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise, subsequent to displaying the media content item with the placeholder space:
determining that the first user has captured or designated the first-user self-image; and
in response to determining that the first user has captured or designated the first-user self-image, replacing the placeholder space with a portion of the first-user self-image in the user interface corresponding to the interaction function.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further include disabling an option to save the media content item onto at least one memory component.
13. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further include disabling an option to save the media content item onto at least one memory component.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise displaying a search bar configured to initiate a search for other media content items that include a placeholder space for the portion.
14. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise displaying a search bar configured to initiate a search for other media content items that include a placeholder space for the portion.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise filtering out media content items that include a plurality of portions or media content items that are specific to a particular gender or age group for said media content item.
15. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise filtering out media content items that include a plurality of portions or media content items that are specific to a particular gender or age group for said media content item.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the media content item includes a static image or an animation.
18. The system of claim 1, wherein the media content item includes a static image or an animation.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein determining participation in an interaction function is further with a second user of the interaction system, wherein replacing the portion of the character within the media content item with the placeholder space is in response to determining that the second user has not captured or designated a second-user self-image for use in the interaction function.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein determining participation in an interaction function is further with a second user of the interaction system, wherein replacing the portion of the character within the media content item with the placeholder space is in response to determining that the second user has not enabled other users to use a second-user self-image in the interaction function.
10. The system of claim 1, wherein the interaction function includes a chat window configured to display exchanged messages between the first user and a second user.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the interaction function includes a chat window configured to display exchanged messages between the first user and the second user.
11. The system of claim 10, wherein displaying the media content item includes:
reducing a size of the chat window in the user interface; and
apportioning unused user interface space for display of the media content item.
8. The system of claim 7, wherein displaying the media content item includes:
reducing a size of the chat window in the user interface; and
apportioning unused user interface space for display of the media content item.
12. The system of claim 10, wherein the operations further include, subsequent to displaying the media content item with the placeholder space:
identifying a user selection of the media content item from a set of media content items being displayed in the user interface; and
in response to the user selection, causing presentation of the selected media content item in the chat window at a first interaction client of the first user and a second interaction client of a second user.
9. The system of claim 7, wherein the operations further include, subsequent to displaying the media content item with the placeholder space:
identifying a user selection of the media content item from a set of media content items being displayed in the user interface; and
in response to the user selection, causing presentation of the selected media content item in the chat window at a first interaction client of the first user and a second interaction client of the second user.
13. The system of claim 10, wherein the operations further include, subsequent to displaying the media content item in the chat window:
determining that the second user has enabled other users to use a second-user self-image; and
in response determining that the second user has enabled other users to use the second-user self-image, replacing the placeholder space in the media content item that is displayed in the chat window with a portion of the second-user self-image.
10. The system of claim 9, wherein the operations further include, subsequent to displaying the selected media content item in the chat window:
determining that the second user has enabled other users to use the second-user self-image; and
in response determining that the second user has enabled other users to use the second-user self-image, replacing the placeholder space in the media content item that is displayed in the chat window with a portion of the second-user self-image.
14. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further include:
displaying a selectable user interface element that initiates a camera feed from a camera system of a first interaction client of the first user to capture the first-user self-image, wherein the selectable user interface element is disposed adjacent to or embedded at least partially within the displayed media content item.
11. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further include:
displaying a selectable user interface element that initiates a camera feed from a camera system of a first interaction client of the first user to capture the first-user self-image, wherein the selectable user interface element is disposed adjacent to or embedded at least partially within the displayed media content item.
15. The system of claim 14, wherein the operations further include:
displaying a message between the first user and a second user subsequent to displaying the media content item with the placeholder space, wherein the message is displayed below the displayed media content item, wherein the selectable user interface element moves along the user interface with the displayed media content item.
12. The system of claim 11, wherein the operations further include:
displaying a message between the first user and the second user subsequent to displaying the media content item with the placeholder space, wherein the message is displayed below the displayed media content item, wherein the selectable user interface element moves along the user interface with the displayed media content item.
16. The system of claim 1, wherein the interaction function comprises a user selectable user interface element configured to enable the first user to subscribe to a channel of a second user.
16. The system of claim 1, wherein the interaction function comprises a user selectable user interface element configured to enable the first user to subscribe to a channel of the second user.
17. The system of claim 1, wherein the interaction function comprises an online post, wherein the operations further comprise displaying one or more online posts from a second user, wherein the one or more online posts include the media content item with the placeholder space.
17. The system of claim 1, wherein the interaction function comprises an online post, wherein the operations further comprise displaying one or more online posts from the second user, wherein the one or more online posts include the media content item with the placeholder space.
18. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise, subsequent to displaying the media content item with the placeholder space:
determining that a second user captured or designated a second-user self-image; and
in response to determining that the second user captured or designated the second-user self-image, replacing the placeholder space with the second-user self-image.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein determining that the second user has not enabled other users includes determining that the second user has captured or designated a second user self-image.
1. A system comprising:
…
in response to determining, from the profile data of the second user, that the second user has not enabled other users to use the second-user self-image: replacing a portion of a character within a media content item with a placeholder space;
…
19. A method comprising:
determining participation in an interaction function by a first user of an interaction system;
determining that the first user has not captured or designated a first-user self-image for use in the interaction function;
replacing a portion of a character within a media content item with a placeholder space; and
displaying the media content item with the placeholder space in a user interface corresponding to the interaction function.
19. A method comprising:
determining participation in an interaction function by a first user of an interaction system with a second user of the interaction system;
accessing profile data of the first user;
determining, based on the profile data of the first user, that the first user has not captured or designated a first-user self-image for use in the interaction function;
determining, from profile data of the second user, that the second user has not enabled other users to use a second-user self-image in response to determining that the first user has not captured or designated the first-user self-image;
in response to determining, from the profile data of the second user, that the second user has not enabled other users to use the second-user self-image:
replacing a portion of a character within a media content item with a placeholder space; and
displaying the media content item with the placeholder space in a user interface corresponding to the interaction function.
20. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising:
determining participation in an interaction function by a first user of an interaction system;
determining that the first user has not captured or designated a first-user self-image for use in the interaction function;
replacing a portion of a character within a media content item with a placeholder space; and
displaying the media content item with the placeholder space in a user interface corresponding to the interaction function.
20. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising:
determining participation in an interaction function by a first user of an interaction system with a second user of the interaction system;
accessing profile data of the first user;
determining, based on the profile data of the first user, that the first user has not captured or designated a first-user self-image for use in the interaction function;
determining, from profile data of the second user, that the second user has not enabled other users to use a second-user self-image in response to determining that the first user has not captured or designated the first-user self-image;
in response to determining, from the profile data of the second user, that the second user has not enabled other users to use the second-user self-image:
replacing a portion of a character within a media content item with a placeholder space; and
displaying the media content item with the placeholder space in a user interface corresponding to the interaction function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 8, 14, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golobokov et al. (US 2022/0148276 A1), hereinafter Golobokov, in view of Lee et al. (US 2008/0162649 A1), hereinafter Lee, and in view of State et al. (US 2018/0225703 A1), hereinafter State.
Regarding claim 1, Golobokov discloses
A system (messaging system 100, FIG. 1) comprising:
a memory (memory 1104, FIG. 11); and
one or more processors (processors 1102, FIG. 11) coupled to the memory and configured to perform operations comprising:
determining participation in an interaction function by a first user of an interaction system ([0028]: a messaging client is able to communicate and exchange data with another messaging client and with the messaging server system via the network);
determining that the first user has not captured or designated a first-user self-image for use in the interaction function ([0053]: the profile data stores the portrait image of a user; the portrait image can used by the AR component when the AR component is loaded in the messaging client).
Golobokov does not explicitly disclose
displaying the media content item with the placeholder space in a user interface corresponding to the interaction function.
However, Lee discloses
displaying the media content item with the placeholder space in a user interface corresponding to the interaction function ([0039]: display a first placeholder for known senders with no associated photo and display a second placeholder for unknown senders).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Lee to Golobokov because Golobokov discloses profile data stores the portrait image of a user ([0053]) and Lee further suggests determine the user does not have a picture in profile and use a placeholder for the user ([0037] & [0047]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Lee in the Golobokov system in order to better identify the users and provide more intuitive and easier to perform operations as suggested by Lee (abstract).
Golobokov and Lee do not explicitly disclose
replacing a portion of a character within a media content item with a placeholder space.
However, State discloses
replacing a portion of a character (subject matter) within a media content item with a placeholder space ([0066]: to determine the subject matter of the first post in the content feed of the first user, a face in the picture is identified; obstructing the face (or multiple identified faces) to anonymize the picture; obstructing the face (or multiple identified faces) to anonymize the picture (e.g., by blurring the face, cropping the face out of the photo, etc.)).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of State to Golobokov and Lee because Golobokov and Lee disclose generates a modified target media content object by replacing the portion of the target media content object with the derived face object (Golobokov: [0087]) and State further suggests obstructing the face in a picture([0066]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of State in the Golobokov and Lee system in order to anonymize a picture and protect user privacy.
Regarding claim 2, Golobokov, Lee, and State disclose the system as described in claim 1. Golobokov further discloses
the portion is a head portion (State: [0066]: obstructing the face (or multiple identified faces) to anonymize the picture (e.g., by blurring the face, cropping the face out of the photo, etc.)). Therefore, the limitations of claim 2 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 3, Golobokov, Lee, and State disclose the system as described in claim 1. Golobokov further discloses
subsequent to displaying the media content item with the placeholder space:
determining that the first user has captured or designated the first-user self-image ([0087]: accesses a portrait image associated with a user profile representing a user in the messaging system); and
in response to determining that the first user has captured or designated the first-user self-image, replacing the placeholder space with a portion of the first-user self-image in the user interface corresponding to the interaction function ([0087]: accesses a portrait image associated with a user profile representing a user in the messaging system and derives a face object from the portrait image; generates a modified target media content object by replacing the portion of the target media content object with the derived face object).
Regarding claim 7, Golobokov, Lee, and State disclose the system as described in claim 1. Golobokov further discloses
the media content item includes a static image or an animation ([0019]: target media content object can be animation).
Regarding claim 8, Golobokov, Lee, and State disclose the system as described in claim 1. Golobokov, Lee, and State further disclose
determining participation in an interaction function is further with a second user of the interaction system, wherein replacing the portion of the character within the media content item with the placeholder space is in response to determining that the second user has not captured or designated a second-user self-image for use in the interaction function (Lee: [0037]: other advertisements may be used as generic placeholders for any recently received emails that do not have an associated photo either in the website member profile; & [0047]: when the sender does not already have a picture currently displayed in the sender bar, the associated photo or appropriate placeholder is identified for the sender). Therefore, the limitations of claim 8 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 14, Golobokov, Lee, and State disclose the system as described in claim 1. Golobokov further discloses
displaying a selectable user interface element that initiates a camera feed from a camera system of a first interaction client of the first user to capture the first-user self-image, wherein the selectable user interface element is disposed adjacent to or embedded at least partially within the displayed media content item ([0087]: detects activation, from a camera view user interface, of a user selectable element representing the AR component; in response to the detecting, the augmentation system accesses a portrait image associated with a user profile representing a user in the messaging system and derives a face object from the portrait image; generates a modified target media content object by replacing the portion of the target media content object with the derived face object).
Regarding claim 17, Golobokov, Lee, and State disclose the system as described in claim 1. Golobokov, Lee, and State further disclose
the interaction function comprises an online post, wherein the operations further comprise displaying one or more online posts from a second user (Golobokov: [0079]: an ephemeral message is shown to be associated with a message duration parameter, the value of which determines an amount of time that the ephemeral message will be displayed to a receiving user of the ephemeral message by the messaging client; & [0081]: the ephemeral message is to be included within an ephemeral message group (e.g., a collection of messages in a personal story, or an event story); the ephemeral message group has an associated group duration parameter, a value of which determines a time duration for which the ephemeral message group is presented and accessible to users of the messaging system), wherein the one or more online posts include the media content item with the placeholder space (State: [0066]: the first post of the synthetic content feed is created by obstructing the face (or multiple identified faces) to anonymize the picture (e.g., by blurring the face, cropping the face out of the photo, etc.) and by including the anonymized picture in the first post of the synthetic content feed). Therefore, the limitations of claim 17 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 18, Golobokov, Lee, and State disclose the system as described in claim 1. Golobokov further discloses
subsequent to displaying the media content item with the placeholder space:
determining that a second user captured or designated a second-user self-image ([0087]: accesses a portrait image associated with a user profile representing a user in the messaging system); and
in response to determining that the second user captured or designated the second-user self-image, replacing the placeholder space with the second-user self-image ([0087]: accesses a portrait image associated with a user profile representing a user in the messaging system and derives a face object from the portrait image; generates a modified target media content object by replacing the portion of the target media content object with the derived face object; & [0091]: displaying a target media content object, which was modified using a portrait image of a user’s connection; the face included in the modified target media content object is different from the face displayed in area 1020).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, the limitations of claims 19 and 20 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golobokov in view of Lee, in view of State, and further in view of LeRoy et al. (US 2016/0150009 A1), hereinafter LeRoy.
Regarding claim 4, Golobokov, Lee, and State disclose the system as described in claim 1. Golobokov, Lee, and State do not explicitly disclose
disabling an option to save the media content item onto at least one memory component.
However, LeRoy discloses
disabling an option to save the media content item onto at least one memory component ([0103]: enabling control over access of a real-time sharing participant’s access to shared content after the real-time sharing is completed, the controlling including disabling shared content to be saved).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of LeRoy to Golobokov, Lee, and State because Golobokov, Lee, and State disclose exchanging messages and associated content over a network (Golobokov: [0027]) and LeRoy further suggests disable shared content to be saved ([0103]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of LeRoy in the Golobokov, Lee, and State system in order to prevent unauthorized saving.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golobokov in view of Lee, in view of State, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2021/0397645 A1), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 5, Golobokov, Lee, and State disclose the system as described in claim 1. Golobokov, Lee, and State do not explicitly disclose
displaying a search bar configured to initiate a search for other media content items that include a placeholder space for the portion.
However, Wang discloses
displaying a search bar configured to initiate a search for other media content items ([0048]: the user can perform a search operation on the content search page to search for desired content).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Wang to Golobokov, Lee, and State because Golobokov, Lee, and State disclose generates a modified target media content object by replacing the portion of the target media content object with the derived face object (Golobokov: [0087]) and Wang further suggests perform a search operation to search for desired content ([0048]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Wang in the Golobokov, Lee, and State system in order to provide desired content to the user.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golobokov in view of Lee, in view of State, and further in view of Juan et al. (US 2012/0166532 A1), hereinafter Juan.
Regarding claim 6, Golobokov, Lee, and State disclose the system as described in claim 1. Golobokov, Lee, and State do not explicitly disclose
filtering out media content items that include a plurality of portions or media content items that are specific to a particular gender or age group for said media content item.
However, Juan discloses
filtering out media content items that include a plurality of portions or media content items that are specific to a particular gender or age group for said media content item ([0016]: content is filtered based on the attributes in a user’s profile, such as age).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Juan to Golobokov, Lee, and State because Golobokov, Lee, and State disclose exchanging messages and associated content over a network (Golobokov: [0027]) and Juan further suggests filter content based on attributes in a user’s profile ([0016]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Juan in the Golobokov, Lee, and State system in order to provide suitable/appropriate content to users.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golobokov in view of Lee, in view of State, and further in view of Shaburov et al. (US 11,089,238 B2), hereinafter Shaburov.
Regarding claim 9, Golobokov, Lee, and State disclose the system as described in claim 1. Golobokov further discloses
determining participation in an interaction function is further with a second user of the interaction system, wherein replacing the portion of the character within the media content item with the placeholder space (([0087]: accesses a portrait image associated with a user profile representing a user in the messaging system and derives a face object from the portrait image; generates a modified target media content object by replacing the portion of the target media content object with the derived face object).
Golobokov, Lee, and State do not explicitly disclose
replacing the portion of the character with placeholder space is in response to determining that the second user has not enabled other users to use a second-user self-image in the interaction function.
However, Shaburov discloses
replacing the portion of the character within the media content item with the placeholder space is in response to determining that the second user has not enabled other users to use a second-user self-image in the interaction function (Col. 7, lines 4-8: correspondently, the user permissions specified by the user 104 may allow or disallow using the images of faces of the user 104 for generating personalized videos by users of other computing device, for example, by the user 102; & Col. 13, lines 63-66: if no contact exists who gave a permission, the user may select a stock person (one of preselected persons in a library) and make the Reel with the selected person).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Shaburov to Golobokov, Lee, and State because Golobokov, Lee, and State disclose exchanging messages and associated content over a network (Golobokov: [0027]) and Shaburov further suggests when a user disallows using the images of faces of the user, select a stock person to make the Reel (Col. 13, lines 63-66).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Shaburov in the Golobokov, Lee, and State system in order to provide privacy to the user.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golobokov in view of Lee, in view of State, and further in view of Casey et al. (US 2009/0063645 A1), hereinafter Casey.
Regarding claim 10, Golobokov, Lee, and State disclose the system as described in claim 1. Golobokov, Lee, and State do not explicitly disclose
the interaction function includes a chat window configured to display exchanged messages between the first user and a second user.
However, Casey discloses
the interaction function includes a chat window configured to display exchanged messages between the first user and a second user ([0047]: the chat messages field 350-4 includes chat messages that have been entered by each participant in the group chat session).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Casey to Golobokov, Lee, and State because Golobokov, Lee, and State disclose exchanging messages and associated content over a network (Golobokov: [0027]) and Casey further suggests display chat messages ([0047]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Casey in the Golobokov, Lee, and State system in order to provide chat messages to users in group chat session.
Regarding claim 11, Golobokov, Lee, State, and Casey disclose the system as described in claim 6. Golobokov, Lee, State, and Casey further disclose
displaying the media content item includes:
reducing a size of the chat window in the user interface (Casey: [0040]: if the button for resizing (e.g., shrinking) the messaging interface among the action buttons 336-2 is pressed by the first user, yet another screen display may be displayed); and
apportioning unused user interface space for display of the media content item (Casey: [0040]: a size of the video window 310-3 is shown as being resized from its normal full-screen size). Therefore, the limitations of claim 10 are rejected in the analysis of claim 6 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golobokov in view of Lee, in view of State, in view of Casey, and further in view of McConn et al. (US 2004/0177116 A1), hereinafter McConn.
Regarding claim 12, Golobokov, Lee, State, and Casey disclose the system as described in claim 10. Golobokov, Lee, State, and Casey do not explicitly disclose
subsequent to displaying the media content item with the placeholder space:
identifying a user selection of the media content item from a set of media content items being displayed in the user interface; and
in response to the user selection, causing presentation of the selected media content item in the chat window at a first interaction client of the first user and a second interaction client of a second user.
However, McConn discloses
subsequent to displaying the media content item with the placeholder space:
identifying a user selection of the media content item from a set of media content items being displayed in the user interface ([0036]: the desired photographic image is selected by clicking the thumbnail image representing the desired digital photographic image in thumbnail image area); and
in response to the user selection, causing presentation of the selected media content item in the chat window at a first interaction client of the first user and a second interaction client of a second user ([0041]: the sharer initiates a real-time conversation with the sharee; & [0042]: when the sharee receives the message and selected digital photographic image, a chat window opens on the client computer; the sharer and sharee then proceed to discuss the digital photographic image real-time; a running history of the conversation is displayed in chat log).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of McConn to Golobokov, Lee, State, and Casey because Golobokov, Lee, State, and Casey disclose exchanging messages and associated content over a network (Golobokov: [0027]) and McConn further suggests select desired photographic image and display chat messages ([0042]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of McConn in the Golobokov, Lee, State, and Casey system in order to provide selected image chat messages to users as desired.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golobokov in view of Lee, in view of State, in view of Casey, and further in view of Shaburov.
Regarding claim 13, Golobokov, Lee, State, and Casey disclose the system as described in claim 10. Golobokov further discloses
subsequent to displaying the media content item in the chat window:
in response determining that the second user captured or designated the second-user self-image, replacing the placeholder space in the media content item that is displayed in the chat window with a portion of the second-user self-image ([0091]: displaying a target media content object, which was modified using a portrait image of a user’s connection; user’s connection corresponds to second user).
Golobokov, Lee, State, and Casey do not explicitly disclose
determining that the second user has enabled other users to use a second-user self-image; and
in response determining that the second user has enabled other users to use the second-user self-image, replacing the placeholder space in the media content item that is displayed in the chat window with a portion of the second-user self-image.
However, Shaburov discloses
determining that the second user has enabled other users to use a second-user self-image (Col. 7, lines 4-8: correspondently, the user permissions specified by the user 104 may allow or disallow using the images of faces of the user 104 for generating personalized videos by users of other computing device, for example, by the user 102); and
in response determining that the second user has enabled other users to use the second-user self-image, replacing the placeholder space in the media content item with a portion of the second-user self-image (Col. 5, lines 35-38: allow replacing the faces of the actors in the pre-generated videos with the faces of the users that communicate via communication chats).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Shaburov to Golobokov, Lee, State, and Casey because Golobokov, Lee, State, and Casey disclose exchanging messages and associated content over a network (Golobokov: [0027]) and Shaburov further suggests when a user disallows using the images of faces of the user, select a stock person to make the Reel (Col. 13, lines 63-66).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Shaburov in the Golobokov, Lee, State, and Casey system in order to allow users to generate personalized video as desired.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golobokov in view of Lee, in view of State, and further in view of Koum et al. (US 2016/0364106 A1), hereinafter Koum.
Regarding claim 15, Golobokov, Lee, and State disclose the system as described in claim 14. Golobokov, Lee, and State do not explicitly disclose
displaying a message between the first user and a second user subsequent to displaying the media content item with the placeholder space, wherein the message is displayed below the displayed media content item, wherein the selectable user interface element moves along the user interface with the displayed media content item.
However, Koum discloses
displaying a message between the first user and the second user subsequent to displaying the media content item, wherein the message is displayed below the displayed media content item, wherein the selectable user interface element moves along the user interface with the displayed media content item (FIG. 6B & [0098]: all of the media items in the group of media items has been displayed for the user of the receiving client device; & [0101]: the addition of a new message to a messaging conversation causes the display of the messaging conversation to scroll to accommodate the new message at the bottom of the display).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Koum to Golobokov, Lee, and State because Golobokov, Lee, and State disclose exchanging messages and associated content over a network (Golobokov: [0027]) and Koum further suggests accommodate new message at the bottom of the display ([0101]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Koum in the Golobokov, Lee, and State system in order to display the most recent data to user.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golobokov in view of Lee, in view of State, and further in view of Scott-Green (US 2021/0337277 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Golobokov, Lee, and State disclose the system as described in claim 1. Golobokov, Lee, and State do not explicitly disclose
the interaction function comprises a user selectable user interface element configured to enable the first user to subscribe to a channel of a second user.
However, Scott-Green discloses
the interaction function comprises a user selectable user interface element configured to enable the first user to subscribe to a channel of a second user ([0082]: each of the second media items includes a message prompting an action from the first user; a second media item includes a message prompting the first user to complete an action associated with the second media item, such as subscribing to a media channel of the second user).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Scott-Green to Golobokov, Lee, and State because Golobokov, Lee, and State disclose a particular user has a “friend” relationship or is “following” (Golobokov: [0035]) and Scott-Green further suggests subscribing to a media channel of another user ([0082]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Scott-Green in the Golobokov, Lee, and State system in order to allow user to subscribe to a media channel as desired.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Groves et al. (US 2019/0052934 A1). Second selectable object can, upon selection, facilitate subscribing the associated member of audience to a channel associated with the broadcaster ([0042]).
Lewis et al. (US 2014/0245183 A1). In response to the received user selection of the user interface element, subscribing a user to each of the plurality of channels.
Heikkinen et al. (US 2021/0385179 A1). Display a message including the selected sticker to the second user.
Theis et al. (US 10,552,977 B1). Generate a swapped face by changing target face to that of a source identity.
Kaylee Huang
10/9/2026
/KAYLEE J HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447