DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the correspondence filled on 07/17/2025.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
IDS Considerations
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/07/2025 is/are being considered by the examiner as the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
In the following limitation of independent claims “selecting, within each of the first MVD components of the selected RPL, a subset of most significant symbols for decoding;” have antecedent issue as explained below. The antecedent for “first MVD component” is tied specifically to the first RPL (“first and second … MVD components of a first … RPL and a second RPL, respectively”). But “the selected RPL” in the preceding step can resolve to either the first or the second RPL. So, when the second RPL is selected, “the first MVD components of the selected RPL” has no clear referent. Because of this, claim language does not limit the claim to a particular structure and one of the ordinary skills in the art would not be reasonably appraised of the scope of the invention.
Other dependent claims are also rejected because of the deficiencies of their respective parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, 13-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (U.S. Pub. No. 20230217012 A1), in view of Seregin (U.S. Pub. No. 20180278951 A1).
Regarding to claim 1, 8 and 15:
1. Huang teach a method comprising: determining first symbols and second symbols (Huang [0109] In some examples, sign prediction for MVDs and reference picture adaptation are mutually exclusive at a block level. The two tools may be controlled by the magnitude of MVDs. If the magnitude of MVDs [first symbols and second symbols] is less than some threshold, reference picture adaptation is applied; otherwise, sign prediction for MVDs is applied.) available for prediction of respective first and second motion vector difference (MVD) components of a first reference picture list (RPL) and a second RPL, respectively; (Huang [0116] In another example, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may be configured to disable MVD sign prediction for one of the directions in the case of bi-prediction. For example, MVD in List 1 may be disabled in the case of bi-prediction. A certain condition may be set for the disabling. For example, if MVD in List 0 is non-zero, then MVD sign prediction for List 1 is disabled. Note that the magnitudes of MVD in both directions (List 0 and List 1) can be coded beforehand, and then it can determined whether MVD sign prediction is disabled for one of the List. [0117] In yet another example, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may be configured to limit the number of MVD signs to be predicted. The number may be configurable and signaled in high level syntax. In one example, a counter can be set for the MVD signs, and once the number of predicted MVD signs reaches a predefined number, then the rest of the MVD signs are coded regularly, e.g., use one bin to indicate negative or positive sign, instead of predicted. In another example, the MVDs are sorted based on the magnitudes in descending order. Then up to N MVDs [first and second motion vector difference (MVD)] in the sorted list are predicted, and the reset are not. Note that in both examples, the magnitudes of the MVDs in both List 0 and List 1 [first reference picture list (RPL) and a second RPL] may be coded beforehand) selecting, based on the first and the second symbols available for prediction, one of the first RPL or the second RPL; (Huang [0116] In another example, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may be configured to disable MVD sign prediction for one of the directions in the case of bi-prediction. For example, MVD in List 1 may be disabled in the case of bi-prediction. A certain condition may be set for the disabling. For example, if MVD in List 0 is non-zero, then MVD sign prediction for List 1 is disabled. Note that the magnitudes of MVD [first symbols and second symbols] in both directions (List 0 and List 1) [first RPL or the second RPL] can be coded beforehand, and then it can determined whether MVD sign prediction is disabled for one of the List.) selecting, within each of the first MVD components of the selected RPL, a subset of most significant symbols for decoding; (Huang [0117] In yet another example, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may be configured to limit the number of MVD signs to be predicted. The number may be configurable and signaled in high level syntax. In one example, a counter can be set for the MVD signs, and once the number of predicted MVD signs reaches a predefined number, then the rest of the MVD signs are coded regularly, e.g., use one bin to indicate negative or positive sign, instead of predicted. In another example, the MVDs are sorted based on the magnitudes [subset of most significant symbols] in descending order. Then up to N MVDs [first and second motion vector difference (MVD)] in the sorted list are predicted, and the reset are not. Note that in both examples, the magnitudes of the MVDs in both List 0 and List 1 [first reference picture list (RPL) and a second RPL] may be coded beforehand)
and determining, for the each symbol of the selected subset, a value of the each symbol based on the indication and a value of the corresponding symbol of the MVD predictor. (Huang [0111] In another example, sign prediction for MVDs and reference picture adaption proposed, as discussed above, may be used together. When performing sign prediction for the MVDs, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may be configured to assign the minimum cost among all possible hypothesis of reference pictures to the hypothesis of signs for the MVDs [MVD predictor]. Then, given the reordered sign hypothesis and decoded sign index, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may determine the actual MVDs, which can thereafter be used for reference picture reordering. The cost calculated during the sign prediction process may be stored and those associated with the determined MVDs may be reused for reference picture reordering.)
Huang do not explicitly teach entropy decoding, from a bitstream for each symbol of the selected subset, an indication of whether a value of the each symbol is equal to a value of a corresponding symbol of an MVD predictor;
However Seregin teach entropy decoding, from a bitstream for each symbol of the selected subset, an indication of whether a value of the each symbol is equal to a value of a corresponding symbol of an MVD predictor; (Seregin [0132] In various techniques, video encoder 20 may signal a flag that indicates the sign of the MVD component. Because there is 50-50 chance that sign of the MVD component is positive or negative, video encoder 20 may bypass-based code the flag. In the example techniques described in this disclosure, the indicator flag indicates whether the MVD component sign predictor is correct or incorrect. In general, the MVD component sign predictor may more often be correct than incorrect given the continuity in video. Therefore, the indicator flag that indicates whether the MVD component sign predictor is correct or incorrect may be biased towards being correct (e.g., the indicator flag is equal to 1 more often than it is equal to 0). Accordingly, video encoder 20 may context-based encode (e.g., CABAC encode) and video decoder 30 may context-based decode (e.g., CABAC decode) the indicator that indicates whether the MVD component sign predictor is equal to the actual MVD component sign (e.g., whether the MVD component sign predictor is correct or incorrect). Although, in various examples, there is higher likelihood that the indicator flag is equal to 1 than equal to 0, context-based coding (also referred to as entropy coding or context coding) may be available even if there is a higher likelihood that the indicator flag is equal to 0 than equal to 1.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Huang, further incorporating Seregin in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate entropy decoding, from a bitstream for each symbol of the selected subset, an indication of whether a value of the each symbol is equal to a value of a corresponding symbol of an MVD predictor. This functionality will improve user efficiency with predictable results.
Regarding to claim 6 and 13:
6. Huang teach the method of claim 1, selecting one of the MVD candidates as the MVD predictor based on the template matching costs. (Huang [0080] Video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may be configured to determine the likelihood for a particular reference index based on a template matching cost. For a reference picture with a higher likelihood, a smaller index may be assigned. That is, for a reference picture hypothesis with a smaller template matching cost, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may be configured to assign a smaller index to the associated reference picture that results in the smaller template matching cost. Video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may be configured to calculate the template matching cost based on the distortion between the reconstruction signal of the neighboring samples in the template and a prediction signal generated by the reference hypothesis and corresponding motion information of current block. For each reference hypothesis, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may be configured to: [0081] 1) Given the reference hypothesis and other motion information syntax elements (e.g., MVP, MVD, motion vector resolution, etc.), derive the corresponding motion information)
Huang do not explicitly teach further comprising: determining MVD candidates based on one or more symbols of the MVD to be decoded; determining template matching costs for the MVD candidates, wherein each template matching cost is between a current template, of a current block, and a reference template of a reference block (RB) candidate indicated by a respective MVD candidate of the MVD candidates;
However Seregin teach further comprising: determining MVD candidates based on one or more symbols of the MVD to be decoded; (Seregin [0124] FIG. 4, rather than using pixel sample values that are above the entirety of the block or to the left of the block, only a portion of the above pixel sample values and only a portion of the left pixel sample values are used. For instance, reduced templated 56 is generally L shape, but does not encompass the entire block like L shape template 46, relative to block 48 in FIG. 3. This reduced L shape for the template 56 is relative to the affine motion position 54 of the top left control point for current block 58. The templates shape for different control points may be different. For example, for top right control point of current block 58, there may be no pixel sample values available to the right because those pixel sample values have not yet been decoded. Therefore, the template for the top right control point of current block 58 may be a straight row or rows of pixel sample values, rather than L shape. [0125] For the MV sign prediction using template matching as described above, partial pixel samples within the template are used for complexity reduction. For example, only one pixel out of every 2×2 pixels within the template is used to derive the best MVD candidate.) determining template matching costs for the MVD candidates, wherein each template matching cost is between a current template, of a current block, and a reference template of a reference block (RB) candidate indicated by a respective MVD candidate of the MVD candidates; and (Seregin Fig. 3-5 [0098] For MVD sign prediction or MVD sign inference, if the MVD component is not equal to zero, video encoder 20 may signal information for the MVD sign. In this disclosure, it is proposed that instead of signaling a sign per non-zero component, video encoder 20 may signal an indicator, for example a flag, which indicates whether the MVD component sign is equal to the predictor or not. For example, video encoder 20 may determine the actual MVD component sign and determine an MVD component sign predictor. As an example, based on various cost functions that balance coding complexity, video quality, and bitstream bandwidth, video encoder 20 may determine the MV for the current block, and the MVD for the current block based on the available MVPs and the MV. Video encoder 20 may determine the MVD component sign for the x-component and the y-component based on the determined MVD)
Regarding to claim 7, 14 and 20:
7. Huang teach the method of claim 1, wherein the first and second MVD components indicate a first and a second reference block, and wherein the method further comprises: decoding a current block based on a prediction block generated from a combination of the first and second reference blocks. (Huang [0074] When signaling the inter prediction direction, video encoder 200 signals a first bin to indicate whether the inter prediction mode (e.g., the prediction direction) is a bi-prediction or uni-prediction mode. If the mode is uni-prediction, a second bin is signaled to indicate whether List 0 or List 1 is used. If the mode is bi-prediction, then the additional bin is not needed because List 0 and List 1 are both used. The corresponding reference index is signaled in the bitstream thereafter. When bi-prediction is used, both List 0 and List 1 are used for inter prediction, and reference indices for both lists [combination] need to be signaled in the bitstream. The reference index, ranging from 0 to N−1, is binarized using truncated unary coding, with N being the number of reference pictures in the list. CABAC may be applied to code some of the bins.)
Allowable subject matter
Regarding to claim 2-5, 9-12 and 16-19:
Claims 2-5, 9-12 and 16-19 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the limitations of these dependent claims are not obvious from the prior art search when all the limitations of independent and intervening claims are taken into account.
Regarding to claim 2, 9 and 16:
2. Huang teach the method of claim 1, wherein the selecting, based on the first and the second symbols available for prediction, (Huang [0114] Techniques for simplification of MVD sign prediction will now be described. As described above, the combination of reference picture reordering and MVD sign prediction may involve testing the cost of all possible combinations of different hypotheses, which could impose significant computational complexity for bi-prediction where there are multiple MVDs and especially for the affine mode when there are at most three MVDs in each directions. The following techniques may be applied to simplify the process. [0115] In one example, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may be configured to disable MVD sign prediction for bi-prediction modes. A certain condition may be set for the disabling. As an example condition, the mode shall not be SMVD mode for the disabling, with MVDs in List 0 and List 1 being symmetrical. As another example condition, the mode shall be the affine mode. [0116] In another example, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may be configured to disable MVD sign prediction for one of the directions in the case of bi-prediction. For example, MVD in List 1 may be disabled in the case of bi-prediction. A certain condition may be set for the disabling. For example, if MVD in List 0 is non-zero, then MVD sign prediction for List 1 is disabled. Note that the magnitudes of MVD in both directions (List 0 and List 1) can be coded beforehand, and then it can determined whether MVD sign prediction is disabled for one of the List.)
Prior art does not teach further comprises selecting the first RPL, among the first RPL and the second RPL, based on a number of the first symbols available for prediction being greater than a number of the second symbols available for prediction.
Closely related prior art
Examiner notes teaching of U.S. Pub. No. 20260164040 A1 is/are pertinent to the independent claim(s), however is not used because dependent claims are better covered by cited reference.
Conclusion
/NASIM N NIRJHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896