Double Patenting (Statutory)
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 15 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,388,398. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Double Patenting (Non-Statutory)
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,388,398. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claims are anticipated by, the reference claims.
Claim mapping with explanations as to how the claims align is provided below.
Claim 1 of 19/272,985 Claim 1 of US 12,388,398
A system, comprising:
A system, comprising:
a first transistor coupled to a current mirror;
a first transistor having a control terminal and first and second terminals, the first terminal coupled to a current mirror and the control terminal coupled to a first current source and a resistor;
a second transistor coupled to the first transistor and the current mirror;
a second transistor having a control terminal and first and second terminals, the first terminal coupled to the current mirror, the second terminal coupled to the second terminal of the first transistor, and the control terminal coupled to the resistor and a second current source;
a third transistor coupled to the second transistor and the current mirror (see “a second transistor” section in the third right column box) ; and
a third transistor having a control terminal and first and second terminals, the first terminal coupled to a voltage terminal, the second terminal coupled to the control terminal of the second transistor, and the control terminal coupled to the first terminal of the second transistor; and
a first current source (see “a first transistor” section in the second right column box) coupled to the first (see “a first transistor” section), second (see “a second transistor” “coupled to the resistor”), and third transistors (see “a third transistor” section where “the second terminal coupled to the control terminal of the second transistor”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tran (US 2007/0205295).
Regarding claim 1, Tran discloses a system (FIG 2), comprising:
a first transistor (Q1) coupled to a current mirror (Q4, Q5, Q6 ¶[0021]);
a second transistor (Q2) coupled to the first transistor (Q1 via R1) and the current mirror (Q6);
a third transistor (Q3) coupled to the second transistor (Q2 via R1) and the current mirror (Q5) ; and
a first current source (24) coupled to the first (Q1 via ground node), second (Q2 via ground node), and third (Q3 via R1 and R2) transistors.
Regarding claim 2|1, Tran discloses the system further comprising: a resistor (R1 and R2) coupled between the first current source (24) and the second (Q2) and third (Q3) transistors.
Regarding claim 3|2|1, Tran discloses the system wherein: the second transistor includes a control terminal (base), a first terminal (collector), and a second terminal (emitter).
Regarding claim 4|3|2|1, Tran discloses the system further comprising a second current source (R2 can be viewed as a current source in a broad sense because it delivers a current) coupled between the control terminal (base) of the second transistor (Q2) and the second terminal (emitter) of the second transistor (Q2).
Regarding claim 11|1, Tran discloses the system wherein: the first current source (24) is configured to be coupled to a first voltage (VP via Q4).
Regarding claim 12|11|1, Tran discloses the system wherein: the third transistor (Q3) is configured to be coupled to the first voltage (VP).
Regarding claim 13|11|1, Tran discloses the system wherein: the current mirror is configured to be coupled to the first voltage (VP).
Regarding claim 14, Tran discloses a system (FIG 2), comprising: a first transistor (Q1) coupled to a first current source (24); a resistor (R2) including a first terminal (lower) and a second terminal (upper), the first terminal coupled to the first current source (24 via ground node); a second transistor (Q2) coupled to the second terminal (upper) of the resistor (R2); a third transistor (Q3) coupled to the second terminal of the resistor (R2 via R1); and a first current mirror (Q4, Q5 and Q6) coupled to the first, second, and third transistors (Q1, Q2 and Q3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is allowed.
Claims 5-10 and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the cited references discloses nor suggests the claimed invention including “a fourth transistor configured as a capacitor” as recited in claims 5-10 and 15-18; “the first and second terminals coupled to one another” recited in claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Butler (US 6,815,941) discloses a bandgap reference circuit showing a current mirror, transistors and a differential amplifier.
/JOSEPH CHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836