DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the communications filed on 26 February 2026. Claims 1-30 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-30 recite a "causes a command to be sent. that includes: an indication of a media player, ". The claims include the limitation wherein the "causes a command to be sent. that includes: an indication of a media player, capable of being loaded over the Internet, required to play the selected video, and an indication of the selected video" and the Applicant's amendment points to paragraphs 0025 and 0037 in the original specification as providing support for the limitation. However, the cited paragraphs describe that "the command instructs the television set 22 to access a content provider 30 through the Internet 21, load a specific media player, load the media player-specific content (e.g., a video) and play the content on the television display 23 " (paragraph 0025). Nowhere in the cited paragraphs does Applicant suggest indicating a media player capable of being loaded over the Internet as in the new claims. Consequently, Examiner considers Applicant was not in possession of the claimed invention at the time of the filing date.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redford et al. (Hereinafter, Redford, US 8,660,545 B1 ) in view of Cucu et al. (Hereinafter, Cucu, US 2012/0260267 A1), and further in view of Pettit et al. (Hereinafter, Pettit, US 2010/0215340 A1)
Per claim 1, Redford discloses a mobile device configured by a plurality of different FIG. 2A illustrates a handheld device 200 (e.g. a smartphone) programmed to display multiple apps available for download from an app store, each app containing therein an electronic program guide (EPG) of videos available for on-demand display on an internet-enabled television in accordance with the invention. “; column 5, lines 5-27), the mobile device comprising:
a display screen (e.g., touch-sensitive screen 204 o as shown in 2A-2N; column 5, lines 47-54);
an input device(e.g., touch-sensitive screen 204 as shown in 2A-2N; column 5, lines 54-58);
memory containing the downloadable mobile application(column 23, lines 49-54; Examiner’s Note: Redford discloses downloadable mobile applications 203A-2N as shown in Fig. 2B );
a network interface capable of coupling the mobile device to a network (e.g., data network interface circuit 392 as shown in Fig. 7; column 24, lines 27-50); and
a processor (column 4, lines 29-31; column 23, lines 49-54, “ Note that handheld device 200 in the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 6B includes at least a processor coupled to memory and the memory stores an EPG app 202I with the related EPG data including one or more descriptions 206A-206Z of correspond “);
wherein the processor is configured by the downloadable mobile application (column 2, lines 59-67; column 35, lines 42-58;column 32, lines 12-39; Examiner’s Note: Fig. 2B illustrates wherein the processor is configured by the downloadable mobile application. ) to:
receive, via the network interface from a content provider server system, metadata for a selected video(e.g., acts 1142-1143 as shown in Fig. 11F; column 26, lines 18-27; act 1178 as shown in Fig. 11J; column 38, lines 22-36 );
display a list of display devices on the display screen, where the list includes the television(e.g., act 1131 as shown in Fig,. 11D; column 35, lines 59-67 to column 36, lines 1-8; Examiner’s Note: Redford discloses identifying at least one internet-enabled TV on the display of handheld 200. );
receive, via the input device, a selection of the television(e.g., act 1131 as shown in Fig,. 11D; column 35, lines 59-67 to column 36, lines 1-8; Examiner’s Note: Redford discloses marking handheld device and TV as being associated in act 1134 as shown in Fig. 11D.);
transmit, via the network interface, at least one message generated using the metadata for the selected video(column 27, lines 56-67 to column 28, lines 1-3; Examiner’s Note: Fig. 8B illustrates transmit, via the network interface, at least one message generated using the metadata for the selected video at act 833. ), where the at least one message causes a command to be sent to the television that includes:
an indication of a , capable of being loaded over the internet, required by the television to play the selected video(e.g., multiple apps 202A, 202B, 202I, 202N as shown in Fig. 2A; column 5, lines 28-41; Examiner’s Note: Redford discloses an indication of a media player, capable of being loaded over the internet, required by the television to play the selected video.), but does not expressly disclose: where the at least one message causes a command to be sent to the television that includes:
an indication of the selected video;
receive, via the network interface, a confirmation that the selected video is playing on the television.
Cucu disclose where the at least one message causes a command to be sent to the television that includes:
an indication of the selected video (e.g., video element 118 as shown in Fig. 1; paragraph [0014]; paragraphs [0017-0018]; paragraph [0029]);
receive, via the network interface, a confirmation that the selected video is playing on the television(e.g., control button 120 as shown in Fig. 1; paragraph [0014]; paragraphs [0017-0018]; paragraph [0020]; paragraph [0029] ).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the rendering API of Cucu with the handheld device of Redford for improving user experience and the experience of developers who work to distribute content to the users as suggested by Cucu (paragraph [0002]).
Per claim 2, Redford and Cucu disclose the mobile device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured by the mobile device and the television(Redford, e.g., block 1151 as shown in Fig. 11H; column 27, lines 17-55; column 36, lines 41-62).
Per claim 3, Redford and Cucu disclose the mobile device of claim 2, wherein the server system configured to establish a connection between the mobile device and the television is further configured to translate the at least one message, generated by the mobile device(Redford, column 27, lines 34-55), using the metadata for the selected video into the command sent to the television that includes:
the indication of the , capable of being loaded over the internet, required to play the selected video(Redford, e.g., block 1126 as shown in Fig. 11C; multiple apps 202A, 202B, 202I, 202N as shown in Fig. 2A; column 5, lines 28-4; column 5, lines 28-41;column 35, lines 42-58; Redford discloses launching a media player. ), and
the indication of the selected video (Redford, e.g., block 1151 as shown in Fig. 11H; column 36, lines 41-62 ).
Per claim 4, Redford and Cucu disclose the mobile device of claim 3, wherein the server system configured to establish a connection between the mobile device and the television is further configured to identify the , capable of being loaded over the internet, required to play the selected video based upon the at least one message generated by the mobile device, using the metadata for the selected video(Redford, column 6, lines40-52; column 35, lines 59-67 to column 36, lines 1-8).
Per claim 5, Redford and Cucu disclose the mobile device of claim 4, wherein the server system configured to establish a connection between the mobile device and the television is further configured to identify the, capable of being loaded over the internet, required to play the selected video by determining which of the plurality of , capable of being loaded over the internet, required to play the selected video(Redford, column 6, lines 40-52; column 35, lines 59-67 to column 36, lines 1-8).
Per claim 6, Redford and Cucu disclose the mobile device of claim 2, wherein: the server system configured to establish a connection between the mobile device and the television is further configured to translate the at least one message generated by the mobile device using the metadata for the selected video into the command sent to the television using an API adapter(Cucu, paragraph [0011]; Examiner’s Note: Cucu discloses using the "HTML5" video API to adapt media player commands.); and the API adapter configures the server system to:
identify the capable of being loaded over the internet, required to play the selected video(Redford, e.g., multiple apps 202A, 202B, 202I, 202N as shown in Fig. 2A; column 5, lines 28-41; Examiner’s Note: Redford discloses an indication of a media player, capable of being loaded over the internet, required by the television to play the selected video.); and
convert, using an appropriate API, the at least one message generated by the mobile device using the metadata for the selected video into code capable of causing the television to control the downloadable media player required to play the selected video (Cucu, paragraphs [0020-0021]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the rendering API of Cucu with the handheld device of Redford for improving user experience and the experience of developers who work to distribute content to the users as suggested by Cucu (paragraph [0002]).
Per claim 7, Redford and Cucu disclose the mobile device of claim 1, wherein:
the metadata for the selected video identifies the , capable of being loaded over the internet, required to play the selected video (Redford, column 5, lines 28—41; Fig. 2A illustrates the metadata for the selected video identifies the capable of being loaded over the internet, required to play the selected video. ); and
the at least one message generated using the metadata for the selected video:
identifies the selected video(Redford, column 6, lines 25-39); and
identifies the
Per claim 8, Redford and Cucu disclose the mobile device of claim 7, wherein the at least one message generated using the metadata for the selected video further comprises user information(Redford, column 43, lines 15-35; Redford discloses generating user information such as a user’s name and password.).
Per claim 9, Redford and Cucu disclose the mobile device of claim 1, wherein:
the processor is further configured by the Examiner’s Note: Examiner is interpreting TV-ID to be a synchronization code. ); and
the at least one message generated by the mobile device using the metadata for the selected video comprises the synchronization code(Redford, e.g., act 1023 as shown in Fig. 10D; column 32, lines 12-30).
Per claim 10, Redford and Cucu disclose the mobile device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured by the
Per claim 11, Redford and Cucu disclose the mobile device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured by the
Per claim 12, Redford and Cucu disclose the mobile device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured by the
Per claim 13, Redford and Cucu disclose the mobile device of claim 12, wherein the subsequent command is selected from the group consisting of: pause, rewind, fast forward, and stop(Redford, column 8,lines 3-17).
Per claim 14, Redford and Cucu disclose the mobile device of claim 1, wherein: the processor is further configured by the mobile application to:
receive, via the input device, search parameters(Redford, e.g., act 1137 as shown in Fig. 11E; column 36, lines 9-17);
transmit, via the network interface to the content provider server system, a message containing the search parameters (Redford, column 27, lines 42-55);
receive, via the network interface from the content provider server system, metadata for videos that satisfy the search parameters, where the metadata for videos that satisfy the search parameters includes the metadata for the selected video(Redford, column 4, lines 66-67 to column 5, lines 1-4 );
display, via the display screen, a user interface generated using at least the metadata for the videos that satisfy the search parameters(Redford, column 6,lines 40-52); and
receive, via the input device, a selection of the selected video(Redford, e.g., act 1151 as shown in Fig. 11H; column 36, lines 41-62).
Per claim 15, Redford discloses a mobile device configured by a downloadable mobile application to control a television that is capable of playing content using a plurality of different downloadable media players(e.g., handheld device 200 (e.g. a smartphone) as shown in Fig. 2A; column 2, lines 52—58, “FIG. 2A illustrates a handheld device 200 (e.g. a smartphone) programmed to display multiple apps available for download from an app store, each app containing therein an electronic program guide (EPG) of videos available for on-demand display on an internet-enabled television in accordance with the invention. “; column 5, lines 5-27), the mobile device comprising:
a display screen (e.g., touch-sensitive screen 204 o as shown in 2A-2N; column 5, lines 47-54);
an input device(e.g., touch-sensitive screen 204 as shown in 2A-2N; column 5, lines 54-58);
memory containing the downloadable mobile application(column 23, lines 49-54; Examiner’s Note: Redford discloses downloadable mobile applications 203A-2N as shown in Fig. 2B );
a network interface capable of coupling the mobile device to a network (e.g., data network interface circuit 392 as shown in Fig. 7; column 24, lines 27-50); and
a processor (column 4, lines 29-31; column 23, lines 49-54, “ Note that handheld device 200 in the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 6B includes at least a processor coupled to memory and the memory stores an EPG app 202I with the related EPG data including one or more descriptions 206A-206Z of correspond “);
wherein the processor is configured by the downloadable mobile application (column 2, lines 59-67; column 35, lines 42-58;column 32, lines 12-39; Examiner’s Note: Fig. 2B illustrates wherein the processor is configured by the downloadable mobile application.) to:
receive, via the network interface from a content provider server system, metadata for videos that satisfy search parameters(e.g., acts 1142-1143 as shown in Fig. 11F; column 26, lines 18-27; act 1178 as shown in Fig. 11J; column 38, lines 22-36 );
display, via the display screen, a user interface generated using at least the metadata for the videos that satisfy the search parameters(e.g., act 1131 as shown in Fig,. 11D; column 35, lines 59-67 to column 36, lines 1-8; Examiner’s Note: Redford discloses identifying at least one internet-enabled TV on the display of handheld 200. );
receive, via the input device, a selection of a video(e.g., act 1151 as shown in Fig. 11H; column 36, lines 41-62);
display a list of display devices on the display screen, where the list includes the television(e.g., act 1131 as shown in Fig,. 11D; column 35, lines 59-67 to column 36, lines 1-8; Examiner’s Note: Redford discloses identifying at least one internet-enabled TV on the display of handheld 200. );
receive, via the input device, a selection of the television(e.g., act 1131 as shown in Fig,. 11D; column 35, lines 59-67 to column 36, lines 1-8; Examiner’s Note: Redford discloses marking handheld device and TV as being associated in act 1134 as shown in Fig. 11D.);
obtain metadata for the selected video(e.g., act 1142 as shown in Fig. 11F; column 36, lines 18-27);
transmit, via the network interface to a server system configured to establish a connection between the mobile device and the television, at least one message generated using metadata for the selected video n(e.g., act 1131 as shown in Fig. 11D; column 35, lines 59-67), where the at least one message causes a command to be sent to the television that includes:
an indication of a , capable of being loaded over the internet, required by the television to play the selected video(e.g., multiple apps 202A, 202B, 202I, 202N as shown in Fig. 2A; column 5, lines 28-41; Examiner’s Note: Redford discloses an indication of a media player, capable of being loaded over the internet, required by the television to play the selected video.), but does not expressly disclose:
an indication of the selected video; and
receive, via the network interface, a confirmation that the selected video is playing on the television.
Cucu disclose where the at least one message causes a command to be sent to the television that includes:
an indication of the selected video (e.g., video element 118 as shown in Fig. 1; paragraph [0014]; paragraphs [0017-0018]; paragraph [0029]); and
receive, via the network interface, a confirmation that the selected video is playing on the television(e.g., control button 120 as shown in Fig. 1; paragraph [0014]; paragraphs [0017-0018]; paragraph [0020]; paragraph [0029] ).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the rendering API of Cucu with the handheld device of Redford for improving user experience and the experience of developers who work to distribute content to the users as suggested by Cucu (paragraph [0002]).
Per claim 16, Redford and Cucu disclose the mobile device of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured by the mobile application to obtain the metadata for the selected video from the metadata for the videos that satisfy the search parameters(Redford, e.g., act 1142 as shown in Fig. 11F; column 36, lines 18-27).
Per claim 17, Redford and Cucu disclose the mobile device of claim 15, wherein the server system configured to establish a connection between the mobile device and the television is further configured to translate the at least one message, generated by the mobile device(Redford, column 27, lines 34-55), using the metadata for the selected video into the command sent to the television that includes:
the indication of the , capable of being loaded over the internet, required to play the selected video(Redford, e.g., block 1126 as shown in Fig. 11C; column 35, lines 42-58; Redford discloses launching a media player. ), and
the indication of the selected video (Redford, e.g., block 1151 as shown in Fig. 11H; column 36, lines 41-62 ).
Per claim 18, Redford and Cucu disclose the mobile device of claim 17, wherein the server system configured to establish a connection between the mobile device and the television is further configured to identify the , capable of being loaded over the internet, required to play the selected video based upon the at least one message generated by the mobile device, using the metadata for the selected video(Redford, column 6, lines40-52; column 35, lines 59-67 to column 36, lines 1-8).
Per claim 19, Redford and Cucu disclose the mobile device of claim 17, wherein: the server system configured to establish a connection between the mobile device and the television is further configured to translate the at least one message generated by the mobile device using the metadata for the selected video into the command sent to the television using an API adapter(Cucu, paragraph [0011]; Examiner’s Note: Cucu discloses using the "HTML5" video API to adapt media player commands.); and the API adapter configures the server system to:
identify the , capable of being loaded over the internet, required to play the selected video(Redford, (e.g., multiple apps 202A, 202B, 202I, 202N as shown in Fig. 2A; column 5, lines 28-41; Examiner’s Note: Redford discloses an indication of a media player, capable of being loaded over the internet, required by the television to play the selected video.); and
convert, using an appropriate API, the at least one message generated by the mobile device using the metadata for the selected video into code capable of causing the television to control the downloadable media player required to play the selected video (Cucu, paragraphs [0020-0021]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the rendering API of Cucu with the handheld device of Redford for improving user experience and the experience of developers who work to distribute content to the users as suggested by Cucu (paragraph [0002]).
Per claim 20, Redford and Cucu disclose the mobile device of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured by the of the selected video on the television(Redford, e.g., block 1151 as shown in Fig. 11H; column 27, lines 17-55; column 36, lines 41-62).
Per claim 21, Redford discloses a system for enabling a mobile device configured by a
a mobile device (e.g., handheld device 200 (e.g. a smartphone) as shown in Fig. 2A; column 2, lines 52—58, “FIG. 2A illustrates a handheld device 200 (e.g. a smartphone) programmed to display multiple apps available for download from an app store, each app containing therein an electronic program guide (EPG) of videos available for on-demand display on an internet-enabled television in accordance with the invention. “; column 5, lines 5-27)comprising:
a display screen (e.g., touch-sensitive screen 204 o as shown in 2A-2N; column 5, lines 47-54);
an input device(e.g., touch-sensitive screen 204 as shown in 2A-2N; column 5, lines 54-58);
memory containing the Examiner’s Note: Redford discloses downloadable mobile applications 203A-2N as shown in Fig. 2B );
a network interface capable of coupling the mobile device to a network (e.g., data network interface circuit 392 as shown in Fig. 7; column 24, lines 27-50); and
a processor (column 4, lines 29-31; column 23, lines 49-54, “ Note that handheld device 200 in the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 6B includes at least a processor coupled to memory and the memory stores an EPG app 202I with the related EPG data including one or more descriptions 206A-206Z of correspond “); and
a content provider server system (e.g., computer system 250 as shown in Fig. 8B; column 2, lines 59-67; column 11, lines 49-59) capable of:
generating metadata for videos that satisfy search parameters(e.g., acts 1157A-1158 as shown in Fig. 11K; column 12, lines 13-32; column 14, lines 53-64; column 20, lines 5-27; column 28, lines 4--24);
transmitting the metadata for the videos that satisfy the search parameters to a mobile device(e.g., act 1159 as shown in Fig. 11K; column 37, lines 1-28; column 47, lines 7-23 );
wherein the processor of the mobile device is configured by the downloadable mobile application to:
receive, via the network interface from a content provider server system, the metadata for the videos that satisfy search parameters(column 6, lines 25-39);
display, via the display screen, a user interface generated using at least the metadata for the videos that satisfy the search parameters(e.g., items 291A-291Z as shown in Fig. 2C; column 6, lines 12-24);
receive, via the input device, a selection of a video(e.g., act 1151 as shown in Fig. 11H; column 36, lines 41-62);
display a list of display devices on the display screen, where the list includes the television(e.g., act 1131 as shown in Fig,. 11D; column 35, lines 59-67 to column 36, lines 1-8; Examiner’s Note: Redford discloses identifying at least one internet-enabled TV on the display of handheld 200. );
receive, via the input device, a selection of the television(e.g., act 1131 as shown in Fig,. 11D; column 35, lines 59-67 to column 36, lines 1-8; Examiner’s Note: Redford discloses marking handheld device and TV as being associated in act 1134 as shown in Fig. 11D.);
obtain metadata for the selected video(e.g., act 1142 as shown in Fig. 11F; column 36, lines 18-27);
transmit, via the network interface, at least one message generated using metadata for the selected video(column 27, lines 56-67 to column 28, lines 1-3; Examiner’s Note: Fig. 8B illustrates transmit, via the network interface, at least one message generated using the metadata for the selected video at act 833. ), where the at least one message causes a command to be sent to the television that includes:
an indication of a , capable of being loaded over the internet, required by the television to play the selected video(e.g., multiple apps 202A, 202B, 202I, 202N as shown in Fig. 2A; column 5, lines 28-41; Examiner’s Note: Redford discloses an indication of a media player, capable of being loaded over the internet, required by the television to play the selected video.), but does not expressly disclose
an indication of the selected video; and
receive, via the network interface, a confirmation that the selected video is playing on the television.
Cucu disclose where the at least one message causes a command to be sent to the television that includes:
an indication of the selected video (e.g., video element 118 as shown in Fig. 1; paragraph [0014]; paragraphs [0017-0018]; paragraph [0029];); and
receive, via the network interface, a confirmation that the selected video is playing on the television(e.g., control button 120 as shown in Fig. 1; paragraph [0014]; paragraphs [0017-0018]; paragraph [0020]; paragraph [0029] ).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the rendering API of Cucu with the handheld device of Redford for improving user experience and the experience of developers who work to distribute content to the users as suggested by Cucu (paragraph [0002]).
Per claim 22, Redford and Cucu disclose the system of claim 21, further comprising:
a server system configured to establish a connection between the mobile device and the television(Redford, e.g., authority server 282 as shown in Fig. 2B and 8A; Abstract; column 2, lines 52-67; column 26, lines 35-56);
wherein the processor of the mobile device is further configured by the
Per claim 23, Redford and Cucu disclose the system of claim 22, wherein the server system configured to establish a connection between the mobile device and the television is further configured to translate the at least one message, generated by the mobile device(Redford, column 27, lines 34-55), using the metadata for the selected video into the command sent to the television that includes:
the indication of a , capable of being loaded over the internet, required by the television to play the selected video(e.g., multiple apps 202A, 202B, 202I, 202N as shown in Fig. 2A; column 5, lines 28-41; Examiner’s Note: Redford discloses an indication of a media player, capable of being loaded over the internet, required by the television to play the selected video.), and
the indication of the selected video (Redford, e.g., block 1151 as shown in Fig. 11H; column 36, lines 41-62 ).
Per claim 24, Redford and Cucu disclose the system of claim 23, wherein the server system configured to establish a connection between the mobile device and the television is further configured to identify the , capable of being loaded over the internet, required to play the selected video based upon the at least one message generated by the mobile device, using the metadata for the selected video(Redford, column 6, lines40-52; column 35, lines 59-67 to column 36, lines 1-8).
Per claim 25, Redford and Cucu disclose the system of claim 24, wherein the server system configured to establish a connection between the mobile device and the television is further configured to identify the , capable of being loaded over the internet, required to play the selected video by determining which of the plurality of downloadable media players is the downloadable media player required to play the selected video(Redford, column 6, lines40-52; column 35, lines 59-67 to column 36, lines 1-8).
Per claim 26, Redford and Cucu disclose the system of claim 22, wherein: the server system configured to establish a connection between the mobile device and the television is further configured to translate the at least one message generated by the mobile device using the metadata for the selected video into the command sent to the television using an API adapter(Cucu, paragraph [0011]; Examiner’s Note: Cucu discloses using the "HTML5" video API to adapt media player commands.); and the API adapter configures the server system to:
identify the , capable of being loaded over the internet, required to play the selected video(Redford, column 6, lines40-52; column 35, lines 59-67 to column 36, lines 1-8); and
convert, using an appropriate API, the at least one message generated by the mobile device using the metadata for the selected video into code capable of causing the television to control the downloadable media player required to play the selected video (Cucu, paragraphs [0020-0021]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the rendering API of Cucu with the handheld device of Redford for improving user experience and the experience of developers who work to distribute content to the users as suggested by Cucu (paragraph [0002]).
Per claim 27, Redford and Cucu disclose the 21, wherein:
the metadata for the selected video identifies the downloadable media player capable of being loaded over the internet required to play the selected video (Redford, column 5, lines 28—41; Fig. 2A illustrates the metadata for the selected video identifies the downloadable media player required to play the selected video. ); and
the at least one message generated using the metadata for the selected video:
identifies the selected video(Redford, column 6, lines 25-39); and
identifies the , capable of being loaded over the internet, required to play the selected video (Redford, e.g., signal 832 as shown in Fig. 8B; column 5, lines 59-67 to column 6, lines 1-11; column 27, lines 17-33).
Per claim 28, Redford and Cucu disclose the 21,wherein:
the processor of the mobile device is further configured by the downloadable mobile application to receive, via the input device, a synchronization code associated with the television(Redford, e.g., act 1023 as shown in Fig. 10D; column 32, lines 12-30; Examiner’s Note: Examiner is interpreting TV-ID to be a synchronization code. ); and
the at least one message generated by the mobile device using the metadata for the selected video comprises the synchronization code(Redford, e.g., act 1023 as shown in Fig. 10D; column 32, lines 12-30).
Per claim 29, Redford and Cucu disclose the 21,wherein the processor is further configured by the
Per claim 30, Redford and Cucu disclose the 21,wherein: the processor of the mobile device is further configured by the
receive, via the input device, search parameters(Redford, column 6, lines 25-52; column 12, lines 13-32); and
transmit, via the network interface to the content provider server system, a message containing the search parameters (Redford, column 6, lines 25-52; column 12, lines 13-32).
Response to Arguments
Interview Summary
Examiner acknowledges statements regarding the interview on February 25, 2026.
Applicant's arguments filed 26 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 U.S.C. § 112
Applicant argues with respect to the term "downloadable media players" and “Applicant respectfully submits that a person of ordinary skill in the art would clearly understand that media players are downloadable based upon the specification.”
The Applicant’s arguments with respect to the term "downloadable media players" are moot since Applicant has removed the term "downloadable media players."
CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 U.S.C. § 103
On page 16, Applicant argues that “Neither Redford nor Cucu, alone or in combination, discloses transmitting a message that "causes a command to be sent. that includes: an indication of a media player, capable of being loaded over the Internet, required to play the selected video, and an indication of the selected video" as recited in amended claim 1.”
Examiner disagrees since Redford discloses transmit, via the network interface, at least one message generated using the metadata for the selected video(column 27, lines 56-67 to column 28, lines 1-3; Examiner’s Note: Fig. 8B illustrates transmit, via the network interface, at least one message generated using the metadata for the selected video at act 833. ), where the at least one message causes a command to be sent to the television that includes: where the at least one message causes a command to be sent to the television that includes: an indication of a , capable of being loaded over the internet, required by the television to play the selected video(e.g., multiple apps 202A, 202B, 202I, 202N as shown in Fig. 2A; column 5, lines 28-41). Redford discloses an indication of a media player, capable of being loaded over the internet, required by the television to play the selected video. Moreover, the previous rejection did not acknowledge that “Redford does not disclose that the command sent to the television includes an indication of a media player, capable of being loaded over the Internet, required to play the selected video” since it was not recited in the previous claims. Moreover, Cucu is not relied upon to disclose where the at least one message causes a command to be sent to the television that includes: where the at least one message causes a command to be sent to the television that includes: an indication of a downloadable media player, capable of being loaded over the internet, required by the television to play the selected video.
Accordingly, claim 1 is not patentable.
Claims 2-14
Claims 2-14 depend on claim 1. Examiner respectfully submits that claims 2-14 are not allowable for reasons including reasons similar to those outlined above with respect to claim 1.
Claims 15-20
For reasons including reasons similar to those outlined above with respect to claim 1, Examiner respectfully submits that claim 15 is also not allowable over the combination of Redford and Cucu. Specifically, claim 15 as amended recites similar in scope to claim 1. Therefore, Examiner respectfully submits that claim 15 is not allowable for reasons including reasons similar to those outlined above with respect to claim 1.
Claims 16-20 depend on claim 15. Applicant respectfully submits that claims 16- 20 are not allowable for reasons including reasons similar to those outlined above with respect to claim 15.
Claims 21-30
For reasons including reasons similar to those outlined above with respect to claim 1, Examiner respectfully submits that claim 21 is also not allowable over the combination of Redford and Cucu. Specifically, claim 21 as amended recites to "transmit, via the network interface, at least one message generated using metadata for the selected video, where the at least one message causes a command to be sent to the television that includes: an indication of a media player, capable of being loaded over the Internet, required to play the selected video, and an indication of the selected video." As discussed above, Redford and Cucu discloses this limitation. Accordingly, Examiner respectfully maintains the rejection of claim 21. Claims 22-30 depend on claim 21. Examiner respectfully submits that claims 22- 30 are not allowable for reasons including reasons similar to those outlined above with respect to claim 21.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pettit et al. (US 2010/0215340 A1)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DARRIN HOPE
Examiner
Art Unit 2178
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178