DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive. Applicant’s amendments and arguments to overcome the prior 35 USC 112 rejection is persuasive. However, applicant’s arguments related to the prior art’s lack of the individual rows including at least two fiber alignment holes is not persuasive. The prior art discloses the holes 128a-c that are associated with fiber ribbons (132a-d; abstract). These holes are aligned with associated opposing portions and are optically aligned. Therefore, this claim limitation is still anticipated be the prior art. However, the prior art lacks the misalignment tolerance that is added by amendment to include an angular misalignment of up to 1 degree. The prior rejection has been amended to include this limitation as the optimization of optical alignment would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. No specific structure is claimed as to how the structure or dimensions of the invention achieves the claimed tolerance values.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9,134,494 to Wang et al.
Wang discloses in the abstract and figures 1-4, an upper body collimator comprising:
a first body (320) including more than two rows of fiber alignment holes (128a-c), wherein an individual row of the more than two rows of fiber alignment holes includes at least two fiber alignment holes (the abstract of Wang discloses that there are fibers which extend into the holes at 136a-d);
one or more alignment features configured to mate and/or demate with a second body external to the upper body collimator (column 9, lines 21-24 describe mechanical alignment features such as pins or clips); and
one or more optical structures including one or more: waveguides, lenses, mirrors, and/or light manipulating surfaces (column 10, line 11);
wherein the more than two rows of fiber alignment holes and the one or more optical structures are collectively configured to emit collimated light (450) across an interface with the second body, with a tolerance to lateral and/or angular misalignment.
As to claims 2-3, figures 2-4 depict optical alignment.
As to claim 4, the upper body is removable via connector (MT connectors disclosed in column 9, lines 21-24).
As to claim 5, a light redirecting member can be a mirror (description for figures 6A-6C).
As to claim 7, the light is configured to couple with other collimating elements (figures 2-4).
However, Wang fails to explicitly disclose a lateral and angular misalignment tolerance in the range claimed (20um and 1 degree, respectively). It is noted that the goal of Wang is to reduce and minimizer misalignment (column 8, lines 9-44).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to arrange the components in Wang to maximize alignment and minimize losses.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang.
Wang discloses the invention as claimed including 350micron diameter vias. Wang discloses that these diameters (D) and the pitch can be optimized so that ribbons of the fiber can be un-singulated to provide a connection (column 10, lines 33-53).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as a matter of design choice to optimize the size and pitch of the fiber openings to optimize the connection for packaging size and transmission of optical signals.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang.
Wang discloses the invention as claimed but does not disclose polarization independent light operating at a wavelength range spanning at least one of O- (1260nm-1360nm), C- (1530nm-1565nm) and L- (1565nm-1625nm) bands. It is noted that these bands are commonly known and used. Further, Wang discloses wavelength selective features such as gratings. Although Wang does not disclose the specific bands claimed, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the wavelength selective features disclosed could be adapted to select the wavelength bands in the ranges claimed as a matter of design choice for the intended use.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ERIC K. WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2874
/Eric Wong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874