DETAILED ACTION
1. This is a first office action in response to application no. 19/273,274 filed on July 18, 2025 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 6-9, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: unknowns K0, K1, K2, K3 and K4.
K0, K1, K2, K3 and K4 have not been defined in the claims in order to determine how to evaluate their results. In other words, what is the actual value they represent in order to appreciate the HMVP table size?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 12-13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Han et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2020/0169745).
Regarding claim 1, Han discloses a method of processing video data (See Han [0008]), comprising: maintaining, during a conversion between a current block of visual media data and a bitstream of the visual media data (See Han [0194]), a table storing history based motion vector prediction (HMVP) candidates which include motion information based on previously coded blocks (See Han [0007], [0096] “In either AMVP or merge mode, a motion vector (MV) candidate list is maintained for multiple motion vector predictors” [0114] “constructing a table for previously decoded motion vectors as HMVP candidates”), and performing the conversion for the current block at least based on the table (See Han [0194]), wherein the table has a HMVP table size which depends on one or more motion candidate numbers numHMVPs added to one or more motion candidate lists (See Han Fig. 9, item 404), and wherein the HMVP table size is a maximum number of candidates stored in the table (See Han [0084], [0126]).
Regarding claim 12, Han discloses an apparatus for processing video data comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon ( See Han [0008]-[0009]), wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to: maintain, during a conversion between a current block of visual media data and a bitstream of the visual media data (See Han [0194]), a table storing history based motion vector prediction (HMVP) candidates which include motion information based on previously coded blocks (See Han [0007], [0096] “In either AMVP or merge mode, a motion vector (MV) candidate list is maintained for multiple motion vector predictors” [0114] “constructing a table for previously decoded motion vectors as HMVP candidates”); and perform the conversion for the current block at least based on the table (See Han [0194]), wherein the table has a HMVP table size which depends on one or more motion candidate numbers numHMVPs added to one or more motion candidate lists (See Han Fig. 9, item 404), and wherein the HMVP table size is a maximum number of candidates stored in the table (See Han [0084], [0126]).
As per claim 2, Han further discloses wherein the one or more motion candidate lists comprises at least one of: a regular merge list, a geometry partition mode merge list, an intra block copy (IBC) merge list, a regular inter advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) list, or a regular inter IBC list (See Han [0124] and [0163]).
As per claim 13, Han further discloses wherein the one or more motion candidate lists comprises at least one of: a regular merge list, a geometry partition mode merge list, an intra block copy (IBC) merge list, a regular inter advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) list, or a regular inter IBC list (See Han [0124] and [0163]).
As per claims 4-5, 15 and 16, Han further discloses wherein the HMVP table size is a function of the one or more motion candidate numbers numHMVPs, and wherein the function is a function Max which returns a maximum value among several inputs (See Han [0126]-[0127] and [0138]).
As per claim 10, Han further discloses wherein the conversion includes encoding the current block into the bitstream (See Han [0039], [0046] and [0070]).
As per claim 11, Han further discloses wherein the conversion includes decoding the current block from the bitstream (See Han [0071] and [0191]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2020/0169745) in view of Fukishima et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0321129).
As per claims 3 and 14, most of the limitations of these claims have been noted in the above rejection of claim 2 and 13.
It is noted that Han is silent about wherein the geometry partition mode comprises: splitting a block to multiple sub-portions, wherein at least one of the multiple sub-portions is a non-rectangular and non-square portion.
However, Fukishima teaches wherein the geometry partition mode comprises: splitting a block to multiple sub-portions, wherein at least one of the multiple sub-portions is a non-rectangular and non-square portion (See Fukishima [0225] and [0245]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Han to incorporate Fukishima’s teachings wherein at least one of the multiple sub-portions is a non-rectangular and non-square portion. The motivation for performing such a modification in Han is to provide a geometric division merge mode corresponding to a mode in which the coding/decoding block split into two right triangles by a diagonal line.
7. Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2020/0169745) in view of Wang et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2022/0103826).
As per claim 19, Han discloses a non-transitory computer readable recoding medium storing a bitstream of visual media data which is generated by a method performed by a video processing apparatus (See Han [0008]-[0009]), wherein the method comprises: maintaining, for generating the bitstream from a current block of the visual media data (See Han [0194]), a table storing history based motion vector prediction (HMVP) candidates which include motion information based on previously coded blocks (See Han [0007], [0096] “In either AMVP or merge mode, a motion vector (MV) candidate list is maintained for multiple motion vector predictors” [0114] “constructing a table for previously decoded motion vectors as HMVP candidates”);, wherein the table has a HMVP table size which depends on one or more motion candidate numbers numHMVPs added to one or more motion candidate lists (See Han Fig. 9, item 404), and the HMVP table size is a maximum number of candidates stored in the table (See Han [0084], [0126]).
It is noted that Han is silent about generating the bitstream for the current block at least based on the table as claimed.
However, Wang teaches generating the bitstream for the current block at least based on the table (See Wang [0045], [0096]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize the advantage of modifying Han to incorporate Wangs teachings to generate the bitstream for the current block at least based on the table. The motivation for performing such a modification in Han to provide an optimal motion vector prediction and motion vector information of the current block.
As per claim 20, the combination of Han and Wang further discloses wherein the one or more motion candidate lists comprises at least one of: a regular merge list, a geometry partition mode merge list, an intra block copy (IBC) merge list, a regular inter advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) list, or a regular inter IBC list (See Han [0124] and [0163]).
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892).
/GIMS S PHILIPPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424